The Idler Wheel Is Wiser than the Driver of the Screw and Whipping Cords Will Serve You More than Ropes Will Ever Do Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 246 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer-songwriter began recording her fourth studio album in secret in 2008 or 2009.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Epic
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    100
    It's essential 2012 listening for anyone interested in popular music as art.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    92
    The result is an album that was absolutely worth the seven-year wait, not to mention the mountain of hype atop which Apple has sat since her big comeback at SXSW in March.
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    90
    Another singular album from a truly idiosyncratic voice, Apple has once again invited us into her lushly conflicted inner monologue.
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    87
    In The Idler Wheel's ten phenomenal songs, Fiona Apple seems to lay everything out on the table.
  5. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    It's an album that demands something of the listener, but rewards it in spades.
  6. Mojo
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    It's a hyper-vivid and intensely musical affair that takes us deep inside Apple's skittish, fretful mind. [Jul 2012, p.82]
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    Half of the album is magnificent, and stylistically contradistinct, while the other half exists in some offbeat and off-putting terrain that will either elude its listeners, or alienate them.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 4 out of 54
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    A Remarkable album on every single musical level. Last year PJ Harvey brought out 'Let England Shake' where Mike Williams of the NME statedA Remarkable album on every single musical level. Last year PJ Harvey brought out 'Let England Shake' where Mike Williams of the NME stated "Francis Ford Coppola can lay claim to the war movie. Ernest Hemingway the war novel. Polly Jean Harvey, a 41-year-old from Dorset, has claimed the war album,"

    With this album Fiona Apple captures the greatest break-up album we will ever hear. Every one of this albums 10 tracks is remarkable and each song will leave an indelible imprint in your mind forever.

    Its not often that an album with this much hype live's up to all the anticipation, but it most certainly does. Its the album that will remain strong forever. It will never get week. It will always be able to be played and its verver will resonate in your heart whenever you need to feel the love of great music.

    I give this album a 10 out of 10 as it will certainly be in my top 10 albums of 2012 list.

    My words cannot express enough how worthwhile it is to experience this album right this very second!
    Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I say with zero hesitation or exaggeration that this record is a masterpiece. Sometimes when I'm listening to the Idler Wheel I need to get upI say with zero hesitation or exaggeration that this record is a masterpiece. Sometimes when I'm listening to the Idler Wheel I need to get up and punch the air and jump on top of things. I mean, it's an incredibly strong emotional and physical reaction. She has punched me in the gut and I'm still winded. Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Sit with this one for a bit, because its a grower. The first few listens may be a bit frustrating or underwhelming. But then you realize it'sSit with this one for a bit, because its a grower. The first few listens may be a bit frustrating or underwhelming. But then you realize it's only because you're looking for a certain type of song. Soon the melodies flow and the lyrics sink in. The stark contrast between her past work and this new collection makes it even better. Fiona Apple is clearly pushing herself, with new vocal harmonies she hasn't sang before over far more minimal instrumentation than ever, and it works. I love this album. The more i listen to it, the better it is. The catchiest numbers for any that are curious are- "Every Single Night," "Periphery," and "Anything We Want." But these aren't even necessarily the best, give the album a few listens as a whole and you'll see what i mean. Amazing work. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    "The Idler Wheel" shows what music is in a purely artistic manner. Not written to contain a top 40 hit, or buy another car or house... but to"The Idler Wheel" shows what music is in a purely artistic manner. Not written to contain a top 40 hit, or buy another car or house... but to convey an emotional response from the listener. The raw nature of the songs somehow seems to leave less to mask what it is being expressed in each song. It's not something I would consider "accessible" to the pop community, but any musician or really any true artist should be able to appreciate what this album is and what it brings to the table. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    An album made ​​for people who can understand it, their low sales refer to mass culture imposed by the media. Don't sold muchAn album made ​​for people who can understand it, their low sales refer to mass culture imposed by the media. Don't sold much because much of the current population is not able to interpret it, to understand what it means and were guided to hearing songs completely different and boring like Nicki Minaj and Rihanna, even the strange Adole. Too bad for those who reject this masterpiece, because they are having a chance to completely change your viewpoint about anything just hearing the ten tracks that make up the best album of the year. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    9
    I had to really devote a lot of my time to this album but it was completely worth it. Apple almost makes an album that's better thanI had to really devote a lot of my time to this album but it was completely worth it. Apple almost makes an album that's better than Extraordinary Machine, almost. Each track is beautifully written and sung with raw emotion. All in All, The Idler Wheel... is a fantastic album. A- Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2012
    0
    THE IDLER... is one the most overrated albums that i counl hear in my entire life, its a completely waste of time try to understand every songTHE IDLER... is one the most overrated albums that i counl hear in my entire life, its a completely waste of time try to understand every song that conposed this album, i love Fiona's interpretation but the album like a whole thing don't convince me, maybe is the meaningless lyrics or the awful and akward rithm, i cannot say more of this album, never will be a masterpiece like Adele's 21, recently named one of the best album ever play by a female singer, this is that i call a good album, I'm sorry Fiona, good luck to the next try. Collapse

See all 54 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far Image
    Published: July 5, 2012
    With half of 2012 already in the books, we take a look at the best and worst albums released so far this year.