The Magic Numbers

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 76
  2. Negative: 9 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RTFirefly
    Oct 4, 2005
    6
    A bit disapponting. Expected so much more. Even gets boring after a few listens.
  2. Will
    Oct 28, 2005
    4
    Boring, boring, boring. Just the kind of thing I'd expect Mojo and Q to praise highly.
  3. TomD
    Jul 20, 2005
    4
    Pretty arrangements and quite nice harmonies don't immediately equate to songs that have any depth. I doubt this album will last longer than the summer it has been 'designed' for.
  4. HarryH
    Jun 19, 2005
    5
    Although this record contains a handful of decent songs, it is so inoffensively pleasant that is leaves precious little impact, even after repeated listens.
  5. tim
    May 10, 2007
    5
    Their average. I get this band confused with all the other B&S ripoffs of that era.
  6. BW
    Jul 12, 2005
    6
    Good but overrated. It's a bit bland to be honest though the start of the album promises so much more. It's 13 tracks (including the hidden one) that are very similar in theme, and the lack of musical variation grates after a few listens.
  7. lucaf
    Jul 27, 2005
    6
    ah, when it comes to the magic numbers, the reviews bring new meaning to the word "overrating". Nice, they sound nice but their music is so "flat" i could sleep on it. Yes, harmonies but it's all deja écouté, already heard. But who are the magic numbers mum and dad? No i was really anxoius to hear such a stunning record and what do i have? nothing special, really
  8. robi
    Aug 19, 2005
    6
    This album, while perfectly listenable, is nowhere near the calibre of product that the reviewers have made it out to be. It's not bad, it's just not great. By the third or fourth song, I felt I had already heard it all before. And during every song I found myself hoping that the harmonies were more complex and that the lead singer, whatever his name is, would turn his volume This album, while perfectly listenable, is nowhere near the calibre of product that the reviewers have made it out to be. It's not bad, it's just not great. By the third or fourth song, I felt I had already heard it all before. And during every song I found myself hoping that the harmonies were more complex and that the lead singer, whatever his name is, would turn his volume down a bit so we could hear the rest of the vocals better. It's a better-than-average effort, but there is no justification for anyone ever using "breathtaking", "beautiful" or "sublime". It wants to be all those things, but never quite makes there. Expand
  9. Jamie
    Sep 15, 2005
    5
    The singles remind me of Deacon Blue although I actually quite like them for it. Not bad songs then but can nobody else hear what I am hearing? The girls on backing vocals are awful, flat, too high in the mix and have no idea how to sing backing vocals. Listen to the Beach Boys girls (actually I imagine they probably do that quite a lot). If everyone sang like Brian or Mike, or whoever is The singles remind me of Deacon Blue although I actually quite like them for it. Not bad songs then but can nobody else hear what I am hearing? The girls on backing vocals are awful, flat, too high in the mix and have no idea how to sing backing vocals. Listen to the Beach Boys girls (actually I imagine they probably do that quite a lot). If everyone sang like Brian or Mike, or whoever is on lead vocals at the time it would sound like a mess, it's all about blending in to the background. Sorry to get technical but this really winds me up every time I hear them. If this is the masterpiece everyone is making it out to be then I despair at the state of music right now. Collapse
  10. LemonzorbaQ
    Sep 5, 2005
    5
    A couple of great tunes on there, but a bit limp in parts
  11. seamusm
    Mar 28, 2006
    5
    Boring, boring
  12. PhilipS
    Mar 22, 2006
    6
    I won't knock it- i'll just say it isn't my type of music
  13. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    4
    i paid 23 dollars for this because everyone said they were the next mamas and the papas and because until recently american labels wouldnt get off their asses to release it. i still say it's pretty farty and they have a long way to go before they are even close to the mamas and the papas.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A record that will endure beyond this year, this decade and the rest.
  2. Nothing quite prepares you for the sheer beauty of The Magic Numbers' music.
  3. The songwriting falls a couple of times too many into timid generalities about love and loss; the melodies, though lovely, are sometimes interchangeable.