The Inspiration - Young Jeezy
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. With his rumbling, slurring baritone and unyielding force of will, he rhymes with a preacher's power, only he's proselytizing from the corner, not the pulpit.
  2. It's the Atlanta MC's immense personality that truly inspires. [15 Dec 2006, p.87]
  3. Throughout The Inspiration, Jeezy shows a muddled desire to transcend the clichés he helped create, to create further complexity without ever resolving it.
  4. Jeezy does little to make this disc different from Let's Get It.
  5. 80
    Despite its frustratingly uniform theme--coke--and Jeezy's inflexible, one-speed rasp, his sophomore effort, The Inspiration, suggests that last year's victories were no fluke. [Feb 2007, p.121]
  6. He spits snowman raps with rough-hewn charisma and unseemly enthusiasm.
  7. 70
    Because of his no-frills persona, the smallest suggestions of personality make a charismatic impact. [Jan/Feb 2007, p.89]
  8. If there's one problem, it's the lack of surprises.
  9. 70
    This time around, it's as if the script has been reshot by Michael Bay--glossy and viscerally stimulating--and we're watching a coming attraction for a film that never starts. [Feb 2007, p.88]
  10. His lyrics have matured past coke-slinging to the drug's effect on his life. [16 Dec 2006]
  11. Jeezy has a competent flow, good breath control, plenty of hot beats and all-star guests, and yet this album really is a sequel to "101" in all but name because it picks up where the last one left off without even trying to differentiate between the two.
  12. Fortunately, getting the money isn’t all this follow-up to last year’s breakthrough Let’s Get It cares about, and the singles here are fire.
  13. With no shiny, distracting megabeats in tow, Jeezy’s inherent flaws stand out much more sharply.
  14. Spottily effective gangster posturing.
  15. The strange thing about The Inspiration is how it's posited as an alternative to the much-bullied "conscious rap," and yet, it's among the least fun albums released this year.
  16. Young Jeezy’s appeal was never his writing, but now words sometimes fail him. [11 Dec 2006]
  17. Almost every dramatic synth swell, exploding snare and multi-tracked "Yeaaahhhh" has been done better elsewhere.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 5 out of 23
  1. JohnDoe
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I think that this cd is rockin all cars,houses and clubs. It dont matter what song on his cd i can relate to it cuz what he is saying on any I think that this cd is rockin all cars,houses and clubs. It dont matter what song on his cd i can relate to it cuz what he is saying on any song is real.I think he is a mastermind at punchlines 2. The beats r a bump u b rockin ya head to i say atleast, 13/16 songs.If yall think jeezy sucks then go cop the album, listen to it, then u try to make a cd were the people of the USA be feelin 16/16 songs. Full Review »
  2. ChrisW
    Mar 18, 2007
    2
    Another Rapper who is setting a bad example for Real Hip-Hop music and artists. This CD is pretty much crap. Stealing a song like "Bury me a Another Rapper who is setting a bad example for Real Hip-Hop music and artists. This CD is pretty much crap. Stealing a song like "Bury me a G" from 2pac is not the way to make a name for yourself. Another fake ass wanna be thug that is killing Rap Music. Full Review »
  3. Eileen'sEdwin
    Mar 11, 2007
    6
    Great beats, mediocre lyrics. I'm sure his next album will be even better. And don't worry, this is a high 6 (very near a 7).