The Hard Way

  • Record Label: TVT
  • Release Date: Aug 17, 2004
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. This is the most enjoyable album of Warren's and Nate's careers to date, by a long shot, and it's among Snoop's most enjoyable as well.
  2. It's a welcome throwback in today's complicated rap game.
  3. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    Exquisite, state-of-the-art beats, rhymes and vocal hooks. [25 Sep 2004, p.65]
  4. Sadly this isn’t the same 213 who dropped the legendary demo and this isn’t the 213 album people have been waiting for.
  5. Roughly half these 19 songs burn themselves out on first listen, but the rest are sublime.
  6. Suffers from both a lack of ambition and a built-in obsolescence.
  7. Blender
    60
    Snoop sounds great without saying anything he hasn't already said many times... Which is a testament to his abilities, but it's a bit disappointing, too. [Sep 2004, p.132]
  8. Rolling Stone
    60
    That's right--gangstizzle nostalgizzle. [2 Sep 2004, p.142]
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Serviceable g-funk for gin-and-juice-swilling house parties. [10 Sep 2004, p.164]
  10. While it may churn out a few hits, The Hard Way ultimately is a letdown.
  11. Vibe
    50
    213's obsolete subject matter offsets otherwise satisfying sounds. [Sep 2004, p.236]
  12. Spin
    42
    They sound like they can't be bothered. [Oct 2004, p.120]
  13. Q Magazine
    40
    The lyrics tend towards the banal and, at times, there is a palpable sense of awkwardness. [Dec 2004, p.134]
  14. Mojo
    20
    Starts promisingly soulful, but soon descends into faux gangster bullshit and lazy, dumb-ass sexism. [Feb 2005, p.100]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. N3m3sisDogg
    Jul 4, 2005
    9
    Westside til I die. Dis is a return ta da real fo Snoop and Wg n Nate. Pan it all ya want, I bin waiting since 4ever ta hear shit like this Westside til I die. Dis is a return ta da real fo Snoop and Wg n Nate. Pan it all ya want, I bin waiting since 4ever ta hear shit like this again from da real westside riddaz! Full Review »
  2. Chea
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    I think they did a good job by just doing what they know best ! Could be a lott better but I still enjoy it to the fullest....true, if you I think they did a good job by just doing what they know best ! Could be a lott better but I still enjoy it to the fullest....true, if you like the west you like it Full Review »
  3. BigPunn
    Sep 22, 2004
    3
    I think its a sad attempt by some broke down has-beens to make gangsta hits which should of been titled 2 bitches, 1 ho, 3 dicks