The Greatest Story Never Told Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The long-awaited debut album by the Brooklyn-based rapper is produced by Just Blaze and features guest appearances from Q-Tip, Jay-Z and other notable artists.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 9, 2011
    100
    Told is worth the wait; raising Saigon's profile is probably Entourage's greatest/only gift to the world, at least where hip-hop is concerned.
  2. 100
    The fact that Greatest Story didn't drop on a major just attests to how perverted the industry is. That said, the delicious and anthemic Just Blaze beats, money cameos, and precise orchestration that spoiled deals afforded render this the last great major-label rap album of all time - even though it's on an indie.
  3. Saigon don't play. He's a social realist and a realist moralist who makes his seriousness work for him.
  4. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    What really strikes you about its 17 tracks (only two failed to make the final cut due to sample- and guest-artist-clearance issues) is Saigon's sincerity.
  5. Mar 10, 2011
    80
    It's the kind of thing that requires a commitment from the listener, but Saigon and the people around him are talented enough to pull it off, even to make it enjoyable, which makes The Greatest Story Never Told one definitely worth hearing.
  6. Although The Greatest Story Never Told almost never saw the light of day, Saigon is an artist that needs to be on every hip-hop head's radar if he isn't already.
  7. Mar 21, 2011
    70
    We're not left with the emotional impact I feel Saigon desired, but we are left with supreme evidence Atlantic should have put this album out years ago.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Saigon displays some amazing writing abilities on this album. He manages to makes the lyrics catchy, clever, and meaningful e.g. "all you gotSaigon displays some amazing writing abilities on this album. He manages to makes the lyrics catchy, clever, and meaningful e.g. "all you got to do is be slippin' when the P.I.G.S come through, the party invite givers"

    The beats are solid if not remarkable, but I find their relative simplicity allows one to really enjoy the stories being told.
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    Phenomenal album. All the tracks flow seamlessly and Saigon and Just Blaze have built a classic album together. Lyrics, production, contentPhenomenal album. All the tracks flow seamlessly and Saigon and Just Blaze have built a classic album together. Lyrics, production, content are all top-notch. I bought this album twice (a first for me) just so my brother can have a copy. A must buy for any hip-hop fan that has an I.Q. above that of a packet of ketchup and an early contender for Album of the Year. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Just blaze killed the production of this album and saigon emotional lyrics matched every beat. Thumbs up to blaze and saigonJust blaze killed the production of this album and saigon emotional lyrics matched every beat. Thumbs up to blaze and saigon !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    9
    How is this guy not famous yet? A bunch of tracks, not a single bad song on this album and Saigon kills every song over every epic beat. ThisHow is this guy not famous yet? A bunch of tracks, not a single bad song on this album and Saigon kills every song over every epic beat. This is one of the better rap albums that I've ever heard and it's definitely better than anything Taylor Gang and YMCMB are shoveling out. Saigon is an intelligent gangster with words of wisdom and you need at least a song from this album on your iTunes. Expand
  5. NJR
    Feb 25, 2011
    9
    Very nice LP. Not groundbreaking or classic, just good rhymes over dope beats, this is what Hip Hop needs more of. Although a great effort,Very nice LP. Not groundbreaking or classic, just good rhymes over dope beats, this is what Hip Hop needs more of. Although a great effort, some tracks feel a bit dated, this is really my only criticism of the album. You can't help but feel that if it had indeed been released all those years ago then it would have been that little bit more special.... Collapse
  6. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    great beats and a sick sick flow from saigon. really high quality work allthroughout, highlight of the album is the Enemies -> Friendsgreat beats and a sick sick flow from saigon. really high quality work allthroughout, highlight of the album is the Enemies -> Friends progression. Definitely worth my 12 bucks. Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    This is a really solid full length album from start to finish. It provides plenty of guest appearances such as Jay Z., Q-Tip, Faith Evans, andThis is a really solid full length album from start to finish. It provides plenty of guest appearances such as Jay Z., Q-Tip, Faith Evans, and more, a huge track list, and great production. I don't think it stands out enough though...it's hard to explain but the album is just a good solid album, like a good home cooked meal. It's not mandatory but nice to have on occasion. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums

    The Freshman 15: 2011's Best Debut Albums Image
    Published: December 6, 2011
    Which new artists impressed critics the most in 2011? Find out inside, where we rank the 15 best-reviewed debut albums of the year.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Music of 2011 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Music of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: July 6, 2011
    With half of 2011 in the books, it's time to check on the year's best music so far. And which album tops our chart so far? It won't cost you anything to find out.