Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Without the bizarre lyrical invention and fuck-shit-up whimsy of his earlier work, Beck's attempts at party jams come off woefully overwrought and flat, making the darker bits interspersed throughout seem intriguing by default.
  2. However annoying it sounds, give The Information a chance. By the time Horrible Fanfare rolls around, 15 numbers in, you'll be too dazed to resist.
  3. Information ultimately suffers from the same hollowness that weakened Guero, but it's bolder at its best and less derivative of previous victories.
  4. 60
    [Contains] scattered but affecting shots of brilliance. [Oct 2006, p.117]
  5. The bubbly cartoon funk of single Cell Phone's Dead is a winner, but tracks like 1000 BPM and We Dance Alone are mid-paced, cautiously funky numbers with neither the bare sentiment of Sea Change nor the ribald lunacy of Hansen’s late-90s bombs.
  6. Even though The Information is neither a leap forward or nearly as exceptional as his previous collaborations with Godrich, it does serve as hope that Beck still has some great work ahead of him. [#15]
  7. Despite his penchant for experimentation, much of his material remains accessible to casual listeners, even when he turns toward the self-indulgent.
  8. The Information is as creative, tuneful and interesting as you could wish from an established artist.
  9. The Information... is hamstrung by the sensation that, though Beck likes rapping, he has little to say beyond smart-alec one-liners. [Nov 2006, p.138]
  10. 60
    The Information often feels hygienised and missing some grit. [Nov 2006, p.100]
  11. 60
    The latter tracks sink into Beck-by-numbers fare. [Nov 2006, p.100]
  12. I’m convinced that Beck Hansen has a few more good albums in him. One thing’s for sure, though: The Information isn’t one of them.
  13. [The songs] demand reconstruction that can only come from multiple listens. Unfortunately, the initial impact of the record is so muted that only an artist as challenging and road-tested as Beck warrants such effort.
  14. 50
    Assured but tame. [Nov 2006, p.139]
  15. Yet for all the headphone-worthy sounds, the pace seldom rises above a back-porch feel and, at times, the stickers meant for customizing the cover seem like more fun than the music.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 61
  2. Negative: 2 out of 61
  1. mikes.
    Oct 5, 2006
    5
    Beck has gotten into a comfortable groove as of late and I believe AMG overrated this album. Yes Nigel Godrich is a great producer and does a Beck has gotten into a comfortable groove as of late and I believe AMG overrated this album. Yes Nigel Godrich is a great producer and does a good job in giving Beck focus. In theory, this album should be good enough to be considered one of his best. It will satisfy hardcore Beck fans. But Beck's original albums had an inviting vibe that helped him break into mainstream pop culture, this new release lacks that energy. This is largely due to the fact that Beck hasn't modernized his production. If Beck grabbed Scott Storch, Timbaland, Max Martin: he could of made something special and refreshing. Don't get me wrong Godrich does a good job, lots of depth and consistency in production and in Beck's songwriting. However, he seems to be retracing his earlier artistic career and trying to recreate what he did with his earlier albums. If this album came out 10 years ago it would be a masterpiece. Now he sounds comfortable, not lazy, but also not quite inspiring. What disappoints me the most is that he continues to remain in the same genre of funk,rap,pop,folk, indie and throws them all into a melting pot. For an artist that has previously displayed creativity and variety with Sea Changes, Odelay, and his earlier more experimental work, it seems Beck is now repeating himself, musically and with the retro production by Godrich as well. Overall the album is average, and not that fun or entertaining. Full Review »
  2. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    7
    The Information is Beck returning to his weird side from Midnight Vultures days. The album is not as inviting as Midnight Vultures, but stillThe Information is Beck returning to his weird side from Midnight Vultures days. The album is not as inviting as Midnight Vultures, but still a nice detour. I do love Nigel Godrich's production and album's "do-it-yourself" sticker album cover. Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2010
    6
    His most inconsistent effort in my opinion. Still many standout tracks of course, notably Nausea, No Complaints and Think I'm In Love, but aHis most inconsistent effort in my opinion. Still many standout tracks of course, notably Nausea, No Complaints and Think I'm In Love, but a few dud experiments too (Strange Apparition and 1000 BPM). I appreciate this album is an attempt to go back to the eclectic nature of his early albums, with an obviously more electro leaning, but it I think he was just that little bit more interesting and that little bit more mental on the likes of 'Mellow Gold' and 'Odelay'. Brilliant in parts, less so in others. Full Review »