The Lady Killer - Cee Lo Green
The Lady Killer Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bringing back his blend of Motown and neo-soul to pop music, Cee-Lo returns with his third solo album featuring his viral hit, "F*** You".
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    He's keen to please, but what's remarkable about The Lady Killer is that he manages to avoid all the bubblebath boudoir-soul cliches that litter most R&B albums.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    The Lady Killer doesn't possess the stylistic ADHD or the rough edges of Green's earlier work, sticking to sprightly brass arrangements and cheery string licks as his weapons of choice for the most part.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    80
    All platitudes aside, I have to say that there is some filler - mostly packed into the album's second quarter where most artists tend to hide their more mediocre material.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    80
    It's a faithful version that humbly spotlights the versatility of a fascinating talent.
  5. Dec 23, 2010
    80
    The Lady Killer doesn't have the same tightly focused future-soul sound as Green's other project, Gnarls Barkley, but that gives the singer a chance to show his wider ranging musical appetites with elements of vintage R&B, irresistible pop and even a couple of sleek spy-movie riffs.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    70
    Despite some great tunes, his high-pitched, duck-on-helium vocals start wearing thin, becoming the detraction, rather than the attraction, of this album. Had it been 15 minutes shorter, The Lady Killer could have been this year's top pop album.
  7. Jan 3, 2011
    40
    It all goes down like kung pao chicken and Sapporo, but you'll be at Church's in an hour.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Groovy beats combine with Cee-Lo's sweet, sexy voice to craft one of the best albums of the year. As a fan of Gnarls Barkley, I couldn't beGroovy beats combine with Cee-Lo's sweet, sexy voice to craft one of the best albums of the year. As a fan of Gnarls Barkley, I couldn't be any happier with his album. BTW Did anyone notice he sung the credits from Kung Fu Panda? Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Cee Lo's Lady killer is " one of the Lady Killers hit songs i have ever heard" . GradeCee Lo's Lady killer is " one of the Lady Killers hit songs i have ever heard" . Grade A+....................................................................... Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    A brilliant album and my favorite of 2010 so far. brilliant vocal skills shown by Cee lo and this makes a great album which goes down as aA brilliant album and my favorite of 2010 so far. brilliant vocal skills shown by Cee lo and this makes a great album which goes down as a great soul album. this album also brings what i feel certain new artists are missing which is a fantastic voice from green. Expand
  4. May 31, 2012
    8
    A Very Good Album!
    Great Vocals And Music!
  5. Nov 16, 2010
    8
    The album is something like what we have been missing, soul. It may not be the most heart felt, or Al Greenish kinda soul but he moves with aThe album is something like what we have been missing, soul. It may not be the most heart felt, or Al Greenish kinda soul but he moves with a style and form that I have not heard since Ol Mista Black Joe Lewis of last year. Easy to recommend as it is to listen to. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2010
    8
    This is an album of complete soul. Its somethings thats been somewhat missing from the industry in recent times. From start to finish it wasThis is an album of complete soul. Its somethings thats been somewhat missing from the industry in recent times. From start to finish it was enjoyable to listen to and definitely an album i would recommend especially if you are a soul fan. Great album. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    0
    Way overplayed, and the songs that are overplayed ("F**k You, and Bright Lights, Bigger City) just plainly suck. There is absolutly nothingWay overplayed, and the songs that are overplayed ("F**k You, and Bright Lights, Bigger City) just plainly suck. There is absolutly nothing catchy about this album. The songs dont even deserve to be on the Bubbling Under The Hot 100, or the album dont derserve to be on the Billboard 200. Would be in the top 10 worst albums ever, and several songs on the top 10 worst songs ever for me Collapse

See all 11 User Reviews