Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 22, 2011
    100
    Sparely and intuitively performed, it's simply excellent. [Aug. 2011, p. 94]
  2. Jul 14, 2011
    100
    The choruses are stronger, the harmonies, guitar and banjo lines as tasteful as ever, and the brittle edge that crept into 2003's Soul Journey is nowhere to be found.
  3. Jun 24, 2011
    100
    So minimal and calm is much of The Harrow & The Harves that Six Horses comes as something of a shock. It displays the same studied but honest approach to American folk music that characterises the whole album but adds harmonica and, yes, handclaps!
  4. Jun 24, 2011
    100
    There cannot be another musical duet around at the moment who are able to make two acoustic guitars and two voices produce a sound that is so subtle and yet powerful.
  5. 100
    On this, Gillian Welch's fifth album, the familiar blending of traditional sounds and moods with modern sensibilities is effortlessly sustained through songs like the mordant "The Way It Goes" ("Betsy Johnson bought the farm, stuck a needle in her arm, that's the way that it goes").
  6. Jun 30, 2011
    91
    Rawlings' guitar work is an engaging mix of the decorative and functional, marvelously recorded and a perfect balance to the warmth of Welch's vocals.
  7. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The Harrow & the Harvest is stunning for its intimacy, its lack of studio artifice, its warmth and its timeless, if hard won, songcraft.
  8. Aug 16, 2011
    90
    A fully conceived album of beautifully crafted songs, and a real treat for fans and newcomers alike.
  9. Aug 3, 2011
    90
    As always, the pair wrap their strings and larynxes 'round each other like the intimate companions they are, aided by production so warm and inviting it's like sitting in the room with them.
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    90
    As a gathering-in of all that's best about their duality, The Harrow & The Harvest eschews the cosmic Plough and settles instead for the blessings of a more earthly crop.
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    90
    The Harrow & The Harvest is simply one of the richest, most expansive roots albums to be released in some time.
  12. Jun 28, 2011
    88
    Long trafficking in a sometimes spare yet intricately drawn sort of Americana that could fit just as comfortably at the turn of the 20th century, their latest delivers the same deceptively simple alchemy of dustily lilting voices, vivid lyrical twists and crisp acoustic flourishes.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    Love her voice in this. What a voice. And her songs on this make me drift off to a place that seems not so far away that I want to stay forever. I would love to see her live. I would say this is one of the best I have heard of her releases to my ears. Very nice work. Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2012
    8
    This Album Is Dark And Spooky..
    Not What I Really 100% Wanted But It's Good..
  3. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    As folk/country music goes, this is good but her voice is not really my kind of thing. It's very typical of the genre. Having said that, the songs are very well written and the sparse instrumentation works well on a lot of tracks it's just overall I find country style vocals take away from the songs. Some of the songs on this are similar in style to Bruce Springsteens Devils and Dust which I quite liked. Perhaps a little variation would have done this record the world of good - maybe a little production. would have injected some more life into it. If rating out of 100 I'd give this 75 rather than 80 but rounding up will give it an 8. Full Review »