User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 507 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 507

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Radiohead, under the gun of expectation, have not disappointed with their eighth studio album "The King of Limbs." The title itself is provocative of something large, and even the album cover hints as well. The King of Limbs is very drum heavy, which is somewhat of a step away from their usual routine, but still manages to resonate the true Radiohead frequencies. One thing that sticks out is the evident direction with which Radiohead seems to be tending. This album leans toward a modern classical direction. This may be due to leader Thom Yorke's infatuation with dubstep and certain electronic music. On the other hand, the band still keeps its grounding, with Johnny Greenwood's haunting keyboards, and Colin's bass driving the beats of Phil Selway's lathered drum section. The King of Limbs is very beat heavy, with Thom using his voice to complement the aura surrounding the left and right that make up the production of Nigel Godrich. There is a different Radiohead in every one of the eight songs on The King of Limbs, with the majority of the tunes relating back to the second set of songs on In Rainbows. Lotus Flower, which has a brilliant video concurrently released today, is the awe-inspiring track to The King of Limbs. It contains hints of dubstep, but also plays fairly close to Idioteque. Thom Yorke's vocals on this album as a whole reach high and low, as expected from Radiohead nearly twenty years now. One prolific aspect of this album is the ability Yorke encompasses during his "sliding" of vocals. Yorke, now in his forties, still has the power he had back in 2000's Kid A, and continues to create new avenues to hone and elaborate his use of vocals. Radiohead never ceases to disappoint, and certainly do not do so here. The album is just under forty minutes in length, which is a true disappointment, but I hope the "Newspaper" edition that comes out will contain bonus songs or something of the sort. Radiohead's eighth album The King of Limbs is a knocker with power, force, and a soul to reckon with, the only inhibition the album may experience is its length-challenged state. But this may also be a strength. It may cause a desire for more! Keep the people guessing. They have been keeping the public guessing since way back in September, why stop now? I would also like to strike a chord with the lyric substance in the album. The album contains parts, in its minute state, with little lyrical substance, which, in my opinion, can be disappointing. I will say it now that, the length and lyrical shortcomings may cause a negative stir among the Radiohead fan base. But if you ask me, this album is In Rainbow's antagonist. It takes In Rainbows, and flips it on its side. A new world of music, but keeps the Radiohead vibrations resonating. This album is brilliant. It is no surprise nor expectation fulfilled. It is Radiohead without being typical or predictable. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I listened to it once. I wasn't convinced.
    I listened to it twice and I got to track 2 "Morning. Mr Magpie" and I played it about 5 times over before I could even change the song and after listening to it over and over, it became clear.
    Radiohead aren't there to please people they're there to challenge you musically, to test you
    and this is where there genius is: Every time it's amazing,
    after OK Computer they bought out KID A and it challenged people, but now its ranked next to OK Computer in greatness.
    The King Of Limbs challenged me, but, in the end it won.

    BRILLIANT ALBUM 9/10
    Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Upon my first listen, i was strangely disappointed. I've stayed up all night listening to it over and over again, and i can now say that it is one of my favorite albums I have heard in a few years. Crooning, emotional and utterly brilliant. As always, their soundscape is as large as the solar system, and it is gorgeous. It is short, sweet and satisfying. worth a few dozen listens. its weird, in some ways like kid a, but just like kid a in that its f***ing awesome. Expand
  4. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Its definitely a grower, like all Radioheads album. I found it to be disappointing at first listen, but maybe i was isnt expecting something else. I kept on listening time and time again, and i found that it had a different feel to it. And to be honest, now i will keep on playing it...I just loved it, Lotus flowers and Thom Yorke's dance was futuristic and loveable
  5. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    When the dust finally settles after the metaphorical whirlwind of its release, the 'King of Limbs' will retroactively rearrange the coordinates by which one will come to judge Radiohead's previous work! Many people are trying to make sense of this quite unique record by comparing it with what has gone before. Some have drawn an analogy with 'Amnesiac' (quite reasonably) or Kid A (understandably), others have seen it as a logical continuation of 'In Rainbows' (a little less understandable) and some others still ( quite inexplicably) have drawn a comparison with 'Hail to the Thief'--quite why, I do not know. This general strategy is an obvious reaction, for it is only through comparing and contrasting what is new against the backdrop of what already circulates that we begin to understand and form opinions. But ultimately, any such endeavour will do violence to what is a quite singular record, with its own peculiar cadence and texture. I advise anyone approaching this record to erase all memory of what has passed and encounter 'The King of Limbs' on its own terms, in the hic et nunc. Once one has allowed each syncopated beat, every pulsating bass note to permeate deep in the consciousness, perhaps then one might, a little more judiciously, be able to evaluate how this record relates to its predecessors. For what it's worth (and I am only on my 7th listen), I think that in the cases of 'Lotus Flower', 'Codex', 'Feral' and 'Separator', we have four songs, for which others exist already within the band's existing corpus, but none of which are as beautifully rendered as on this record. To give two examples. Personally, 'Codex' supplants 'Pyramid Song', 'Sail to the Moon', 'How to Disappear Completely', 'Nude', 'Exit Music (From a Film) as the most achingly gorgeous composition the band has ever put to Stanza. In the example of 'Feral' we have a song which, musically, is far more poised and, existentially, more neurotically charged than say 'Climbing up the Walls', 'The Gloaming' or 'Idioteque'.

    All things considered, 'The King of Limbs', in a subtle and understated way, is a work of refinement, and in this lies its revolutionary appeal. Extraordinary stuff.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Since user " football !=! " has already said it all I'll just make this short. This is a perfect album coming from a perfect band (in my opinion). I think that Radiohead outdone themselves and the album confirms it. All the songs are brilliantly peaced together, containing brilliant lyrics , and the album itself is just one of the best albums you'll hear in this year (I hope). To finish this rather short review I say this: "Listen to this album and if you don't like what you're hearing,.... you my son are either deaf, or you've gone completely insane (in a bad way). ;) Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although it feels more like an experiment than an album, it's still Radiohead. Which means it is still made by one of the best bands around. This album just makes me more excited for the next one while being an interesting experiment and a great album all at the same some. In short, Thom Yorke, Johnny Greenwood, and the rest have knocked it out of the park again. Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Radioheads latest album, "The King of Limbs", is similar to their previous ones, in that it takes several listens to fully appreciate. The first listen reveals that the album, while still quite experimental, isn't the genre redefining "The Bends", "OK Computer", or "Kid A". They instead continue to explore their own musical niche, as they had on their previous two albums, "Hail to the Thief" and "In Rainbows". The album only contains eight tracks, far less music than fans were hoping for after a four year drought. Yet all of the songs are superbly written, and while some don't strike as all that great at first, they each sound better with each additional listen. In the end, "The King of Limbs" is an excellent addition to the Radiohead canon, but eight tracks doesn't quite quench the thirst of their devoted fans. Expand
  9. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    It covers familiar ground, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing at all. One of people's major complaints with The King of Limbs is the length, but that's probably my favorite part. By the looks of things, I'm the only person who thinks this, but albums that are more than 45 minutes generally lose my attention, so this 37 minute album keeps me enthralled.
  10. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Couldn't have at all predicted how this was going to sound, but it sounds beautiful. Strangely organic and electronic. The level of music tech brilliance that's been put into this record is astounding. On a badass pair of speakers it sounds blissful. I've listened to it only a handful of times, but by the second listen through I always already in love. The first song sets the mood for a beautiful trip of an album. The last four tracks are pretty amazing, at the moment I can't choose between Codex and Give up the Ghost as my favourite. They never fail to surprise me. If I'm honest I can't see me loving this record (or any other record) as much as In Rainbows, but this is still a great work. Hopefully the fact that this record is so short will mean that another release might not be far off. Could this be a Kid A- Amnesiac type affair? I hope so. When I heard it was only 8 tracks I was a bit disappointed. Nevertheless, it's a very good album. Colin Greenwood seems to be one of the standout features of the album, which is something that hasn't been the case in any of the other albums :L Expand
  11. Feb 18, 2011
    9
    Basic Short sentence summary: 3rd best album behind ok computer and the bends. Best album to wander to around a city park, forest, in seclusion, mind, etc. It feels nearly a shame not to give this album a perfect score. The only nagging point being a strange almost lack of structure of the first half of the album. But to everyone out there who has seen a mixed or negative review of this album is incorrect. Every song is both a look back at one of the past 4 albums (and Thom Yorke's solo work to include) and at the same time a whole new original piece of Art from the greatest band of all time. Yorke, O'Brien, Selway, and the greenwood's release a great use of all their talents and skills to combine into the shortest, but maybe the best "modern" (Post Ok computer work) Album.
    I believe the best songs would have to be the 2nd half of the Album. Especially Lotus F Lower and Give up the ghost, I cant decide your opinion for you, but its worth listening to the whole thing over and over and over until your heart stops beating. But by then, These geniuses would have released in a lifetime more of masterpieces.
    Expand
  12. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    While it is easy compare Radiohead's recent album with OK Computer (which like trying to make a sequel to the Shawshank Redemption), The King of Limbs is still superbly well done and much better than the majority of released music. It isn't a revelation but a reassurance that Radiohead's still got the touch to create unique songs and mesh sounds into beautiful rhythm. Every Radiohead album has given that one song to say 'wow' to and "Lotus Flower" is that song. It strikes a chord the first time you listen to it and grows into the ranks of distinguished songs that capture you after every listen. I love albums that have beautiful transitions between songs and Radiohead has always been amazing at committing themselves to the flow of their music. The King of Limbs showcases Radiohead's best use of transitions yet (depending on how you interpret the theme of the album). While OK Computer was an album about isolationism and one's place in society, The King of Limbs carries a modern tone to it. It uses an abstract perspective to showcase prevalent issues, or even just feelings about everything concurrent. The King of Limbs is very interpretive and it isn't spelled out so easily. It's Radiohead's most interpretive album since Kid A. All in all, comparing Radiohead to Radiohead is very difficult, as if comparing two languages, but Radiohead has released another masterpiece. It just might take some time for it to sink in. Expand
  13. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    At a short run time and only 8 tracks, Radiohead has found itself on the middle of a tightrope. They're coming off the heels of the remarkably successful "In Rainbows," cryptically revealing new material that hearkens back to albums prior, and having fans just in reach of having any new material at all. Does that mean that by reaching the end of the tightrope they'll be able to achieve the fan base they've created? Absolutely not.

    I seem to recall a similar album that had the challenging job to overcome the hugely successful "OK Computer," and wound up in a place of personal reflection and exploration. It was not an album that achieved notoriety upon release and took a good amount of time to realize the intimacy that was "Kid A." Readers, "The King of Limbs" is in the same vein - more experience than normal listening.

    Like the song titles imply, beginning with the magnificently clouded "Bloom," the album tinkers the idea of growth, as I'm sure the album will likely grow upon the listener. With a first half textured with electronic drum beats and soundscapes that sound oftentimes lonely and lost, Radiohead seems to have aimed in a direction of truly finding oneself within the sounds, that is until reaching "Lotus Flower," which is by far the most accessible song on the album. The groove is representative to efforts on "Hail to the Thief," presenting the last half of the album with a greater sense of being found. I wouldn't necessarily call this a concept album, but if there was any way to discover what it is that Radiohead is driving, they've certainly made me want to spend the time searching.

    Radiohead's latest is one that will most certainly be challenging, considering it has to live up to the remarkably successful "In Rainbows." Yet "The King of Limbs" excels in pursuing intimacy in the vein of "Kid A," another album trying to find its voice amidst the huge success of "OK Computer." I'm certainly "The King of Limbs" will find the limbs it needs to grow and become one of Radiohead's considerably better efforts.
    Expand
  14. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    This is a really beautiful album. It ebbs and flows with beautiful melodies and intricate counter rhythms. I've listened to the album twice and as a veteran Radiohead fan, it will take me at least 20 more listens to fully grasp this short, but very interested album. I love their use of horns, which I haven't heard so prevalent since Kid A. I guarantee that 8 tracks isn't the end, I'm sure we will hear another 6 to 8 tracks to book-end this well crafted album. To all the quick to judge haters...yes, we know The Bends and OK Computer were AMAZING albums, but they are 17 and 14 years old. Bands change and have to evolve their sounds. Just listen, don't judge. This isn't the **** Rolling Stones, they can't just keep kicking out guitar jams for 40+ years. Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Great Album, grows on you the more you listen to it. I liked Lotus Flower, Give up the Ghost the most. Has a nice haunting flow about it. Thom Yorke as one of the most distinct voices in rock music
  16. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Really like the new album. Been listening to it for the last two days. It opens up little secrets every time you listen to it. For a band continuing with this quality i hope they´ll never stop!
  17. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Took 7 listens for me to truly appreciate what Radiohead has done here. At the moments I'm loving it but it took a little while to get their. Standouts for me are Codex, Lotus Flower, Little by Little and Separator. Give it a while, it's still the Radiohead we all know and love.
  18. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Surprisingly accessible upon first listen, The King of Limbs is another masterpiece from English band Radiohead. The last two tracks close out the album beautifully.
  19. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Clearly, Radiohead did not try to make their most accessible album. However, this album is absolutely brilliant! Every song is so well orchestrated and seems as it has been pulled apart and put back together again. Throughout the album, I felt the first four tracks ask, "Radiohead, where have you been? Oh! Well, this is terrifying." Then as the album continues into the last half I feel the songs say, "It'll be okay. Wake up." I think this is one of those albums where you'll love it or hate it. If ya hate it... hey! give it a second chance. Expand
  20. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    it's not love @ first sight for sho', but that's aight, i'm not gay anyway... And so isnt that LP.
    Long live the king, parse all of those that stayed 17 years ago, climbing up the walls; well, i guess it takes some time to...
  21. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This is Radiohead at its best: pushing forward while challenging themselves and listeners. It's groovy yet robotic; personal yet disconnected at times; and it is--at moments--terribly beautiful. They even threw in their first ever 80's-style rock ballad with Codex! One of the most engaging things about Radiohead is their polarizing effect. Only the truly great musicians inspire such conflicting thoughts and discussions about their music. Expand
  22. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    After yet another four year wait between albums Radiohead have released their eighth record, The King of Limbs and it does not disappoint. As with any album by the Oxford group it takes time to come to terms with and at first I thought TKOL was mediocre but after listening to the whole album about six times through i can safely say that this is another fantastic Radiohead release. I would say that it is not as immediate as In Rainbows is but some of the tracks here are among their best such as the groovy Lotus Flower. Overall this is a fantastic record and one any fan should buy. Expand
  23. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Haunting. Beautiful. Psychedelic. Organic. Soulful. Simple. Intense. Heartbreaking. Triumphant. Wonderful. Fresh. Exotic. Familiar. Focused. Poignant. Thrilling. Fantastic.
  24. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Great, great album! "The King of Limbs" is unique in comparison with anything else that the band has ever done. The album gets better with every listen, and at this point, is among my favorite Radiohead albums!
  25. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    One review I read said it'd be interesting to see how many people would care if The King of Limbs were Radiohead's second or third album, but that kind of speculation is kind of pointless (in my mind) as glitch and electronica were barely on Pop's radar in the mid-nineties. With that in mind, if this HAD come after the Bends, it probably would've shocked people in 1997 even more than OK Computer (put down your weapons, Pitchfork drones -- I'm not saying that makes TKOL better -- it's not). But I digress.

    This album was challenging. I kept looking for the "easy" songs -- the ones that get you from the start: the "Idioteque", the "Paranoid Android", the "Bodysnatchers", or "Street Spirit" -- and whether there are any songs in TKOL that can match these in immediacy is debatable. There are moments for sure -- the opening of "Bloom" is gorgeous. The snappy driving beat and synth/bass at the end of "Feral" is thrilling. And the surprising left turn and gentle release of the last three songs -- a sharp contrast to the first five -- beautiful in itself. Someone below compared the sounds of TKOL to Four Tet, but to me the opening moments in "Bloom" and "Little by Little" sound like Flying Lotus more than anything else. I read another comparison to Thom's The Eraser, and while the glitch elements make that an easy comparison, the difference in textures and complexity between TKOL and The Eraser is astronomical -- TKOL has horns, acoustic guitars, polyrhythmic layers, and yes, I believe Johnny's odnes martinet makes some subtle appearances. The big non-surprise is that Radiohead have once again done something different from their previous albums -- there is more glitch and pace in these songs than Kid A, and the textures are warmer and more inviting than most of Amnesiac. I have trouble determining at some points when the beats come from Selway or if they're fantastic samples -- (or perhaps both, a la the drums in "Airbag"). The clean, precise, and prominent guitar work found in "In Rainbows" and earlier albums is few and far between here -- but I have no doubt most of these songs will make for amazing live versions. The album is two or three songs shorter than any of their others, clocking in at a dangerous 37+ minutes... but it matches the tight feel of the album. I just looked and found out that "Amnesiac" is 43 minutes, which seems impossible to me -- I love a lot of that album, but it seems to go on forever! Another surprising stat is that TKOL is also almost twenty minutes shorter than the wandering Hail To The Thief. Radiohead has always been interested in creating albums as a whole entity... clearly they thought adding more songs (which I'm sure are out there, but are tucked away for now) might've detracted from the overall work. From a strictly financial point of view, the common perception is generally more music = better value for your money, but I think Radiohead is just on the cusp of too short. And my mp3 version was only 9 bucks -- and hell, they give you a choice -- try finding that price for any best-selling album at Barnes & Noble. I almost gave this an 8, but I realized that was in comparison to Radiohead's other work. I remembered that Metacritic is comparing this music to the work of all the bands out there -- and Radiohead always have so many expectations heaped upon their work, it's easy to sometimes forget to compare them to everyone else, as opposed to just themselves. TKOL still proves they are among the best artists in any medium. Just like every Beatles album couldn't be Rubber Soul or Sgt. Pepper (in terms of musical innovation and impact) not every Radiohead album will be another OK Computer or Kid A. But this still an awesome, exciting work. A lot of people think the internet is shortening our attention spans, and studies are proving that to be true (I bet half the people who started reading my review didn't finish it ;-). It's the good, consciously designed art out there that makes us slow down, take a breath and dig a little deeper. Radiohead have given us that yet again.
    Expand
  26. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I downloaded "The King of Limbs" trying to speculate as to what era of Radiohead's career it would most resemble. Would it be a return to Kid A? Was Thom Yorke no longer "bored of melody"? Perhaps it would be an innovative mesh of all Radiohead's previous styles! Upon my first few listens, however, I felt generally underwhelmed. Why, this sounded like none of my predictions! How rude of Thom and the gang to put out something I couldn't immediately contextualize! Despite my initial disappointment, I continued listening as any diligent Radiohead fan would. Upon writing this review, I am on roughly my eighth tour through the album, and (of course) it has improved markedly with each new iteration. Is it because this album's electronic subtleties are more complex than Kid A, its melodic sensibilities, at times, surpass In Rainbows, or that the album forms a more accessible ambience than Amnesiac? Well, yes, but there's more to the story. While all of the above questions are going to invariably be asked, they're all ultimately irrelevant. This is RADIOHEAD, guys. Comparing their newest release to a previous work is exactly the antithesis of what we should be doing for one of the world's most innovative, dynamic bands. The Flying Lotus/glitch-beat influence is evident on songs like "Bloom" and "Feral"; Yorke's unfailing ability to melt one's heart with his OKC-era melodies manifests itself in songs like "Lotus Flower" and "Separator"; the piano balladry reminiscent of "Pyramid Song" and "Videotape" is well-represented on TKOL by songs like "Codex." However, despite all the external context of Radiohead's contemporary influences and their previous work, this album is very much its own, singularly functioning unit. To me, the strength of this album (like all of Radiohead's work) is its ability to create an overall aesthetic whose whole is great than the sum of its parts. Every song, on the surface, is pleasing to the ear and interesting to listen to, but the real magic is the subtle intricacy that each song offers to a diligent listener. The cool bass on "Lotus Flower," the fragile harmonic backdrop to "Separator," and the gradually devolving piano on "Bloom" are all examples of the lower-level intricacies that truly make this album a heady, thought-provoking listening experience that any fan of Radiohead, or music in general, should be able to at least appreciate. Upon writing, I am giving this album a 9, but I can already see myself regretting that low score in a few days' time. This album is a unique, complex, and downright pretty grower. Buy it. Expand
  27. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I'll be honest; the first time I listened to this, I was half-asleep. My roommate woke up at 7 am on Friday, somehow discovered that the album had been released a day early and decided to play it in its entirety twice while I vacillated between sleep and excitement. But by my third time through the album, for one of which I was finally wholly awake, something struck me: this Radiohead album seemed too familiar. For a band defined by its redefinition with every album, Radiohead seemed disturbingly reminiscent, pulling far too many elements from previous work. A day later, and I would say that Radiohead has once again done exactly what they are best at: redefinition. For despite all of its reminiscence, â Expand
  28. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Like the namesake tree, The King of Limbs slowly reveals its majesty through the twilit fog of layered ambience and funky brambles of rhythmic complexity. This may be their most classically taut collection, less experimental than Kid A and Amnesiac, more layered and subtle than Hail to the Thief and In Rainbows. A deep sense of mystery and even mysticism reigns throughout, a feeling of ancient things struggling to speak. And although dominated more than ever by electronics, Radiohead's sound here feels remarkably organic, earthy, even pagan. The result is the most sonically cohesive collection of songs since Kid A, reaching out of alienation to a sense of connectedness with the world that is nonetheless disorienting for all its prettiness. Expand
  29. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For most bands, an album like TKOL would be a career high. For Radiohead, it was a friday. It's not an accessible album, like it's predecessor In Rainbows, and is sonically dense. Layers upon layers are carefully peeled back each time you listen through to slowly reveal the true heart of the songs, more of their mystery is unravelled in the accompanying remix album, and even then, months later, some tiny detail that skipped your attention will suddenly become a vital part of the song. I don't expect it to become a general favourite, but for those who are into this kind of thing it is a stunning odyssey through a forest of sonic experimentation, produced carefully enough to hear the individual leaves. Taking that metaphor even further, the album is as varied as the forest itself can be. "Bloom" emerges into a lost world of intricate rhythms and trills of melody, the strange creatures of the woods looking on as you stumble through their world. "Morning Mr Magpie" is a frantic chase through the undergrowth, antagonistic and acussatory. "Little by Little" is far out of sight of civilization, almost leaving behind those "routines and shedules, a drug that kills you" in exchange for the freedom to roam through the ancient trunks and twisted branches of its domain. "Feral" is what trees do at night when you're not looking. As the small hours of the night approach, "Lotus Flower" cavorts in secret glades under moonlight, promising all of nature's secrets. If there is indeed an "empty space inside [your] heart where the weeds take root" then this has the power to "set you free". As the moon sets, the forest lies still and there's "no one around". "Codex" is a slow introspective walk through the trees, reflecting on these secrets. Dawn approaches, and birds in the branches above flit back and forth between branches, oblivious to your presence. Here is where you "Give up the Ghost" and become part of this forest. "Separator" finally burst out from the trunks into full daylight, like waking up from a "long and vivid dream". Retreat into nature is the heart of The King of Limbs and is an interesting counterpoint to earlier albums which dealt with the isolation of life in a high speed urban world. Over the course of their career, they have left this urban paranoia, journeyed through endless suburbia, and finally emerged, free, into the forest. Radiohead sound happy on this album, specifically in closing track "Separator" where Yorke sings "If you think this is over then you're wrong" with guileless joy. Expand
  30. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing. I love the return to experimentation and beautiful atmospherics. This album tops In Rainbows for me. A multilayered listen which requires the attention of the listener, it is not as immediately accessible as In Rainbows was. But neither was Kid A, an album which has proven over time to be one of Radiohead's, and modern music's, most beloved. Radiohead have clearly, true to form, expanded their influences greatly, with elements of Burial and dubstep in "Feral," further exploration of IDM in most songs, and most strikingly, gorgeous ambient sounds reminiscent of Boards of Canada in album closer "Separator," one of the most beautiful pieces of music of the last few years. This album is Radiohead at their unconventional best; never predictable and ever-changing. Any fan of music must give this a fair listen, and any fan of Radiohead's music will find "The King of Limbs" to be another brilliant foray into new sonic exploration. Highly recommended. Expand
  31. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Radiohead's 8th album leaves me very satisfied. I'm glad they're trading in conventional guitar hooks, breaking off and making nebulous, groove-laden, eerie music. When I first heard the album, I liked it a lot, and thought "it sounds so cohesive as to be one long song". But I knew the songs would differentiate themselves in time, and after a few listens, the personality of each song revealed itself. This album makes In Rainbows sound like a collection of songs, and a very good collection at that. But this is an artistic statement in the sense that it flows perfectly from beginning to end. Awesome. Expand
  32. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    Anybody complaining about the sound quality must be listening to the mp3s on crummy headphones. Above all else these songs are richly produced, although maybe a little too doused in reverb. Wish there were some catchier moments, but that totally doesn't hurt the feel of the album as a whole. Do agree that the first part feels a little less structured, but totally sets up well for the mellowness of the second half, which is arguably more like the Radiohead we've come to know. I don't know about these songs being better than anything they've done before... but that's not even the point. Very haunting and beautiful and perfectly constructed, even if it's not the best collection of songs they've ever released. Come on, people. It's Radiohead. They CAN do wrong. And when they do, I can guarantee you people won't just eat it up. This is NOT them doing wrong: more like them testing the waters. Expand
  33. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who the F**** is Arcade Fire?!!??! Expand
  34. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    Amazing album, Radiohead continue to do what they do best: innovate and pave the way for the rest of the music business. Possibly one of their top three albums
  35. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    The top gets an 8 and the bottom a 10.

    Sorry for the high score, Radiohead.

    Sorry because I'm pretty sure the band is elated. They know they released an excellent record, meanwhile confounding many of their listeners. Thom et al. now get some respite from the artistically dangerous ass-kissing and groveling.

    Thus, sorry. Your latest rocks, Radiohead.
  36. May 5, 2012
    10
    The best album from Radiohead. Simply AMAZING. It gives you such amazing feelings. The album art is the perfect compliment to the music, which is eerie, driving, colorful, diverse, intense, and powerful all at the time. I can't get enough of this. I love it. Believe it or not, this is the album that got me into Radiohead! I love it dearly. A true gift from the best band there has ever been on earth. Expand
  37. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    The King of Limbs is an album in which Radiohead depends on you, the listener, to have followed them down the rabbit hole of sonic experimentation, where they have taken residence ever since the release of Kid A. If you have not kept up with them, or haven't listened to anything other than Ok Computer or The Bends, do not listen to this album. It will not make sense to you. In many ways, this album picks up exactly where they left off. Very similar effect and guitar tones, odd rhythms and nearly impossible to understand lyrics sung from a falsetto Yorke. It is very easy to think that this album, for the first time, is more of the same from Radiohead. But well I don't think it's a complete reinvention of themselves, it certainly is the other side of the sound they created during the In Rainbows sessions.
    Think of it like this: if music is an army, and you, the listener, are a fortress, In Rainbows and The King of Limbs are two different strategies for the same army to take you down. In Rainbows saw the front gates, organized, and charged you down. The King of Limbs, however, surrounds you, cuts off your food supply, and waits for you to go out and attack it.
    Let me explain: In Rainbows was catchy, it had a driving beat, you could hear the guitars front and center doing interesting things. Without trying too hard, even if you just have the CD playing in the background, something will catch your ear, and you will like it. With the King of Limbs, this is not the case at all. If you don't actively engage the music as you're listening to it, you won't like it.
    Radiohead has the spotlight, they are one of the largest and most discussed bands on the planet. They do not need to demand your attention anymore, they have it. They know that no matter what they put out, you will buy it, and listen to it over and over until you've had enough. One way or another, you will get this CD, and you will listen to it, over, and over, and over.

    Before you think it's cold, and heartless music by name only, listen closely. There's beauty there. Find it.
    Expand
  38. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    King Of Limbs is definitely a grower, that much is for sure, but if you let TKOL grow on you, you will find Radioheads most detailed and complex album yet. TKOL begins with bloom, the bands best opener since well, ever in my opinion. morning mr magpie is tough to get ahold of but when you do it becomes a captivating listen. Little by little is the closest thing to a rock song and i use the term loosely. Little by little is a great song that demands you to move your body. It is followed by their best all electronic song since idioteque, in feral. Feral clicks and whirrs and the vocal effects are completely haunting. Lotus flower, the first single is one of the bands best songs in recent memory, but Codex is the best. Codex is strikingly gorgeous and surpassed my expectations completely. Give up the ghost and separator close out the album beautifully, giving us another perfect 10 radiohead album. its not for everyone, but if you appreciate Radioheads new direction it is in a class of its own Expand
  39. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    The King of Limbs...The King indeed. I was hesitant to listen after waiting for so long, and having my expectations climb. But amazingly, my expectations were met, and then some. "Bloom" set the mood, being a great continuation of In Rainbows. It isn't my favorite song on the album, but I feel that it is the best pick for the opener. "Morning Mr Magpie" was a nice change from Bloom. It is more upbeat, and impossible not to nod your head to. "Feral", the instrumental piece, is my least favorite. It's fine, and I think that it plays an important role in the album, but I won't be listening to it as often as the others. "Lotus Flower" is one of my favorites, with its basic chillness about it. "Codex" is by far the best, in my opinion. Despite the rather depressing lyrics, it's the only song that really captured me out of the whole album. "Give Up The Ghost" is very chill, and gives the listener another break from the usual Radiohead "craziness" per say. "Separator" is a track that easily ends the album, but can also leave the listener ready for more. Eight tracks are not enough for me, but I hope that sooner than not, another album will be released. Radiohead lived up to everything we were hoping for yet again. It is reminiscent of In Rainbows, but a darker version, more of a continuation than another album altogether. This album was worth the wait, completely. I highly recommend it to any Radiohead fan. Expand
  40. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Top album. It's not their upfront classic, but they really pushed themselves for this record. All those different feelings and styles, it's truly unbelievable. Radiohead, the most significant band of the last 2 decades, and maybe even for this decade.
  41. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    this album starts where "push pull revolving door" ends. its a beautiful, complex and, most of all, grown album by a band that does not cease to amaze. it wont fit the "computer fans" - u all can go listen to muse. on the start of "bloom", the albums first track, thom yorke shouts "open your mouth wide" cause this wont be easy to swallow. true, this is not an easy album but thom and co owe nothing to no one...and that's why their music continue to evolve and "push/pull" our minds. this album will grow on u if u like it or not, the beats will eventually be your heart beats, thoms vocals will itch and scratch ur skin and in 8 years u will say its album of the decade. Expand
  42. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    Radiohead mercilessly melt faces again! Each song- Diamonds of the purest quality. Yorke's blistering falsetto glows- tender like great soul singers of past (Sam Cooke, Redding, Brown). Foremost contributer Colin greenwood, Tares silence with chainsaw bass-lines of delicious groove. Selway creates amazing energy and dissonance, stapling each song with jazz blasts and light concussions that would find themselves right at home on some early Brian Eno ( which brings to heart a strong resemlance to the late talking Head masterpiece "Remain In Light") Radiohead strips away the need to create new found territory and relishes in great works from the past; subtly perfecting a formula of creative brilliance! With a sleak runtime of 38 minutes radiohead taps into the psyche of the modern man - a record built for the morning jog, drive to work, late night **** Radiohead repeats on the mysteriously titled SEPARATOR- "If you think this is over, then your wrong". Should they flood us with another release soon-> This listener wouldn't be surprised. Every previous Radiohead release has yielded vast amounts of wonderful material. Lets cross our fingers! ---Music this good doesn't come 'round very often- Go to bed with your unworthy compliments. Radiohead more than any other have earned the right to be completely devoid of **** Let freedom ring. The King of Limbs yearns for a world rid of toxicity- Save the flowers as this record will have it. 10/10 Expand
  43. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Brilliance never ceases to exist from this band. Anyone who pidgins them into the "irrelevant electronic" genre doesn't listen to their music. They have evolved like no other in terms of studio album growth. Period. I have the highest standards when it comes to tunes, and if for some reason you cannot appreciate Radiohead's genius in the studio, please move on and listen to something catchier...These artists are the BEST that music has to offer, and so much more. This may not supplant "In Rainbows" in its entirety but those expectations are ridiculously high. I love this band and always will, they give me hope of what music can/should be: Creative. Expand
  44. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    The King Of Limbs contains moments of real beauty, it just needs to be given the time and space to really sink in. the last four tracks in particular show a band evolving in a very gentle, natural way, and they're some of the finest songs they've ever produced. the first four tracks are more frantic, but no less brilliant, particularly the busy 'morning mr magpie' and ethereal 'bloom'. seriously, if you're unsure, just give it more time. this is a fantastic radiohead album. this is what a new radiohead album sounds like, and if that's what you want, then you'll adore this record. Expand
  45. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Radiohead's most consistent effort since OK Computer, The King of Limbs manages to sound manic and mature simultaneously. The grooves rush, layers build only to drop suddenly, melodies anticipate each other. But this time the songs and sounds seem to issue from the same place. The King of Limbs confirms our suspicions: experiments begun on Kid A have taken us somewhere worth going.
  46. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Radiohead continues to put forth some of the most interesting, multidimensional music out there. This album might take a few listens - but it's definitely worth every minute.
  47. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    first of all, ignore any reviews that were written during within the first few days of its release. it is useless, careless, and offensive of you to think you can digest any radiohead album in such a short span of time as they require many, many listens in a variety of moods, times of day, situations, listening devices, etc. having done that myself, and considering myself a pretty devoted radiohead fan, i have come to the conclusion that, while certainly not their best album, it is a beautiful and unique statement from a band that somehow seems to make beautiful and unique albums every time. it's another radiohead album. Expand
  48. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    I honestly don't understand the people despairing of a lack of musical hooks in this album... it's chock full of rhythm and melody. If you are after the climactic kind of noise they pulled off in earlier work, then maybe I'd understand your disappointment that is, I'd understand it if this wasn't the same band that released Kid A back in 2000. Radiohead have been a much mellower and more experimental band for more than a decade now, and they continue down the same avenue of sonic exploration here and it's awesome. The subtle guitars, the electronic wizardry, the bass, and the layers of vocals all contain a wealth of strong, beautiful intertwining melodies; the rhythm section is frequently wonderfully creative and energetic; and the whole album is brought together with a bunch of weird, schizophrenic sonic oddities which are brilliantly encapsulated by the spectral album art. The album does not feel to short; I'd much rather have an album densely packed with great tracks than something sprawling with filler like Hail to the Thief. "Good Morning Mr. Magpie", "Little By Little", "Lotus Flower", and "Give Up The Ghost" are top notch Radiohead tracks; and "Codex" may be among their very best work. I have honestly never been so moved by a song before. As long as you're not allergic to anything which isn't a rock anthem, you'll love this. Expand
  49. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    It's one of their best albums to date, as always, they deliver excellent rock music with their alternative and yet unexpected sounds; not as flawed as "In Rainbows" but surely TKOL deserves its place as the best album from the 2011
  50. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Eerie, dark, and mysterious. This album, as a concept, is fantastic. Picture yourself in a forest, full moon seeping through the tree cover with shadows playing tricks in the corner of your eye. They are still using Pixies influenced loud/quiet dynamics as good as ever, adding layers that you can't hear through a poor quality speaker. You definately need to turn up the volume to understand what they are trying to do with the subtle stabs of jolted sounds and echoed feedback, which accounts for a stunning leveled soundscape. Simply amazing. Expand
  51. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The King Of Limbs is one of the best albums of radiohead. Better than In Rainbows, and more expermiental than ever, they come back for give us a excellent albums. I can say it without any problems: RADIOHEAD IS BETTER THAN EVER. Expand
  52. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    Radiohead's eighth borrows elements from previous catalog - the abstract electronic found in Kid A, the funky beats from Amnesiac, and the beauty from In Rainbows. It's also influenced by Thomâ
  53. May 2, 2011
    9
    A quirky album, to be sure, more in the vein of "Amnesiac" than "In Rainbows". This isn't "Eraser 2" as many has tried to compare it to: it has much more warmth and you can hear the group dynamic that was almost completely missing from Yorke's solo effort. I was a bit disappointed with the album's brief length, but there still a lot of good music here, particularly "Lotus Flower" "Codex" and "Give Up The Ghost" for me. Those looking for another album like In Rainbows will certainly be disappointed, as we see a return to the more distant and electronic sound of "Hail To The Thief" here. Expand
  54. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    It took some time to get into this album, but wow, just wow. So much brilliance, so much uniqueness, so much Radiohead. It's experimental, it's strange, it's art. Pick this up immediately and you will not be disappointed.
  55. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    It's just ridiculous and pathetic to read comments comparing The King Of Limbs to Pablo Honey, The Bends or OK Computer and if you will not step out of your comfort zone to listen to the tracks then I expect any bad adjectives you will tag with to this album. The Kings Of Limbs is simply groundbreaking, unprecedented and brilliant! The end.
  56. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    Once again, Radiohead have crafted an album that not only satisfies me, but surpasses my lofty expectations. This is the band that all others should aspire to be. Not in sound, but in creative evolution and consistent greatness. Radhiohead have just released their 7th masterpiece in a row, not only according to fans, not only according to critics, but both. I cannot think of another band today (or in the past) that has had such consistent greatness. Each album evolves naturally from the last, and breaks new ground. These guys from Abingdon know what they're doing more than any other artist in music today. Expand
  57. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    My first listen; "Wow, that might be their worst album since Pablo Honey. 'Feral' sucks!"
    My eighth listen; "Wow, that might be their best album since Kid A. 'Feral' is my favourite!"

    It's quiet, dark, and mossy, but it will eventually shine a light back on you.
  58. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    THIS IS MY FAVORITE AFTER 'OK COMPUTER' & IN 'RAINBOWS'. A very different album by Radiohead which can disappoint some and satisfy some. For me this album is another MASTERPIECE. I can listen to it hundred times and still not get bored of it. I can feel each & every second of this album. GREAT ONE !!!
  59. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Is this a long intro to something epic? Even if it isn't, the 8 tracks are all pretty sweet. I get the feeling I'm listening to the future of music. Some of it very complicated and unique. I'm particularly fond of "Codex," "Lotus Flower," and "Separator." In ways similar to PJ Harvey's newest release (Let England Shake), I get an eerie feeling listening to Radiohead's latest work that we could sit around a campfire as the apocalypse unfolds. At the same time, I do not believe this is all they intended to release. There is some mystery/surprise typical of Radiohead. Why do they have 2 10" vinyls being released with the first-ever "newspaper album" in late March? What is on those discs? Only 8 tracks? Perhaps, but I think we have not heard the last from Radiohead on this particular release. Expand
  60. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Remember when Kid A was released? Remember how lots of fans were so miffed because Radiohead actually decided to expand their sound? 10 years later those former haters praise Kid A so highly you'd think they had a hand in its production. The way Kid A was an experiment in a distinguished rock band trying its hand at electronic music, The King of Limbs is an experiment in Dubstep, Ambience, and Trance. Dubstep is on the rise the way electronica was on the rise at the time of Kid A. Radiohead adepts to make art and fresh grooves with each new wave of music. That is what they do; that is why they are still relevant. This IS a subtle album. It's soft, lulling, jazzy. If it bores you it's because you're too addicted to formulaic songwriting. Just because radiohead isn't repeating a previous album or blowing you away with an in your face chorus doesn't mean the album is bad. You need to expand your music palate now or pretend you've always loved it ten years from now. Expand
  61. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    With all the anticipation surrounding the fallow up album to Radiohead's In Rainbows, the question was, will Radiohead deliver another amazing album to the masses. The answere is yes. King of limbs starts off by casting a trance like spell over its listeners. This last until about the halfway point of the album, until the haze of confusion, and frustration dissipates and a love story evolves. This is not an album that you can throw on at a party and have every one like it. In my opinion this album is one that must be enjoyed in the company of wine, headphones, and a spliff, to get the full body experience needed to truly enjoy a masterpiece. As for all the critics that say KOL is nothing compared to their older work, they need to understand that, like everything else, bands evolve. The sound of Radiohead's The Bends is almost a complete 180 compared to KOL, but you can trace their sound evolving through the years from ok computer to kid A and Amnesiac, to hail to the thief, etc. do we really want our rock bands to all sound exactly the same like these club songs being blasted over the radio waves? we need to embrace innovation and change in music, if we didn't every band would sound exactly the same. i haven't met anyone to say "Rubber Soul is the greatest Beatles album ever, the white album had to many noises that i didn't like, and the Magical Mystery Tour made my ears hurt. why cant the beatles make real music like before and copy rubber soul 10 times?" - it is called the progression of music and without the Beatles acting as a catalyst between instruments and experimentation in the Rock industry maybe Radiohead wouldn't even be here. My point is don't bash on a great band for putting out an album that does not sound like anything else they put out, this should be embraced and celebrated. Expand
  62. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Radiohead is hands down my favorite band of all time, and what I love about them is that the music never presents itself right away. It always unfolds over repeat listening and this cd is no exception. Something that can seem non-melodic can at times present little snippets that join together to form a melody and over time that's what takes over in your ears. They are never predictable, and they are always challenging...as great music should be. I don't like this cd as much as OK Computer or In Rainbows, but I still like it better than pretty much anything else I've heard this year. And knowing how this music unfolds it very well may become a favorite 20 listens down the road. Codex is just an amazingly beautiful song, and worth the price of admission alone. Expand
  63. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    I knew after listening to TKOL for the first time that I had just witnessed a masterpiece. TKOL shows signs of progression as well as a return to Radioheadâ
  64. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    A new album, a new sound. "King of Limbs" has your trademark layered and perfected studio sound which leaves a whole lot to discover over repeated listens but gone from 2007's "In Rainbows" are the guitars, some of those familiar song structures, and gone is the built up tension. KOL's floats, with almost dream like soundscapes. Its a new sound but fresh as ever, if this is their new direction, I love it. They play with drum loops, hookless formats, and heavy bass...its exciting. Repeat listens are needed, RH know this and accept the discovery phase..once it comes to, your rewarded heavily for your time :) Stand outs are Bloom, Lotus Flower, Feral, and the beautiful Codex. Lotus Flower could be up there with their best. The only thing I can complain about is fact that there is only 8 tracks, but I have a feeling that we will see more from these sessions sooner than later. Radiohead never ceases to amaze me! 9/10 Expand
  65. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    The King Of Limbs is a perfect album to follow In Rainbows. While the latter sparked an immediate obsession, TKOL took a little more time and was slightly more refined. Radiohead proves that the moment before the climax can be more beautiful than the climax itself and it takes an incredibly talented group of musicians to achieve something like this.
  66. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    Radiohead...as a readiohead is going well...when i look at their past and the way came all along i can't say time and size of their changes,but this change was enough slow to give us a confidence that Radiohead goes well always.Now that they are trying to be kings of limbs like that very old tree,I certainly can say they are success! king of limbs is not awseome,and it can't be a world traveler album and change everything in music world! its a very radioheadly! album and you can understand it with first three beats of the very first of it's song,"Bloom". I like it too much and hope radiohead's fans all over the world be happy of it as much as I am.
    For the end and some recommendation, I recommit "Bloom","Morning Mr.magpie","Lotus Flower" and "Codex".
    Expand
  67. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    everyone's calling it a grower. i don't get it. i've worn out every radiohead record to date - turning back to them and cycling through the catalog when everything else is stale, and even jazz quits hitting the spot. once through 'the king of limbs' and they've done it again. unbelievable. it's very math'y. lots of disconnection and syncopation and calculation. i'm tempted to give it a 10 right now, but need to give it a week or so to see how it lasts. certainly don't guess it's going to be a burn-out. way too nuanced. *the ability to create mesmerizingly engaging music that's challenging, cerebral, melodic when it needs to be, full of the sort of complex texture that only radiohead seems to be able to pull off in the same landscape and make work.*
    what's more impressive for me, personally, is that i have a keen sense of how tormented this band must feel sometimes - how easily they must get frustrated about the state of things in their world while trying to figure out who they are now, how to be, the balancing act of their persona vs. their output. and this record just feels like they put their guts into it - feels totally sincere in its intent - and you can just tell that they're satisfying their own needs to push themselves in their writing and composition. the fact that they manage to produce a very listenable, interesting and at times beautiful record amount to the meat & potatoes of why radiohead may very well be the best band on planet earth. like them, sick of them, bored of them, devil's advocate, cool-dodger, or not. reckon john lennon, hendrix and kirk cobain would all agree.
    Expand
  68. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Understated, controlled, moody, and, of course, brief. But this album really grow on you over time. I liked it on the first listen, but it really began to become special after nearly a week of listening to it. While it is not among my favorite Radiohead albums, I think this is a fine addition to their catalog.
  69. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    I expect like most Radiohead fans I was a bit taken back when I first heard the Album, and even had to double check that I didn't just buy one of Thom's personal projects. It definitely went in a direction I was not expecting it to take, and in parts I think the music is too artificial for my liking. I do think the album is a bit short for only 8 tracks, and it would have been nice to have some faster pace tracks. Alas in typical Radiohead fashion there is always so much more under the surface then is first perceived, and while very similar to The Eraser, it is very much that unique genre where Radiohead rules as king! Expand
  70. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    Perhaps the most percussive album, Phil Selway has his coming out party as one of the most inventive drummers in modern rock. Beginning chaotic and frantic, the album draws on it's more peaceful latter half to really blow you away. Some may ask, "where are the guitars?" but this is no The Bends. We are listening to a more mature and relaxed Radiohead that does not "want to go into that creative hoo-ha of a long-play record again" as Yorke has said. I can see why this record may not pander to some fans but it is definitely beautiful music that should be put on repeat and enjoyed over and over. Expand
  71. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Another slow-burning masterpiece from Radiohead! It blend the introverted world of Amnesiac with the softness of In Rainbows, and wisely does not outstay its welcome. However, it takes a few listens to fully grasp the sleepy mood of the album, which is much groovier and more patient than its predecessor In Rainbows. I personally can't stop listening to it and I become more impressed each time! This album is more than worth the $9.00 I paid for it. :) Expand
  72. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Another classic by Radiohead. Simply the best band ever. Nobody has or ever will come close to their creative genius. From Bloom to Separator, every track on this album is a classic. Too bad the whole thing is so short.
  73. wjw
    Feb 25, 2011
    9
    Kraftwerk meets Fleet Foxes. Seriously, though the album is short in duration (It's why I scored it a 9 and not a10--I WANT MORE!), this is a sublime work of sonic modern art. Unlike many great albums that seem, at first listen, similarly unapproachable (Trout Mask Replica), this album is just plain beautiful in every aspect of its layered and impressionistic soundscape. And, as a value, a few hundred albums of lower scores versus this gem, I'll take this gem. One more thing to note might be that its brevity might be its saving grace (justifying a 10), since it would be that much more addictive a listen were it to contain a number of other gracefuly and thoughtfully crafted compositions, but then again, I'm already addicted, and can't shake off this sonic crack. Well, anyway, though this album may not seem so melodic in such an immediate way, I can't take certain songs out of my mind. For those who might be adamantly, and in some cases, hysterically, opposed to any favorable assessment--aesthetic or otherwise--of this album, I can't help, you. I'll I can say to you is, "don't hurt me," as I am already haunted by this album. Expand
  74. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    To me this album represents Radiohead's courage and strength through all of their music. I think it is simply, strangely and utterly beautiful, sounds like a mix of In Rainbows, Kid A, and Yorke's solo stuff. Really loving codex, it brings you into the moment. 2nd half of the album is better than the 1st.
  75. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    A slow burner but ultimately satisfying. "Separator" and "Codex" sublime. This is supposed to be 150 characters long .....blah..... blah...... blah....... blah.........
  76. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Insanely delicious album. Loved "Little by Little." Everything is so eerily good. It does sound a bit more electronic then their other albums, but nevertheless, Radiohead makes it work.
  77. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of Radiohead, I think this album sits between Amnesiac and Thom York's solo album The Eraser. I think it will be hard for new fans to embrace this as much as they could other albums, including In Rainbows. But still, they never disappoint. I hope through their download ventures we continue to get a steady flow of production from them.
  78. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    When you can say the biggest problem with an album is that it is too short you know you have a keeper. TKOL represents Radiohead at their most adventurous with fantastic drum beats throughout. Personally the first half is my favorite when they didn't sprinkle much melody in the music but still there is no denying the power of Codex or Give Up the Ghost.
  79. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of Radiohead's most masterfully realized albums. Along with Kid A, OK Computer, and In Rainbows - The King of Limbs creates a beautiful cohesive world to get lost in over and over again. In terms of both song craft and production, the album sizzles and awards the careful listener greatly. Highly recommended.
  80. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    The thing with Radiohead is that their albums differ so much that some fans only like select albums. But, what we all should realize is that ALL of their albums are musically and technically fantastic, no matter if we like them or not. I prefer The Bends acoustic sound, while some like Kid A for its glithcy-electronic sound. This is a Kid A type of album.
  81. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Mellow, murky, introspective, beautiful; can another singer/songwriter slide with such ease in and out of his falsetto? Yorke's voice is just hauntingly superb on this album, and that's my favorite aspect of "The King of Limbs." Although there is not a song I dislike, my immediate favorites are "Give up the Ghost" and "Separator"
  82. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    The King of Limbs mustn't be judged yet. It is too soon to say this album doesn't live up to Radiohead's standards. I have foolishly done this too many times with their albums (kid a, hail to the thief, and amnesiac), to realize that Radiohead just know a little bit more about music than I do and that I need to have faith in such intelligent folk. Radiohead are the type of band to only release material they love, which is enough for me. So far I would say the album is only great. However, I'm pretty certain that one day I will appreciate it as only brilliant. Zippychimp, please don't write Radiohead reviews. You're obviously against the notion of bands ever evolving, so just stay in your comfort zone with creep and fake plastic trees, at least it's no Beiber. Expand
  83. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    The King of Limbs, after over a month of listening, continues to grow on me. I'm a fan of Radiohead's new direction and with each release I am liking their style more and more. The satisfaction in King of Limbs comes from it's dissection - the more I listen to it and hear things I haven't heard before, or hear things in a new way, the more I realize just how amazing this album is. Containing only 8 songs, The King of Limbs is short - but it's so, so sweet. Expand
  84. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This ones a grower. Let it happen people; don't judge it immediately based off reviews and what your friends told you. Don't let the hipster **** grow through your ears, and keep you from developing your own idea. I feel sonic walls of sound and a transy, melodic vibe. I feel good rhythms, good ideas, twisting lyrics. Thom hasn't gotten any older; any greyer in my ears. It just feels softer. sandy. a little opaque. But then again, this album wasn't meant to please a human being. This album was released to please Radiohead. I'm proud to be able to find the vibe coming off of this album- once again, it's something that you find yourself. But once you catch it, it frees you from being one of the miserable suckers slagging this album because of all it lacks, rather than what it has given off in order to find that perfect balance of lack. And if you question my choice of description, just know that I am talking with the feel of the words, rather than the words themselves. Expand
  85. May 18, 2011
    9
    This is a fine album, that continues the expected work that they were doing after hail to the thief, and back to that similar line after going somewhere off to the more sentimental side with in rainbows.
    I don't actually understand or comprehend most the criticisms made- no, sorry i do, the reviewers seem to have their head up their pretensious arses. such as saying thom is the only
    musician, or its eraser mark two can only really be answered with 'are you deaf'? there is no other response to that because its clearly not. The eraser even had radiohead members on most the tracks.
    That it fails to rock, is an idea ten years in the past before kid a. and anyone describing it as minimalistic or avante-garde it seems has never listened to either of those genres. .. its simply not...
    sorry i had to defend negative ignorant criticism rather than marking the positives.
    i gave it a 9 because its very occasionally dissonant in harmonies, although that is part of the structure.
    and that it lacks by only a few strokes a radiohead signature of the melancholy and sentimental song that seem to be loved by inrainbows and okc lovers.
    a strange gothic and pagan work, a masterpiece? unsure about that i don't tend to put anything on a pedestal, to be let down. perhaps that#s the problem- that some expected a master piece sensation and instead just got a very good album that lasts for only the listening experience of the album length and doesn't try to be anything more.
    Expand
  86. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I was unsure what to expect from this album; after all, it was pretty much four years after their magnum opus, In Rainbows. Although this album does not have the same overall coherence that its predecessor does, it is a good batch of tunes that showcase well the band's continuing focus on nuance and layering. The first listen was surprising, but not overly wonderful; it's still only been a few months since its release, but already the album has grown on me. It seems as if the songs are either a combination of In Rainbows and Kid A, or In Rainbows and Hail to the Thief. All in all, I think that they are continuing to produce very subtly satisfying and increasingly beat-oriented music. I do not, however, wish, or think I can stand, waiting another four years, simply for eight songs. I love the album, but I expected more, honestly. Expand
  87. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    After almost two decades of music from this band, I am embarrassed to say I have missed most of it. However, when I first heard 'Lotus Flower,' it instantly attracted me. It is fitting, then, that this track is the focal point of this album. I have to say that I am a bit stunned by the Radiohead 'fans' who have posted negative reactions to this album; I am not sure what they are expecting. People change and hopefully evolve, and we should expect no less from artists. This entire album is a stunning and complex beauty, clearly made from a place of confidence and maturity. I now find myself delving into the Radiohead catalogue. I haven't felt this way about music in some time; it just doesn't get much better than this. Expand
  88. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what exactly the title of the album means but i'm incredibly pleased with it musically i love all of radioheads work as a band and this album seems like the perfect next step from the band after in rainbows the songs are interesting beautiful and easy to dance to although im wondering which song will be likely to become a hit seeing as how none of the songs are ballad like i like the experimental quality of the first song bloom it has a strange rhythm but the song is expertly executed good morning mr magpie has an infectious beat that has me dancing i dont like little by little but i havent really taken the time to listen to it it sounds like oasis or something feral is fantastic its another groovey track that makes me want to mimic thom yorkes dancing lotus flower is beautiful codex reminds me of a song that could have been on in rainbows and it also has a beautiful piano tune its a bit of a ballad give up the ghost is interesting and reminds me of kid a maybe? i love the last song separator. i saw them on TV preforming they look different thom looks like he hasn't had a haircut in a while although that doesn't matter the album is great and im going off to listen to it now. Expand
  89. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I have always admired Radiohead and liked their tunes but never considered myself a massive fan. On my first listen to King of Limbs the only track that grabbed me was Lotus Flower. Suddenly found myself listening to Lotus Flower over and over again and gradually this whole album has become somewhat of an Obsession! Easily in my top 5 albums of all time.
  90. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    It's not the weirdest or best thing they've put out, but it's great for repeated listens. I would rank this album amongst "Amnesiac" and "Kid A" since the electronic and atmospheric sound is similar to those albums. As far as how good it is, I'd say it's number 6 on my Radiohead album rank. There are some really good songs here like "Bloom", "Lotus Flower", "Give Up the Ghost", and my favorite track "Separator". Radiohead really know how to end an album, and how to make one. They haven't let us down yet and I don't think they possibly could. Expand
  91. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    After 9 months of constantly listen to this album, I have to say that, it has became one of my favorite albums of all time! It's obvious that it's not that accessible like "In Rainbows" was, it will take you (probably) months of dairy listen to completely understand the beauty of "The King of Limbs".
    I'm satisfied with the lenght of the album, it's not a problem when you realize that all
    the songs contained in the album are terrificly amazing.
    I foresee that in some years, "The King of Limbs" will be praised as one of the best albums of the decade.
    P.S. Sorry for my poor English.
    Expand
  92. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hardly an album like they used to consider it perfect. But it's still brilliant to hear that Thom and his unpredictable band, can do with music. Expand
  93. May 14, 2012
    10
    it's kinda busy, it's really short, it's experimental, it's inaccessible, and i love it. i've heard a lot of negative reactions and criticism against this album, but it's right up there with ok computer, kid a, all hail to the thief and in rainbows for their best work.
  94. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    An exceptional album, The King of Limbs strives to keep up with the changing times, allowing technology to lead Radiohead away from the safe sound which they have established over the years. This bold move allowed the creation of a fantastic album, whilst still retaining some original sound.
  95. Jul 24, 2014
    10
    The best electronica album ever!!! 10/10, and I wish I could give it 11 to make up for the lukewarm reviews it's got. The sounds and melodies are rivaled only by that of Kid A, and where Kid A failed this one succeeds. One of my top 4 Radiohead albums. Here's my track by track (Note: My scores are in context to the album- a 4 on here might be a 5 on a different LP- so my 10/10 is justified).
    Bloom 4.5/5
    A great opener! Like Enya meets Aphex Twin. It really captures the organic vs. electronic mood of the album, and makes you wonder why anybody would dismiss this as "lifeless ear candy".
    Morning Mr. Magpie 3.5/5
    It's a little less sonically interesting than Bloom, and meanders a little, but it's a great transitional track with a great melody line. The foreign undertones of this album are quite visible here.
    Little by Little 4/5
    A catchy/sinister return to the customs of previous Radiohead, though not the highlight of the album for me. I love the winding melody line of the chorus, and it proves that their songwriting is still up to snuff.
    Feral 4/5
    Sure it's an instrumental, but it's a darn good instrumental, and it sure doesn't feel like filler. Like chill complex dubstep. It's probably my favorite Radiohead instrumental to date.
    Lotus Flower 5/5
    A great side opener this sparkles with sexy poetry, catchy melodies and a killer beat. One of my top 20 Radiohead songs it's got you dancing just like Feral. You won't be dancing long.
    Codex 5/5
    The fun ends here. A bleak ballad in the spirit of "Videotape", it shows just how varied The King of Limbs really is. It slowly builds and in the end you're wondering "Why is Thom Yorke so sad?"
    Give up the Ghost 4.5/5
    The first acoustic instrument on the album, this is opened with a chugging acoustic guitar melody. It sounds like a campfire tune, and after the wasteland of Codex it's refreshing while quite haunting.
    Separator 4/5
    While at first it seems like a simplistic jumble of un-focused melodies, it soon evolves (in the fashion of Ideoteque) into a round-like chant. It reminds you of Bloom, and represents something of a cycle.
    Supercollider/The Butcher 5/5
    Yes, I'm counting them as one song. Yes I'm counting them at all. Because truthfully they feel like the finish, and they make i 10 songs. I like the album as it is, I just wanted to rate them.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    There's just incredible depth to The King Of Limbs, and if you're impatient, you'll miss it.
  2. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  3. May 16, 2011
    60
    They've delivered their biggest surprise to date. A record that falls short for its constituent parts. [May 2011, p.100]