• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Hazards Of Love Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Portland, Oregon, indie band's fifth album features guest appearances by Lavender Diamond's Becky Stark, My Brightest Diamond's Shara Worden, My Morning Jacket's Jim James, Robyn Hitchcock, and the Spinanes' Rebecca Gates.

Top Track

The Rake's Song
I had entered into a marriage In the summer of my twenty-first year And the bells rang for our wedding Only now do I remember it clear Alright,... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. The Hazards of Love is shockingly good.
  2. The real surprise of The Hazards Of Love is how well it works as a straight-up rock album.
  3. Mojo
    80
    By turns acoustic intimate and theatrical-loud, this spellbinding work peaks and soars with all the warmth and wonder of some great romantic adventure, demanding and rewarding total immersion in its magical narrative. [May 2009, p.110]
  4. This song cycle concerning Margaret, her swain William and forest queens is as dazzling as it is beautiful.
  5. This is a man who penned a song called 'Chimbley Sweep' without conceding how daft that sounds, and this overblown opus about a mythical Margaret is equally wet and earnest.
  6. There are certainly enough good things about the album to let its more infuriating conceits pass.
  7. Hazards of Love drowns in convoluted plots, blustery guest vocalists, and comically out-of-place guitar shredding.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. MarcusH
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    A work of sheet insane genius. I'm as gob-smacked on the 100th listen as the 1st -- even more so. This is a truly brilliant creation of A work of sheet insane genius. I'm as gob-smacked on the 100th listen as the 1st -- even more so. This is a truly brilliant creation of fine art and good ol' rock n roll. Expand
  2. DanielL
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    An absolutely epic piece of work from Colin Meloy. While not quite in the same vein as other Decemberists albums it tells such a fantastic An absolutely epic piece of work from Colin Meloy. While not quite in the same vein as other Decemberists albums it tells such a fantastic story that I cannot stop listening to it. The presence of My Brightest Diamond's Shara Worden singing the part of the forest queen adds something simply amazing. Her contributions send shivers down my spine. Fair warning however, this album is best enjoyed all the way through. Expand
  3. MattY
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    The bands best album so far. Wonderful visions evoked by the wild lyrics and a cohesive album of brilliant tunes.
  4. BrianB
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    You can listen to the album 10 times and catch something different each time, its very intriguing to enjoy the songs musically, but to have You can listen to the album 10 times and catch something different each time, its very intriguing to enjoy the songs musically, but to have to piece them together lyrically at the same time. Its almost homework, but its fun. Expand
  5. AaronA
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    I am loving the hell out of this album so far. There is so much going on, themes that thread throughout the album. And very dynamic - it will I am loving the hell out of this album so far. There is so much going on, themes that thread throughout the album. And very dynamic - it will shift gears from a soft acoustic melody to driving drums and guitars, then snap right back. The guest female vocals are also great. Won't Want for Love is a great track, The Queen's Rebuke is the hardest I've heard the Decemberists play and they sound amazing. I can already tell that this will be one of my favorite albums for years. Expand
  6. PaulA
    May 13, 2009
    9
    Absolutely great album. No individual song can stand on its own but as a whole it is a masterpiece. Telling an elaborate story of forsaken Absolutely great album. No individual song can stand on its own but as a whole it is a masterpiece. Telling an elaborate story of forsaken love and tragedy. With Colin's eye for words and chilling vocals by guest singers the story unfolds. Best listened to with the lyrics page on your lap and your headphones up to 10. Expand
  7. christianp
    Mar 26, 2009
    3
    What a disaster. A self-glorifying wank-fest, devoid of the sweetness, the catchiness, the charm or past Decemberists releases. Even worse, What a disaster. A self-glorifying wank-fest, devoid of the sweetness, the catchiness, the charm or past Decemberists releases. Even worse, it's painfully boring. I winced my way through it once, and that was plenty. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews