Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    100
    A fans-pleasing eighth album from Britain's most consistently brilliant band.
  2. Almost two decades later, and they prove why everyone continues to keep tabs and standards for not only the band, but everyone around trying to live up to the influence.
  3. The material here is as strong as we've come to expect from this band, but its pleasures aren't nearly as surface-level as even Kid A's. The best way to judge The King of Limbs in the long run may simply be to hope someone spurs Radiohead on in this direction.
  4. 100
    Like every other album, there are the trademarks we've all come to grow and love from the band and by the end of this, all of the most loving adjectives one could shower on an album will be spread all over The King of Limbs.
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    90
    Right now I'm pretty content with digging The King of Limbs as I'd dig any new record: enjoying the personality that comes from the record itself and not the name behind it. And guess what? Radiohead makes good music. As if you had any doubt.
  6. Feb 22, 2011
    83
    As is Radiohead's custom, The King Of Limbs hasn't been designed for immediate comprehension or acceptance.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Where In Rainbows was mellow but brisk - an album that felt on its way somewhere - these songs are eerie and insidious, creeping like shadows - and, often because of the haunting voice of Thom Yorke, the occasional chill.
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Still, swirling in there with Yorke's apocalyptic surrealisms and his band's tricky rhythms, there's a beating heart that feels almost animal. If The King of Limbs doesn't feel alive to you at first, give it some time to wake up.
  9. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    As with anything that's trying to do something bigger and better, lessons of that magnitude can take more time to sink in, definitely longer than the handful of hours we've had to absorb what The King of Limbs might be all about. In that sense, the jury is still out on The King of Limbs and that's because there's always something more to Radiohead.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 512 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 197
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Radiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks out is the evident direction with which Radiohead seems to be tending. This album leans toward a modern classical direction. This may be due to leader Thom Yorke's infatuation with dubstep and certain electronic music. On the other hand, the band still keeps its grounding, with Johnny Greenwood's haunting keyboards, and Colin's bass driving the beats of Phil Selway's lathered drum section. The King of Limbs is very beat heavy, with Thom using his voice to complement the aura surrounding the left and right that make up the production of Nigel Godrich. There is a different Radiohead in every one of the eight songs on The King of Limbs, with the majority of the tunes relating back to the second set of songs on In Rainbows. Lotus Flower, which has a brilliant video concurrently released today, is the awe-inspiring track to The King of Limbs. It contains hints of dubstep, but also plays fairly close to Idioteque. Thom Yorke's vocals on this album as a whole reach high and low, as expected from Radiohead nearly twenty years now. One prolific aspect of this album is the ability Yorke encompasses during his "sliding" of vocals. Yorke, now in his forties, still has the power he had back in 2000's Kid A, and continues to create new avenues to hone and elaborate his use of vocals. Radiohead never ceases to disappoint, and certainly do not do so here. The album is just under forty minutes in length, which is a true disappointment, but I hope the "Newspaper" edition that comes out will contain bonus songs or something of the sort. Radiohead's eighth album The King of Limbs is a knocker with power, force, and a soul to reckon with, the only inhibition the album may experience is its length-challenged state. But this may also be a strength. It may cause a desire for more! Keep the people guessing. They have been keeping the public guessing since way back in September, why stop now? I would also like to strike a chord with the lyric substance in the album. The album contains parts, in its minute state, with little lyrical substance, which, in my opinion, can be disappointing. I will say it now that, the length and lyrical shortcomings may cause a negative stir among the Radiohead fan base. But if you ask me, this album is In Rainbow's antagonist. It takes In Rainbows, and flips it on its side. A new world of music, but keeps the Radiohead vibrations resonating. This album is brilliant. It is no surprise nor expectation fulfilled. It is Radiohead without being typical or predictable. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    How far can a great band fall? I must have listened to The Bends hundreds of times and OK Computer, thousands. Since those two strokes of brilliance, Radiohead has slowly descended into a melody-free, experimental, electronic haze that not only fails to rock but fails to amuse. I just looked at how many songs I've kept (did not delete) from their last five albums: 6,5,5,4,3,0). Most of those are tracks I rarely listen to. Well, Thom and company have just notched another zero. This album, like the last few is a lazy, soulless, electronic mess. Buzzes, clicks, digital bass lines and sparse clicks that don't amount to music. If you loved the band I once did, don't listen to this. Save your memories of better times. If you want to hear the mood Radiohead is going for done musically, Listen to PJ Harvey's new album, Let England Shake. I miss you, Radiohead. RIP. Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    3
    To be quite frank, this album doesn't deserve the scores its getting. The only reason it's getting such high scores is because of the name the band has. Don't get me wrong, I'm a big fan of the band. My favorite albums easily include OK Computer and The Bends. But honestly, this album is pretty much crap. The first seconds of Bloom was interesting and melodic, but that's where all the good stuff ended. The rest of the album is filled with hipster experimental electronica, and stupidly mumbled vocals such as "Good Morning Mr. Magpie, how are we today." There's no soul, no melody, no groove, no feeling or emotion. Someone hipster might say "you don't get the music man" but trust me: I do. This is easily Radiohead's worst album. If another band besides Radiohead came out with the same exact album, it would get much lower ratings, and thats the truth. Full Review »