• Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Tom Petty, another classic rocker, has assembled an impressive collection of his live work with his band the Heartbreakers that's similar in spirit to Young's remarkable anthology if not quite as expansive.
  2. As painful as it is to recommend an overpriced monument to corporate synergy, the deluxe set really is a treat for hardcore Petty-heads.
  3. With all the hits plus an enjoyable assortment of rarities and covers, The Live Anthology is a comprehensive portrait of a perpetually professional live act.
  4. The Live Anthology redresses that wrong with a panoramic picture of the Heartbreakers' indestructible groove.
  5. While some may quibble that the set isn't chronologically ordered, that makes each disc more like a concert unto itself. All the hits and some deep cuts are present and accounted for, but the covers are the most interesting.
  6. This certainly goes a long way to illustrating that Petty & the Heartbreakers always delivered the goods, but it's somewhat at the expense of forward momentum; it's hard not to wish that it was arranged chronologically, to be able to hear the raw energy give way to easy skill, but that's just nitpicking--any way you look at it, this Live Anthology offers an overdose of prime rock & roll.
  7. 80
    This release overcompensates handsomely, delivering 48 sharp, gorgeous-sounding missives that document ensemble brilliance and Petty’s chiming, hook-happy American-everykid songwriting.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2017
    The Live Anthology exceeded my expectations in every manner possible. 4 discs of incredibly versatile live performances of Tom Petty's finestThe Live Anthology exceeded my expectations in every manner possible. 4 discs of incredibly versatile live performances of Tom Petty's finest compositions, many of which actually improve over their studio counterparts. Refugee is wilder, more ferocious than it ever sounded in studio. Breakdown turns into a hypnotic 7 minute groove. And Learning To Fly is even more beautiful with Stevie Nicks on backing vocals. My favourite moments of the collection though, are actually the live tracks that never found their way onto a studio release, the suite of Drivin' Down To Georgia/Lost Without You, is possibly The Heartbreakers finest moment as a band. What an incredible song, incredible musical performance, and possibly Petty's best vocal performance ever captured. This is a must own. Full Review »