User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 88
  2. Negative: 3 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    It is a shame that Pete and Carl never did continue to write beautiful songs together. Their chemistry is unmatched in this day and age. This album really shows their talents and please stop calling them the British Strokes. The are The Libertines people!
  2. giulia
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    i really hpe there will be a third album (with pete). but it will be hard to do a record which would better than this.
  3. mikeh
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    if you do not already have this album dont waste time reading the rest of this, put on your shoes and run to the shops to buy a copy in short an absolute fuckin masterpiece. the best albums i have heard...EVER.
  4. jazb
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    shit hot album
  5. PStirups
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Song are good. Everything about it is good, but it isn't a rough and fun as the orignal Libertines album.
  6. AmerB
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    A triumph. Expectations were sky-high after the first astonishing album. Expectations were exceeded by this release. Loose, raw, honest and emotional; music can't get any much better. The Libertines are the band of the century - hands down.
  7. Matt
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    The Libertines manage to create grimy 70's punk that the Sex Pistols could only dream of. This is a much stronger album than "Up The Bracket" - it sounds more like a screwed up proper rock 'n' roll record, it's raw. The strongest tracks are "Arbeit Macht Frei" and "What Became Of The Likely Lads?".
  8. markf
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    Wow, don't pay any attention to my rating; I just had to write something since I just started it for the second time. First off, I never noticed on "Up the Bracket" that the vocals had a Morrissey feel, but about 30 seconds into this, I think so. Second, this sounds like it was recorded live with no overdubs, etc., except for a few backing vocals, whistles or dueling guitars, but Wow, don't pay any attention to my rating; I just had to write something since I just started it for the second time. First off, I never noticed on "Up the Bracket" that the vocals had a Morrissey feel, but about 30 seconds into this, I think so. Second, this sounds like it was recorded live with no overdubs, etc., except for a few backing vocals, whistles or dueling guitars, but they're few and very-far-between. Third, more than one song actually comes on after it already had started playing, so maybe besides being recoded live, it was only recorded once! I guess I like the last one better, but that could easily change since I've barely heard this one, but I will assure you that my rating is within one, plus or minus. Hey, if you expect something new or mind-blowing, forget it. If you want to hear something honest and heart-breaking, this is it. Expand
  9. markb
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    im a libertine
  10. maxwellw
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    this is a fucking fantastic album, imperfect and raw. The libertines paints a scruffy, beautifal picture of pete doherty's and carl barat's crumbling relationship. and i can't stand the wankers who ignorantly dismiss this because its not as tediously polished as most tripe that reaches radio stations, if you own a brain cell, then this must be purchased. Alternative Press this is a fucking fantastic album, imperfect and raw. The libertines paints a scruffy, beautifal picture of pete doherty's and carl barat's crumbling relationship. and i can't stand the wankers who ignorantly dismiss this because its not as tediously polished as most tripe that reaches radio stations, if you own a brain cell, then this must be purchased. Alternative Press are also twats. Expand
  11. marias
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Painful, artistic, messy,amazing,the Libertines are one of those bands you hate to love because they make you care.
  12. HairPulley
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Near to breaking up completely, it's quite a shame. The Libertines deliver an album full of motivation. Its lyrics consist mostly of Carl and Pete's conflict to each other. Personal topics drive this album as did John Lennon's Plastic Ono band ran with similar outpouring of emotion. From the climaxing first song (Can't Stand Me Now) to the last (What became of the Near to breaking up completely, it's quite a shame. The Libertines deliver an album full of motivation. Its lyrics consist mostly of Carl and Pete's conflict to each other. Personal topics drive this album as did John Lennon's Plastic Ono band ran with similar outpouring of emotion. From the climaxing first song (Can't Stand Me Now) to the last (What became of the Likely Lads), we can all see the great musicianship and songwriting littered all over this album. A band as important as The Clash were in the late 70's. Any fan of British-rock needs this album stapled to their cd player. Expand
  13. peteb
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    this definately be my album of choice if the first album to be taken into account, thus far it has nearly killed me, but the artistic merit especially from my part,(carl knows what i mean) shouldnt go un just. come and see me with the shambles, were better than the libs. long live the arcadian dream
  14. peteb
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    this definately be my album of choice if the first album to be taken into account, thus far it has nearly killed me, but the artistic merit especially from my part,(carl knows what i mean) shouldnt go un just. come and see me with the shambles, were better than the libs. long live the arcadian dream
  15. ShabarO
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    a little bit like going for a nice swim in the ocean and being smahed by a tidal wave. absolutely refreshing. truth, honesty and respect what else to expect from a good record. Oh yes, they have their problem dealing with their life, but that is rock.n.roll. so much better than the first one
  16. dennisb
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    Took awhile to get used to theis album's more ragged. meandering style after the relatively tighter production of "Up The Bracket", but after several listenings I found myself preferring it. The ragged, looser sound and production seem to be a boon, not a detraction for this band, and the songs are great, growing on you with each listen. "Can't Stand Me Now" is impossible to get Took awhile to get used to theis album's more ragged. meandering style after the relatively tighter production of "Up The Bracket", but after several listenings I found myself preferring it. The ragged, looser sound and production seem to be a boon, not a detraction for this band, and the songs are great, growing on you with each listen. "Can't Stand Me Now" is impossible to get out of your head, as are "What Katie Did" and "What Became of the Likely Lads". I hope this band can figure out a way not to self-destruct, becuase they are more interesting than most other bands out there. Expand
  17. JonathanH
    Aug 31, 2004
    7
    It's a good album, but nothing groundbreaking and it'll probably be forgotten about after a few months, but still solid.
  18. MichaelK
    Sep 15, 2004
    8
    While not as utterly enthralling and endlessly listenable as their debut, "The Libertines" has more great songs than most bands will ever write. The band have expanded their sound, borrowing some flourishes from the early days of rock 'n' roll with " la la las" and "shoop-shoops," while also dredging up darker sounds and themes than they'd previously explored. And with some While not as utterly enthralling and endlessly listenable as their debut, "The Libertines" has more great songs than most bands will ever write. The band have expanded their sound, borrowing some flourishes from the early days of rock 'n' roll with " la la las" and "shoop-shoops," while also dredging up darker sounds and themes than they'd previously explored. And with some of the lyrics detailing the band's internal strife over the past year or so, I have to admit a certain train wreck fascination with this album. But, aside from that, it holds its own as a great collection of songs from a great band. I only hope they can keep it together for a few more years. Expand
  19. AndrewT
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    A great album in that there is a direct relationship with the moment of experience. Pure energy, loosely defined and exhilerating because of. If you want your music well defined and exact, this is not the album for you, but if you yearn for the great albums of the early punk era, if you yearn for the revolutiuon of the spirit, then this is it. Makes the Strokes sound boring!
  20. ebokw
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    the modern day exile on main street/tonight's the night.
  21. MattyB
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    A classic record that, if anything, became more beautifully poignant in the wake of the band's spit soon after its release. The band swapped some of Up The Bracket's punkier tunes for call-and response anthems (Can't Stand Me Now and Likely Lads), as well as poetic acoustic strumalongs (Music When The Lights Go Out) and references to Oscar Wilde (Narcissist). Some of the A classic record that, if anything, became more beautifully poignant in the wake of the band's spit soon after its release. The band swapped some of Up The Bracket's punkier tunes for call-and response anthems (Can't Stand Me Now and Likely Lads), as well as poetic acoustic strumalongs (Music When The Lights Go Out) and references to Oscar Wilde (Narcissist). Some of the later tracks, whilst individually inconspicuous, melded to leave an onslaught of emotion at the album's end, not giving the listener pause for breath until the delicate hidden track, France. Without a doubt the best album of 2004. Expand
  22. evilb.
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    album of the year! no retro-poseurs like the strokes or the white stripes: the libertines are vintage, they play punk music like it has to be: messy, with heart and totally honest. "what became of the likely lads" is the saddest split-up song since the beatles wrote theirs, "narcissist" and "arbeit macht frei" can compete with the best clash or pistols songs... incredible record
  23. JarrettL
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Wonderful album, one of my favorites by far. I completely recommend this for anyone. And personally I believe this is better then Up The Bracket due to the first one sounding much more garage, to me atleast.
  24. miked
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    fantastic. the best album ever. FACT
  25. beaver
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    amazing i have had it ages and still it wont leave my cd player in my car. the best album iv heard since abbey road by the beatles
  26. benh
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    run out and buy this album now. it is amazing
  27. pbaber
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    Up The Bracket is, for more, one of the greatest albums of all time. On hearing it, it made me feel invincible, vulnerable, angry, ecstatic. And this follow up is very close to being as good. A second maserpiece from the Libertines.
  28. Ol
    Nov 2, 2004
    8
    The Libertines is less cohesive than 'Up The Bracket' but far more intriguing. There's less catchy choruses but the album as a whole is fascinating snapshot of a band breaking up. "Can't Stand Me Now" is their best ever song, "Music When The Lights Go Out" is a beautiful ballad and "What Became Of The Likely Lads" perfectly sums up the tension between pete and carl.
  29. danob
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant, raw, finely crafted tunes. Not as rocking as UTB, but much deeper in emotion and maturity. Best album of 2004
  30. MaxM
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    This is one of my favourite albums of all time. However I can't give it a ten because it just isn't consistent in its brilliance. The album needs some more studio work to improve the flow of songs and bolder choruses on certain tracks. That said, there are a myriad of brilliant offerings, standouts for me include "The Man Who Would Be King" (a big improvement on the similar This is one of my favourite albums of all time. However I can't give it a ten because it just isn't consistent in its brilliance. The album needs some more studio work to improve the flow of songs and bolder choruses on certain tracks. That said, there are a myriad of brilliant offerings, standouts for me include "The Man Who Would Be King" (a big improvement on the similar "Tell The King" from Up The Bracket) "The Ha Ha Wall" and "What Katie Did". These are my favourites because the whole song is good - the rest of them are very good in places. I heard 'The Libertines' shortly before buying 'Up The Bracket' and I must say I was a little disappointed that the their first album wasn't quite as genius as their second. One of the greatest pulls for me is listening to poor old Pete still making great music through a drug induced haze. It's quite clear that this album is a mess in places, and sometimes combines too many genres - but all in all it is a fantastic farewell if this is to be their last album. Collapse
  31. sachp
    May 18, 2005
    10
    From someone with over 500 cds of all types of music I believe this is the best album released since Bruce Springsteen'sTunnel Of Love. Thats 17 years.
  32. RachelM
    Aug 22, 2005
    9
    When I first heard it, I couldn't believe it was a record by a band so hyped in UK; this usually means crap records selling a lot, not a classic album as this is. And no matter what they say about them in tabloids if they do an all-time favourite like this. It's the best rock album of the noughties!!! It sounds like true music, out of true feeling and truly feeling fucked up. When I first heard it, I couldn't believe it was a record by a band so hyped in UK; this usually means crap records selling a lot, not a classic album as this is. And no matter what they say about them in tabloids if they do an all-time favourite like this. It's the best rock album of the noughties!!! It sounds like true music, out of true feeling and truly feeling fucked up. Messy and spontaneous. Incredible rock performance. Of course, a band representing 70s punk revival could have never been so hyped if it wasn't for the need of creating "the UK Strokes". However, the experiment works because The Libertines are not so "perfect" as The Strokes in Is This It?, so "flawless". And that's why they are 100 times more real and awesome. This record will remain a classic for years to come! Expand
  33. domc
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    So honest its slanderous.
  34. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    It's a good album, but not as good as their debut. It just doesn't seem to have as much energy as their debut and isn't as exciting. I just get the feeling that this album could have been so much better.
  35. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    The Libertines is a great album. It's punk rock all the way through. It's a raw and emotional album that, in my opinion, is better than Up The Bracket. The sound is a lot smoother in this album than it was in Up The Bracket. "The Man Who Would Be King" and "Campaign Of Hate" are the standout songs for me. All In All, A really good album that I recommend. B+
  36. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    It was always going to be difficult to follow up to their brilliant debut. Writing and recording of it were disrupted continuously due to internal feuds and personal issues and you can tell - it doesn't have the same continuity or cohesion that flowed through Up the Bracket. At times this makes this record even more appealing. It starts off in a whirlwind with Can't Stand Me Now - arguablyIt was always going to be difficult to follow up to their brilliant debut. Writing and recording of it were disrupted continuously due to internal feuds and personal issues and you can tell - it doesn't have the same continuity or cohesion that flowed through Up the Bracket. At times this makes this record even more appealing. It starts off in a whirlwind with Can't Stand Me Now - arguably the bands finest song and has plenty of other great tracks on it - What Katie Did, Last Post on the Bugle, Music when the Lights Go Out, all fantastic. Unfortunately it does have a couple of tracks that shouldn't have made the album - most notably Road to Ruin. As it is this record showed a lot of progression from Up the Bracket, and although it didn't have the same punky ferocity, in many places it is a superior record. I reckon if Doherty has stayed coherent while making it then it could have been a classic. Expand
  37. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Truly sad to see this be the last of the Libertines albums (at least for now). But that just makes the effect of this final effort that much better. An incredible album by two amazing songwriters.
  38. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Not just one of the greatest albums of the decade, but quite possibly one of the greatest of all time. The lyrics tell a sad narrative and with this final effort, the Libertines left their legacy.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The results are as ebullient as they are confessional.
  2. Some of these songs are excellent, in an unfinished but inspired way. But many of the album's tracks evidence a band that's bursting at the seams with talent, only to stumble on unfocused, scattershot song-writing.
  3. Often seems fragile, offhand, tentative, even enervated. But this isn't a weakness--it only makes their sound more their own.