The Heist - Ryan Lewis
The  Heist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for Seattle rapper Macklemore and producer Ryan Lewis features such guests as Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, ScHoolboy Q, and Allen Stone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. I find only the alcoholic's confession "Neon Cathedral" too much, and that one's counteracted by the relapser's confession "Starting Over," just as "Sayin' `That's poetry, it's so well-spoken,' stop it" counteracts his art talk. He's especially good on old cars and old clothes.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    [It's the] astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, these songs and all of the songs on the album are stories, and to call Macklemore a storytelling rapper would be an understatement. He only tells stories, most often his own, it just turns out he's the kind of gifted storyteller that can keep you listening.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Flexing the same contextual muscle that helped make Atmosphere's Slug an MC for the downtrodden, Macklemore utilizes second album The Heist as a vehicle for dissection, pulling back the layers of skin that cover addiction, the music industry, materialism, and homosexuality.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, MackĀ­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Not only did it deftly blend humour, inspiration and wonder. The Heist is a groundbreaking album and possibly the best rap album for a goodNot only did it deftly blend humour, inspiration and wonder. The Heist is a groundbreaking album and possibly the best rap album for a good few years. I loved every song, it had it's own attraction, and it's own charm. I can't fault Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I am a gay man and of course I love same love and was aware of it when gay marriage was trying to get passed in Washington State back inI am a gay man and of course I love same love and was aware of it when gay marriage was trying to get passed in Washington State back in August 2012 and his track was instrumental in making that happen, so of course I am a huge fan. Apart from that, even if I was not gay, I LOVE this cd so many dance tracks and so many fun and thoughtful and spiritual tracks ten out of ten. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    This is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we'reThis is what a Hip-Hop album should sound like, amazing beats, keys, patterns, melodies and lyrics. This is the work of two people who we're inspired to create an album. The lyrics in most songs are very meaningful and powerful, there is no fillers in this album. Favorite songs of the album are; Starting Over, Wing$, Same Love, Make The Money and Neon Cathedral. I very much recommend this album, It's a must buy. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    To have a rap song get onto my ipod is quite impressive which is one of the great achievements of this album. I just really wish the remarksTo have a rap song get onto my ipod is quite impressive which is one of the great achievements of this album. I just really wish the remarks about conservatives in same love were left out but despite that, the album is overall worthy of a listen or two Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    8
    Seattle-based hip hop artist Macklemore with the help of long-time production collaborator Ryan Lewis find a way to create one of 2012's bestSeattle-based hip hop artist Macklemore with the help of long-time production collaborator Ryan Lewis find a way to create one of 2012's best under-the-radar hit albums. The quirky and insanely good "Thrift Shop" easily stands out as one of the favorites of this superb album. The Heist comes out swinging with a great lineup, kicking off with "Ten Thousand Hours", Macklemore's finally-made-it statement. The following "Can't Hold Us Down" features the occasional spitfire rap with a little touch of old school gospel without the huge church choir. Macklemore tackles social issues with homophobics on "Same Love", encouraging people to abstain from sexual-based discrimination. Throughout, The Heist carries a classical weight that only cautiously pushes big-production, using that only to enhance some tracks instead of having Macklemore lean on them for support. The talent is there and the culmination is excellent. Seattle may not have to be remembered for being a grunge & indie music town after all. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    This is so horrible. The songs make no sense what so ever. I don't even understand why Macklemore is famous. He is only famous because of RyanThis is so horrible. The songs make no sense what so ever. I don't even understand why Macklemore is famous. He is only famous because of Ryan Lewis. Do not listen to this garbage. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews