The Heist - Ryan Lewis
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. I find only the alcoholic's confession "Neon Cathedral" too much, and that one's counteracted by the relapser's confession "Starting Over," just as "Sayin' `That's poetry, it's so well-spoken,' stop it" counteracts his art talk. He's especially good on old cars and old clothes.
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    [It's the] astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart.
  4. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    An exemplary balance of serious and cheerful cuts alike, very seldom does The Heist reach beyond its means.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, these songs and all of the songs on the album are stories, and to call Macklemore a storytelling rapper would be an understatement. He only tells stories, most often his own, it just turns out he's the kind of gifted storyteller that can keep you listening.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Flexing the same contextual muscle that helped make Atmosphere's Slug an MC for the downtrodden, Macklemore utilizes second album The Heist as a vehicle for dissection, pulling back the layers of skin that cover addiction, the music industry, materialism, and homosexuality.
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, MackĀ­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    The Heist is slick, tightly arranged, meaningful lyric album. It has a good mixture of radio friendly songs to hook the average listener butThe Heist is slick, tightly arranged, meaningful lyric album. It has a good mixture of radio friendly songs to hook the average listener but only to surprise you with the artistic soulful jams. I highly recommend this album. Full Review »
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I first heard of both Macklemore & Ryan Lewis from The VS. EP. Since then, I knew Macklemore would be a star. Wanting to support a fellow Seattleite, I pre-ordered the album. And I got to say, this album is fantastic, these guys find the perfect balance between upbeat silly songs (Thrift Shop, Castle & Gold), fist-pumping anthems (Can't Hold Us & Jimmy Iovine) and the somber, thought provoking songs (Same Love, Make The Money, Starting Over & Wing$). Macklemore is a very compassionate rapper. And you can't help but always be invested in what he says. Ryan Lewis is a great producer especially when he uses live instrumentation to help paint the setting that Macklemore's stories take place in. Same Love and Wing$ were my highlights on this album.

    I do have a couple issues for this album. First, as much as I like both artists, I feel like the appearences of ScHoolboy Q & Ab-Soul (on White Walls & Jimmy Iovine) are completely unneccessary. Q's verse, and the whole song for that matter, completely contradict the album's sentiment. Soulo only does the chorus for the other song and it is so drowned in vocal effects you could barely tell. That plus the song Cowboy Boots is a pretty weak way to end the album.

    Having said that, this album is truely an awesome album, with only a couple songs I could've done without, the songs that I liked are fantastic songs. If you haven't already, go cop this album. You'll probably not see an artist as original as Macklemore and you won't find a lot of people as big and as brave enough to talk about gay rights, consumerism, staying true to the fans, and thrift shop ballin' all on one album.
    Full Review »