Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
Buy On
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    While Bell boasted that The Industrialist is "Demanufacture-plus," it's not quite. However, at certain times, it does come pretty close.
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    What this all boils down to is another solid outing for the group.
  3. Kerrang!
    Jul 6, 2012
    60
    The Industrialist doesn't quite live up to the band's former glories. [[9 Jun 2012, p.53]
  4. Jul 6, 2012
    60
    While anyone hoping for more of the same old Fear Factory will find a lot to love about The Industrialist, those who have been hoping for something different might find that the album isn't quite what they were looking for.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Nov 1, 2015
    8
    After Mechanize pulverized me into a tender shell of a man I wasn't sure what to expect when they announced this album. Mechanize wasn't asAfter Mechanize pulverized me into a tender shell of a man I wasn't sure what to expect when they announced this album. Mechanize wasn't as "industrial" as their previous efforts which is a big staple of Fear Factory's sound. So when the album title was revealed as "The Industrialist" I wasn't sure what to expect. Then I learned FF had gone through yet another line up change. And then I heard that the album would be a concept album. AND THEN I heard there would be a drum machine instead of a traditional drummer?!?! What?! No Raymond Herrera machine gun bass drum? No Gene Hoglan pounding the skins? My expectations went as low as possible for this record. Then something happened......

    The record came out. Upon hearing it my faith was instantly restored. This might be the most true Fear Factory record I had heard since Obsolete or Archetype. I was so happy that immediately put the disc on repeat and analyzed it for flaws and was happy to report there weren't many. The only true flaw of the album is that some of the drum patterns get too programmed and far beyond the capabilities of an actual drummer. Seeing them live with a session drummer I noticed that some of the tracks they played from this album had to be toned down a little. But outside of that one dinky complaint this record is absolutely phenomenal! I love it! I hope you will too!
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    10
    No really nothing new under the horizon but finally more aggressive rythm-section/drumcomputer. Strangely the computer-programming makes thisNo really nothing new under the horizon but finally more aggressive rythm-section/drumcomputer. Strangely the computer-programming makes this release a bit more faster FF-record since a while. If it`s the best FF record, time will tell.
    But can`t wait for another FF-release!!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Fear Factory made a fantastic comeback with Mechanize, and some like myself were wondering whether or not Fear Factory would top it.Fear Factory made a fantastic comeback with Mechanize, and some like myself were wondering whether or not Fear Factory would top it. Thankfully this album not only was as technical but lyrically one of the best albums Burton and Dino have written since Obsolete. My only gripes are the lack of a drummer and bassist and Burton could be a little more powerful as he was back on Mechanize. Aside from that, if you were disappointed in albums like Transgression then rush to your local record store and buy this along with Mechanize. Full Review »