The Magic Numbers

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 76
  2. Negative: 9 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JavJ
    Nov 5, 2005
    0
    tripe, absoloute tripe, and.. who let them out of the zoo
  2. TomP
    Aug 4, 2005
    2
    Dreadfully dreadfully dreadfully dull, lifeless, bland and standard.
  3. SpookSpook
    Sep 4, 2005
    1
    Very annoying.
  4. NelsonD
    Oct 26, 2005
    2
    After listening through the album, I just couldnt believe that this band was regarded the next big thing. What with its too simple melodies with simple lyrics (who could be interchanged between songs and there wouldnt be a difrence since many times the music doesnt connect with what theyre saying) this album shows how behind the critics are in actually understanding what good indie music After listening through the album, I just couldnt believe that this band was regarded the next big thing. What with its too simple melodies with simple lyrics (who could be interchanged between songs and there wouldnt be a difrence since many times the music doesnt connect with what theyre saying) this album shows how behind the critics are in actually understanding what good indie music is. Though this albums isnt completly bad (there are a few shining moments throught a few tracks like The Mule, Long Legs, Love Me Like You and Hymn to Her) but if one really looks deep into this record they will find a boring album with NO hooks at all and long boring songs wich could have been easily cut two minutes less with no ill effect. The folk-country/Birds-like songcraft isnt enough to help this album as even when compared to the typical 60's folk band, this album fails to capture attention and evoke sentiments from the singers and musicians. On the surfuce, yeah, it sounds like a poppy record wich you could put on your car stereo and hum along, but once you try to imerse yourself in it, all you find are guitar lines going nowhere while Romeo Stodart nasal whines on simple adolescen love songs, which have been done better before. Simply put, these songs dont push anything foward, but instead of taking us back to 80's New Wave (Killers and Interpol come to mind), this band takes us back to Mammas and Pappas 60's folk rock. Basicly, The Magic Numbers is a simple radio-friendly singer/songwritter album with long boring songs wich evoke memories of greater folk indie twee bands ( Belle and Sebastian, Elliot Smith ect.) and thus bring comparison and non worthy praise. Expand
  5. TobyKeith
    Oct 26, 2005
    0
    My hairy pigs I keep in the barn out back could write better music that these talentless fatties. Pick up a copy of my 'Honkytonk University' LP instead -TK
  6. BenJ
    Jun 17, 2005
    3
    I have this feeling of paranoia here, because having played the album quite a few times I must confess I don't get it! It all sounds so flimsy and 'twee' to me - the songs are pretty bland, and frequently so cheesy it makes me feel embarrassed to be playing it. Horrible, whimsical, gentle rock and roll for sappy music critics to get excited about - boring!
  7. michaelk
    Aug 24, 2005
    2
    as someone said, it's really dull. sounds like i heard it 1000 times before
  8. NickD
    Jun 25, 2005
    0
    The Emperor has no clothes, guys. This is one dimensional, bland, boring, guitar pop music that owes so much to the Mamas and the Papas we can consider the Magic Numbers to be beyond their overdraft limits. Hymn For Her is cheesy, overly saccharine, and deeply annoying. Lead single Forever Lost is just bland. Music for people who've given up on being entertained by music.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A record that will endure beyond this year, this decade and the rest.
  2. Nothing quite prepares you for the sheer beauty of The Magic Numbers' music.
  3. The songwriting falls a couple of times too many into timid generalities about love and loss; the melodies, though lovely, are sometimes interchangeable.