The Hymn of a Broken Man Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Band members: Jesse Leach, Adam Dutkiewicz
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the band, which features Adam Dutkiewicz and Jesse Leach of Killswitch Engage.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    It's dark but not relentlessly brutal. It's even more introspective and dynamic than the pair's collaborations from the first time around.
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    It's challenging (but not a challenging listen), pushing boundaries and smashing down your very notions of what metal--or metalcore--is.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    The Hymn of a Broken Man is a much-needed breath of fresh air in the modern metal scene, injecting hope and perseverance into a realm dominated by despair and anger.
  4. Feb 16, 2011
    So while this disc is clearly aimed at Killswitch fans, anybody with an appreciation for modern metal and hard rock generally could find much to like here.
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    Your appreciation of the album will depend much on whether you happen to like the way Adam writes: if you do, then this is a belter. If, however, you've grown tired of the same old songs, look elsewhere. [22 Jan 2011, p.50]
  6. 60
    This is metalcore comfort food from two veterans, and little more. [Feb 2011, p.90]
  7. Feb 16, 2011
    The flow of Times of Grace's debut is so jagged and stop-start.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 7, 2011
    This has to be the best CD I have ever bought! the lyrics are genius and it sounds amazing, it's absolutely amazing, I recommend this to any and everyone, it deserves nothing less that a perfect 10. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2012
    This album has powerful and strong vocal with touching and meaningful lyrics. It has the best lyrics in metalcore albums I ever heard. Most of the instruments are unique .You should understand (at least a little) the lyrics to enjoy this album. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    Finally, finally Jesse Leach, along with metalcore master Adam D (after his unfortunate Surgery in the back) return to give us a new and majestic work of art, an excellent title called: The Hymn of a Broken Man
    In this work rejoin two melodic metalcore musicians, Adam D and Jesse Leach to create one of the best albums of melodic metalcore and 2011 with powerful themes like "Strength in Numbers", which shows the great power they have to give us a hard sound and strong, too tender as "In the Arms of Mercy" and melodic as "Fall from Grace" which for me was the best song on the album, because Adam I marvel at its beautiful and glorious voice, and a good sound and lyrics.
    Sure it's not the only thing good about this album, there are excellent tracks like "Live in Love", "Willing", "Where the Spirit Leads Me", "The End of Eternity" are sublime.
    All the songs are excellent, the only one who did not give her the ten was "Hope Remains", not just because I do not like, but I think this time was the sound of the guitar, it became very noisy and did not agree well with the lyrics, that low points in my opinion.
    Outside of that song, the album is excellent, please listen, it's worth to buy it, especially in special edition because they have special videos for each song that are amazing and beautiful. We'll see how it goes because this band has everything to become a band epic and memorable, hopefully go ahead and continue to impress us in the future.
  4. Apr 21, 2012
    One of the best metalcore albums ever, every song on this album is worth listening to. Jesse Leach and his amazing vocals return and offer an excellent sound for the band. Adam's lyrics are mediocre as always and eventually get annoying to listen to (everything's about love this, and love that, love thy neighbour and love thy friend, all that B.S.) but the melodic metalcore is amazing to listen to. Highlights of this album are "The Forgotten One", "The End of Eternity" and "Fall From Grace", but my personal favorite is "Live in Love". Low point of the album is "Strength in Numbers", just no melody in that song and melody is what Adam D and Jesse Leach do best. Expand