Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    They consistently hit on the themes that have made The Hunger Games such a broadly appealing and resonant work, making for a soundtrack that reflects favorably on the film and which stands entirely on its own merits.
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    80
    The Hunger Games: Songs from District 12 and Beyond would be an impressive collection even if it weren't associated with one of 2012's most anticipated films, but the care put into the soundtrack makes it an experience that much richer for fans of the books, the movie, and any of the artists here.
  3. 75
    Far more engaging are the artists who imagine they've seen Katniss' future, and all they can say is "Go back."
  4. Apr 2, 2012
    60
    None of these songs will top the charts, and none of them are very immediate, but they work together like a well-oiled machine that delivers a relatively accurate depiction of how you might feel while reading the book or watching the film.
  5. Mar 29, 2012
    60
    The T-Bone Burnett-produced album admirably employs a nuanced approach and a consistent tone rather than using the opportunity to cash in on the film's young core audience.
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    60
    Too often the pervasive mournfulness tilts more maudlin than high-lonesome.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Got this album after reading the books and seeing the movie, and can't be happier I did. First purchased it mostly because of the TaylorGot this album after reading the books and seeing the movie, and can't be happier I did. First purchased it mostly because of the Taylor Swift and Kid Cudi songs, but now like the other songs just as much, or probably more. The lyrical content and feel of the songs fit perfectly with the books. With the exception of one song, I LOVE every song on this album. If you are a fan of the Hunger Games books or movie, I strongly recommend this collection. However, I would disagree with Josh_47ra in his saying that the songs are mostly pop. A few are, but I definitely don't get a "pop" feeling from the album. Nonetheless, whatever your musical tastes, give it a listen. You will like it! Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    For the most part the album is actually pretty and features quite a few good tracks that I'd happily buy. Where they falter though is the rapFor the most part the album is actually pretty and features quite a few good tracks that I'd happily buy. Where they falter though is the rap and rock songs. They do not fit with the folk theme of the album at all and I personally don't care for them. Still, It's a good soundtrack well worth checking out. Full Review »
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This is absolutely one of the strongest soundtrack album ever made. I love how the folk and alternative country dominate the sound because itThis is absolutely one of the strongest soundtrack album ever made. I love how the folk and alternative country dominate the sound because it really works well when you think of the first book as well as the movie. Jayme Dee's "Rules" really stands out for me, while the weakest would be Glen Hansard's "Take the Heartland". Other tracks are all exciting and Carolina Chocolate Drops' "Daughter's Lament" makes a cappella sounds very fresh for my ears. This is only a level next to being as amazing as the soundtrack of 2001's "O Brother, Where Art Thou?". Full Review »