• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Heist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for Seattle rapper Macklemore and producer Ryan Lewis features such guests as Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, ScHoolboy Q, and Allen Stone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. I find only the alcoholic's confession "Neon Cathedral" too much, and that one's counteracted by the relapser's confession "Starting Over," just as "Sayin' `That's poetry, it's so well-spoken,' stop it" counteracts his art talk. He's especially good on old cars and old clothes.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    [It's the] astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    An exemplary balance of serious and cheerful cuts alike, very seldom does The Heist reach beyond its means.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Flexing the same contextual muscle that helped make Atmosphere's Slug an MC for the downtrodden, Macklemore utilizes second album The Heist as a vehicle for dissection, pulling back the layers of skin that cover addiction, the music industry, materialism, and homosexuality.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, MackĀ­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Not only did it deftly blend humour, inspiration and wonder. The Heist is a groundbreaking album and possibly the best rap album for a goodNot only did it deftly blend humour, inspiration and wonder. The Heist is a groundbreaking album and possibly the best rap album for a good few years. I loved every song, it had it's own attraction, and it's own charm. I can't fault Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I am a gay man and of course I love same love and was aware of it when gay marriage was trying to get passed in Washington State back inI am a gay man and of course I love same love and was aware of it when gay marriage was trying to get passed in Washington State back in August 2012 and his track was instrumental in making that happen, so of course I am a huge fan. Apart from that, even if I was not gay, I LOVE this cd so many dance tracks and so many fun and thoughtful and spiritual tracks ten out of ten. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we'reThis is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we're inspired to create an album. The lyrics in most songs are very meaningful and powerful, there is no fillers in this album. Favorite songs of the album are; Starting Over, Wing$, Same Love, Make The Money and Neon Cathedral. I very much recommend this album, It's a must buy. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    The Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers willThe Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers will enjoy this album as well. I've been listening to Macklemore for quite awhile now and this led me to enjoy songs like Starting Over, Neon Cathedral, Ten Thousand Hours, and Make the Money. Macklemore sets himself apart from other rappers by mixing great lyrics and beats with great messages. My only problem with this album there are, beside from the solo releases, no killer songs. I didn't find any songs that I loved immensely, especially compared with his past songs like Otherside and Vipassana. Overall a very decent album, and I would recommend it. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Do you want Hip Hop mindless tracks? You've got them! In Ryan Lewis's The Heist. Epic music at the right time. Very well done album. The bestDo you want Hip Hop mindless tracks? You've got them! In Ryan Lewis's The Heist. Epic music at the right time. Very well done album. The best song is thrift shop Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2014
    0
    Not a good album. It has a couple of catchy tracks but it's not cohesive and it's almost exploitive. There's just not much substance and theNot a good album. It has a couple of catchy tracks but it's not cohesive and it's almost exploitive. There's just not much substance and the rapping/beats are mostly sub par. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews