The King of Limbs

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 655 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 655

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    When you first hear a new Radiohead album, you should expect by now to be thrown for a loop, and this one is no exception. This one hearkens back to the skittish Kid-A/Amnesiac sound, but probably even more closely resembles Thom Yorke's solo album. As with all of the above, this album takes a few listens to digest. But like Amnesiac and The Eraser, the ultimate reward fallsWhen you first hear a new Radiohead album, you should expect by now to be thrown for a loop, and this one is no exception. This one hearkens back to the skittish Kid-A/Amnesiac sound, but probably even more closely resembles Thom Yorke's solo album. As with all of the above, this album takes a few listens to digest. But like Amnesiac and The Eraser, the ultimate reward falls significantly short of Radiohead's best. Many of the songs tend to loop ad nauseum over Yorke's mumbled crooning - namely 'Feral' and 'Give Up The Ghost', while others sound like weaker rewrites of past material - 'Codex', while definitely pretty, feels like another 'Pyramid Song', this time without the wonder and majesty. Considering the album is only 8 tracks long, this tends to leave a slightly empty feeling for fans who have heard everything Radiohead has to offer. But even at that, it's a quality product that fans will not want to avoid, and an enjoyable listen. Expand
  2. Feb 26, 2011
    8
    So it is not as good as In Rainbows. This much is true. However, it is one really good Radiohead album once again. The second half of the album is brilliant. My favorite and standout is "Codex" where a simple piano distortion and Yorke's vocals hit a desolate melancholy. "No one gets hurt/No one around" Great stuff. The album is short,yet it is an album that you can throw on withoutSo it is not as good as In Rainbows. This much is true. However, it is one really good Radiohead album once again. The second half of the album is brilliant. My favorite and standout is "Codex" where a simple piano distortion and Yorke's vocals hit a desolate melancholy. "No one gets hurt/No one around" Great stuff. The album is short,yet it is an album that you can throw on without investing too much (at like 38 min) No earth shattering stuff here but a very solid effort. If you got 8 really good songs why not just cut the crap and make that an album? Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    Trippy. It's no 'In Rainbows', but it's still really good. I don't understand why people are saying this is their worst album, though: I feel like 'Pablo Honey' is their worst.
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    I wasn't really expecting anything, or expecting this to even be, but I am glad it exists... I just wish there was more of it. There is something unique about its tone, it's subdued, sort of molten production, it's almost forgetableness that allows forces repeated listens. Bits and pieces come back to you when you aren't listening but where they actually are on the album can be hard toI wasn't really expecting anything, or expecting this to even be, but I am glad it exists... I just wish there was more of it. There is something unique about its tone, it's subdued, sort of molten production, it's almost forgetableness that allows forces repeated listens. Bits and pieces come back to you when you aren't listening but where they actually are on the album can be hard to place. Nothing about this album is immediate but it doesn't seem that much is permanent either, after 15+ listens I'm still left wanting more. It's also hard for me to forget Thom's dominance on this record; it certainly does, as many have pointed out, feel like a Thom Yorke solo album. Which isn't a bad thing but it isn't a great thing either. I have hopes for a part 2 because being a fan for so long I can sense that something is missing but will that happen? I doubt it. All I can really say is I'm glad to have it and also glad I didn't pay 48$ for it. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    This is a very enjoyable album. They take a lot of elements from other bands and genre and create their own quite successfully. I assume the Wire Magazine and its ilk would have a plethora of music that would be better, but it is as it is.
  6. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Is this a long intro to something epic? Even if it isn't, the 8 tracks are all pretty sweet. I get the feeling I'm listening to the future of music. Some of it very complicated and unique. I'm particularly fond of "Codex," "Lotus Flower," and "Separator." In ways similar to PJ Harvey's newest release (Let England Shake), I get an eerie feeling listening to Radiohead's latest work thatIs this a long intro to something epic? Even if it isn't, the 8 tracks are all pretty sweet. I get the feeling I'm listening to the future of music. Some of it very complicated and unique. I'm particularly fond of "Codex," "Lotus Flower," and "Separator." In ways similar to PJ Harvey's newest release (Let England Shake), I get an eerie feeling listening to Radiohead's latest work that we could sit around a campfire as the apocalypse unfolds. At the same time, I do not believe this is all they intended to release. There is some mystery/surprise typical of Radiohead. Why do they have 2 10" vinyls being released with the first-ever "newspaper album" in late March? What is on those discs? Only 8 tracks? Perhaps, but I think we have not heard the last from Radiohead on this particular release. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    Definitely a great album, but not one of Radiohead's best albums (refer to OK Computer,, Amnesiac, or even In Rainbows), but this album gives us the much needed fix of a new, quality Radiohead album. My biggest issue is with the length of the album, it almost feels almost like there is going to be a second disc released much like Radiohead did with In Rainbows. That is still to be seen though!
  8. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's get one thing out of the way first, this review will be partial. I am a humongous Radiohead fan. They are musical geniuses. No other band has so repeatedly and consistently released so many perfectly nuanced and constructed songs since Beethoven. I want Thom Yorke's bug-eyed children. However, I am a professional. I will do my best to keep things equitable and remain detached. Review: Radiohead - The King of Limbs WWW.GAMESOFDAN.COM

    8.5 out of 10
    -1 for its short length
    7.5 out of 10

    In 2011 a lot of things will happen. California will open the worlds largest solar plant. The united states is set to withdraw from iraq. Also Radiohead will release a new album. That day is today.

    WWW.GAMESOFDAN.COM

    The Follow up to the 2007 award winning postmodern rock inomarata "In Rainbows"; Radioheadâ
    Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    Wish I could have downloaded just, "Little by Little", "lotus flower", and "separator". I figure it paid $3/song. I give the album a 7, cause it's still better than most of the trash that gets released every year. But for a radiohead album, I am highly disappointed. Actually, I'm pissed. First listen, I thought "This blows!" After 5 listens, I like some songs, but its definitely theirWish I could have downloaded just, "Little by Little", "lotus flower", and "separator". I figure it paid $3/song. I give the album a 7, cause it's still better than most of the trash that gets released every year. But for a radiohead album, I am highly disappointed. Actually, I'm pissed. First listen, I thought "This blows!" After 5 listens, I like some songs, but its definitely their worst album. I've been a fan since 'The Bends'. That album, ok computer, and In rainbows are some of my favorite albums of any artist. Love Kid A, and Hail to The Thief as well. Cmon people, this album is nowhere even near the quality of these albums. Go back and listen to any of these and then listen to this new album. Not even close.
    Songs on new album:
    1. Bloom :(( Happy to never listen to it again
    2. Morning Mr Magpie :( A little catchy at first. Gets tedious.
    3. Little By Little :)) okay. this sounds nice. Do I hear a guitar? Love this song.
    4. Feral: :(( Maybe if I was on E, I would like this.
    5. Lotus Flower :)) Love it. Interesting. Lovely vocals
    6. Codex :( I want to like this. Just too slow or boring or repetitious.
    7. Give up the ghost :( Repeat of Codex. Too repetitious. Just boring to me.
    8. Separator :] Like it. Would be better if it started at 2 minutes in.
    Expand
  10. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    This album wasn't made for hits. It was created to evoke a mood, crafted quite successfully. A perfect fit for the end of what has seemed to be a long cold winter in Middle America. After about four to five plays through this album, I don't think there's a song on it as good as "15 Step," "Bodysnatchers,"Weird Fishes," or "All I Need." But I don't think that was their goal. RadioheadThis album wasn't made for hits. It was created to evoke a mood, crafted quite successfully. A perfect fit for the end of what has seemed to be a long cold winter in Middle America. After about four to five plays through this album, I don't think there's a song on it as good as "15 Step," "Bodysnatchers,"Weird Fishes," or "All I Need." But I don't think that was their goal. Radiohead had something in mind for this record, and I would guess they did exactly what they set out to do. Do you really think, at this stage in their evolution, Radiohead really needs to make a hit record? Expand
  11. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    Remember when Kid A was released? Remember how lots of fans were so miffed because Radiohead actually decided to expand their sound? 10 years later those former haters praise Kid A so highly you'd think they had a hand in its production. The way Kid A was an experiment in a distinguished rock band trying its hand at electronic music, The King of Limbs is an experiment in Dubstep,Remember when Kid A was released? Remember how lots of fans were so miffed because Radiohead actually decided to expand their sound? 10 years later those former haters praise Kid A so highly you'd think they had a hand in its production. The way Kid A was an experiment in a distinguished rock band trying its hand at electronic music, The King of Limbs is an experiment in Dubstep, Ambience, and Trance. Dubstep is on the rise the way electronica was on the rise at the time of Kid A. Radiohead adepts to make art and fresh grooves with each new wave of music. That is what they do; that is why they are still relevant. This IS a subtle album. It's soft, lulling, jazzy. If it bores you it's because you're too addicted to formulaic songwriting. Just because radiohead isn't repeating a previous album or blowing you away with an in your face chorus doesn't mean the album is bad. You need to expand your music palate now or pretend you've always loved it ten years from now. Expand
  12. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    "King of Limbs" was so burdened by all of our expectations and preconcieved, hopeful notions for what it could be that it could not possibly live up. KOL is not a masterpiece in the way albums such as Ok Computer and In Rainbows proved to be. The album is however, after multiple listens, very good. Despite it's shortcomings in the way musical complexity that the band is known for, the"King of Limbs" was so burdened by all of our expectations and preconcieved, hopeful notions for what it could be that it could not possibly live up. KOL is not a masterpiece in the way albums such as Ok Computer and In Rainbows proved to be. The album is however, after multiple listens, very good. Despite it's shortcomings in the way musical complexity that the band is known for, the vocal melodies and overall song writing remain strong. The album feels like a more bleak and far more electronic rendition of In Rainbows. Also,(fingers crossed)the album's beautiful closing track is titled "Separator." Separator of what? A double album? "If you think this is over then you're wrong."-Separator. Expand
  13. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    Radiohead is hands down my favorite band of all time, and what I love about them is that the music never presents itself right away. It always unfolds over repeat listening and this cd is no exception. Something that can seem non-melodic can at times present little snippets that join together to form a melody and over time that's what takes over in your ears. They are never predictable,Radiohead is hands down my favorite band of all time, and what I love about them is that the music never presents itself right away. It always unfolds over repeat listening and this cd is no exception. Something that can seem non-melodic can at times present little snippets that join together to form a melody and over time that's what takes over in your ears. They are never predictable, and they are always challenging...as great music should be. I don't like this cd as much as OK Computer or In Rainbows, but I still like it better than pretty much anything else I've heard this year. And knowing how this music unfolds it very well may become a favorite 20 listens down the road. Codex is just an amazingly beautiful song, and worth the price of admission alone. Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    I knew after listening to TKOL for the first time that I had just witnessed a masterpiece. TKOL shows signs of progression as well as a return to Radioheadâ
  15. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    A new album, a new sound. "King of Limbs" has your trademark layered and perfected studio sound which leaves a whole lot to discover over repeated listens but gone from 2007's "In Rainbows" are the guitars, some of those familiar song structures, and gone is the built up tension. KOL's floats, with almost dream like soundscapes. Its a new sound but fresh as ever, if this is their newA new album, a new sound. "King of Limbs" has your trademark layered and perfected studio sound which leaves a whole lot to discover over repeated listens but gone from 2007's "In Rainbows" are the guitars, some of those familiar song structures, and gone is the built up tension. KOL's floats, with almost dream like soundscapes. Its a new sound but fresh as ever, if this is their new direction, I love it. They play with drum loops, hookless formats, and heavy bass...its exciting. Repeat listens are needed, RH know this and accept the discovery phase..once it comes to, your rewarded heavily for your time :) Stand outs are Bloom, Lotus Flower, Feral, and the beautiful Codex. Lotus Flower could be up there with their best. The only thing I can complain about is fact that there is only 8 tracks, but I have a feeling that we will see more from these sessions sooner than later. Radiohead never ceases to amaze me! 9/10 Expand
  16. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    The King Of Limbs is a perfect album to follow In Rainbows. While the latter sparked an immediate obsession, TKOL took a little more time and was slightly more refined. Radiohead proves that the moment before the climax can be more beautiful than the climax itself and it takes an incredibly talented group of musicians to achieve something like this.
  17. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    Radiohead...as a readiohead is going well...when i look at their past and the way came all along i can't say time and size of their changes,but this change was enough slow to give us a confidence that Radiohead goes well always.Now that they are trying to be kings of limbs like that very old tree,I certainly can say they are success! king of limbs is not awseome,and it can't be a worldRadiohead...as a readiohead is going well...when i look at their past and the way came all along i can't say time and size of their changes,but this change was enough slow to give us a confidence that Radiohead goes well always.Now that they are trying to be kings of limbs like that very old tree,I certainly can say they are success! king of limbs is not awseome,and it can't be a world traveler album and change everything in music world! its a very radioheadly! album and you can understand it with first three beats of the very first of it's song,"Bloom". I like it too much and hope radiohead's fans all over the world be happy of it as much as I am.
    For the end and some recommendation, I recommit "Bloom","Morning Mr.magpie","Lotus Flower" and "Codex".
    Expand
  18. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    I'm not actually a Radiohead big fan, but I like them as much as enough to be impressed by a new great album. First of all "The King of Limbs" isn't another OK Computer or In Rainbows (my favorites), but it's obviously Radiohead's. I don't know why but I feel most of the tracks are the same somehow. Something like all tracks of Thom Yorke's The Eraser. They are all rhythmic and mostlyI'm not actually a Radiohead big fan, but I like them as much as enough to be impressed by a new great album. First of all "The King of Limbs" isn't another OK Computer or In Rainbows (my favorites), but it's obviously Radiohead's. I don't know why but I feel most of the tracks are the same somehow. Something like all tracks of Thom Yorke's The Eraser. They are all rhythmic and mostly based on Drum (which I don't like). By the way beside that The King of Limbs couldn't stone me as predecessors albums, but I'm glad that at least there is a new album, which purports me "Radiohead is still alive". Expand
  19. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    everyone's calling it a grower. i don't get it. i've worn out every radiohead record to date - turning back to them and cycling through the catalog when everything else is stale, and even jazz quits hitting the spot. once through 'the king of limbs' and they've done it again. unbelievable. it's very math'y. lots of disconnection and syncopation and calculation. i'm tempted to give it a 10everyone's calling it a grower. i don't get it. i've worn out every radiohead record to date - turning back to them and cycling through the catalog when everything else is stale, and even jazz quits hitting the spot. once through 'the king of limbs' and they've done it again. unbelievable. it's very math'y. lots of disconnection and syncopation and calculation. i'm tempted to give it a 10 right now, but need to give it a week or so to see how it lasts. certainly don't guess it's going to be a burn-out. way too nuanced. *the ability to create mesmerizingly engaging music that's challenging, cerebral, melodic when it needs to be, full of the sort of complex texture that only radiohead seems to be able to pull off in the same landscape and make work.*
    what's more impressive for me, personally, is that i have a keen sense of how tormented this band must feel sometimes - how easily they must get frustrated about the state of things in their world while trying to figure out who they are now, how to be, the balancing act of their persona vs. their output. and this record just feels like they put their guts into it - feels totally sincere in its intent - and you can just tell that they're satisfying their own needs to push themselves in their writing and composition. the fact that they manage to produce a very listenable, interesting and at times beautiful record amount to the meat & potatoes of why radiohead may very well be the best band on planet earth. like them, sick of them, bored of them, devil's advocate, cool-dodger, or not. reckon john lennon, hendrix and kirk cobain would all agree.
    Expand
  20. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Understated, controlled, moody, and, of course, brief. But this album really grow on you over time. I liked it on the first listen, but it really began to become special after nearly a week of listening to it. While it is not among my favorite Radiohead albums, I think this is a fine addition to their catalog.
  21. Feb 22, 2011
    9
    I expect like most Radiohead fans I was a bit taken back when I first heard the Album, and even had to double check that I didn't just buy one of Thom's personal projects. It definitely went in a direction I was not expecting it to take, and in parts I think the music is too artificial for my liking. I do think the album is a bit short for only 8 tracks, and it would have been nice to haveI expect like most Radiohead fans I was a bit taken back when I first heard the Album, and even had to double check that I didn't just buy one of Thom's personal projects. It definitely went in a direction I was not expecting it to take, and in parts I think the music is too artificial for my liking. I do think the album is a bit short for only 8 tracks, and it would have been nice to have some faster pace tracks. Alas in typical Radiohead fashion there is always so much more under the surface then is first perceived, and while very similar to The Eraser, it is very much that unique genre where Radiohead rules as king! Expand
  22. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    8 songs, 6 of which are good. Not really any TRULY great tracks, but just 4-5 solid ones. Giving up the ghost is quite bad, 'House of Cards bad', and the last song is wishy-washy by radiohead standards. i think with eight songs, it should be tighter to be considered a 9 or 10/10 as some people have reviewed. i haven't decided yet, but this album seems to be on par with In Rainbows. I still8 songs, 6 of which are good. Not really any TRULY great tracks, but just 4-5 solid ones. Giving up the ghost is quite bad, 'House of Cards bad', and the last song is wishy-washy by radiohead standards. i think with eight songs, it should be tighter to be considered a 9 or 10/10 as some people have reviewed. i haven't decided yet, but this album seems to be on par with In Rainbows. I still consider Ok Computer, Kid A, and Amnesiac their 3 best works. By radiohead standards, this is amongst their weakest efforts, still it is an OK album. Expand
  23. Feb 22, 2011
    7
    I tried to listen to this album as though it were a band I had never heard before and I felt a 7 would be a fair score. It's good, but it's not great. It is thick on electronic experimentation and thin on guitar, some may say similar to Kid A and Amnesiac, but it feels more like a follow up to Eraser than anything. In Rainbows was Radiohead at it's best, King of Limbs is the band deep inI tried to listen to this album as though it were a band I had never heard before and I felt a 7 would be a fair score. It's good, but it's not great. It is thick on electronic experimentation and thin on guitar, some may say similar to Kid A and Amnesiac, but it feels more like a follow up to Eraser than anything. In Rainbows was Radiohead at it's best, King of Limbs is the band deep in experimentation, some of it is good, some of it obscure enough to be listenable but not something you 'need' to listen to. Expand
  24. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    This is a very solid effort from the greatest band in the world. While it easily pales in comparison to their previous album, In Rainbows, it's a nice detour from their normal stuff. An accurate equivalent to this album would probably be Thom Yorke's solo album, or perhaps their Com Lag EP, both ambient and electronic heavy. The biggest problem with King of Limbs is that it feels like anThis is a very solid effort from the greatest band in the world. While it easily pales in comparison to their previous album, In Rainbows, it's a nice detour from their normal stuff. An accurate equivalent to this album would probably be Thom Yorke's solo album, or perhaps their Com Lag EP, both ambient and electronic heavy. The biggest problem with King of Limbs is that it feels like an incomplete album, which the number of tracks might suggest. There seems to be a real lack of closure in these songs and none of the songs truly point the album in any sort of direction. Even so, there aren't any true duds on this album and despite a real lack of hooks in these songs, there's an odd catchyness to them. Quite possibly their most enigmatic album to date, if you are a fan of their later works, you will definitely enjoy this one.

    Johnny's songs to not miss: Bloom, Morning Mr Magpie (Best song of the album), Lotus Flower, Separator.

    Johnny's song to skip: Feral
    Expand
  25. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    Perhaps the most percussive album, Phil Selway has his coming out party as one of the most inventive drummers in modern rock. Beginning chaotic and frantic, the album draws on it's more peaceful latter half to really blow you away. Some may ask, "where are the guitars?" but this is no The Bends. We are listening to a more mature and relaxed Radiohead that does not "want to go into thatPerhaps the most percussive album, Phil Selway has his coming out party as one of the most inventive drummers in modern rock. Beginning chaotic and frantic, the album draws on it's more peaceful latter half to really blow you away. Some may ask, "where are the guitars?" but this is no The Bends. We are listening to a more mature and relaxed Radiohead that does not "want to go into that creative hoo-ha of a long-play record again" as Yorke has said. I can see why this record may not pander to some fans but it is definitely beautiful music that should be put on repeat and enjoyed over and over. Expand
  26. Feb 23, 2011
    7
    It just feels there is more here but I cannot pinpoint exactly what. More to come? More to discover? This is the heart of Radiohead's craft though; an ability to create music with substance, revealing additional layers with each subsequent listen. I too like many users here could not currently place this RH album above any other (except PH). But I find myself still wanting to play itIt just feels there is more here but I cannot pinpoint exactly what. More to come? More to discover? This is the heart of Radiohead's craft though; an ability to create music with substance, revealing additional layers with each subsequent listen. I too like many users here could not currently place this RH album above any other (except PH). But I find myself still wanting to play it again and i'm looking forward to it changing my current opinion. Expand
  27. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Another slow-burning masterpiece from Radiohead! It blend the introverted world of Amnesiac with the softness of In Rainbows, and wisely does not outstay its welcome. However, it takes a few listens to fully grasp the sleepy mood of the album, which is much groovier and more patient than its predecessor In Rainbows. I personally can't stop listening to it and I become more impressedAnother slow-burning masterpiece from Radiohead! It blend the introverted world of Amnesiac with the softness of In Rainbows, and wisely does not outstay its welcome. However, it takes a few listens to fully grasp the sleepy mood of the album, which is much groovier and more patient than its predecessor In Rainbows. I personally can't stop listening to it and I become more impressed each time! This album is more than worth the $9.00 I paid for it. :) Expand
  28. Mar 18, 2011
    0
    This album is so bad its unlistenable. Once is enough for me and i love Radiohead but then again, i dont listen to KId A either. Crap is crap people. If its good i will come back for more. Until then im donating this CD to the salvation army for some poor unsuspecting punter to try and figure out what the hell is going on through his headphones.
  29. Mar 27, 2011
    3
    Extremely disappointing IMO. Separator is a great song and by far superior to any of the others songs. I'm a big fan of just about everything they have created, but most of the album sounds like leftovers from In-Rainbows.
  30. Apr 4, 2011
    2
    After a slow slow from OK Computer, one of the great albums of all time, I thought Radiohead got back on track with Rainbows. Unfortunately, the slide has turned into a dull head over heals tumble. This album is a soulless dirge. I never thought I'd say this of a Radiohead album, but I hated this album.
  31. Jun 6, 2011
    4
    there seems to be 2 opposing sides to this album. 1. "like the bends, this is crap"
    2."i think other people dont understand art, this is genius"
    im here to represent side three i like ALL radiohead albums. i get the strange ones well enough amnesiac is probably my favourite one!!! its jawdropping after that being said.. this is quite a poor effort.. u cant compare this one seriously to any
    there seems to be 2 opposing sides to this album. 1. "like the bends, this is crap"
    2."i think other people dont understand art, this is genius"
    im here to represent side three
    i like ALL radiohead albums. i get the strange ones well enough
    amnesiac is probably my favourite one!!! its jawdropping
    after that being said.. this is quite a poor effort.. u cant compare this one seriously to any radiohead album and say this is better! excluding pablo honey of course...
    but its probably the same level as pablo honey.. albeit being utterly different
    its dull, too minimalist. uneventfull. and half of the songs are not new at all!
    it sounds like radiohead are at the end of their creativity... im sorry. but its true
    Expand
  32. May 22, 2011
    2
    It always feel like an eternity waiting for the next Radiohead album. One of my favorite bands in the last 10 years. Upon listening to this album, I'm sad to report the wait was not worth it. Sometimes albums from them like Kid A, Amnesiac, ect. Take several listens, and eventually I love them. I fear this album will never grow on me. As most people have said this has got to be more of aIt always feel like an eternity waiting for the next Radiohead album. One of my favorite bands in the last 10 years. Upon listening to this album, I'm sad to report the wait was not worth it. Sometimes albums from them like Kid A, Amnesiac, ect. Take several listens, and eventually I love them. I fear this album will never grow on me. As most people have said this has got to be more of a solo effort then one coming from a great band. Some great ideas half baked like Lotus Flower. Oh well they can't all be gold. Expand
  33. Oct 21, 2012
    3
    It's rich with layering of different very intriguing sounds, and Thom Yorke is back here with some of his most stellar vocals to date, but this is one of the most repetitive albums ever... ever. Come on Radiohead. We get this thing after In Rainbows?
  34. Aug 8, 2015
    0
    I had heard great things about this album, but when I came to listen to it I have to say it is probably the worst album I've ever heard. The production, writing, and vocals are all absolutely terrible. I listened to all the tracks and there wasn't a single one where I could find something to compliment. Absolute disappointment, unless you are a die-hard Radiohead fan. Whatever you do don'tI had heard great things about this album, but when I came to listen to it I have to say it is probably the worst album I've ever heard. The production, writing, and vocals are all absolutely terrible. I listened to all the tracks and there wasn't a single one where I could find something to compliment. Absolute disappointment, unless you are a die-hard Radiohead fan. Whatever you do don't waste your time listening to this album. Expand
  35. May 2, 2011
    9
    A quirky album, to be sure, more in the vein of "Amnesiac" than "In Rainbows". This isn't "Eraser 2" as many has tried to compare it to: it has much more warmth and you can hear the group dynamic that was almost completely missing from Yorke's solo effort. I was a bit disappointed with the album's brief length, but there still a lot of good music here, particularly "Lotus Flower" "Codex"A quirky album, to be sure, more in the vein of "Amnesiac" than "In Rainbows". This isn't "Eraser 2" as many has tried to compare it to: it has much more warmth and you can hear the group dynamic that was almost completely missing from Yorke's solo effort. I was a bit disappointed with the album's brief length, but there still a lot of good music here, particularly "Lotus Flower" "Codex" and "Give Up The Ghost" for me. Those looking for another album like In Rainbows will certainly be disappointed, as we see a return to the more distant and electronic sound of "Hail To The Thief" here. Expand
  36. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    It took some time to get into this album, but wow, just wow. So much brilliance, so much uniqueness, so much Radiohead. It's experimental, it's strange, it's art. Pick this up immediately and you will not be disappointed.
  37. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    It's just ridiculous and pathetic to read comments comparing The King Of Limbs to Pablo Honey, The Bends or OK Computer and if you will not step out of your comfort zone to listen to the tracks then I expect any bad adjectives you will tag with to this album. The Kings Of Limbs is simply groundbreaking, unprecedented and brilliant! The end.
  38. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    THIS IS MY FAVORITE AFTER 'OK COMPUTER' & IN 'RAINBOWS'. A very different album by Radiohead which can disappoint some and satisfy some. For me this album is another MASTERPIECE. I can listen to it hundred times and still not get bored of it. I can feel each & every second of this album. GREAT ONE !!!
  39. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    It seems to me that everyone expects every new Radiohead release to be the most groundbreaking album ever. That's the level the group are at. But every album that does fall short of 'a modern classic' status is still better than 95% of the average dross that is out there at the minute. It's a Radiohead album. Which means that once again it's different, challenging and thoroughly enjoyable.It seems to me that everyone expects every new Radiohead release to be the most groundbreaking album ever. That's the level the group are at. But every album that does fall short of 'a modern classic' status is still better than 95% of the average dross that is out there at the minute. It's a Radiohead album. Which means that once again it's different, challenging and thoroughly enjoyable. Especially to anyone who is sick of what passes for 'music' nowadays. Expand
  40. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    It was difficult to see how Radiohead could improve on In Rainbows and they have done the sensible thing and moved in a different direction. Parts feel more experimental and more sparse than previous efforts. Bloom and Feral are for biggest change in the sound and for me the weakest part - layered electronica, looped, tinny, slightly harsh sounding ...this is no doubt the sound they wereIt was difficult to see how Radiohead could improve on In Rainbows and they have done the sensible thing and moved in a different direction. Parts feel more experimental and more sparse than previous efforts. Bloom and Feral are for biggest change in the sound and for me the weakest part - layered electronica, looped, tinny, slightly harsh sounding ...this is no doubt the sound they were going for - I don't care for it, the later half of the album is mellower and has more organic sound which I prefer. I hope the later half is the way they move forward with their next offering, I recall Thom once saying OK Computer was their attempt at Endtroducing by DJ SHADOW, this again feels again like an attempt at that. To a Radiohead fan I would recommend this, to a newbie I would recommend the back catalogue. Expand
  41. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    After countless sessions of listening to The King of Limbs in the past few months, I came to the conclusion of this being one of Radiohead's weakest albums.

    In order of brilliance:

    1. Kid A / Amnesiac
    2. Hail to the Thief
    3. OK Computer
    4. In Rainbows
    5. The Bends
    6. The King of Limbs
    7. Pablo Honey
  42. Jun 1, 2011
    7
    The King Of Limbs was a bit disappointing the first listen. But I gradually picked up on it a few listens later. I'm not saying this album is a masterpiece like most other Radiohead albums, because it Isn't, but it is nevertheless a good album. It has a few really great tracks and a few not so great. The opener "Bloom" is a not so great song but songs like "Lotus Flower" is a RadioheadThe King Of Limbs was a bit disappointing the first listen. But I gradually picked up on it a few listens later. I'm not saying this album is a masterpiece like most other Radiohead albums, because it Isn't, but it is nevertheless a good album. It has a few really great tracks and a few not so great. The opener "Bloom" is a not so great song but songs like "Lotus Flower" is a Radiohead masterpiece. It's an album you'll either love it or hate it. I personally think Radiohead could've done so much better. It's still a good album though. B Expand
  43. Mar 21, 2011
    6
    Unfortunately, "The King Of Limbs" leaves one wondering where the level of developmental inspiration got lost. Thom Yorke and company have enough positive credit in the bank to get away with this half hearted effort, which in forthcoming years will be acquainted alongside "Pablo Honey" in the list of top Radiohead long players. http://hackskeptic.com
  44. Feb 23, 2011
    7
    The problem that most 20 year old bands have is continuing to make new and interesting music. Radiohead does not have this problem. Though this album is not their best, it is still unique and beautiful. The King of Limbs is most importantly pointing them in a new direction.
  45. Apr 5, 2011
    4
    Radiohead keeps moving farther and farther away from mainstream music, but in my opinion they went a little too far this time. Its hard to find a chorus never mind something you can hum along to. In fact its hard to determine when they are even mumbling about because the instruments are too loud. As a causul fan The King of Limbs is a disappointment.
  46. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    With all the anticipation surrounding the fallow up album to Radiohead's In Rainbows, the question was, will Radiohead deliver another amazing album to the masses. The answere is yes. King of limbs starts off by casting a trance like spell over its listeners. This last until about the halfway point of the album, until the haze of confusion, and frustration dissipates and a love storyWith all the anticipation surrounding the fallow up album to Radiohead's In Rainbows, the question was, will Radiohead deliver another amazing album to the masses. The answere is yes. King of limbs starts off by casting a trance like spell over its listeners. This last until about the halfway point of the album, until the haze of confusion, and frustration dissipates and a love story evolves. This is not an album that you can throw on at a party and have every one like it. In my opinion this album is one that must be enjoyed in the company of wine, headphones, and a spliff, to get the full body experience needed to truly enjoy a masterpiece. As for all the critics that say KOL is nothing compared to their older work, they need to understand that, like everything else, bands evolve. The sound of Radiohead's The Bends is almost a complete 180 compared to KOL, but you can trace their sound evolving through the years from ok computer to kid A and Amnesiac, to hail to the thief, etc. do we really want our rock bands to all sound exactly the same like these club songs being blasted over the radio waves? we need to embrace innovation and change in music, if we didn't every band would sound exactly the same. i haven't met anyone to say "Rubber Soul is the greatest Beatles album ever, the white album had to many noises that i didn't like, and the Magical Mystery Tour made my ears hurt. why cant the beatles make real music like before and copy rubber soul 10 times?" - it is called the progression of music and without the Beatles acting as a catalyst between instruments and experimentation in the Rock industry maybe Radiohead wouldn't even be here. My point is don't bash on a great band for putting out an album that does not sound like anything else they put out, this should be embraced and celebrated. Expand
  47. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Another classic by Radiohead. Simply the best band ever. Nobody has or ever will come close to their creative genius. From Bloom to Separator, every track on this album is a classic. Too bad the whole thing is so short.
  48. wjw
    Feb 25, 2011
    9
    Kraftwerk meets Fleet Foxes. Seriously, though the album is short in duration (It's why I scored it a 9 and not a10--I WANT MORE!), this is a sublime work of sonic modern art. Unlike many great albums that seem, at first listen, similarly unapproachable (Trout Mask Replica), this album is just plain beautiful in every aspect of its layered and impressionistic soundscape. And, as a value,Kraftwerk meets Fleet Foxes. Seriously, though the album is short in duration (It's why I scored it a 9 and not a10--I WANT MORE!), this is a sublime work of sonic modern art. Unlike many great albums that seem, at first listen, similarly unapproachable (Trout Mask Replica), this album is just plain beautiful in every aspect of its layered and impressionistic soundscape. And, as a value, a few hundred albums of lower scores versus this gem, I'll take this gem. One more thing to note might be that its brevity might be its saving grace (justifying a 10), since it would be that much more addictive a listen were it to contain a number of other gracefuly and thoughtfully crafted compositions, but then again, I'm already addicted, and can't shake off this sonic crack. Well, anyway, though this album may not seem so melodic in such an immediate way, I can't take certain songs out of my mind. For those who might be adamantly, and in some cases, hysterically, opposed to any favorable assessment--aesthetic or otherwise--of this album, I can't help, you. I'll I can say to you is, "don't hurt me," as I am already haunted by this album. Expand
  49. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    To me this album represents Radiohead's courage and strength through all of their music. I think it is simply, strangely and utterly beautiful, sounds like a mix of In Rainbows, Kid A, and Yorke's solo stuff. Really loving codex, it brings you into the moment. 2nd half of the album is better than the 1st.
  50. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    A slow burner but ultimately satisfying. "Separator" and "Codex" sublime. This is supposed to be 150 characters long .....blah..... blah...... blah....... blah.........
  51. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Insanely delicious album. Loved "Little by Little." Everything is so eerily good. It does sound a bit more electronic then their other albums, but nevertheless, Radiohead makes it work.
  52. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    Any one who gives this below a 3 is simply doing so because they hate the idea of radiohead, and anyone giving it above a 8 or 9 or so is doing it because they love the idea of radiohead. a solid, short, sweet radiohead gem. on the scale of all albums ever released, yeah it's no star, but "lotus flower", "seperator", and "little by little" are just genuinly good songs. they are groovy,Any one who gives this below a 3 is simply doing so because they hate the idea of radiohead, and anyone giving it above a 8 or 9 or so is doing it because they love the idea of radiohead. a solid, short, sweet radiohead gem. on the scale of all albums ever released, yeah it's no star, but "lotus flower", "seperator", and "little by little" are just genuinly good songs. they are groovy, among radioheads more melodic works, and have that otherworldness you come to expect from radiohead. toss aside your previous biases about radiohead (and we ALL have them, whether good or bad) and just listen. it's a pleasurable piece of work =) Expand
  53. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    As a fan of Radiohead, I think this album sits between Amnesiac and Thom York's solo album The Eraser. I think it will be hard for new fans to embrace this as much as they could other albums, including In Rainbows. But still, they never disappoint. I hope through their download ventures we continue to get a steady flow of production from them.
  54. Mar 12, 2011
    9
    When you can say the biggest problem with an album is that it is too short you know you have a keeper. TKOL represents Radiohead at their most adventurous with fantastic drum beats throughout. Personally the first half is my favorite when they didn't sprinkle much melody in the music but still there is no denying the power of Codex or Give Up the Ghost.
  55. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of Radiohead's most masterfully realized albums. Along with Kid A, OK Computer, and In Rainbows - The King of Limbs creates a beautiful cohesive world to get lost in over and over again. In terms of both song craft and production, the album sizzles and awards the careful listener greatly. Highly recommended.
  56. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    Radiohead are putting out music on their terms these days. 8 songs and 37 minutes is a bit short, but each song's content makes up for it. Its pretty hard to find any band willing to take so many genre shifting leaps within an album and do them all at a high level. Nothing is new or groundbreakingly amazing, but it all soothes my palate for solid music worth listening to. Song-by-songRadiohead are putting out music on their terms these days. 8 songs and 37 minutes is a bit short, but each song's content makes up for it. Its pretty hard to find any band willing to take so many genre shifting leaps within an album and do them all at a high level. Nothing is new or groundbreakingly amazing, but it all soothes my palate for solid music worth listening to. Song-by-song breakdown @ http://groundedinsound.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/radiohead-the-king-of-limbs-early-review/ Expand
  57. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    The thing with Radiohead is that their albums differ so much that some fans only like select albums. But, what we all should realize is that ALL of their albums are musically and technically fantastic, no matter if we like them or not. I prefer The Bends acoustic sound, while some like Kid A for its glithcy-electronic sound. This is a Kid A type of album.
  58. Mar 22, 2011
    8
    I have found over the years that the best approach to any new Radiohead album is to preclude any expectations whatsoever from your thoughts when donning the headphones for that first listen. I stuck with that approach for "The King of Limbs". For those who have rated this album as less than 7, all I can assume is that your sound system is lacking or that you need better headphones. PartI have found over the years that the best approach to any new Radiohead album is to preclude any expectations whatsoever from your thoughts when donning the headphones for that first listen. I stuck with that approach for "The King of Limbs". For those who have rated this album as less than 7, all I can assume is that your sound system is lacking or that you need better headphones. Part of the appeal of the music created by this genius band is that they send you sauntering around acoustic vistas which they have seamlessly painted, which are spotted by the occasional bizarre and beautiful creature. Layers of juxtapose, incongruous sounds melt into clouds of melody, lifting one higher into sonic bliss, assisted by intelligent yet sensuous beats. The only thing keeping this album from being a 9 or 10 in my mind is a certain lack of sheer emotion tasted in other Radiohead albums. Or maybe I just haven't listened enough yet. Either way, I'm completely satisfied with this album and am anxiously awaiting my 10" vinyl. :) Expand
  59. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Mellow, murky, introspective, beautiful; can another singer/songwriter slide with such ease in and out of his falsetto? Yorke's voice is just hauntingly superb on this album, and that's my favorite aspect of "The King of Limbs." Although there is not a song I dislike, my immediate favorites are "Give up the Ghost" and "Separator"
  60. Mar 31, 2011
    6
    A little disappointing. Short - only 37 minutes. The "skipping record" drum track is wearing a little thin. This album does not rock. Hoping it grows on me like most of the other albums did.
  61. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    Being relatively new to Radiohead, but still a massive fan, this was the first Radiohead album that I purchased on the release date. For the most part I had great expectations, especially after the apparent return to form that the band boasted on "In Rainbows."
    The release of this album was shrouded in the sort of mystery and hype that only Radiohead can create, with their legions of
    Being relatively new to Radiohead, but still a massive fan, this was the first Radiohead album that I purchased on the release date. For the most part I had great expectations, especially after the apparent return to form that the band boasted on "In Rainbows."
    The release of this album was shrouded in the sort of mystery and hype that only Radiohead can create, with their legions of dedicated fans crouched expectantly over Mac's all over the world. The cynic in me says that releasing "The King Of Limbs" a day early was merely a clever publicity stunt, albeit one that appeared to work.
    Initial impressions of TKOL were of dissapointment. Where were the guitars? Where was the energy? Where the hell were the rest of the band? "Bloom" appears to merely be a continuity of Thom Yorke's solo career. Whilst this is not neccesarily a bad thing, this is a Radiohead album, and therefore more surely must have been expected from the opening track. "Morning Mr Magpie" is much of the same, and things don't really get going until "Little By Little", which sees Radiohead become more of a band, if not a fully fledged. This is built on in "Lotus Flower", which is really the new Radiohead material that many have been waiting for. Whilst many have written of "Codex" as a "Pyramid Song mk II", it is undeniably the standout track. It creates a mood that many songwriters would (excuse the pun) sever one of their linbs to be able to recreate. To summarize, this record sounds like two different bands. One of them is Radiohead, and one of them is trying too hard.
    Expand
  62. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    The King of Limbs mustn't be judged yet. It is too soon to say this album doesn't live up to Radiohead's standards. I have foolishly done this too many times with their albums (kid a, hail to the thief, and amnesiac), to realize that Radiohead just know a little bit more about music than I do and that I need to have faith in such intelligent folk. Radiohead are the type of band to onlyThe King of Limbs mustn't be judged yet. It is too soon to say this album doesn't live up to Radiohead's standards. I have foolishly done this too many times with their albums (kid a, hail to the thief, and amnesiac), to realize that Radiohead just know a little bit more about music than I do and that I need to have faith in such intelligent folk. Radiohead are the type of band to only release material they love, which is enough for me. So far I would say the album is only great. However, I'm pretty certain that one day I will appreciate it as only brilliant. Zippychimp, please don't write Radiohead reviews. You're obviously against the notion of bands ever evolving, so just stay in your comfort zone with creep and fake plastic trees, at least it's no Beiber. Expand
  63. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    I'm still waiting for a Radiohead album I can listen to in it's entirety without getting bored. King of Limbs is not that album. I can appreciate that the band wants to be non-commercial and experimental, but that doesn't really translate into easy listening.
    The first few songs are tolerable, listenable, but with the exception of Lotus Flower none of it really moves me
  64. Apr 9, 2011
    10
    The King of Limbs, after over a month of listening, continues to grow on me. I'm a fan of Radiohead's new direction and with each release I am liking their style more and more. The satisfaction in King of Limbs comes from it's dissection - the more I listen to it and hear things I haven't heard before, or hear things in a new way, the more I realize just how amazing this album is.The King of Limbs, after over a month of listening, continues to grow on me. I'm a fan of Radiohead's new direction and with each release I am liking their style more and more. The satisfaction in King of Limbs comes from it's dissection - the more I listen to it and hear things I haven't heard before, or hear things in a new way, the more I realize just how amazing this album is. Containing only 8 songs, The King of Limbs is short - but it's so, so sweet. Expand
  65. Apr 10, 2011
    6
    I expected more from Radiohead after the brilliant In Rainbows. This new album is a return to the sheer weirdness of Kid A and Amnesiac. It has interesting moments and their wish to experiment is laudable but the album sounds too cold and distant.
  66. Apr 11, 2011
    6
    When I get asked ''what is your favorite band?'',I immediately think Radiohead! I make it a day event when Radiohead releases something new (not really but I get very excited)... So this new album (sigh)... It's not that good. It feels like an EP, as if the band was trying to go somewhere but hasn't gotten there yet. This album is a sort of report of the progress, the direction and currentWhen I get asked ''what is your favorite band?'',I immediately think Radiohead! I make it a day event when Radiohead releases something new (not really but I get very excited)... So this new album (sigh)... It's not that good. It feels like an EP, as if the band was trying to go somewhere but hasn't gotten there yet. This album is a sort of report of the progress, the direction and current location that the band is taking. Its a transition album I think. I didn't like it that much... sadly but I am very happy that this is the direction the band is taking, and If my hopes are right.... The next album is going to be great. This experiment just didn't cut it. Expand
  67. Apr 25, 2011
    9
    This ones a grower. Let it happen people; don't judge it immediately based off reviews and what your friends told you. Don't let the hipster **** grow through your ears, and keep you from developing your own idea. I feel sonic walls of sound and a transy, melodic vibe. I feel good rhythms, good ideas, twisting lyrics. Thom hasn't gotten any older; any greyer in my ears. It just feelsThis ones a grower. Let it happen people; don't judge it immediately based off reviews and what your friends told you. Don't let the hipster **** grow through your ears, and keep you from developing your own idea. I feel sonic walls of sound and a transy, melodic vibe. I feel good rhythms, good ideas, twisting lyrics. Thom hasn't gotten any older; any greyer in my ears. It just feels softer. sandy. a little opaque. But then again, this album wasn't meant to please a human being. This album was released to please Radiohead. I'm proud to be able to find the vibe coming off of this album- once again, it's something that you find yourself. But once you catch it, it frees you from being one of the miserable suckers slagging this album because of all it lacks, rather than what it has given off in order to find that perfect balance of lack. And if you question my choice of description, just know that I am talking with the feel of the words, rather than the words themselves. Expand
  68. May 6, 2011
    8
    Bloom, Lotus Flower, Codex, Separator, all good songs. The others, not just as good.
    I see The King of Limbs as a fine tuning of what Radiohead began with Kid A and Amnesiac, and although it has some of the most interesting chords and melodies, it just seems to be lacking something.
    Bloom's opening minute is the best by far, with amazing lyrics Morning Mr Magpie is okay, but nothing
    Bloom, Lotus Flower, Codex, Separator, all good songs. The others, not just as good.
    I see The King of Limbs as a fine tuning of what Radiohead began with Kid A and Amnesiac, and although it has some of the most interesting chords and melodies, it just seems to be lacking something.
    Bloom's opening minute is the best by far, with amazing lyrics
    Morning Mr Magpie is okay, but nothing particularly significant
    Little By Little contains a great piece of music at 2:21, but apart from that, average
    Feral can get boring, I would prefer it much more if I could actually hear lyrics from Thom Yorke
    Lotus Flower is a very well written song, but maybe just off single material
    Codex is one of the best songs from this album, with an almost restrained feel to it
    Give Up The Ghost is quite good, but not Radiohead's best from this album
    Separator is a completely different story. The first half is good, but it is the second half which really defines this song. An amazing ending to the album.
    On another note, if you enjoy The King of Limbs, I recommend their B-sides Supercollider and The Butcher.
    Expand
  69. Jun 11, 2011
    7
    Thom Yorkes vocals have never been stronger than on this LP. He is simply stunning on this. What you want from a Radiohead album is for it to test you, and have an overwhelming atmosphere that takes a while to 'become one with'. I really like every song on the album, they are all well put together and structured as you'd expect from Radiohead. It has this mystic quality that I am a realThom Yorkes vocals have never been stronger than on this LP. He is simply stunning on this. What you want from a Radiohead album is for it to test you, and have an overwhelming atmosphere that takes a while to 'become one with'. I really like every song on the album, they are all well put together and structured as you'd expect from Radiohead. It has this mystic quality that I am a real big fan of. Though in the end this is just missing atmosphere, innovation and maybe a little more influence from Mr J.Greenwood. Sadly, underwhelming. Expand
  70. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    Well... this album is hard to review... it isn't a masterpiece and takes a few listens to grasp the idea of it. I wasn't sure what to think of this album before it came out, but after listening to it, I am very underwhelmed. It is quite disappointing. There isn't that much to listen to on this 8 track album. No attention grabbers, no surprises, no "wow" effect. The few songs that are goodWell... this album is hard to review... it isn't a masterpiece and takes a few listens to grasp the idea of it. I wasn't sure what to think of this album before it came out, but after listening to it, I am very underwhelmed. It is quite disappointing. There isn't that much to listen to on this 8 track album. No attention grabbers, no surprises, no "wow" effect. The few songs that are good are "Morning Mr. Magpie", "Lotus Flower", and "Codex". If you are a die-hard Radiohead fan, sure, take a listen and enjoy. If Radiohead is a whole new concept to you, start off with "OK Computer" or "Kid A" and slowly make it to this album. Expand
  71. May 18, 2011
    9
    This is a fine album, that continues the expected work that they were doing after hail to the thief, and back to that similar line after going somewhere off to the more sentimental side with in rainbows.
    I don't actually understand or comprehend most the criticisms made- no, sorry i do, the reviewers seem to have their head up their pretensious arses. such as saying thom is the only
    This is a fine album, that continues the expected work that they were doing after hail to the thief, and back to that similar line after going somewhere off to the more sentimental side with in rainbows.
    I don't actually understand or comprehend most the criticisms made- no, sorry i do, the reviewers seem to have their head up their pretensious arses. such as saying thom is the only musician, or its eraser mark two can only really be answered with 'are you deaf'? there is no other response to that because its clearly not. The eraser even had radiohead members on most the tracks.
    That it fails to rock, is an idea ten years in the past before kid a. and anyone describing it as minimalistic or avante-garde it seems has never listened to either of those genres. .. its simply not...
    sorry i had to defend negative ignorant criticism rather than marking the positives.
    i gave it a 9 because its very occasionally dissonant in harmonies, although that is part of the structure.
    and that it lacks by only a few strokes a radiohead signature of the melancholy and sentimental song that seem to be loved by inrainbows and okc lovers.
    a strange gothic and pagan work, a masterpiece? unsure about that i don't tend to put anything on a pedestal, to be let down. perhaps that#s the problem- that some expected a master piece sensation and instead just got a very good album that lasts for only the listening experience of the album length and doesn't try to be anything more.
    Expand
  72. May 25, 2011
    7
    It seems empty at first, but everything's there, Radiohead just makes you find it. Admittedly, I did miss Johnny on this record.
  73. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Of all the Radiohead albums, King of Limbs feels the least Radiohead-like since Pablo Honey, but it's still a great list of tracks. Bloom - Radiohead also knows how to start and end an album. Bloom definitely lives up to an expectation you may have. Lovely vocals, of course. 8/10.
    Morning Mr. Magpie - It took me two listens, but definitely a fulfilling track once you get the hang of it. An
    Of all the Radiohead albums, King of Limbs feels the least Radiohead-like since Pablo Honey, but it's still a great list of tracks. Bloom - Radiohead also knows how to start and end an album. Bloom definitely lives up to an expectation you may have. Lovely vocals, of course. 8/10.
    Morning Mr. Magpie - It took me two listens, but definitely a fulfilling track once you get the hang of it. An incredible revamped version of the b-side "Morning Me Lord." 8/10
    Little By Little - Nice to listen to every once in a while, but there's something about Yorke's falsetto singing "Little by Little," that both intrigues me and annoys me. 7/10
    Feral - Amazing mix. Very dark-gray sounding. Love it! It sort of feels like Yorke's supplemented intermission form his vocals in the record. 8/10
    Lotus Flower - The single, and definitely one of the highlights of the record. An amazing structure. 10/10.
    Codex - The slowest song on the album, but it's an instant classic. Very dark, dramatic. I always visualize a man standing on top of the grand canyon at sun set jumping into a clear-blue lake (very much like the lyrics describing of course). 9/10
    Give Up the Ghost - I became so used to the live recording of this song, that it took me a few listens to understand what Thom Yorke was really trying to do on stage. I honestly prefer the live version, but this track lives up to it. 9/10
    Separator - Like Lotus Flower, an extremely addictive song to listen to. Radiohead always knows how to end an album, and this track feels like an open-ended interpretation of the conclusion. Amazing! "If you think this over, then you're wrong," rung in my head for weeks after listening to this the first few times. 10/10.
    Expand
  74. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    I was unsure what to expect from this album; after all, it was pretty much four years after their magnum opus, In Rainbows. Although this album does not have the same overall coherence that its predecessor does, it is a good batch of tunes that showcase well the band's continuing focus on nuance and layering. The first listen was surprising, but not overly wonderful; it's still only been aI was unsure what to expect from this album; after all, it was pretty much four years after their magnum opus, In Rainbows. Although this album does not have the same overall coherence that its predecessor does, it is a good batch of tunes that showcase well the band's continuing focus on nuance and layering. The first listen was surprising, but not overly wonderful; it's still only been a few months since its release, but already the album has grown on me. It seems as if the songs are either a combination of In Rainbows and Kid A, or In Rainbows and Hail to the Thief. All in all, I think that they are continuing to produce very subtly satisfying and increasingly beat-oriented music. I do not, however, wish, or think I can stand, waiting another four years, simply for eight songs. I love the album, but I expected more, honestly. Expand
  75. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    After almost two decades of music from this band, I am embarrassed to say I have missed most of it. However, when I first heard 'Lotus Flower,' it instantly attracted me. It is fitting, then, that this track is the focal point of this album. I have to say that I am a bit stunned by the Radiohead 'fans' who have posted negative reactions to this album; I am not sure what they areAfter almost two decades of music from this band, I am embarrassed to say I have missed most of it. However, when I first heard 'Lotus Flower,' it instantly attracted me. It is fitting, then, that this track is the focal point of this album. I have to say that I am a bit stunned by the Radiohead 'fans' who have posted negative reactions to this album; I am not sure what they are expecting. People change and hopefully evolve, and we should expect no less from artists. This entire album is a stunning and complex beauty, clearly made from a place of confidence and maturity. I now find myself delving into the Radiohead catalogue. I haven't felt this way about music in some time; it just doesn't get much better than this. Expand
  76. Jun 23, 2011
    6
    meh, pretty much sums it up. There are a few bright spots on this album but mostly it just bleeds into one big digital sample. I mean its radiohead, and I am a fan, so I am pleased. Just not that much. This ranks up there with Thom's solo album. Definitely not their best work.
  77. j30
    Jul 20, 2011
    8
    It's a good album from a great band. Probably a disappointment for fans expecting something to branch off In Rainbows. That's just how Radiohead is, they keep you on your toes. You don't know what quite to expect from them. The album will isolate fans like Kid A did (this album is not nearly as good as Kid A). I do recommend giving The Butcher and Staircase a listen, both b-sides from theIt's a good album from a great band. Probably a disappointment for fans expecting something to branch off In Rainbows. That's just how Radiohead is, they keep you on your toes. You don't know what quite to expect from them. The album will isolate fans like Kid A did (this album is not nearly as good as Kid A). I do recommend giving The Butcher and Staircase a listen, both b-sides from the album. It's unfortunate because these tracks didn't make the cut. They could have added some needed depth to the album. Also check out the King of Limbs From the Basement sessions online. It gives you an idea of how these tracks will translate live and it actually made me like the whole album better. Expand
  78. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    I'm not sure what exactly the title of the album means but i'm incredibly pleased with it musically i love all of radioheads work as a band and this album seems like the perfect next step from the band after in rainbows the songs are interesting beautiful and easy to dance to although im wondering which song will be likely to become a hit seeing as how none of the songs are ballad like iI'm not sure what exactly the title of the album means but i'm incredibly pleased with it musically i love all of radioheads work as a band and this album seems like the perfect next step from the band after in rainbows the songs are interesting beautiful and easy to dance to although im wondering which song will be likely to become a hit seeing as how none of the songs are ballad like i like the experimental quality of the first song bloom it has a strange rhythm but the song is expertly executed good morning mr magpie has an infectious beat that has me dancing i dont like little by little but i havent really taken the time to listen to it it sounds like oasis or something feral is fantastic its another groovey track that makes me want to mimic thom yorkes dancing lotus flower is beautiful codex reminds me of a song that could have been on in rainbows and it also has a beautiful piano tune its a bit of a ballad give up the ghost is interesting and reminds me of kid a maybe? i love the last song separator. i saw them on TV preforming they look different thom looks like he hasn't had a haircut in a while although that doesn't matter the album is great and im going off to listen to it now. Expand
  79. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    it's good. i guess people are expecting a 'new' sound. new meaning erratic, or more shouts. but that's not wht they get. but it is good music, mesmerizingm, and is paradoxical as it may sound, consistent in delivering something new, eversince they changed their sound
  80. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I have always admired Radiohead and liked their tunes but never considered myself a massive fan. On my first listen to King of Limbs the only track that grabbed me was Lotus Flower. Suddenly found myself listening to Lotus Flower over and over again and gradually this whole album has become somewhat of an Obsession! Easily in my top 5 albums of all time.
  81. Sep 29, 2012
    5
    Asides from Codex and Separator, the rest of the album is tedious. The repetitive rythms guide you nowhere. I know how many albums are growers. Kid A took me probably 4 listens, and after that, every song blowed me away. This album, however, didn't get me the same feeling.
  82. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    Initially, I thought this album was a huge step down from their previous effort, "In Rainbows". But then I realized: this is a band that constantly changes their style for the sake of being unique. However, although it all sounds great, it may actually be too unique. My point being, it's not really brilliant or revolutionary; it's more of what I've heard from them before, all combine.Initially, I thought this album was a huge step down from their previous effort, "In Rainbows". But then I realized: this is a band that constantly changes their style for the sake of being unique. However, although it all sounds great, it may actually be too unique. My point being, it's not really brilliant or revolutionary; it's more of what I've heard from them before, all combine. That's about all that is flawed though. This is a spectacular album overall. Expand
  83. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    It's not the weirdest or best thing they've put out, but it's great for repeated listens. I would rank this album amongst "Amnesiac" and "Kid A" since the electronic and atmospheric sound is similar to those albums. As far as how good it is, I'd say it's number 6 on my Radiohead album rank. There are some really good songs here like "Bloom", "Lotus Flower", "Give Up the Ghost", and myIt's not the weirdest or best thing they've put out, but it's great for repeated listens. I would rank this album amongst "Amnesiac" and "Kid A" since the electronic and atmospheric sound is similar to those albums. As far as how good it is, I'd say it's number 6 on my Radiohead album rank. There are some really good songs here like "Bloom", "Lotus Flower", "Give Up the Ghost", and my favorite track "Separator". Radiohead really know how to end an album, and how to make one. They haven't let us down yet and I don't think they possibly could. Expand
  84. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    After 9 months of constantly listen to this album, I have to say that, it has became one of my favorite albums of all time! It's obvious that it's not that accessible like "In Rainbows" was, it will take you (probably) months of dairy listen to completely understand the beauty of "The King of Limbs".
    I'm satisfied with the lenght of the album, it's not a problem when you realize that all
    After 9 months of constantly listen to this album, I have to say that, it has became one of my favorite albums of all time! It's obvious that it's not that accessible like "In Rainbows" was, it will take you (probably) months of dairy listen to completely understand the beauty of "The King of Limbs".
    I'm satisfied with the lenght of the album, it's not a problem when you realize that all the songs contained in the album are terrificly amazing.
    I foresee that in some years, "The King of Limbs" will be praised as one of the best albums of the decade.
    P.S. Sorry for my poor English.
    Expand
  85. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hardly an album like they used to consider it perfect. But it's still brilliant to hear that Thom and his unpredictable band, can do with music. Expand
  86. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    This album is something truly beautiful. I've read through comments where people are whining about "incessant beats" and a lack of melody and yes, this is not the Radiohead us die hard fans are used to. The songs start off rhythmic in the first half of the album but by the end of the thirty seven minutes have turned into a woozy sounding, peaceful and organic finale. Give Up The GhostThis album is something truly beautiful. I've read through comments where people are whining about "incessant beats" and a lack of melody and yes, this is not the Radiohead us die hard fans are used to. The songs start off rhythmic in the first half of the album but by the end of the thirty seven minutes have turned into a woozy sounding, peaceful and organic finale. Give Up The Ghost sounds like a peaceful death for the album... It's obvious this album from the start was made to be remixed. Kieron Hebdan fans should love this, in fact so should he! The songs hold less of a structure than previous albums, and are more layered. Although Radiohead are firmly going down the Electronica route, none of the songs are what you'd call conventional, with chewed-up drum loops of natural sounding percussion. There's a great depth to this thing. The album takes about five listens to grow on you, and even after that I can almost guarantee you won't love it in the same way you loved In Rainbows, or Hail To The Thief. There aren't many epic guitar parts by Jonny, or melodies that are the kind you'd sing along to. For me, in my mind I don't even consider it Radiohead. It's something new... A new direction from Thom Yorke and Co, and one that I thoroughly enjoy. If you don't think this lives up to Radiohead's great reputation then stop thinking of it as Radiohead. This is a band reincarnated, and that's something rather impressive for a group of men in their forties. Therefore, this song doesn't deserve to be compared to In Rainbows or any other past Radiohead album because it's a whole other sound, a whole other attitude. Let's not forget Kid A, which was mainly hated when it came out. (Coincidentally TKOL really compliments Kid A.) So to all you Radiohead fans out there, you need to take a look at your attitude to your favourite band. I get the impression from most Radiohead comments on YouTube videos that all Radiohead are 'educated', very middle class people who look down on every other genre of music. It would sicken Thom Yorke to know what kind of people followed his work, as he's often said how he believes music should be something you hear on the radio, not something you sit and drink wine to in an art gallery. I have a feeling all the higher ratings for TKOL are by fans who love the reputation more than the album. Accept it for what it is... A great little collection of songs. A snippet of a new direction. Follow me (00dore) on Twitter if you are bored and would like to hear the (very) occasional video of something any Radiohead fan should also love. Expand
  87. May 14, 2012
    10
    it's kinda busy, it's really short, it's experimental, it's inaccessible, and i love it. i've heard a lot of negative reactions and criticism against this album, but it's right up there with ok computer, kid a, all hail to the thief and in rainbows for their best work.
  88. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    every time Radiohead announces release of an album, it generates a huge expectation. on the one hand, many fans expected the unlikely miracle of a second ok. computer, others accustomed to each disk in surprise radiohead expect some new element in their sound. but let's get to the king of limbs is not a masterpiece, is not ok. computer, not a the bends, no kid.a. this album is still wellevery time Radiohead announces release of an album, it generates a huge expectation. on the one hand, many fans expected the unlikely miracle of a second ok. computer, others accustomed to each disk in surprise radiohead expect some new element in their sound. but let's get to the king of limbs is not a masterpiece, is not ok. computer, not a the bends, no kid.a. this album is still well above the average of many bands today. That itself is a difficult album to digest. tom yorke indeed perhaps ironically with the present in the band writes in MorningMrMagpie: "you took my melody." perhaps one of the flaws of this album is that it is too short, too short. only eight songs. though there are notable as the codex piano, echoes of GiveUpTheGhost. or separator mesmerizing.
    if this is radiohead and show that despite having more than two decades can still generate noise. without creating a masterpiece, it sounds more relevant than 90% of bands today.
    Expand
  89. Sep 20, 2012
    6
    Good album, but it's not their best: "Lotus Flower" is great, but many of the other songs get boring after some listenings. I hope in a better album next time!
  90. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    An exceptional album, The King of Limbs strives to keep up with the changing times, allowing technology to lead Radiohead away from the safe sound which they have established over the years. This bold move allowed the creation of a fantastic album, whilst still retaining some original sound.
  91. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    a nice sound but definitely a huge change for the band and fans of radiohead's earlier work (pablo honey, the bends) may not respond to it as positively.
  92. Apr 1, 2013
    7
    I've waited awhile to write this review as Radiohead albums can take awhile to sink in. I have been listening to this album a lot over the last few months and it has really grown on me. It is nowhere near their strongest album but it really does have some interesting songs, they just take awhile to digest. Thom is superb on this, he really is one of the best singers around and I think itI've waited awhile to write this review as Radiohead albums can take awhile to sink in. I have been listening to this album a lot over the last few months and it has really grown on me. It is nowhere near their strongest album but it really does have some interesting songs, they just take awhile to digest. Thom is superb on this, he really is one of the best singers around and I think it is something that is really under rated by non Radiohead fans.

    I find I enjoy this more when listening with headphones.
    Expand
  93. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    Whilst I can appreciate the direction Radiohead wanted to take with rhythm-led samples and electronics. The first 4 tracks suffer a little from being just a little too quick, not allowing the listener much chance to really settle into the arrangements. Phil Selway's drums and the electronic beats seem a bit too busy. From Lotus Flower onwards at track 5 the pace slows down and the songsWhilst I can appreciate the direction Radiohead wanted to take with rhythm-led samples and electronics. The first 4 tracks suffer a little from being just a little too quick, not allowing the listener much chance to really settle into the arrangements. Phil Selway's drums and the electronic beats seem a bit too busy. From Lotus Flower onwards at track 5 the pace slows down and the songs become more minimalistic, and I enjoyed it more, with more straight melodies. It does improve with multiple listens but it feels, to me, like a disappointment even to this day. Expand
  94. May 10, 2016
    7
    At this point Radiohead's sound gets quite a bit redundant as they again mix odd beats, guitars and jam-session lyrics. "The King of Limbs" sounds like a paranoid soundtrack that leaves something to be desired. Die-Hard fans will love it. Download: Lotus Flower, Bloom, Little By Little.
  95. Apr 12, 2017
    10
    This album happens to be my favorite Radiohead album to the dismay of many of my friends. I feel like the use of electronic as derogatory term to describe this album is kinda wrong and listening to it makes me feel this way even more. This album is the way radiohead should be. innovative
  96. Nov 8, 2014
    10
    The thing about OK Computer is that it was made by a guitar heavy band. in a vein akin to the pixes, Nirvana and Muse, to name a few.
    King of Limbs is much closer to the work that Bjork is producing. I mean, I've had it for years now and I just re-bought the CD after the old one kicked it. to me TKOL represents England, both mythologically and politically in some way. It is so alive, it's
    The thing about OK Computer is that it was made by a guitar heavy band. in a vein akin to the pixes, Nirvana and Muse, to name a few.
    King of Limbs is much closer to the work that Bjork is producing. I mean, I've had it for years now and I just re-bought the CD after the old one kicked it. to me TKOL represents England, both mythologically and politically in some way. It is so alive, it's the sound of landscapes, both the sedate forest and the city. I honestly cannot say enough good things about this album. it is perhaps slightly over full at times but that's me being super picky, Its layered drum beats and textured sounds that make it so vital to start with. Its a journey I think. for best results listen whilst travelling, walking or otherwise, and make sure you're outside. it mirrors landscapes so brilliantly.
    Expand
  97. May 23, 2014
    7
    After giving the album a good number of listens I am still not really convinced. It is enjoyable, sometimes. It is beautiful, sometimes. It does a lot of things very well. Everything sounds clear and lush, the singing by Yorke is fantastic whichever way you would look at it and the album feels like an album. But there remains something missing. In all Radiohead's previous ventures intoAfter giving the album a good number of listens I am still not really convinced. It is enjoyable, sometimes. It is beautiful, sometimes. It does a lot of things very well. Everything sounds clear and lush, the singing by Yorke is fantastic whichever way you would look at it and the album feels like an album. But there remains something missing. In all Radiohead's previous ventures into minimalism they remained a rock band. They looked for the dynamics, for the pathos, for the pop. This is no longer there, which results in a number of songs that simply plod along doing not much at all. It is rather boring when not much is happening and it is not expected of Radiohead. Now, is this bad? Is this a reason to give a lower mark? I think so. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    80
    There's just incredible depth to The King Of Limbs, and if you're impatient, you'll miss it.
  2. May 24, 2011
    80
    It's been a long time since Radiohead made records with an eye toward anything more than satisfying the band's own creative impulses, if it ever did. Those who are prepared to stick it out, though, may well find The King of Limbs worth the wait.
  3. Mojo
    May 16, 2011
    60
    They've delivered their biggest surprise to date. A record that falls short for its constituent parts. [May 2011, p.100]