The Libertines

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 102
  2. Negative: 3 out of 102

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    It is a shame that Pete and Carl never did continue to write beautiful songs together. Their chemistry is unmatched in this day and age. This album really shows their talents and please stop calling them the British Strokes. The are The Libertines people!
  2. ww
    Jan 30, 2006
    4
    Good hooks, but dull and ultimately sad. Even the Replacements recorded sober enough to hear themselves.
  3. ToddR
    Feb 7, 2006
    2
    When oh when will they stop ripping off the Wedding Present?
  4. scottfree
    Nov 4, 2004
    4
    not as good as i thought it would be(s**t)
  5. DanilioL
    Dec 1, 2005
    5
    British Strokes for British folks.
  6. jimbob
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    Shit
  7. giulia
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    i really hpe there will be a third album (with pete). but it will be hard to do a record which would better than this.
  8. mikeh
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    if you do not already have this album dont waste time reading the rest of this, put on your shoes and run to the shops to buy a copy in short an absolute fuckin masterpiece. the best albums i have heard...EVER.
  9. jazb
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    shit hot album
  10. PStirups
    May 3, 2006
    8
    Song are good. Everything about it is good, but it isn't a rough and fun as the orignal Libertines album.
  11. AmerB
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    A triumph. Expectations were sky-high after the first astonishing album. Expectations were exceeded by this release. Loose, raw, honest and emotional; music can't get any much better. The Libertines are the band of the century - hands down.
  12. Matt
    Oct 2, 2004
    9
    The Libertines manage to create grimy 70's punk that the Sex Pistols could only dream of. This is a much stronger album than "Up The Bracket" - it sounds more like a screwed up proper rock 'n' roll record, it's raw. The strongest tracks are "Arbeit Macht Frei" and "What Became Of The Likely Lads?".
  13. markf
    Aug 31, 2004
    8
    Wow, don't pay any attention to my rating; I just had to write something since I just started it for the second time. First off, I never noticed on "Up the Bracket" that the vocals had a Morrissey feel, but about 30 seconds into this, I think so. Second, this sounds like it was recorded live with no overdubs, etc., except for a few backing vocals, whistles or dueling guitars, but Wow, don't pay any attention to my rating; I just had to write something since I just started it for the second time. First off, I never noticed on "Up the Bracket" that the vocals had a Morrissey feel, but about 30 seconds into this, I think so. Second, this sounds like it was recorded live with no overdubs, etc., except for a few backing vocals, whistles or dueling guitars, but they're few and very-far-between. Third, more than one song actually comes on after it already had started playing, so maybe besides being recoded live, it was only recorded once! I guess I like the last one better, but that could easily change since I've barely heard this one, but I will assure you that my rating is within one, plus or minus. Hey, if you expect something new or mind-blowing, forget it. If you want to hear something honest and heart-breaking, this is it. Expand
  14. markb
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    im a libertine
  15. maxwellw
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    this is a fucking fantastic album, imperfect and raw. The libertines paints a scruffy, beautifal picture of pete doherty's and carl barat's crumbling relationship. and i can't stand the wankers who ignorantly dismiss this because its not as tediously polished as most tripe that reaches radio stations, if you own a brain cell, then this must be purchased. Alternative Press this is a fucking fantastic album, imperfect and raw. The libertines paints a scruffy, beautifal picture of pete doherty's and carl barat's crumbling relationship. and i can't stand the wankers who ignorantly dismiss this because its not as tediously polished as most tripe that reaches radio stations, if you own a brain cell, then this must be purchased. Alternative Press are also twats. Expand
  16. marias
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    Painful, artistic, messy,amazing,the Libertines are one of those bands you hate to love because they make you care.
  17. HairPulley
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Near to breaking up completely, it's quite a shame. The Libertines deliver an album full of motivation. Its lyrics consist mostly of Carl and Pete's conflict to each other. Personal topics drive this album as did John Lennon's Plastic Ono band ran with similar outpouring of emotion. From the climaxing first song (Can't Stand Me Now) to the last (What became of the Near to breaking up completely, it's quite a shame. The Libertines deliver an album full of motivation. Its lyrics consist mostly of Carl and Pete's conflict to each other. Personal topics drive this album as did John Lennon's Plastic Ono band ran with similar outpouring of emotion. From the climaxing first song (Can't Stand Me Now) to the last (What became of the Likely Lads), we can all see the great musicianship and songwriting littered all over this album. A band as important as The Clash were in the late 70's. Any fan of British-rock needs this album stapled to their cd player. Expand
  18. peteb
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    this definately be my album of choice if the first album to be taken into account, thus far it has nearly killed me, but the artistic merit especially from my part,(carl knows what i mean) shouldnt go un just. come and see me with the shambles, were better than the libs. long live the arcadian dream
  19. peteb
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    this definately be my album of choice if the first album to be taken into account, thus far it has nearly killed me, but the artistic merit especially from my part,(carl knows what i mean) shouldnt go un just. come and see me with the shambles, were better than the libs. long live the arcadian dream
  20. ShabarO
    Oct 18, 2004
    9
    a little bit like going for a nice swim in the ocean and being smahed by a tidal wave. absolutely refreshing. truth, honesty and respect what else to expect from a good record. Oh yes, they have their problem dealing with their life, but that is rock.n.roll. so much better than the first one
  21. dennisb
    Oct 8, 2004
    9
    Took awhile to get used to theis album's more ragged. meandering style after the relatively tighter production of "Up The Bracket", but after several listenings I found myself preferring it. The ragged, looser sound and production seem to be a boon, not a detraction for this band, and the songs are great, growing on you with each listen. "Can't Stand Me Now" is impossible to get Took awhile to get used to theis album's more ragged. meandering style after the relatively tighter production of "Up The Bracket", but after several listenings I found myself preferring it. The ragged, looser sound and production seem to be a boon, not a detraction for this band, and the songs are great, growing on you with each listen. "Can't Stand Me Now" is impossible to get out of your head, as are "What Katie Did" and "What Became of the Likely Lads". I hope this band can figure out a way not to self-destruct, becuase they are more interesting than most other bands out there. Expand
  22. JonathanH
    Aug 31, 2004
    7
    It's a good album, but nothing groundbreaking and it'll probably be forgotten about after a few months, but still solid.
  23. S.Jensen
    Sep 1, 2004
    6
    A step backward for a once great band. There's a song or two that might make the B list on "Up the Bracket," but most of this isn't even as good as last year's "I Get Along" EP. Of course, if the Clash could recover from the relative letdown of "Give 'Em Enough Rope" and come up with "London Calling" (the greatest third album of all time), maybe there's still hope A step backward for a once great band. There's a song or two that might make the B list on "Up the Bracket," but most of this isn't even as good as last year's "I Get Along" EP. Of course, if the Clash could recover from the relative letdown of "Give 'Em Enough Rope" and come up with "London Calling" (the greatest third album of all time), maybe there's still hope for the Libertines. Expand
  24. MichaelK
    Sep 15, 2004
    8
    While not as utterly enthralling and endlessly listenable as their debut, "The Libertines" has more great songs than most bands will ever write. The band have expanded their sound, borrowing some flourishes from the early days of rock 'n' roll with " la la las" and "shoop-shoops," while also dredging up darker sounds and themes than they'd previously explored. And with some While not as utterly enthralling and endlessly listenable as their debut, "The Libertines" has more great songs than most bands will ever write. The band have expanded their sound, borrowing some flourishes from the early days of rock 'n' roll with " la la las" and "shoop-shoops," while also dredging up darker sounds and themes than they'd previously explored. And with some of the lyrics detailing the band's internal strife over the past year or so, I have to admit a certain train wreck fascination with this album. But, aside from that, it holds its own as a great collection of songs from a great band. I only hope they can keep it together for a few more years. Expand
  25. AndrewT
    Sep 17, 2004
    10
    A great album in that there is a direct relationship with the moment of experience. Pure energy, loosely defined and exhilerating because of. If you want your music well defined and exact, this is not the album for you, but if you yearn for the great albums of the early punk era, if you yearn for the revolutiuon of the spirit, then this is it. Makes the Strokes sound boring!
  26. ebokw
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    the modern day exile on main street/tonight's the night.
  27. MattyB
    Nov 19, 2005
    10
    A classic record that, if anything, became more beautifully poignant in the wake of the band's spit soon after its release. The band swapped some of Up The Bracket's punkier tunes for call-and response anthems (Can't Stand Me Now and Likely Lads), as well as poetic acoustic strumalongs (Music When The Lights Go Out) and references to Oscar Wilde (Narcissist). Some of the A classic record that, if anything, became more beautifully poignant in the wake of the band's spit soon after its release. The band swapped some of Up The Bracket's punkier tunes for call-and response anthems (Can't Stand Me Now and Likely Lads), as well as poetic acoustic strumalongs (Music When The Lights Go Out) and references to Oscar Wilde (Narcissist). Some of the later tracks, whilst individually inconspicuous, melded to leave an onslaught of emotion at the album's end, not giving the listener pause for breath until the delicate hidden track, France. Without a doubt the best album of 2004. Expand
  28. evilb.
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    album of the year! no retro-poseurs like the strokes or the white stripes: the libertines are vintage, they play punk music like it has to be: messy, with heart and totally honest. "what became of the likely lads" is the saddest split-up song since the beatles wrote theirs, "narcissist" and "arbeit macht frei" can compete with the best clash or pistols songs... incredible record
  29. JarrettL
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Wonderful album, one of my favorites by far. I completely recommend this for anyone. And personally I believe this is better then Up The Bracket due to the first one sounding much more garage, to me atleast.
  30. miked
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    fantastic. the best album ever. FACT
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. The results are as ebullient as they are confessional.
  2. Some of these songs are excellent, in an unfinished but inspired way. But many of the album's tracks evidence a band that's bursting at the seams with talent, only to stumble on unfocused, scattershot song-writing.
  3. Often seems fragile, offhand, tentative, even enervated. But this isn't a weakness--it only makes their sound more their own.