The Hunter

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Hunter Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Kerrang!
    Nov 15, 2011
    100
    The Hunter is an album in which to lose yourself. [24 Sep 2011, p.52]
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    90
    The Hunter is a pitch for the mainstream--but it doesn't compromise on Mastodon's core ambition.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    90
    The Hunter is an example of how to crossover without selling out--something Metallica never learned--and no matter how many copies it sells, this is the mainstream heavy rock album of the year.
  4. Sep 23, 2011
    80
    As a first stab in the direction of avant-garde pop-metal, The Hunter is pretty damn compelling.
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    80
    The Hunter is the album that shows that as long as Mastodon stay true to their selves, they have the creative wherewithal to not only endure but keep themselves in the spotlight for years and years to come.
  6. Yeah, sometimes you can't even hear the lyrics, and when you do they don't make sense (although that's improving by album). But the music is endearing, and most of the time spectacular and that's a great feature to have in any rock band.
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    52
    Mastodon's most accessible album to date finds the ATL-iens as unfocused as ever--and out of gas.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    The fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, provesThe fact that this band tried something so different so confidently this late in their career, at the apex of their commercial success, proves that they are the most creative band of the genre. This is really good stuff. Some of the songs require a second listen to really dig, but you will be rewarded for your patience. There is also some strange stuff on here, Creature Lives for example, but its still very good. We're dealing with our generation's ZepFloydRush people. Enjoy the ride. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Warning: This is a completely different Mastodon than what you've listened to before. The hunter definitely is isn't as heavy as mastodon'sWarning: This is a completely different Mastodon than what you've listened to before. The hunter definitely is isn't as heavy as mastodon's previous albums but the switch is something refreshing in their sound. The have a more "pop" or "mainstream" sound that really suits thus albums sound. It has catchy riffs & lyrics that you just can't help but sing along Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    An incredibly enjoyable, expansive and impressive record. All the songs are crafted perfectly with complex riffs and soaring choruses, anAn incredibly enjoyable, expansive and impressive record. All the songs are crafted perfectly with complex riffs and soaring choruses, an absolute joy from start to finish. Compared to previous Mastodon records the songs are structured more simply with a intro-verse-chorus-solo-end pattern, this does not detract from the fact that all the songs are absolutely fantastic, the concepts and execution of each track are portrayed perfectly and this album really does deserve a perfect score. Old fans as well as new should be delighted because Mastodon have once again released an utterly incredible album. Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Mastodon continues to develop their style and change things up, and very successfully I might add. Six months after the release I still findMastodon continues to develop their style and change things up, and very successfully I might add. Six months after the release I still find myself going back to this album on a regular basis. It has all the elements I enjoy from progressive rock to metal, with some psychedelic flavor mixed in. I look forward to listening to this album for years to come. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    9
    A nice combination of the clean vocals and riff work of the superb Crack The Skye and Blood Mountain with the sludgy goodness of Leviathan andA nice combination of the clean vocals and riff work of the superb Crack The Skye and Blood Mountain with the sludgy goodness of Leviathan and Remission. While there's no big epic track on here like there were on the other albums, the catchiness combined with the heavy makes for a great listening experience. Just more proof that these guys deserve to be on list of the greatest metal groups of all time. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Even though there's variety and heaviness in abundance and brilliant recording quality, there is a bit of a lack in prog, which Mastodon doEven though there's variety and heaviness in abundance and brilliant recording quality, there is a bit of a lack in prog, which Mastodon do very well. The Hunter isn’t Mastodon’s best record, but it’s certainly a very good one, and a particularly entertaining listen that’ll keep you coming back for more.

    87/100.
    Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    5
    A very disappointing fifth outing from a band I've loved since their second full length ''Leviathan. There is non of the aggression of theirA very disappointing fifth outing from a band I've loved since their second full length ''Leviathan. There is non of the aggression of their early albums here coupled with a lack of experimentation that marked ''Blood Mountain'' and ''Crack The Skye''. There was really nothing memorable for me here, with most tracks slipping by having made little or no impact on me. It just sounds like a band on auto-pilot, going through the motions. I can understand them going down a gear after ''Crack The Skye'' but this just seems lazy to me. The songs lack variety and this is clearly their attempt at breaking into the mainstream. Now, there is nothing wrong with that in theory but when the result is this watered down, radio-friendly version of the prog-sludge we're used to, the result is nothing to get excited about.

    Another huge problem on this record is the production. The whole record just sits in one place, hitting you like a big mess of forgettable, indistinguishable riffs. The effects used on the vocals are cheesy to say the least and that coupled with the almost laughable lyrics for the most part mark this as possibly the sloppily mixed record I've heard all year. Now i wouldn't say this album was all bad, there is a definitely a sense of ''fun'' to the thing and of a band doing what they want and enjoying it but it produces a sound that doesn't interest or excite me on any level. These tracks seem like they'd be cool to hear live but as a studio outing, it's lacklustre to say the least. There's nothing totally un-listenable on here but nothing at all memorable either and it's a far cry from records like ''Remission'' and ''Leviathan'' and offers nothing new that's worth caring about for me. I don't know what else to say, Mastodon are one of my favourite bands but after hearing this I fear for the direction they're going in.
    Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. September's Best New Music

    September's Best New Music Image
    Published: September 30, 2011
    We reveal the best-reviewed albums from the past month, a list that includes debuts from Wild Flag and Das Racist as well as another in a long line of great LPs by Mastodon and Wilco. Plus, listen to tracks from each album.