The Heist

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The  Heist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release for Seattle rapper Macklemore and producer Ryan Lewis features such guests as Ab-Soul, Ben Bridwell of Band of Horses, ScHoolboy Q, and Allen Stone.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. I find only the alcoholic's confession "Neon Cathedral" too much, and that one's counteracted by the relapser's confession "Starting Over," just as "Sayin' `That's poetry, it's so well-spoken,' stop it" counteracts his art talk. He's especially good on old cars and old clothes.
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    [It's the] astute observations on the human condition and keen self-awareness that set this effort apart.
  3. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    An exemplary balance of serious and cheerful cuts alike, very seldom does The Heist reach beyond its means.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    80
    Macklemore's a mix of all of the above with some distinctive qualities, and with Lewis putting that kaleidoscope style underneath, The Heist winds up a rich combination of fresh and familiar.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    78
    Flexing the same contextual muscle that helped make Atmosphere's Slug an MC for the downtrodden, Macklemore utilizes second album The Heist as a vehicle for dissection, pulling back the layers of skin that cover addiction, the music industry, materialism, and homosexuality.
  6. Q Magazine
    Mar 11, 2013
    60
    His imaginative, smartly delivered lyrics hold the attention during those moments when producer Lewis's beats don't quite match them for sparkle. [Apr 2013, p.94]
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    50
    The record has its charms (the single "Thrift Shop," a cheeky ode to second-hand duds) and its virtues (the marriage-equality anthem "Same Love"). Unfortunately, MackĀ­lemore's virtuousness overwhelms his far more modest charms.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 5 out of 29
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    One Of The Best Rap Albums Of All Time!
  2. Dec 23, 2015
    10
    Wow. I love how the songs were written. Inspiring, Emotional and meaningful. A work of art. Very proud of the artists behind this album. AllWow. I love how the songs were written. Inspiring, Emotional and meaningful. A work of art. Very proud of the artists behind this album. All the songs are awesome and also catchy as well. Just great! Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo
    The Era of Conscious Rap Artists

    Macklemore a.k.a Ben Haggerty and his producer, also longtime friend, Ryan Lewis are an unsigned rap duo from Seattle, Washington. With a plethora of singles this duo has become YouTube famous but still kept them under the radar and out of mainstream music, until October 9 when the duo released
    Expand
  4. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    The Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers willThe Heist was all-in-all a great album. People that have been a longtime fan of Macklemore will find songs that the like, and newcomers will enjoy this album as well. I've been listening to Macklemore for quite awhile now and this led me to enjoy songs like Starting Over, Neon Cathedral, Ten Thousand Hours, and Make the Money. Macklemore sets himself apart from other rappers by mixing great lyrics and beats with great messages. My only problem with this album there are, beside from the solo releases, no killer songs. I didn't find any songs that I loved immensely, especially compared with his past songs like Otherside and Vipassana. Overall a very decent album, and I would recommend it. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Do you want Hip Hop mindless tracks? You've got them! In Ryan Lewis's The Heist. Epic music at the right time. Very well done album. The bestDo you want Hip Hop mindless tracks? You've got them! In Ryan Lewis's The Heist. Epic music at the right time. Very well done album. The best song is thrift shop Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2015
    0
    Lyrics are notoriously stupid and have no meaning pizazz! Kendrick Lamar should've won the Grammy for Best Rap Album not this disgraceful messLyrics are notoriously stupid and have no meaning pizazz! Kendrick Lamar should've won the Grammy for Best Rap Album not this disgraceful mess of a so-called "album"! Awful, and nothing but AWFUL!!! Expand

See all 29 User Reviews