The Heist - Ryan Lewis
The  Heist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for Seattle rapper Macklemore and producer Ryan Lewis features such guests as Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, ScHoolboy Q, and Allen Stone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. I find only the alcoholic's confession "Neon Cathedral" too much, and that one's counteracted by the relapser's confession "Starting Over," just as "Sayin' `That's poetry, it's so well-spoken,' stop it" counteracts his art talk. He's especially good on old cars and old clothes.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    [It's the] astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    Ultimately, these songs and all of the songs on the album are stories, and to call Macklemore a storytelling rapper would be an understatement. He only tells stories, most often his own, it just turns out he's the kind of gifted storyteller that can keep you listening.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Flexing the same contextual muscle that helped make Atmosphere's Slug an MC for the downtrodden, Macklemore utilizes second album The Heist as a vehicle for dissection, pulling back the layers of skin that cover addiction, the music industry, materialism, and homosexuality.
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, MackĀ­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    I can only say: WOOOOOW! Why? "The Heist" should be the best hiphop-album of 2013! "Thrift Shop" is f**king awesome :D And nobody "can't hold us" :D
    The Heist is unbelievable because the lyric, the music, the rapper Macklemore and the producer Ryan Lewis make this album awesome! Lyric: Wonderful! Production: Awesome! Good job, Macklemore and Ryan Lewis!
    Expand
  2. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This is the best rap album PERIOD. Has the 2 catchiest songs ever. "Thrift Shop" and "Cant Hold Us ft Ray Dalton" Macklemore and Ryan Lewis make the best team ever, I just hope we see more of this Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo
    from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I first heard of both Macklemore & Ryan Lewis from The VS. EP. Since then, I knew Macklemore would be a star. Wanting to support a fellow Seattleite, I pre-ordered the album. And I got to say, this album is fantastic, these guys find the perfect balance between upbeat silly songs (Thrift Shop, Castle & Gold), fist-pumping anthems (Can't Hold Us & Jimmy Iovine) and the somber, thought provoking songs (Same Love, Make The Money, Starting Over & Wing$). Macklemore is a very compassionate rapper. And you can't help but always be invested in what he says. Ryan Lewis is a great producer especially when he uses live instrumentation to help paint the setting that Macklemore's stories take place in. Same Love and Wing$ were my highlights on this album.

    I do have a couple issues for this album. First, as much as I like both artists, I feel like the appearences of ScHoolboy Q & Ab-Soul (on White Walls & Jimmy Iovine) are completely unneccessary. Q's verse, and the whole song for that matter, completely contradict the album's sentiment. Soulo only does the chorus for the other song and it is so drowned in vocal effects you could barely tell. That plus the song Cowboy Boots is a pretty weak way to end the album.

    Having said that, this album is truely an awesome album, with only a couple songs I could've done without, the songs that I liked are fantastic songs. If you haven't already, go cop this album. You'll probably not see an artist as original as Macklemore and you won't find a lot of people as big and as brave enough to talk about gay rights, consumerism, staying true to the fans, and thrift shop ballin' all on one album.
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    The Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers will enjoy this album as well. I've been listening to Macklemore for quite awhile now and this led me to enjoy songs like Starting Over, Neon Cathedral, Ten Thousand Hours, and Make the Money. Macklemore sets himself apart from other rappers by mixing great lyrics and beats with great messages. My only problem with this album there are, beside from the solo releases, no killer songs. I didn't find any songs that I loved immensely, especially compared with his past songs like Otherside and Vipassana. Overall a very decent album, and I would recommend it. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    I'm personally not a huge fan of Hip hop but this album really surprised me with great lyrics and fantastic instrumentation, it also talks about topics really well like with Same Love which talks about Gay Marriage an d Thrift Shop which talks about individuality and being yourself. They're a lot of problems, while i think the Instrumentation is fantastically used, when a instrumental part fails, it fails really hard. Also the guest artist the Macklemore and Ryan Lewis bring in aren't that great. Overall i do enjoy this album and i suggest picking up this album. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    This is so horrible. The songs make no sense what so ever. I don't even understand why Macklemore is famous. He is only famous because of Ryan Lewis. Do not listen to this garbage. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews