User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 904 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 904
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it showsMMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it shows Eminem's progression as an artist. this album has everything from dark beats "Brainless" sick lyrics "Rap God" throwbacks to the first album. I love it all. Thank you Eminem Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure at first, but it's grown on me with every listen! Production is slightly disappointing but much better than Relapse and Recovery, lyrics are as always brilliant. This really is the perfect last album if it is to be his last.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem returns to his roots for MMLP2, a sequel to his best rated album, MMLP. He delivers with great rhymes and a great flow. Songs that are great: Bad guy, Rap God, Headlights, So much better, The Monster, So Far...,Legacy. Songs that are good: Berzerk, Survival, Rhyme or Reason, Love Game, Brainless, Stronger than I was. Songs That are mediocre or bad: Evil twin,
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without aThis Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without a doubt.. I urge any fan of Hip Hop or just music in general to purchase this album (Preferably the Deluxe Edition) Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    6
    Eminem is one of the greatest there is. This album is a mess though. He keeps saying it's "not a sequel" that makes NO sense what so ever then. Why call it MARSHALL MATHERS LP 2? The beats are unbelievably bad for about half the album. If you're an actual hip-hop fan and a fan of Eminem do yourself a huge favor and get the deluxe album cause the bonus tracks are better than just aboutEminem is one of the greatest there is. This album is a mess though. He keeps saying it's "not a sequel" that makes NO sense what so ever then. Why call it MARSHALL MATHERS LP 2? The beats are unbelievably bad for about half the album. If you're an actual hip-hop fan and a fan of Eminem do yourself a huge favor and get the deluxe album cause the bonus tracks are better than just about anything on the actual album. Getting back to the actual album the samples are just confusing and irritating half the time... A LYNARD SNYNARD SAMPLE??? REALLY MARSHALL? What are you Kid Rock? Or maybe Eminem thinks he's Drake (Stronger Than I Was) whoever he thinks he is, he needs to stop it. How do you screw up a track with a Kendrick Lamar feature? Eminem figured it out, that song is unbearable. It sounds like a Smash Mouth song. However it's not all bad... Evil Twin, Brainless, Rap God, and even The Monster will all remind you why you like Marshall, and make you wish the rest of the album was like them. Expand
  8. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    have now listened to the whole thing and my score went from an 8 to a 9. Definetely in my top 5 favorite albums of the year! Listen through the album, not once, not twice, but when you actually understand the lyrics.
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    MMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against theMMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against the struggle" theme was done to death on his previous albums. Even Kendrick Lamar's appearence on a track couldn't save that pile of steaming poop. So whats left? Eminem's lyrical skills mostly save this album. 4 tracks are nice. Overall a bit disappointed. Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    Rap god?? Not quite. Try again eminem. It seems he's trying to fit in. The samples are classics but they don'y fit. He's trying too hard and failing....hard!!!
  11. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals????
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals???? Rapgod on traplike electro bass music, man it's like one of the most oldschool rappers just singed the death certificate for real rap. If there's one eminem verse that's applicable here: "And when your run is over just admit when it's at its end"

    For me this album made eminem a **** modern day I try to hard rapper instead of like the biggest legend in white rap.

    how does Dillon cooper - state of elevation, or prof - gampo or kool g rap and necro'l last album get under 500.000 views on youtube and such a mediocre score??? Rap god has like 60 million views, this makes me think I'm the only one who dislikes this album. He has certainly gone mainstream radio music, but I don't like it and I know the rap community doesn't either... So yeah it maybe deserves a 82 but not in the rap category

    Just my opinion though...
    Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    this album is very misleading. Berzerk does not fit in this album whatsoever. This album is painful to listen through. Was hoping for a lot better. All i got was disappointment. Dont waste your money
  13. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    A real shame. Now I don't blame Eminem for the majority of this record. Let's face it. He can rap and is definitely one of the best lyricists out there. But the outdated references and poor samples and production from Rick Rubin really sinks this LP in my opinion. He did wonders with artists in the 80s but he is really losing touch with the current rap scene and wasn't able to do much goodA real shame. Now I don't blame Eminem for the majority of this record. Let's face it. He can rap and is definitely one of the best lyricists out there. But the outdated references and poor samples and production from Rick Rubin really sinks this LP in my opinion. He did wonders with artists in the 80s but he is really losing touch with the current rap scene and wasn't able to do much good for this record. Both Eminem and Rubin should maybe read up on some current trends in society to improve whatever they're going to do in the future. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    I gotta say this has been one of the most highly anticipated albums by far, since 2011 maybe... Because when you're talking about Eminem you always wonder "what's next?"

    Eminem is a lyrical genius indeed, he has always been so talented, but ever since his comeback in 2009, his technique has been skyrocketing, raising the bar of competition record after record. so when the news came that
    I gotta say this has been one of the most highly anticipated albums by far, since 2011 maybe... Because when you're talking about Eminem you always wonder "what's next?"

    Eminem is a lyrical genius indeed, he has always been so talented, but ever since his comeback in 2009, his technique has been skyrocketing, raising the bar of competition record after record. so when the news came that his album is coming close, I believe every fan and critic in this industry has been patiently waiting for something that's gonna blow his minds up... Relapse was really great compared to Encore (his last album before his hiatus), Recovery blew everybody's minds up, he excelled in his Bad Meets Evil EP; so coming to know MMLP2 was, you had to be excited.

    Eminem chose to do a sequel of his greatest of all time, best selling album "The Marshall Mathers LP", I always have a bad feeling about sequels to epic art masterpieces, specially in music, because you can never separate the sequel from the original one, you'll always find yourself comparing. Take Raekwon for instance, he tried this in "Only Built 4 Cuban Linx... Part II" which is a very good album, but every time you compare it to the 95 "Only Built 4 Cuban Linx..." you'll find the sequel lacking.

    Here Eminem is not just doing a sequel for this particular album, you can actually find him "sequel-ing" every hit he did, whether it was on Marshall Mathers LP (Bad Guy is a sequel to Stan, "Rhyme or Reason" is a sequel to Criminal) or on other albums (Brainless Brain Damage, Stronger than I was Kim, So Far every track he did about his mother)

    But on the other hand, this album is different than the original Marshall Mathers LP; instead of embracing his own alter-ego, he's trying to battle it, being more apologetic about it and about the tracks that he did back then, specially the ones regarding his own personal life... Eminem's a very clever artist, because he knows that right at this stage of his life, right now, nobody would want to hear a 41 years old rapper clowning about his mother and toying with murdering his wife, in the tracks "Headlight" and "Stronger than I was" you get to witness a more mature version of Eminem (often apologetic), so it was actually nice and unexpected.
    But if you kinda miss the old crazy version of Eminem, you won't miss it too much (Brainless Rap God)

    Eminem is not only reinvesting in his legacy, but the choice of Rick Rubin as a producer made him also reinvest in the legacy of hip-hop in general, Rick Rubin has provided Eminem with those throwback beats that will always get you back to an era of legends like Beastie Boys or Run D.M.C, Eminem is clever enough to use this just to make sure that all the nowadays rappers know where he's coming from.

    On the last album (particularly the track "You're Never Gone"), he promised his deceased friend Proof: instead of mourning your death, I’d rather celebrate your life
    Elevate to new height, step on the gas and accelerate, I'mma need 2 mics", A promise which he have totally fulfilled, with his mastery of the wordplay, and his sick multi-syllabic rhyme schemes, and an incredible flow that'll blow your minds off (check how he reached the Nirvana of flow in Rap God, and he did that as easy as flexing a muscle), he has -unlike Kanye West's I am God- proven that he's the best lyricist in this business by far.

    Yet, the album is still lacking something, the production is not as you might expect it to be, take one of the most anticipated tracks for instance "Love Game", you expect this to become a mash-up of two of the best rappers in this business, some kind of a torch-passing.. but all you get is a swaying, 1950s-era rockabilly beat consisting of a Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders sample, which is completely out of context, the track is completely trash, the kind of music, the emphasis on music themes from his old albums were alright, but not really impressive.

    So put simply, the album is okay, but you have to expect more from a rapper like Eminem, but you're never really sure of what exactly to expect because what you get from this album is basically a great man who's facing an identity crisis: he knows he's the best but he's still afraid of being too out-of-date, he knows that his legacy and his background made him what he is, yet he wants to start fresh and clear the past. And you get this feeling because he's such a great songwriter. You'll get to enjoy his lyrical skills and his lacerating wordplay, yet you'll hate most of the production mixed to that.

    The highlights of the album are tracks like "The Monster", the flow of "Rap God", the throwback in "Berzerk", the crazy beat on "Brainless", the power in "Rhyme or Reason", the DJ Khalil rock laced beat in "Survival". That's about it, you can't be that impressed about the rest of the album.
    Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    With this new album I can't do it as a whole, but it was not what I would be expecting in 2011/2012 time. I will do a breakdown of every song.

    Bad Guy: Bad beat okay rap weak lyrics 5/10 Rhyme or Reason: Good beat good flow okay lyrics 7/10 So Much Better: Bad beat okay rap okay lyrics 6/10 Survival: Good beat good rap bad
    With this new album I can't do it as a whole, but it was not what I would be expecting in 2011/2012 time. I will do a breakdown of every song.

    Bad Guy: Bad beat okay rap weak lyrics 5/10
    Rhyme or Reason: Good beat good flow okay lyrics 7/10
    So Much Better: Bad beat okay rap okay lyrics 6/10
    Survival: Good beat good rap bad lyrics 7/10
    Legacy: Bad beat bad rap good lyrics 5/10
    **** Bad beat bad rap okay lyrics 3/10
    Bezerk: Okay Beat okay rap okay lyrics 5/10
    Rap God: Okay Beat good rap okay lyrics 7/10
    Brainless: Good Beat okay rap good lyrics hook) 7/10
    Stronger Than I was: Bad beat what rap?? bad lyrics 4/10
    Monster: Bad Beat Bad rap Bad lyrics 1/10
    So Far: Good Beat Bad Rap Bad lyrics 6/10
    Love Game: Bad Beat Bad Rap Okay Lyrics 2/10
    Headlights: Okay Beat Okay Rap Good Lyrics 7/10
    Evil Twin: Okay Beat Bad Rap Okay Lyrics 4/10

    In Conclusion meh

    I'm really sittin' on a 5.5 but i'll round it up because I'm an Eminem fan
    Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    some good tracks, a lot of awful tracks. the production is lacklustre and far too many tracks are ruined by generic pop hooks that are far too recovery-esque and not the "vintage slim" that was promised. whilst many of the songs demonstrate em's technical ability and flow, he isn't really talking about anything new and for 41 year old the album sounds very immature and puerile.
  17. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Update: I'll say after listening to this album on day one on iTunes, this album from Marshall Mathers is definitely a treasure for all those veteran fans and something new for recent fans who discovered him through the "Recovery" LP. This album is by far very creative in its instrumentals and quite lyrical in all the tracks, including the deluxe edition. It shows how Eminem hasn't lostUpdate: I'll say after listening to this album on day one on iTunes, this album from Marshall Mathers is definitely a treasure for all those veteran fans and something new for recent fans who discovered him through the "Recovery" LP. This album is by far very creative in its instrumentals and quite lyrical in all the tracks, including the deluxe edition. It shows how Eminem hasn't lost touch at what he's good at regarding to his musicianship. But, there are flaws in this album and those flaws are the badly transitioned tracks which would of served better if there were skits like the "Parking Lot (Skit)" track to bridge between different tones, or themes. There is that occasional mismatch in the choruses in nearly every song on this album, and it must be taken as an experiment. Expand
  18. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    oh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPIDoh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPID SONGS!!!!!! such as everything I did not just list. there are some mean lyrics im not offended by his music but he is calling people and retards for no ****ing reason. he used to have deep meaning full insults, but we just got screwy crappy bully lines. ok for example Im 13 I get called names like and retard but I don't expect a 40 year old ****ing man too say it its stupid with no rhyme or reason get it? I guess its well produced though but most of this is garbage and its a terrible buy. WTF IS THIS Expand
  19. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    The best Eminem album since "The Eminem Show." Unfortunately, it doesn't reach the levels of lyricism and personality that "TES" and the first "MMLP". Eminem still hasn't gotten back the talent for storytelling that made him a rap superstar. But, on the bright side, some of the tracks on this LP like "Bad Guy" or "Rhyme or Reason" wouldn't feel out of place next to "Stan" and "Real SlimThe best Eminem album since "The Eminem Show." Unfortunately, it doesn't reach the levels of lyricism and personality that "TES" and the first "MMLP". Eminem still hasn't gotten back the talent for storytelling that made him a rap superstar. But, on the bright side, some of the tracks on this LP like "Bad Guy" or "Rhyme or Reason" wouldn't feel out of place next to "Stan" and "Real Slim Shady." On the flip side, singles like "Survival" and "Rap God" wouldn't feel out of place on "Recovery." In fact, the first single, "Berserk," is one of the worst Eminem songs since "Mockingbird" cheesed up "Encore." While MMLP2 hasn't made an impact on me at all, it's still interesting to listen to, despite Mather's unfruitful attempts to "take it back to straight hip-hop." Expand
  20. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superb album. Bad Guy in my opinion is the best opening song i have ever heard on any album. His flow is DOPE, no one in the industry can come close to it. 6000+ words in 6 minutes and he wrote in 6 minutes too. You can see his skills there. Production wiseBest album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superb album. Bad Guy in my opinion is the best opening song i have ever heard on any album. His flow is DOPE, no one in the industry can come close to it. 6000+ words in 6 minutes and he wrote in 6 minutes too. You can see his skills there. Production wise the album is good too. MMLP2 justifies its title as well as its predecessor's creativity which is regarded as all time classic. Though its too early to judge whether MMLP2 is as good as MMLP but still it is one of the best Rap Albums past 2010. Rhymes Rhymes and a lot of Rhymes. He manages more rhymes in a single then most rappers in their whole album. Do check this album out Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Exceptional lyricism, wit and creativity. Terrific production. Weight of the content leaves a little to be desired. I'd put this at number 4 behind his first 3 releases
  22. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    Where do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter howWhere do you start with Eminem career... It has its ups and downs. Sure he's one of the best diss rappers out there but lacks direction on most of his tracks other than his emotional ones. Unfortunately when Eminem releases a poor album his army of fans will defend it to the end of the earth. Here's the thing. This album is good. It is nowhere near the best album of 2013, no matter how much his fans say it is. This feels like what should have been an EP, because Eminem doesn't have a consistent and solid track list. The singles and the intro are the best part of the album. The rest ranges from sub par (for Eminem) to the deafeningly awful "Stronger than I Was". I know this is a new Eminem and this isn't gonna be SSLP Eminem, but I feel like this album, similar to Relapse, was rushed to shelves. All that said, this album is dope, flow wise. The beats, lyrics, and production... I just was not feeling it. This is his best work since TES, but I just expect more Expand
  23. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    Best rap album you could expect from Eminem in 2013. This album is absolutely amazing. Rap God is the best rap song i have heard in years. Evil Twin is amazing. Legacy is breathtaking. Berzerk is an unrepeatable throwback. and so on......
  24. Dec 21, 2014
    9
    Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped.Eminem back in tip top form, and so is Slim Shady. Very good production, though occasionally too poppy for its own good (and does Eminem have to insist on singing so much on choruses?), the album never ceases to be entertaining and filthy and also, dare I say, meaningful. He works rhyme schemes that are pretty extraordinary and even the weaker songs on the album shouldn't be skipped. Highlights are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, Love Game and Evil Twin. And just about every song on the DX Edition Bonus Disc. Expand
  25. Aug 7, 2017
    10
    years after i can undoubtley say its classic this album topped no wonders because em really has deep **** he goes now 13 years later with perspevtives of the monsters with his life after the whole scenarios of 05
  26. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far...
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far... and Love Game.
    Personal Favorites: Parking Lot (Skit), Survival, Berzerk, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster and Headlights.
    Expand
  27. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot ofI have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot of the same themes, but develops them & updates them to fit this point in his career. “Bad Guy” is a perfect example of this, a sequel to “Stan” that features fantastic storytelling & some of the most insightful meta-commentary Eminem has ever done. That's another thing that makes this album work: his self-awareness is as effective as ever. He spends so much time not only addressing his controversial reputation, but embracing & poking fun at it too as a vehicle for clever wordplay & a confidence-packed delivery. Speaking of, Eminem's delivery is another significantly improved area on this album. He's fully reclaimed what made him so appealing in the first place: personality. He knows exactly how goofy, intense, emotional, tongue-in-cheek or conversational to sound in any given moment, and the unique flows from track to track really help keep the admittedly very long album engaging all the way through. He also does a great job at revisiting themes from an album that, again, for the most part feel more like interesting updates than boring retreads, and there are comparisons in subject matter to be made between the albums. Probably the most notable example of this is “Headlights”, where he basically apologizes to his mom about all the songs he made against her, and it makes for easily one of the most mature songs he's ever written. But my favorite has got to be “So Far...”, which is just plain hilarious all the way through, complaining about fame & the current generation in a wonderfully tongue-in-cheek way.

    I really wanna say these huge positives are all I have to say about this album. But unfortunately it has its low points too, in a few different areas. The first thing I wanna talk about are the features. To briefly go over the ones I like, Kendrick Lamar's verse on “Love Game” matches up to Eminem's level of storytelling perfectly. Also I love Nate Ruess' emotive chorus on “Headlights” & Skylar Grey's on The one in “Bad Guy” fits well with the theme in the same way Dido's did on “Stan”. But sometimes, the lineup of cookie-cutter female vocalists singing the hooks just feels unnecessary & desperate for a radio-friendly chorus. “The Monster” is possible the worst victim of this, surrounding its strong personal themes of self-doubt in the face of fame with severe overproduction & an annoyingly radio-baiting chorus from Rihanna. To me the best choruses Eminem's done have usually been the ones he does himself. Another song definitely worth bringing up is “Rap God”, which I actually really like for the most part. It captures a lot of what I already complimented this album for & the rapid-fire flow about halfway in is undeniably phenomenal. But before that part there are a couple parts that just have me scratching my head, like when he spends a few bars detailing a beef between Fabolous & Ray J that I doubt most people even knew existed or care about, or the “lookin boy” bit that's just awkward to listen to. I'm also not really a fan of the whiny bad relationship song “So Much Better” that can get embarrassingly melodramatic. But the worst moment has to be “Stronger Than I Was”, a horribly corny all-sung R&B ballad that has no reason to be on this album whatsoever. He's always been just a passable enough singer to do a chorus, but that's it. I didn't see much of a point in the “Parking Lot” skit either.

    Bringing it back to positives though, the production & instrumentals are fantastic almost all the way through. I love the bombastic rap-rock on “Berserk” & “Survival” that call back to early Beastie Boys. “Bad Guy” perfectly captures the same subtly eerie tone that “Stan” did while not feeling like a direct copy. And the heavy sampling on some tracks like “So Far...” & “Rhyme Or Reason” is executed really well, finding very clever ways of integrating the original songs into them in multiple parts of the song. Overall, as you can see I had mixed feelings about The Marshall Mathers LP 2, but I still love it as a whole. Eminem really is back in top form. Let's just hope he keeps his momentum this time around. (insert your own bad “guess who's back” joke here).

    Top 5 tracks: So Far..., Bad Guy, Headlights, Rhyme or Reason
    Score: 81/100
    (Check out a longer review on my Facebook page That Non-Elitist Music Fan.)
    Expand
  28. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    After Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we gotAfter Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we got a healthy helping of Slim Shady and Eminem in full blown attack mode on verbal fronts. That being said though, when the announcement of The Marshall Mathers LP 2 came to surface, nobody knew what to expect. Was the album title just a publicity stunt to increase album sales, and would Eminem leave us with a mess of an album and actually give us a Recovery 2? Being a massive Eminem fan, I can comfortably express my discomfort with Recovery, his last solo outing, but this album is no Recovery 2. This IS a sequel (or a continuation, as he likes to put it) to The Mathers LP in the grandest form. It's a culmination of the Eminem/Slim Shady we've grown to know, love and hate over the past 14 years. The album sets the tone right off the bat with the sequel to the classic "Stan", with "Bad Guy". Never could I imagine Eminem making a sequel to any song, let alone his most remarkable story telling piece, but he absolutely delivers with yet another chilling story. Eminem hasn't burned with so much purpose since his 2002 effort, "The Eminem Show". He sets out to prove his verbal skills and to engrave his place in rap history as a "Rap God". The album doesn't come without it's missteps of course. You have the sing-songy, strictly for the radio collaboration with Rihanna (which was really an inevitable piece of work based on the success of "Love the Way You Lie"). You also get one of the worst songs Eminem has ever composed with "Stronger Than I Was". Props to the MC for stepping outside of the box and trying something different, but it really doesn't fit in with the album nor does it sound very good anyway. Kid Cudi may not be a good singer, but he somehow makes his voice work for the songs he sings in. This is not the case for Eminem though, as his singing is absolutely cringe-worthy. I'm very sure Eminem is aware of this fact, and I wish he would've swallowed his pride and left this proud composition on the shelf maybe for Rihanna to sing on her next project. Back to the positives though; Eminem has shown maturation as an artist on his sequel here. It's exhibited through his heartfelt apology to his mother on "Headlights", a song that if you've followed Eminem from step one, is an absolute tear-jerker. Eminem has also proven himself to be very capable of stepping outside of the box and rhyming over some very unorthodox production. Take for example "So Far" and the hilarious collaboration with Kendrick Lamar, "Love Game". What other rapper would feature Kendrick Lamar in a role like this and make it work? Nobody. The song is a delight and a definite highlight from the album. "Evil Twin", the closing track from the album is perhaps one of the best from the album as a whole, and maybe his best concluding track yet. The song encompasses everything we love about Eminem and Slim Shady and ends the album on the highest point possible. Eminem may not have delivered a flawless record, nor should we have expected him to. BUT, it's a top 5 rap record of the year and some of his best work to date. It doesn't quite stand up as tall as the original Mathers LP, but it stands on it's own as a remarkable piece of work from an MC so deep into his career, who can still go bar for bar with any rapper to comes to mind. Expand
  29. Jul 2, 2015
    7
    Good album. Eminem's rap game is back strong and showcases how Eminem is, and always has been, the king of old-school rap. The appearances of artists such as Rihanna and Sia add a really nice touch.
  30. Jan 6, 2016
    8
    Eminem's best work since The Eminem Show. Eminem is back to form on his sequel to his classic, "The Marshall Mathers LP". The Detroit emcee is as hilarious as ever, and can still spit with the best of them.
  31. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    For starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, thatFor starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, that doesn't mean Eminem can't continue to make good music. I don't want this to sound like a typical "Eminem has fallen off" review but people do need to recognize that and accept it. I thought Encore and Relapse were poor efforts, Recovery showed a glimmer of light but still had a lot of flaws which leads us to MMLP2. It surprised me that he decided to do the whole "going back to my roots" theme, I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. For the most part though I feel like MMLP2 succeeds. Bad Guy was a great way to start off the album, I love how it's a continuation of Stan & the last verse where the beat changes is just fantastic! So much emotion in that last verse and Eminem does a great job at basically summing up his whole career in that one verse. Brainless is another stand out track for me where Eminem goes back to a kind of SSLP style rather than MMLP. Throughout the song he's being clever and witty while sort of lashing out at people in a way we haven't really heard him do in a very long time. The two bonus tracks on this LP Baby and Groundhog Day deserve a mention as well. Why these two tracks didn't make the albums final cut is beyond me because these tracks are great! Baby's first verse sounds like it was taken straight out of the The Eminem Show era, absolutely incredible and easily one of Eminem's best verses since his come back. Groundhog Day's beat and Eminem's delivery flow so smoothly together and Eminem just sounds so effortless. Now while I think this album succeeds in many aspects, it's not flawless. Survival is exactly the type of song I would expect to find on Recovery. Super bland, mediocre writing (along with some cringe worthy bars) & his annoying shouting delivery. The Monster is another song I would expect to find on Recovery. I have no problem with popish songs, in fact I thought Love the Way You Lie was a good song.....maybe a bit over played but nonetheless good. The Monster is Eminem trying super hard to recreate a Love the Way You Lie type song and it falls flat. Writing is down right bad for the most part and I just find the whole song extremely corny and unoriginal. It's a shame because the song has a really good music video. Than we get to Stronger Than I Was..... Now I'm not quiet sure what inspired him to make this disaster but nothing works. The singing is straight awful, the writing sounds like lines taken from a 14 year old girls diary. I mean... I don't know if he was trying something new or what but someone needs to tell him to never attempt to do a song like this again. Despite that though, overall I feel like this is a good album. He kept the flaws to a minimum for the most part and I think this is easily his best project since The Eminem Show. I give this project a 7/10, if I was being exact I think I rated it like a 7.3/10 which is about right for me. Expand
  32. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort toI want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort to channel old school hip-hop, but Em tries a little too hard on this track to achieve that old school sound. Most of his raps are altered and depend on Rubin's production. I liked the track, but it just didn't work in the context of the album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Legacy"

    Other notable tracks: "Bad Guy", "Rhyme Or Reason", "Rap God", "So Far…", "Headlights", "Evil Twin" & "Baby"
    Expand
  33. Apr 2, 2016
    7
    Eminem put together a surprisingly good record here. Considering the fact that I did not care for Recovery or Relapse at all this was a nice surprise. The album definitely starts off great with "Bad Guy". Returning to the story of one of his best songs "Stan" was a bold move, but one that paid off well with nice references and an epic conclusion. "Rhyme or Reason" is also pretty great withEminem put together a surprisingly good record here. Considering the fact that I did not care for Recovery or Relapse at all this was a nice surprise. The album definitely starts off great with "Bad Guy". Returning to the story of one of his best songs "Stan" was a bold move, but one that paid off well with nice references and an epic conclusion. "Rhyme or Reason" is also pretty great with the sample of The Zombies' "Time of the Season". "Bezerk" definitely grew on overtime, mostly due to the hard-hitting beat. The lyrics at times on this album are corny, but don't go too overboard. There are some terrible/forgettable songs like "Stronger Than I Was", "The Monster", and "So Much Better", but the album ends off great. "Evil Twin" is an incredible conclusion to this pretty good album. Expand
  34. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    Si nos ponemos a analizar en retrospectiva los albumes de Eminem, nos daremos cuenta que lo tenemos a el en su máxima forma durante sus pistas más personales, así como lo ha sido durante TMM LP, TES y TSS LP.
  35. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This is an excellent album that shows Eminem still has it and will never lose it. Eminem continues to prove why he is a lyrical genius and shows that he is also a little bit more mature.
  36. Nov 29, 2014
    5
    This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better",This album is better than the heaping piles of **** that Shady released between 2002-2010, but it still isn't that good. Every hook on here is terrible, and it just so happens that the best track, "Evil Twin" doesn't have a hook. Eminem has always been terrible at making hooks, so it's not like I was surprised. Some of the verses are alright. Four songs in a row, "So Much Better", "Survival", **** and "Legacy" all sound like Recovery throwaways (see my review of Recovery and you'll know how I feel). "Stronger Than I Was" and "The Monster" are god awful. Just terrible. I will say that even though I wasn;t huge on part 1 of "Bad Guy", the second part was pretty epic. "Rhyme or Reason" is the runner-up to "Evil Twin" for the best track on the album. The last four tracks is the best part of the album, so I'm glad he at least gave a strong finish on the album.

    I didn't include the 5 bonus tracks on the deluxe edition of the album, because that probably would have lowered my grade from a 6.5 to at least a 5.5.

    Overall, I wuld say 'ehhhh'.
    Expand
  37. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    On MMLP2, Eminem seems more aware than ever of his public image, his career, and the history that his name brings to the music industry. Lines such as '...see if I get away with it now that I ain't as big as I was' suggest Eminem is fully understanding of his place in hip-hop.

    The album plays very much with older listeners nostalgia, even sampling brief beats from old songs. The result
    On MMLP2, Eminem seems more aware than ever of his public image, his career, and the history that his name brings to the music industry. Lines such as '...see if I get away with it now that I ain't as big as I was' suggest Eminem is fully understanding of his place in hip-hop.

    The album plays very much with older listeners nostalgia, even sampling brief beats from old songs. The result is an album that is both refreshing and familiar.
    Expand
  38. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    The Marshall Mathers LP 2, thankfully, is somewhat of an improvement over Recovery, and most definitely Relapse. It certainly does not have the original features of its 2000 predecessor (which is a classic). However, it is competent in its scope and some of the songs are catchy and valuable when the time is right. It seems like there is a lot of filler, and not everything was notThe Marshall Mathers LP 2, thankfully, is somewhat of an improvement over Recovery, and most definitely Relapse. It certainly does not have the original features of its 2000 predecessor (which is a classic). However, it is competent in its scope and some of the songs are catchy and valuable when the time is right. It seems like there is a lot of filler, and not everything was not completely necessary, as the deluxe version runs for nearly 100 minutes. I generally appreciate that Eminem has maintained a solid state in the 15 years of his career, and has not entirely "fallen off" like some of his contemporaries have. Expand
  39. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, moreEminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  40. May 17, 2014
    10
    truly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly thetruly the best album after The Eminem show. truly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem showtruly the best album after The Eminem show Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This album reminds me a lot of the first MMLP. He ends his issues with his mom,includes a sort of sequel to Stan and shows that he can still rap as great as he could when the original LP was released.
  42. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Listening to Eminem for several years now, Around when encore came out,. It was heartbreaking to hear relapse and recovery, they were terrible in my opinion, I bought the marshall mathers Lp 2 as a final test to see if Eminem had lost his touch. I was blown away, My opinion was reformed when relapse and recovery came out, I hated them, and it made me believe Em had lost his talent. WellListening to Eminem for several years now, Around when encore came out,. It was heartbreaking to hear relapse and recovery, they were terrible in my opinion, I bought the marshall mathers Lp 2 as a final test to see if Eminem had lost his touch. I was blown away, My opinion was reformed when relapse and recovery came out, I hated them, and it made me believe Em had lost his talent. Well MMLP2 is one of, if not, his best album ever released. Every track hits hard, has the lyrics of MMLP 1, the hard hitting beats of his music today, and the old slim shady feel that the first few albums of his had. Definitly recommend. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    This is the follow up to his widely popular and best-selling Marshall Mathers LP and it lives up to the name. At first I was very unsure about this album but it slowly grew on me after a few listens. Right from the beginning the songs make it feel like this album is in fact a sequel unfortunately it isn't perfect but very few sequels are. The production value on a handful of songs areThis is the follow up to his widely popular and best-selling Marshall Mathers LP and it lives up to the name. At first I was very unsure about this album but it slowly grew on me after a few listens. Right from the beginning the songs make it feel like this album is in fact a sequel unfortunately it isn't perfect but very few sequels are. The production value on a handful of songs are very poor and I feel like a lot of songs don't fit in the "Marshall Mathers" realm. The lyrical themes definitely fit the bill and are sure to anger your mothers again which is exactly what I would expect. He samples Billy Squier and Joe Walsh which I really enjoy and pays homage to the hip hop world to prove that Eminem is not some recovering junkie but a very creative individual. This album could have been better but it's still a good album which I will continue to listen to. Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    headlights was touching bad guy and survival are number ones a great album by a great artist each time someone has stepped up to challenge him hes put them down he is best there is ever was ever will be period.
  45. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    A refreshing, somewhat return to old form. Strong Eminem fans will be pleased with the writing, especially on songs such as "Brainless," "Evil Twin," and "Bad Guy." Unfortunately many of the flaws of the album come through the beat selection, Ruben and Eminem don't seem to the chemistry that Slim and Dre have. Lyrically, although cheesy at some points, the album competes with the originalA refreshing, somewhat return to old form. Strong Eminem fans will be pleased with the writing, especially on songs such as "Brainless," "Evil Twin," and "Bad Guy." Unfortunately many of the flaws of the album come through the beat selection, Ruben and Eminem don't seem to the chemistry that Slim and Dre have. Lyrically, although cheesy at some points, the album competes with the original Marshall Mathers LP, but the album lacks the overall unpredictability that his first had. Strong album, and definitely his best work since "The Eminem Show." Expand
  46. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    As a huge Eminem fan over the past years, I can say that I truly miss older songs such as "Mockingbird." Some of the songs on this album make me cringe, while others are truly a message from god. It's ok though, I'm sure his next album will be even better than The first Marshall Mathers LP (aka his best album.)
  47. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Not going to lie, I have not been a fan of the "new" Eminem. I would much rather listen to "My name is" than "Love the Way You Lie" However as Berzerk says "Let's take it back to that vintage Slim." And it's not kidding.

    "Bad Guy" The sequel to Stan, and it is very worthy, a must own of any Eminem fan (old or new) "Rhyme or Reason" A very cool sample track, I would recommend checking
    Not going to lie, I have not been a fan of the "new" Eminem. I would much rather listen to "My name is" than "Love the Way You Lie" However as Berzerk says "Let's take it back to that vintage Slim." And it's not kidding.

    "Bad Guy" The sequel to Stan, and it is very worthy, a must own of any Eminem fan (old or new)
    "Rhyme or Reason" A very cool sample track, I would recommend checking out.
    "So Much Better" Personally i didn't care for this one, a little sluggish
    "Survival" I'm sure you've heard this already as it has been milked the crap out of by the CoD ads. It's a decent song.
    "Legacy" I liked some aspects of this song but in the end I won't be listening to it very often, I know some people LOVE this song, so I would recommend checking it out just to see if you do like it.
    "A**hole" I thought this was a humorous track and enjoyed it (really liked the reference to "My name is")
    "Berzerk" Uses a Beastie Boy party beat and I liked it, it mixes things up.
    "Rap God" A insane free style like song proving how good of a lyricist and flow master Em is.
    "Brainless" A decent song, I enjoyed it.
    "Stronger Than I Was" Did not care for this track.
    "The Monster" As I said I never liked the Rhianna collaboration in the first place, and The Monster does not change my mind. But if you like "Love the Way You Lie" you will enjoy this.
    "So Far" I LOVE this song, it's got awesome samples from "My Name is", "Life's Been Good" by Joe Walsh, and Aerosmith. I ended up liking this song way more than I thought I would.
    "Love Game" A good collaboration with Kendrick, it's a decent track.
    "Headlights" A must hear for old time fans as it is a apology to his mother for all these years, a decent track. I feel F.U.N isn't the best choice to perform with Eminem.
    "Evil Twin" A Great track and a heck of a way to end it. I recommend picking it up.
    I will give a rating for the Deluxe and regular. For the regular album each song is worth 0.75 (Rap God, So Far, and Bad Guy get a whole point from me since I was so impressed) And deluxe each song is worth .50 (since there are 5 bonus tracks) I enjoyed all 5 bonus tracks, but the only one that really blew me away was
    "Desperation", I was shocked how well Em worked with Country.
    Final scores

    Regular: 8.25

    Deluxe: 8.75
    A great album, I recommend getting deluxe as the 5 bonus tracks are pretty good. Definitely worth a purchase.
    Expand
  48. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Eminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in the first MMLP. Overall this is a great album which surpasses the entertainment value of the last 3 albums that Eminem has put out. His songs legacy and brain damage in particular as well as others really bring you back to how Eminem's music was in theEminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in the first MMLP. Overall this is a great album which surpasses the entertainment value of the last 3 albums that Eminem has put out. His songs legacy and brain damage in particular as well as others really bring you back to how Eminem's music was in the early 2000's. Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    As this is a sequel album to the original album released back in 2000, it turned out well. As Eminem reverts to his old self back in the early stages, in his rise to stardom era of his career, older listeners are liking the fact that they are listening to the Eminem that they would hear back in 2000. Eminem certainly did better in this album than in his previous albums, but we are awareAs this is a sequel album to the original album released back in 2000, it turned out well. As Eminem reverts to his old self back in the early stages, in his rise to stardom era of his career, older listeners are liking the fact that they are listening to the Eminem that they would hear back in 2000. Eminem certainly did better in this album than in his previous albums, but we are aware that the classic Eminem will always be better. Expand
  50. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    One of his best albums throughout his career. This album feels like a comeback from him even though his previous album was in 2010. Good solid production and violent, aggressive, and controversial lyrics helped the album from just being a regular Hip-Hop album. Basically, the album stands out in a good way.
  51. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Considering how disappointed I was with Relapse and Recovery, I'd say MMLP 2 meets the expectation one would have when Eminem is what we're speaking of.

    I listened to the MMLP first before setting MMLP 2 on play and somehow I really feel the connection between the two sets. I consider "Stronger Than I Was", "Baby", "The Monster (featuring Rihanna)", and "Evil Twin" the weaker tracks;
    Considering how disappointed I was with Relapse and Recovery, I'd say MMLP 2 meets the expectation one would have when Eminem is what we're speaking of.

    I listened to the MMLP first before setting MMLP 2 on play and somehow I really feel the connection between the two sets. I consider "Stronger Than I Was", "Baby", "The Monster (featuring Rihanna)", and "Evil Twin" the weaker tracks; while my choice for the strongest numbers are "Beautiful Pain (featuring Sia)", "Desperation (featuring Jamie N Commons)" and "Bad Guy". But above all, what I love the most about the album is that Em's finally taking some times to reflect and deal with his past instead of running and denying it all. Long Live the Rap God!!
    Expand
  52. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite Eminem Album. A little more mature than the other albums but crazy again, not like Recovery. It's some good old Hip/Hop & Rap not like the crap that's around right now.
    "Plus I can just walk up to a mic and just bust"
  53. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Being white is an advantage to Mathers. Reason why I say this is because he doesn't have to be like the other rappers who abuse the 'N-word'. Eminem is not scared to be open about his feelings because rappers talk about being real and most of them aren't... His homophobic and aggressive lyrics and skits are creative and funny... Lyrically this is the rap album of 2013...
  54. Dec 4, 2013
    9
    Eminem goes back to his roots with an sequel worthy of the fantastic MMLP. While this album has much of the feel of its predecessor it is different in a lot of ways. Even after a lot of listens he still surprises me time and time again where the next rhyme will move to! A testament to how he has grown lyrically in a difficult period in his life. I think Rap God sums this up and there isEminem goes back to his roots with an sequel worthy of the fantastic MMLP. While this album has much of the feel of its predecessor it is different in a lot of ways. Even after a lot of listens he still surprises me time and time again where the next rhyme will move to! A testament to how he has grown lyrically in a difficult period in his life. I think Rap God sums this up and there is definitely a two fingers up for the many who may have written him off, Personally I get the feeling he had it in his locker the whole time and this album is a representation of this. It feels like a rightful instalment in an epic journey with this highly emotionally charged and prolific artist. I love it Expand
  55. Sep 29, 2014
    7
    Not as funny and offensive as some of his other albums but makes up for it by use of modern mixing and effects. Overall good lyrics and sound. This is good because Eminem has had many albums and this proves that he still has game.
  56. Jan 29, 2014
    8
    Eminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do inEminem is back in full storm to remind everyone of his place among hip-hop as a "rap god." In fact, in the song Rap God, he takes a breathless six minutes to relentlessly shove the argument down the throats of his listeners. MMLP2 is a diverse album with some laid back numbers as well as some bass-bumpin' heavy swingers. Eminem's flow is refreshingly original, as he sets out to do in Bezerk, saying, "Let's take it back to straight hip-hop, and start it from scratch." He is just as furious and bitter as ever, throwing in some overused (but excellently executed) references, including, but not limited to, Monica Lewinsky and Helen Keller ("Even Helen Keller knows life stinks..." brilliant). His pop culture references and out-of-the-park analogies are just as good as ever, if not better. The 21 track deluxe album plays through from start to finish without boring. Stand out tracks are **** Rap God, Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, and Love Game feat. Kendrick Lamar. Expand
  57. Feb 15, 2014
    10
    I have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love gameI have always been a big fan of Eminem, each of Eminem albums always have been distinctive. MMLP2 shows Eminem unique story telling, word play, humor, and lyrical ability. Tracks like bad guy, legacy, and head lights shows how Eminem story telling is top notch. Rap god and evil twin showcases Eminem's word play and lyrical ability, while tracks like so much better, so far, and love game illustrates how humorous and funny Eminem can be. Overall this album got a piece of Marshall, slim shady, and a few aspects of recovery . I recommend this album if you like lyrical, emo, horror core, cautious, and back pack rap. Expand
  58. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Eminem continues to prove he's the most creative, most talented, and just flat-out greatest lyricist of this generation. There's not a single rapper out there that could dream of keeping up with him on Rap God, and not one that would be brave and honest enough to put out something as heartfelt and open as Headlights. This album is just brilliant.
  59. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    As crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" inAs crazy as this sounds, Eminem is my hero, his music has helped me through slumps and downfalls in my life. His music has helped me keep on task and push through. This album is no different for me, with funny songs and lyrics, to sad songs about betrayal. Being a fan since I was 7 (The Eminem Show was just released). He has hit it big with no "WTF" songs like "Kim" in MMLP, or "Drips" in The Eminem Show. If you like any kind of rhyming music, you will like this. (If you like country and don't listen to anything but, don't listen to this, your drunk asses won't be able to keep up with his fast rapping. Your big trucks won't be able to keep up either. :D) Expand
  60. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    He's back and he's back with a bang. This is a great album and one of my favourite Eminem albums he's ever made. I enjoy every song on this album except for maybe Monster because it is over played on the radio and annoys me a bit now. This is my working out album to listen to.
  61. Jan 24, 2016
    9
    When I finished listening to this for the first time I thought to myself what did I just listen to and my one word response to this album is wow simply wow a brilliant album this is Eminem at his best and a must listen without a doubt you won't regret it.
  62. May 19, 2015
    9
    This album contains some of Em's best songs for example "Bad Guy" which is basically Stan 2. It's not quite as good as Recovery but it's pretty close in my eyes.
    9/10
  63. Sep 18, 2014
    7
    This is one of Eminem's finest albums. I really enjoyed his work on Rap God, Headlights, and Bad Guy. There are some songs that sound familiar but Eminem provides enough humor that makes you forget that. It doesn't feel or sound anything like the first MMLP album but that is a good thing since you can't recreate a classic.
  64. Sep 26, 2014
    10
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30,
    Eminem is Back ! Now None can beat him, On May 24, 2012, Eminem announced he was working on his next studio album., set to be released in 2013 Even without a title or release date, the album was included in multiple "Most Anticipated Albums of 2013" lists; including MTV, Complex Magazine where it was listed in sixth position; and XXL Magazine, where it was listed in fifth.

    On June 30, 2012, Eminem talked about the album with DJ Whoo Kid, on his own radio station, Shade 45. He stated that the material is taking shape, and that Dr. Dre will be involved in some way. On August 30, 2012, Slaughterhouse member Royce da 5'9" gave his thoughts on the album, stating "I'm not so sure how the world is going to respond from some of the things that I've heard from him." Close friend and fellow rapper 50 Cent is also confirmed to feature on the album. Eminem also was featured on Pink's album The Truth About Love on the track "Here Comes The Weekend".
    Expand
  65. Dec 27, 2014
    5
    At first listening, that's great noticing a complex diversity of genres. Different music and different way of singin also. But wtf with Eminem, i used to like him like anybody singer i like, but making talk bout him with clash for instance Lana del Rey. What does he got in mind, he doesnt need that i guess. Plus she did not do nothing. Too bad we got a pretty good singer with no brain
  66. Mar 21, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  67. May 5, 2015
    10
    amazing album. his best since marshall mathers lp. bad guy was the best song on the album. what a rapper. what a legend!!! in the game since 1999 and has been on top since that.
  68. Apr 23, 2015
    9
    With a fresh approach to his style, Eminem gives us another great album to listen to, many, many, many times. All the songs beneficiate from a sharp production and great hooks, but the most impressive part is still Em who raps like his life depends on it and elevate even more his status as a genius lyricist.
  69. May 29, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MMLP2 marca el verdadero "comeback" de Eminem, volviendo a tener la soltura de cuando MMLP incluso cuando The Eminem. Excelente producción. Excelente canciones con letras que van mas allá de la complejidad de las rimas estilo la época de los 00's. Ya Eminem no prueba quien es, Eminem ES ya una leyenda, es un punto de comparación muy alto y solo lo mejores están a su nivel. Expand
  70. Apr 26, 2016
    4
    as a fan of Eminem this album was not as great as i hoped for. one of the flaws this albums suffers from is its lack of cohesion. Some of the tracks dont belong together on on the same album. the production and subject matter change quite frequently ranging from slow jams of apologizing, to old Eminem. to pop oriented tracks and rock sampled tracks. The fact also that Eminem is trying toas a fan of Eminem this album was not as great as i hoped for. one of the flaws this albums suffers from is its lack of cohesion. Some of the tracks dont belong together on on the same album. the production and subject matter change quite frequently ranging from slow jams of apologizing, to old Eminem. to pop oriented tracks and rock sampled tracks. The fact also that Eminem is trying to fit in the pop scene is excruciating when years prior he used to diss it numerous number of times. i understand that a few songs on here hes trying to show some maturity, but that concept is destroyed by some of the tracks that have him displaying the old Eminem. In conclusion the album seems to lack a direction of whom its trying to reach out towards. his lyrical wordplay is good as always but at times it seems he losing the ability to connect with people. his attempts to show a new Eminem, along with the old Eminem, rock sampled tracks, slow jams. and pop sound tracks dont really make this album a classic. Expand
  71. Feb 4, 2018
    10
    when i see the tracklist, i was kinda disappointed but in the first listen it really surprass my expectations, this album makes you feel the nostalgic of his past work, yet he's still here to hold the crown, best album from 2013
  72. Dec 11, 2015
    10
    The album is wonderful lyrically, the flow, the beats and everything else. The best single, Rap God, deserves more credit than any other tracks in this album, the flow is exceptional and 97 words in 15 seconds? What the hell was that from a 40 year old. The best since MMLP.
  73. Sep 4, 2016
    10
    Its about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to writeIts about all the things he did in MMLP getting back at him. At first I was like please don't be like the The Blueprint 2 but Em surprised me cuz the title actually made sense, the album actually was a sequel,it was not just giving the album a name cuz he was out of ideas or something. The lyrics are clever, not as funny as MMLP but Em is 40 so I really don't even expect him to write something like drug ballad anymore. Expand
  74. Mar 27, 2016
    8
    Quite possibly Eminem's strongest work since The Eminem Show. Gone are the dodgy accents of Encore and Relapse, and the commercial sound isn't quite as prominent as it was on Recovery. Eminem's old charms and tricks are all here but he sounds fresh and revitalised. His rapping is especially powerful on the second half of "Bad Guy", "Survival", and "Rap God" to name just a few. Eminem'sQuite possibly Eminem's strongest work since The Eminem Show. Gone are the dodgy accents of Encore and Relapse, and the commercial sound isn't quite as prominent as it was on Recovery. Eminem's old charms and tricks are all here but he sounds fresh and revitalised. His rapping is especially powerful on the second half of "Bad Guy", "Survival", and "Rap God" to name just a few. Eminem's maturation shines through on tracks like "Stronger Than I Was" and "Headlights", for those who enjoy his more somber side. Definitely pick this one up if you were into Eminem in the early noughties. Expand
  75. Jul 26, 2016
    7
    Я - большой фанат творчества Эминема, мне нравятся все альбомы - The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show - этот альбом больше всего люблю, он у меня даже на CD есть! Я даже Encore говном не стал поливать, неплохой альбом, но есть парочка плохих композиций. Relapse получился очень хорошим, особенно Refill, а также треки с Deluxe Edition (My Darling и Careful What YouЯ - большой фанат творчества Эминема, мне нравятся все альбомы - The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP, The Eminem Show - этот альбом больше всего люблю, он у меня даже на CD есть! Я даже Encore говном не стал поливать, неплохой альбом, но есть парочка плохих композиций. Relapse получился очень хорошим, особенно Refill, а также треки с Deluxe Edition (My Darling и Careful What You Wish For). Recovery получился так себе, с парочкой хороших треков. Hell: The Sequel получился годным EP. Иии, тут старина Маршалл выпускает Marshall Mathers LP 2. Альбом неплохой, но слабоват, едва семерку ему поставил. Есть реально годные треки, такие как Rap God, Survival и Legacy, а также Evil Twin, ну, ещё и Berzerk с Headlights, во остальном альбом слабоват и имеет плохие биты. Expand
  76. Mar 14, 2017
    10
    Sex for your **** Ears... SCUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
  77. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    Amazing Album. Amazing Songs. Amazing Cover. Amazing Lyrics. Amazing Flows. Amazing--EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS ENTIRE ALBUM IS JUST ABSOLUTELY AMAZING....
  78. Jul 18, 2017
    7
    good album.....................................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.