The Incident - Porcupine Tree
The Incident Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest album for the rock band led by Steven Wilson features a 55-minute piece (broken up into 14 tracks).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. The title suite on this two-CD set is the Tree's finest hour: a mounting drama of memoir and real-news trauma, animated with slicing guitars, ghost-song electronics, mile-high harmonies and smart pop bait.
  2. The Incident is an incident in music that must be acknowledged.
  3. Stellar 12-minute opus 'Time Flies' teems with Pink Floydesque arrangements and moving lyrics, while 'Octane Twisted' offers up massive guitar riffage that you can bang your head to.
  4. He is a very, very good songwriter, which keeps Porcupine Tree afloat even when they aren’t really pushing the envelope.
  5. That said, unlike early proggers who favored meandering instrumental doodling over succinct songwriting, Porcupine Tree always favor the importance of memorable songs over flashy solos, which certainly makes the group one of the top modern-day prog rock bands.
  6. It's sprawling beast, but for all its occasional spots of indulgence it's a towering achievement. [Oct 2009, p.115]
  7. 60
    With these less-then-cutting-edge elements Wilson manages to conjure that's diverse and full of drama. [Oct 2009, p.97]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Rob
    Oct 1, 2009
    10
    One of the best albums this year. Time Flies is one of the best centerpieces they had ever recorded. Porcupine Tree has never disappointed me. Rock on guys!! Collapse
  2. JustinT
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    Every Porcupine Tree album gets better and better than the last and 'The Incident' is no exception. I'm guessing this will end up being the best record of '09. Expand
  3. MattM.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    This is Porcupine Tree's best yet and, so far, my album of the year for 2009. This album is magic. Grizzly Bear, Animal Collective, Riverside, and The Mars Volta are next in my best of 2009 list. Expand
  4. BrianG.
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    A remarkable record, perhaps their best. However, it takes several listens to fully digest.
  5. PrestonF
    Oct 2, 2009
    10
    PT is one of the best bands around. Their music is consistently excellent and they are incredible live. This is the best album I've listened to this year (the vinyl is SUPERB) and I listen to A LOT of music. This is quality. This is challenging. This is art. And, it's FUN. This won't get the hype it so richly deserves, but continued listening brings further layers and meanings to light. BUY IT and thank me later. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    The follow-up to "fear of a blank planet" by Steven Wilson's prog. rock/metal band porcupine tree is a very good album although it isn't as brilliant as the aforementioned album. For me, the best song is "time flies". Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    Sorry Porcupine Tree, I didn't really get it. Sure, for the most part it's great, but it can get boring. The biggest disappointment however is the sound quality, something of which Porcupine Tree has always been excellent at, I don't know, it just sounded a little muffled. Expand