The Grey Album Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DJ Danger Mouse's bootleg hit, which mixes together vocals from Jay-Z's 'The Black Album' and music from The Beatles' 'The White Album,' has brought legal action from Beatles record label EMI, preventing record stores from selling the album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    While the novelty factor alone makes it worth the download time, it works as a cohesive album long after the initial shock wears off. [Apr 2004, p.91]
  2. For what it is, for what it does, for what it represents and for exposing the idiocy of people who only care about 'what it earns us', then, a truly, TRULY great pop record.
  3. Dangermouse's actions have breathed creative life back into a 35-year-old record while inventing a completely new work of hip-hop art.
  4. While The Grey Album is truly one of the more interesting pirate mashups ever done, it ultimately fails at the hands of perfectionism with several pieces sounding rushed to beat some other knucklehead to his clever idea.
  5. 70
    This'll retain its heat only until everyone's heard it. [Apr 2004, p.88]
  6. There are certainly more fun moments than not, at the very least rendering The Grey Album enjoyable, but it’s hard to argue for any reason other than its novelty.
  7. Of course it's a gimmick, but about half of it works anyway.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 6 out of 31
  1. GMoney
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    This album is an almost surreal fusion of great music. The Beatles samples don't overpower Jay-Z, they instead give him a rousing echo This album is an almost surreal fusion of great music. The Beatles samples don't overpower Jay-Z, they instead give him a rousing echo that can't be found anywhere else, but the halls of Danger Mouse's studio. Collapse
  2. GaryB
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    As a major fan of the Beatles and a minor fan of Jay Z, I thought this work would be just a cheap rip off. How wrong was I. Dangermouse has As a major fan of the Beatles and a minor fan of Jay Z, I thought this work would be just a cheap rip off. How wrong was I. Dangermouse has made an enchating album which works incredibly well. I wish you could by this in the shops. It deserves to make money its sooo good! Expand
  3. mohank
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    fantastic. original. most tracks are better than the original jay z versions.
  4. KenS
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    This album is absolutely brilliant. It's not nearly as good as the White Album, but it destroys the Black Album. This is a wonderful mix This album is absolutely brilliant. It's not nearly as good as the White Album, but it destroys the Black Album. This is a wonderful mix of r&b with all the old favorite Beatle songs. Download this now, especially "Helter Skelter/99 Problems". It is a little unnerving that the Beatles are put second to Jay-Z, but its a great album regardless. Expand
  5. MCDish
    Jun 19, 2006
    9
    This album was dope. You had Jay-Z's rhymes that were absolutely brilliant mixed in with Danger Mouse's creative use of mixing This album was dope. You had Jay-Z's rhymes that were absolutely brilliant mixed in with Danger Mouse's creative use of mixing beats from the Beatles. Rarely would you think that this would mesh for good hip-hop songs, but Danger Mouse's unique ability to take what he has and make into something unique and original just makes this a must-download and must-get album for fans of both Jay-Z and Danger Mouse. Expand
  6. Warren
    Mar 25, 2004
    8
    The mixes were extremely clever and inventive. I haven't enjoyed a Jay-Z album in years, but I certainly could sit through this entire The mixes were extremely clever and inventive. I haven't enjoyed a Jay-Z album in years, but I certainly could sit through this entire production with an assist from those four guys of Liverpool. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    a piece of garbage. sounds horrible, how could anybody think this is listenable.

See all 31 User Reviews