The High Country

Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Q Magazine
    Sep 28, 2011
    80
    Oregon four-piece serve up a conceptual gem. [Oct 2011, p.128]
  2. Uncut
    Sep 20, 2011
    80
    For the most part, this is a bleak musical fable as disquieting as it is utterly compelling, as it races inexorably to its bloody conclusion. [Oct 2011, p.94]
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    It's still a slice of superior Americana that enhances Richmond Fontaine's standing as one of the genre's premier attractions.
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    An immaculately told doomed love story with such an evocative quality that you can almost smell the rain on the logs, The High Country is an album in which to immerse yourself.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    Richmond Fontaine should be commended for bucking the singles trend and crafting an album that functions best, possibly only, as a whole, especially amid rumors of the album's impending demise.
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    70
    True, The High Country doesn't allow for the giddiest of circumstance, but if it doesn't break your heart, it may just steal it instead.
  7. Mojo
    Sep 27, 2011
    60
    An admirable attempt to try something genuinely different has compromised an otherwise fine album. [Oct 2011, p.94]
  8. Sep 20, 2011
    50
    As an album, The High Country is a little disappointing, as fans of Richmond Fontaine might wish for something a little more traditional in the structure, or at least for the story idea to have been realised better.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    I have to agree that it isn't as good as their last one. I also wasn't thrilled with it upon first listen. What did it for me was seeing themI have to agree that it isn't as good as their last one. I also wasn't thrilled with it upon first listen. What did it for me was seeing them live, when they performed High Country in its entirety, which gave me a whole new appreciation of the record. It was actually an amazing experience live. I now think it's pretty great. The album is a very dark, violent, twisted and very moving love story with a whole cast of detailed characters. Essentially it's a film noir soundtrack without a film. Full Review »
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Im a big fan of RF but this isnt a patch on their last album. It really is a book, with musical backing, its just a shame they forgot theIm a big fan of RF but this isnt a patch on their last album. It really is a book, with musical backing, its just a shame they forgot the songs and tunes ! Packed with swearing and some really wooden acting. Sorry guys, love you to bits but this is a stinker. Full Review »