The Haunted Man - Bat for Lashes
The  Haunted Man Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Natasha Khan worked with such artists as Beck, Dan Carey, Rob Ellis, David Kosten, TV on the Radio's David Sitek, and Portishead's Adrian Utley for her third studio release.
  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Genre(s): Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The songs are expensive in their depth of emotion but comforting in their intimacy and alluring appeal.
  2. 80
    The Haunted Man may not reveal a drastic stylistic shift, but the subtle difference is a nonetheless compelling documentation of the process of metamorphosis.
  3. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    As the title track gradually morphs from delicate ballad to fisherman shanty to blissful climax it's hard not to be awed, even if those casual listeners might not find much to keep them.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    At it's best, the record finds her swapping the heavy-handed concepts that've largely driven her work to date for the irrefutable impact of raw lyricism. [No. 93, p.56]
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    For the most part this is a composed, nourishing pop album.
  6. Oct 24, 2012
    70
    The Haunted Man is defined by a more refined sensibility, drawing back the playful clatter of her first two albums in favour of sparser arrangements and a slightly elegiac tone.
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    60
    ADespite occasionally drawing blood, The Haunted Man doesn't live up to its stripped and dangerous cover, often retreating to gambol about in the backwaters of Khan's imagination.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    A wonderful album which introduces new sounds in Bat For Lashes' music. In this record Khan leaves behind tribal-dark atmospheres to embrace minimal electronic (except for "Horses of The Sun", a track that reminds of "Glass" from her previous album "Two Suns"). If you've loved Gotye's "Somebody That I Used to Know", you can't not listen to "All Your Gold" and of you like Tori Amos you must listen to "Laura". Listen to it and you will not be able to stop 'til it's finished! Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    Outstanding album. I love how the album sounds. All the songs are great. She is an outstanding songwriter. I can't stop listening to the album. Dream pop and electronic Great album to listen to at night or while you write. I listen to this album a lot while I'm on the train or bus. I actually like this album more than her other two albums l Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Every song is fantastic. Natasha is uber-talented............................................................................................
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I love Bat for Lashes. I have been following since the beginning. But it seems that producers or someone up there on "top" wants Bat to sound like Tori Amos. Bad move. Yuck. The last album was o.k. but really was nothing amazing. My wife loves "what's a girl to do" but I had trouble getting her to listen to this album. I was searching and hoping for more on "The Haunted Man".

    Bat was launched out to the scene with hit single, "What's a girl to do?'. That's why I liked here.The "Fur and Gold" album was great (so was the acoustic version).

    Anyway even though I like the video and song "all your gold" the rest of the album was really watery and disappointing, and "Tori Amosy". She sounds better as a "simplistic and rhythmic gypsy" rather than some "Enyaesk, watery, fairy tale" dream.

    There are still some good songs on this album but give us more "what's a girl to do?" (or at least a dubstep or trance remix album). Thanks.
    Collapse
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    Tremendously catchy, synthetic grooves, mucky lyrics, and a few other weak spots.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    7
    The Haunted Man is definitely one of the more arty/pop indie records I've heard so far this year. The music is great. The lyrics are really relatable, the vocals are smooth on the ears, productions really good, and the instrumentations is so damn catchy, and dreamy. All In All, Bat For Lashes are a one of a kind band that doesn't stray away from a sound that's all their own. It's a great record. B Expand