User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 660 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 660

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is just for real Eminem fans. If you compare to Marshall Mathers LP you wii say this is wack but is a very good album.
    Better album than Relapse and Recovery.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of my best albums so far and you better RESPECT THAT! I'm back and here to stay, and hell on I'm not retiring after this. I'ma slapping anyone asking me that again.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive Eminem fan since 2002 when The Eminem Show came out. It's my favorite album of him by far with Encore close second. MMLP and SSLP are classic albums but they never really hit my heart. Relapse was average and Recovery was great at first but it got old too soon.
    I was waiting for MMLP2 to drop out and didn't know what to expect. The result is better than i would ever
    imagined. Before I start, I want to say, that I have the Deluxe version of MMLP2.

    The album starts with BAD GUY which is the sequel of "Stan" and the first 4 minutes are decent. But when the beat changes, Eminem drops probably his most powerful verse of all time which makes this song an instant classic. (10/10)
    PARKING LOT is the only skit on the album, which is great because, well, we got more songs!
    Then we got RHYME OR REASON which samples "Time of the Season" by The Zombies. The song has references to his father he never met. (8/10)
    SO MUCH BETTER is some kind of revisit to "Kill You" from MMLP1 with a heavy beat. It seems to be one of the worse songs of the album. (6/10)
    We got SURVIVAL next. Powerful guitars and angry Eminem. The chorus is weaker and got overplayed soon. (7/10)
    LEGACY is one of the second gem of the album. Eminem escalates throughout the album and tells a story which will serve as a motivation for people. (10/10)
    **** can't keep up the pace of Legacy and is one of the few skippable songs. (6/10)
    We all know BERZERK pretty well. It's crazy and unique but serves as the "first funny single" and MMLP2 has better songs. (7/10)
    RAP GOD is a work by a Rap God. 100 words in 16 seconds? I don't have to say more. The beat is a little bit repetitive but the song is awesome! (9/10)
    BRAINLESS is not that great for the first listen but I found it really interesting. The lyrics are great and Eminem spits them in his typical rapid speed. (9/10)
    When I first heard the STRONGER THAN I WAS it left me completely speechless. Eminem isn't a great singer but the emotion make it up. Awesome!!! (10/10)
    THE MONSTER is similar to "Love the Way You Lie" but it's not that repetitive and it will have a huge success in radio. (8/10)
    SO FAR... is a unique song with a rock beat and Eminem makes fun of technology he doesn't understand. I've never heard anything like that from him before and I like it. (9/10)
    Everybody was waiting for LOVE GAME because it features the prince of hip-hop Kendrick Lamar. The song is a surpise because Eminem and K.Dot didn't battle for a #1 MC in the world but enjoyed a work together and the result is good. (8/10)
    HEADLIGHTS is probably the because surprise because Eminem tries to settle the relationship with his mother. The most emotional song on the album. Nate Ruess doesn't ruin it as much as I expected but I would have done it without him. (8/10)
    EVIL TWIN is a pure hip-hop. The style of this song reminds me "Underground" or "Soldier". Great lyrics but not a big fan of the beat. (8/10)

    Bonus tracks:

    BABY (6/10)
    DESPERATION (8/10)
    GROUNDHOG DAY (6/10)
    Then there is BEAUTIFUL PAIN which is one of the three best song on MMLP2. Love the chorus by Sia and Eminem's verses are even better. Should have been on the normal version. (10/10)
    WICKED WAYS is a great closing to a great album. Eminem drops one of the best verses here and then there is the return of Ken Kaniff at the end. (9/10)

    Overall the album is awesome! I expected a good work but it exceeded my expectations. The final chapter of a saga is a return to a top form and for me it's better than the original because he matured.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everything that made Eminem big in the first place. Being such a huge fan of his so I'm delighted to say the least, This may be his strongest album so far and that's saying something. Christmas is here early! Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Perhaps his best album since The Eminem Show. The humor is back, though not as unpredictable as it was in his first outings. His rapping is super awesome, the lyrics are great, and the production is top-notch (in some tracks, not all of them). The album is very long and can get quite tiresome, especially if your listening to the deluxe edition.

    If you're a devoted Eminem fan, you will
    immensely enjoy this album. If not, there is also something here for you.

    My favorite tracks are: "Bad Guy", "Rap God", "Berzerk", and "Evil Twin".
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best Eminem album since TES. Bad Guy: 10/10 Rhyme or Reason: 9/10 So Much Better: 9/10 Survival: 7.5/10 Legacy: 9/10 7.5/10 Berzerk: 8.5/10 Rap God: 9/10 Brainless 8.5/10 Stronger than i was: 8/10 The Monster: 7:10 So Far: 8.5/10 Love Game: 8.5/10 Headlights 9.5/10 Evil Twin: 9/10. Bonus Tracks: Baby: 7.5/10 Desperation: 8/10 Groundhog Day: 9/10 Beautiful Pain: 9.5/10 Wicked Ways: 8.5/10 Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is another level of awesome achieved by Eminem. He proves again why he is considered one of the best. Complex rhyme schemes, a bit more mature a bit more wiser. Listen to both concurrently and you'll see the difference but also the similar tones. He's still atop of his game here.
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This is the return of Eminem. If you didn't like him before or doubted his prowess, give this album a listen. After the singles we were given left me rather unimpressed, I had low expectations. My doubts were gone in just a few minutes of the first track. I think Bad Guy is the best song he's ever written apart from Stan. The second half of the song gave me chills.

    While the
    production and the beats sometimes fall a bit flat, his skill is unmistakable. The genres blended into some of the tracks play on a bit of familiarity. I'm not particularly keen on some of them (Kid Rock...), but experimenting is most usually a plus. There's a lot more to be said and I could break down the album per song, but I won't. Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Long time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. I know a lot of people won't like this album simply because of how different it is, but personally I love this album and feel like Eminem really did take it to the next level. Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    great come back from Eminem,he's still on top of this rap game and this album is pure talent,happy to see him going back to the good old days..the album is a must buy..
  11. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  12. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far...
    and Love Game.
    Personal Favorites: Parking Lot (Skit), Survival, Berzerk, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster and Headlights.
    Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great album! I love how he can slow it down on some songs, and be intensely violent and ferocious on other. It is completely fair to give this one a 10/10. The real Slim Shady is back!
  14. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Considering he's a 41 year old living legend it's very refreshing to hear him focus so much on his pen game. Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Rap God, Brainless, So Far, Love Game, Headlights, Evil Twin, Baby, Beautiful Pain, Groundhog Day, Wicked Ways are all standouts! Should of had the COD bonus "Don't Front" on there as it was a boom bap beat. One complaint is he needed some more raw production from someone like Alchemist who IS HIS TOUR DJ or DJ Premier (Primo). Eminem (go back and listen to his underground ish and Rawkus 99 track "Anyman") slays boom bap 90s grimey east coast hip hop beats. Would love some features from other lyrical titans like Elzhi (from Detroit and criminally slept on), Pharoahe Monch (who he shouts out and had a lot of dope name drops not forced like Game), Masta Ace, Kool G Rap, Black Thought (Roots), Nas, Slaughterhouse, etc. Easily his best album since 2002 Eminem Show/8 mile timeline (granted his last 3 have been definition of hit and miss). BUY DELUXE Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    Should have been better, but it's still pretty good. There are some high points, like the opener "Bad Guy" and "Rap God" and there are some low points like "Stronger Than I Was" and "So Much Better". But it's all good.
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    MMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against the struggle" theme was done to death on his previous albums. Even Kendrick Lamar's appearence on a track couldn't save that pile of steaming poop. So whats left? Eminem's lyrical skills mostly save this album. 4 tracks are nice. Overall a bit disappointed. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot of the same themes, but develops them & updates them to fit this point in his career. “Bad Guy” is a perfect example of this, a sequel to “Stan” that features fantastic storytelling & some of the most insightful meta-commentary Eminem has ever done. That's another thing that makes this album work: his self-awareness is as effective as ever. He spends so much time not only addressing his controversial reputation, but embracing & poking fun at it too as a vehicle for clever wordplay & a confidence-packed delivery. Speaking of, Eminem's delivery is another significantly improved area on this album. He's fully reclaimed what made him so appealing in the first place: personality. He knows exactly how goofy, intense, emotional, tongue-in-cheek or conversational to sound in any given moment, and the unique flows from track to track really help keep the admittedly very long album engaging all the way through. He also does a great job at revisiting themes from an album that, again, for the most part feel more like interesting updates than boring retreads, and there are comparisons in subject matter to be made between the albums. Probably the most notable example of this is “Headlights”, where he basically apologizes to his mom about all the songs he made against her, and it makes for easily one of the most mature songs he's ever written. But my favorite has got to be “So Far...”, which is just plain hilarious all the way through, complaining about fame & the current generation in a wonderfully tongue-in-cheek way.

    I really wanna say these huge positives are all I have to say about this album. But unfortunately it has its low points too, in a few different areas. The first thing I wanna talk about are the features. To briefly go over the ones I like, Kendrick Lamar's verse on “Love Game” matches up to Eminem's level of storytelling perfectly. Also I love Nate Ruess' emotive chorus on “Headlights” & Skylar Grey's on The one in “Bad Guy” fits well with the theme in the same way Dido's did on “Stan”. But sometimes, the lineup of cookie-cutter female vocalists singing the hooks just feels unnecessary & desperate for a radio-friendly chorus. “The Monster” is possible the worst victim of this, surrounding its strong personal themes of self-doubt in the face of fame with severe overproduction & an annoyingly radio-baiting chorus from Rihanna. To me the best choruses Eminem's done have usually been the ones he does himself. Another song definitely worth bringing up is “Rap God”, which I actually really like for the most part. It captures a lot of what I already complimented this album for & the rapid-fire flow about halfway in is undeniably phenomenal. But before that part there are a couple parts that just have me scratching my head, like when he spends a few bars detailing a beef between Fabolous & Ray J that I doubt most people even knew existed or care about, or the “lookin boy” bit that's just awkward to listen to. I'm also not really a fan of the whiny bad relationship song “So Much Better” that can get embarrassingly melodramatic. But the worst moment has to be “Stronger Than I Was”, a horribly corny all-sung R&B ballad that has no reason to be on this album whatsoever. He's always been just a passable enough singer to do a chorus, but that's it. I didn't see much of a point in the “Parking Lot” skit either.

    Bringing it back to positives though, the production & instrumentals are fantastic almost all the way through. I love the bombastic rap-rock on “Berserk” & “Survival” that call back to early Beastie Boys. “Bad Guy” perfectly captures the same subtly eerie tone that “Stan” did while not feeling like a direct copy. And the heavy sampling on some tracks like “So Far...” & “Rhyme Or Reason” is executed really well, finding very clever ways of integrating the original songs into them in multiple parts of the song. Overall, as you can see I had mixed feelings about The Marshall Mathers LP 2, but I still love it as a whole. Eminem really is back in top form. Let's just hope he keeps his momentum this time around. (insert your own bad “guess who's back” joke here).

    Top 5 tracks: So Far..., Bad Guy, Headlights, Rhyme or Reason
    Score: 81/100
    (Check out a longer review on my Facebook page That Non-Elitist Music Fan.)
    Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    A good album overall, but it's missing the catchy, original beats from Dre in most the songs. It's good as ambiance, but I couldn't listen to the whole album non-stop.

    Some songs, namely "Baby" and "So Much Better", and my favourite "Brainless", have memorable choruses, and the latter has a great melody and rhythm. But, I somehow miss the D12 features and the evilish Slim Shady beats
    that the previous albums had.

    It doesn't beat LP1, nor is it better than any previous Em's album by far. Too soft/slow for my taste anyway. It's not bad, but I'd pick some songs one by one if I was you.
    Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Easily Eminem's best album in years. Overall, tracks like "Bad Guy", "Legacy", "Rap God", "Headlights", and "Evil Twin", are some of the best Eminem tracks in years. Very impressed by those in particular. "Survival" is nothing special, while tracks like "Rhyme or Reason" and "So Much Better" were destined to be deleted. A lot of tracks here are good, but not fantastic, which pretty much sums up the album as a whole; good but not fantastic. It is still his best album in a decade. Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    After Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we got a healthy helping of Slim Shady and Eminem in full blown attack mode on verbal fronts. That being said though, when the announcement of The Marshall Mathers LP 2 came to surface, nobody knew what to expect. Was the album title just a publicity stunt to increase album sales, and would Eminem leave us with a mess of an album and actually give us a Recovery 2? Being a massive Eminem fan, I can comfortably express my discomfort with Recovery, his last solo outing, but this album is no Recovery 2. This IS a sequel (or a continuation, as he likes to put it) to The Mathers LP in the grandest form. It's a culmination of the Eminem/Slim Shady we've grown to know, love and hate over the past 14 years. The album sets the tone right off the bat with the sequel to the classic "Stan", with "Bad Guy". Never could I imagine Eminem making a sequel to any song, let alone his most remarkable story telling piece, but he absolutely delivers with yet another chilling story. Eminem hasn't burned with so much purpose since his 2002 effort, "The Eminem Show". He sets out to prove his verbal skills and to engrave his place in rap history as a "Rap God". The album doesn't come without it's missteps of course. You have the sing-songy, strictly for the radio collaboration with Rihanna (which was really an inevitable piece of work based on the success of "Love the Way You Lie"). You also get one of the worst songs Eminem has ever composed with "Stronger Than I Was". Props to the MC for stepping outside of the box and trying something different, but it really doesn't fit in with the album nor does it sound very good anyway. Kid Cudi may not be a good singer, but he somehow makes his voice work for the songs he sings in. This is not the case for Eminem though, as his singing is absolutely cringe-worthy. I'm very sure Eminem is aware of this fact, and I wish he would've swallowed his pride and left this proud composition on the shelf maybe for Rihanna to sing on her next project. Back to the positives though; Eminem has shown maturation as an artist on his sequel here. It's exhibited through his heartfelt apology to his mother on "Headlights", a song that if you've followed Eminem from step one, is an absolute tear-jerker. Eminem has also proven himself to be very capable of stepping outside of the box and rhyming over some very unorthodox production. Take for example "So Far" and the hilarious collaboration with Kendrick Lamar, "Love Game". What other rapper would feature Kendrick Lamar in a role like this and make it work? Nobody. The song is a delight and a definite highlight from the album. "Evil Twin", the closing track from the album is perhaps one of the best from the album as a whole, and maybe his best concluding track yet. The song encompasses everything we love about Eminem and Slim Shady and ends the album on the highest point possible. Eminem may not have delivered a flawless record, nor should we have expected him to. BUT, it's a top 5 rap record of the year and some of his best work to date. It doesn't quite stand up as tall as the original Mathers LP, but it stands on it's own as a remarkable piece of work from an MC so deep into his career, who can still go bar for bar with any rapper to comes to mind. Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times.
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Eminem is a household name in the world of Rap, he is the one responsible for breaking the stereotype that White men can't rap. Starting off in the late '90s and still progressing with his career today, he creates a sequel to his 2000 hit, "The Marshall Mathers LP" and he does this by going back to his old style of dirty humor mixed with psychopath behavior. And he delivers with this sequel. "The Marshall Mathers LP 2" isn't the best release from Eminem, but it certainly shows that his days of retiring from the mic are far from close. The opening track suffers a little from originality, but then continues with the funny skit "Parking Lot" and successfully progresses quickly with the unique "Rhyme or Reason". Other standouts include "Survival", "Berzerk", "A*****e", "Legacy", and "The Monster". The Deluxe Edition also includes "Baby" and "Beautiful Pain". The guests are also great, which include Kendrick Lamar, Sia, Skylar Grey, and teaming up again with Rihanna for the follow up to "Love the Way you Lie", to the song "The Monster". The humor is tuned in right, the song variety is great, and the production, beats, and vocals are all top notch. The biggest problem with Marshall Mathers LP 2 is that it's way too long, some songs feel too long especially in the beginning, and the end feels a little anti-climatic, since the whole album stands at a little over a 100 minutes on the Deluxe Edition. Also in the Deluxe Edition, some of the humor for the last few songs goes a little too far. But in the end, I enjoyed quite a bit from "The Marshall Mathers LP 2", it continues the success of Eminem's formula, while also introducing newcomers to his brand of humor. Fans won't be disappointed and new listeners will find a lot to like here. Expand
  23. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    awesome album i've been listening to this track all day for last 2 days Eminem Rap God, i don't really follow the mainstream news so i was really surprised when i heard about his album, i don't think it will ever be as good as the 2000-2004 songs but for what we're getting this days in terms of music, this album is 20/10
  24. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album) has been able to do that to me. Perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  25. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought the structure was so smart and the interaction between the production and the lyrics is amazing and I definitely recommend listening to that one. My only problem is that I did not enjoy the more "commercial" songs such as "The Monster" featuring Rihanna and "Beautiful Pain" featuring Sia. They just felt predictable and obvious future singles. Expand
  26. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Soo much nostalgia...this is a treat for those who grew up listening to eminem in the early 2000s when we were introduced to this white boys angry rhymes. There are a lot of references to his old hits heck some songs sound like the beats from his LP album...which were IMHO, eminems best. Great album!
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes a sequel to the famous song ''Stan'', called Bad Guy in this album, where he raps as Mathew Mitchells who was Stan's little brother in the song Stan, the final verse is one of the greatest verses in modern day rapping. Eminem shows he's genius in this album and when the curtain truly calls the music industry will miss this legend. Expand
  28. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Best Eminem Album Great lyrics and he's more mature than he was before recovery he isn't still obssed with his mother or wife and less obbsession with murdering women.
  29. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    absolutly highclass, awesome lyrics, very deep, top3 Eminem Records

    im a fan since Marshall Mathers LP 1 and this record is on par with MMlp1 and The Eminem Show
  30. Nov 8, 2013
    6
    I gotta say this has been one of the most highly anticipated albums by far, since 2011 maybe... Because when you're talking about Eminem you always wonder "what's next?"

    Eminem is a lyrical genius indeed, he has always been so talented, but ever since his comeback in 2009, his technique has been skyrocketing, raising the bar of competition record after record. so when the news came that
    his album is coming close, I believe every fan and critic in this industry has been patiently waiting for something that's gonna blow his minds up... Relapse was really great compared to Encore (his last album before his hiatus), Recovery blew everybody's minds up, he excelled in his Bad Meets Evil EP; so coming to know MMLP2 was, you had to be excited.

    Eminem chose to do a sequel of his greatest of all time, best selling album "The Marshall Mathers LP", I always have a bad feeling about sequels to epic art masterpieces, specially in music, because you can never separate the sequel from the original one, you'll always find yourself comparing. Take Raekwon for instance, he tried this in "Only Built 4 Cuban Linx... Part II" which is a very good album, but every time you compare it to the 95 "Only Built 4 Cuban Linx..." you'll find the sequel lacking.

    Here Eminem is not just doing a sequel for this particular album, you can actually find him "sequel-ing" every hit he did, whether it was on Marshall Mathers LP (Bad Guy is a sequel to Stan, "Rhyme or Reason" is a sequel to Criminal) or on other albums (Brainless Brain Damage, Stronger than I was Kim, So Far every track he did about his mother)

    But on the other hand, this album is different than the original Marshall Mathers LP; instead of embracing his own alter-ego, he's trying to battle it, being more apologetic about it and about the tracks that he did back then, specially the ones regarding his own personal life... Eminem's a very clever artist, because he knows that right at this stage of his life, right now, nobody would want to hear a 41 years old rapper clowning about his mother and toying with murdering his wife, in the tracks "Headlight" and "Stronger than I was" you get to witness a more mature version of Eminem (often apologetic), so it was actually nice and unexpected.
    But if you kinda miss the old crazy version of Eminem, you won't miss it too much (Brainless Rap God)

    Eminem is not only reinvesting in his legacy, but the choice of Rick Rubin as a producer made him also reinvest in the legacy of hip-hop in general, Rick Rubin has provided Eminem with those throwback beats that will always get you back to an era of legends like Beastie Boys or Run D.M.C, Eminem is clever enough to use this just to make sure that all the nowadays rappers know where he's coming from.

    On the last album (particularly the track "You're Never Gone"), he promised his deceased friend Proof: instead of mourning your death, I’d rather celebrate your life
    Elevate to new height, step on the gas and accelerate, I'mma need 2 mics", A promise which he have totally fulfilled, with his mastery of the wordplay, and his sick multi-syllabic rhyme schemes, and an incredible flow that'll blow your minds off (check how he reached the Nirvana of flow in Rap God, and he did that as easy as flexing a muscle), he has -unlike Kanye West's I am God- proven that he's the best lyricist in this business by far.

    Yet, the album is still lacking something, the production is not as you might expect it to be, take one of the most anticipated tracks for instance "Love Game", you expect this to become a mash-up of two of the best rappers in this business, some kind of a torch-passing.. but all you get is a swaying, 1950s-era rockabilly beat consisting of a Wayne Fontana & the Mindbenders sample, which is completely out of context, the track is completely trash, the kind of music, the emphasis on music themes from his old albums were alright, but not really impressive.

    So put simply, the album is okay, but you have to expect more from a rapper like Eminem, but you're never really sure of what exactly to expect because what you get from this album is basically a great man who's facing an identity crisis: he knows he's the best but he's still afraid of being too out-of-date, he knows that his legacy and his background made him what he is, yet he wants to start fresh and clear the past. And you get this feeling because he's such a great songwriter. You'll get to enjoy his lyrical skills and his lacerating wordplay, yet you'll hate most of the production mixed to that.

    The highlights of the album are tracks like "The Monster", the flow of "Rap God", the throwback in "Berzerk", the crazy beat on "Brainless", the power in "Rhyme or Reason", the DJ Khalil rock laced beat in "Survival". That's about it, you can't be that impressed about the rest of the album.
    Expand
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece! Eminem at his best I just can't stop listening to it. Every song is awesome in its own way my favorite being headlights and berserk. Way better than recovery and encore imo. Fans of eminem would do well to pick up this album because Eminem is back and better than ever!
  32. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album really shows how far his lyrical ability has come to. my favorite song on this album that will truly be remembered in my opinion is Bad Guy (In my opinion) Eminem does what no one expected from a title of a song called "Bad Guy" this is actually the sequel to Stan I won't spoil anymore) but the ending is where I was just amazed on how amazing this song truly is. I literally cried at the ending (you'll find out why) I have also hear the entire album and it's such an amazing work of art. PLEASE PLEASE don't go thinking is going to be exactly like TMMLP because it's not. It's more of a throw back to the album showing respect to what is arguably his greatest album in his library. This album gets a 10/10 from me just because of how well he just puts lyrics together and the unique production that went into this and also because of all the throwbacks on this album that brought me back to 2000's. Thank you Eminem Expand
  33. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Eminem is back. Although a few songs fall flat, its safe to say the embarrassing years of 2004 are behind him. So glad to have him back. You rock man.
  34. Jul 14, 2014
    7
    For starters if you were disappointed with this album, you have no one to blame but yourself. Eminem's last 3 albums haven't been the best and are covered with flaws. People need to realize that he's not going to make the same quality music that he made from 99-03, it's just not going to happen. He's not the same person and he's a slightly different artist. With that being said, that doesn't mean Eminem can't continue to make good music. I don't want this to sound like a typical "Eminem has fallen off" review but people do need to recognize that and accept it. I thought Encore and Relapse were poor efforts, Recovery showed a glimmer of light but still had a lot of flaws which leads us to MMLP2. It surprised me that he decided to do the whole "going back to my roots" theme, I wasn't sure how it was going to turn out. For the most part though I feel like MMLP2 succeeds. Bad Guy was a great way to start off the album, I love how it's a continuation of Stan & the last verse where the beat changes is just fantastic! So much emotion in that last verse and Eminem does a great job at basically summing up his whole career in that one verse. Brainless is another stand out track for me where Eminem goes back to a kind of SSLP style rather than MMLP. Throughout the song he's being clever and witty while sort of lashing out at people in a way we haven't really heard him do in a very long time. The two bonus tracks on this LP Baby and Groundhog Day deserve a mention as well. Why these two tracks didn't make the albums final cut is beyond me because these tracks are great! Baby's first verse sounds like it was taken straight out of the The Eminem Show era, absolutely incredible and easily one of Eminem's best verses since his come back. Groundhog Day's beat and Eminem's delivery flow so smoothly together and Eminem just sounds so effortless. Now while I think this album succeeds in many aspects, it's not flawless. Survival is exactly the type of song I would expect to find on Recovery. Super bland, mediocre writing (along with some cringe worthy bars) & his annoying shouting delivery. The Monster is another song I would expect to find on Recovery. I have no problem with popish songs, in fact I thought Love the Way You Lie was a good song.....maybe a bit over played but nonetheless good. The Monster is Eminem trying super hard to recreate a Love the Way You Lie type song and it falls flat. Writing is down right bad for the most part and I just find the whole song extremely corny and unoriginal. It's a shame because the song has a really good music video. Than we get to Stronger Than I Was..... Now I'm not quiet sure what inspired him to make this disaster but nothing works. The singing is straight awful, the writing sounds like lines taken from a 14 year old girls diary. I mean... I don't know if he was trying something new or what but someone needs to tell him to never attempt to do a song like this again. Despite that though, overall I feel like this is a good album. He kept the flaws to a minimum for the most part and I think this is easily his best project since The Eminem Show. I give this project a 7/10, if I was being exact I think I rated it like a 7.3/10 which is about right for me. Expand
  35. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    With this new album I can't do it as a whole, but it was not what I would be expecting in 2011/2012 time. I will do a breakdown of every song. Bad Guy: Bad beat okay rap weak lyrics 5/10 Rhyme or Reason: Good beat good flow okay lyrics 7/10 So Much Better: Bad beat okay rap okay lyrics 6/10 Survival: Good beat good rap bad lyrics 7/10
    Legacy: Bad beat bad rap good lyrics 5/10
    **** Bad beat bad rap okay lyrics 3/10
    Bezerk: Okay Beat okay rap okay lyrics 5/10
    Rap God: Okay Beat good rap okay lyrics 7/10
    Brainless: Good Beat okay rap good lyrics hook) 7/10
    Stronger Than I was: Bad beat what rap?? bad lyrics 4/10
    Monster: Bad Beat Bad rap Bad lyrics 1/10
    So Far: Good Beat Bad Rap Bad lyrics 6/10
    Love Game: Bad Beat Bad Rap Okay Lyrics 2/10
    Headlights: Okay Beat Okay Rap Good Lyrics 7/10
    Evil Twin: Okay Beat Bad Rap Okay Lyrics 4/10

    In Conclusion meh

    I'm really sittin' on a 5.5 but i'll round it up because I'm an Eminem fan
    Expand
  36. Feb 19, 2014
    8
    I want to say Eminem is back, but this might be his final studio album. MMLP2 is a great album, Eminem's best work by far since The Eminem Show. The lyrics, the flow, and the Slim Shady-esque verses make this one of the best albums of 2013. I thought "Berzerk" was definitely one of the weak spots of the album; Rick Rubin's production was outstanding and I can appreciate the effort to channel old school hip-hop, but Em tries a little too hard on this track to achieve that old school sound. Most of his raps are altered and depend on Rubin's production. I liked the track, but it just didn't work in the context of the album. ~ 8.3/10

    Best track: "Legacy"

    Other notable tracks: "Bad Guy", "Rhyme Or Reason", "Rap God", "So Far…", "Headlights", "Evil Twin" & "Baby"
    Expand
  37. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Oh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verse of Bad Guy hooks you.
  38. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as the bonus tracks are amazing! Expand
  39. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure at first, but it's grown on me with every listen! Production is slightly disappointing but much better than Relapse and Recovery, lyrics are as always brilliant. This really is the perfect last album if it is to be his last.
  40. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Being an Eminem fan since I first heard "My Name Is" way back in late '98/early '99, I've seen Em have great albums (MMLP & TES), good albums (TSSLP & Recovery), an average album (Encore), & a bad album (Relapse). Upon listening to MMLP2 a few times, I think he has crafted another great album. The way Em uses classic songs such as The Zombies "Time of the Season", Joe Walsh's "Life's Been Good", Billy Squier's "The Stroke", Beastie Boys "You Gotta Fight For Your Right", & Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders' "The Game of Love", are nothing short of genius. The flow on "Rap God" shows why he is one of the greatest rappers ever (especially the 6 words a second part). "The Monster" with Rihanna has pop radio smash written all over it. "Love Game's" back and forth with Kendrick Lamar is a hit in the making. Two songs near the end are the highlights for me. "Headlights" has Em spitting with such fire and ferocity that he hasn't had really shown but a few times since "The Way I Am" all the while hitting the point with heartfelt and honest lyrics. "Beautiful Pain" is another highly introspective song that has radio crossover appeal. For me as of right now, MMLP2 is the album of the year. It feels like Em has the fire back that he lost after TES and hopefully is only a glimpse of great things to come. Expand
  41. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The production was on point throughout the whole of the album. Eminem's lyrical ability is absolutely amazing and his storytelling in Bad Guy is legendary. He was experimental with his use of rock but it does somehow work. The whole of the album is also cohesive! I recommend anyone to buy this album as this beats all the other contenders to album of the year.
  42. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    This is an excellent album that shows Eminem still has it and will never lose it. Eminem continues to prove why he is a lyrical genius and shows that he is also a little bit more mature.
  43. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    Eminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, a that is continues where Criminal, the last track on MMLP left off. Rhyme or Reason has great lyricism, it along with "Bad Guy" is one of the best tracks. "Legacy" is also a great track talking about his childhood. Rap God is an amazing track filled with insane lyricism, wordplay, speed and he also pays homage to other rappers. On "Love Game", Eminem collaborates with Kendrick Lamar. Another Highlight of the album is "Headlights", where Eminem apologizes to his mom. Overall this is Eminem's best project since The Eminem Show that he released back in 2002. Expand
  44. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    some good tracks, a lot of awful tracks. the production is lacklustre and far too many tracks are ruined by generic pop hooks that are far too recovery-esque and not the "vintage slim" that was promised. whilst many of the songs demonstrate em's technical ability and flow, he isn't really talking about anything new and for 41 year old the album sounds very immature and puerile.
  45. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Best album Eminem has done since TES. This album has it all, references to the first MMLP, serious songs, funny/sarcastic songs, more commercial and radio-friendly songs that the 5 deluxe edition songs MORE than make up for. 10/10
  46. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    MMLP2 is a great album. Eminem rediscovered his lyrical ability after Encore, Relapse, and Recovery were all really beneath him. The only thing is that it's advertised as the sequel to The Marshall Mathers LP, one of the most controversial music albums in history, and I just do not see the same type of edgy lyrics that made the original so memorable on this one. I would've really liked to hear another Public Service Announcement and another continuation of the "'97 Bonnie and Clyde"/"Kim" story. Other than that, Kendrick Lamar's verse is great, Rick Rubin does an excellent job with the production, and it is still a great album. Expand
  47. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    Sometimes critics can take the fun out of music. Or maybe they shouldn't be considered critics at all... pitchfork. I don't think Eminem was trying to make an album to rival MMLP1, or even SSLP for that matter. What this album shows is a relaxed Eminem. Recovery was a bunch of unecessary and annoying screaming. Relapse had that stupid nasal of his, and Encore... was just bad. I don't think Em will create an album as good as MMLP1 ever again, This http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jxvr0uk9-g

    is a better explanation than anything I could think of in this review.

    Overall score: 83/100

    Favourite songs: Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Brainless, So Far..., Love Game
    Least Favourite Songs: Stronger Than I Was, The Monster (so bad...)
    Expand
  48. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    The only reason this album is not a 10/10 is because the singles are not at all a re-visitation, and lazy lyrics. The rest of the album is completely amazing, I felt a lot of nostalgia listening to this album "Bad Guy", the "Stan" sequel is beautiful. The beats, all of them together give the album a unique feel. And what I like is his ability to rap over old songs, showing his ability to rap over anything. Best album since The Eminem Show. Expand
  49. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    A great success for Eminem. While I was never the greatest Eminem fan, I feel that MMLP2 really brings Eminem back up to par with today's rappers. His tracks sound more aggressive than ever, and that's all we could have ever asked for. Plus it is way better than Recovery.
  50. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    On MMLP2, Eminem seems more aware than ever of his public image, his career, and the history that his name brings to the music industry. Lines such as '...see if I get away with it now that I ain't as big as I was' suggest Eminem is fully understanding of his place in hip-hop.

    The album plays very much with older listeners nostalgia, even sampling brief beats from old songs. The result
    is an album that is both refreshing and familiar. Expand
  51. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    have now listened to the whole thing and my score went from an 8 to a 9. Definetely in my top 5 favorite albums of the year! Listen through the album, not once, not twice, but when you actually understand the lyrics.
  52. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    Songs like "Bad Guy" "Rhyme Or Reason" "So Much Better" "So Far" "Love Game" "Evil Twin" "Dont Front" Sound like the OLD Em! But better..which alone is a good enough reason to buy this album if your a true Eminem Fan if your just the casual listener there's something there for you and even Hardcore Hip Hop heads might have fun..Productions Okay..Some of his best and worse...Lyrically his best since the first one. Expand
  53. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I listened to Em's entire discography in the last few days while listening to this album through 4 times. After slogging through Encore, Relapse, and Recovery (which granted was solid but still had a lot of filler) it becomes glaringly obvious that MMLP2 is a great album. I already knew it but reviewing the lull in his career just felt like night and day. MMLP is a classic and it's different. They aren't really comparable, but like Em said the nostalgia is there. If you had never heard Eminem and MMLP2 was your first experience with Slim Shady your mind would be blown. Generally it seems that this album is being well received, but there are a select few haters out there (hiphopdx's review is GARBAGE they gave it a 4/5 but the review reads negatively and they say it tarnishes the legacy of the first LP) and these said haters I'm not sure what they expected. There are several songs that could fit right in with some of Em's old material, lyrically and sound wise, there are elements that made his new feel on Recovery fresh and intense, and then there are some completely new concepts and surprises. It's a great album, anyone who tries to say this isn't a unique and rewarding listening experience I think has some kind of ax to grind or is willingly just closing their mind and ears. PEACE Expand
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Update: I'll say after listening to this album on day one on iTunes, this album from Marshall Mathers is definitely a treasure for all those veteran fans and something new for recent fans who discovered him through the "Recovery" LP. This album is by far very creative in its instrumentals and quite lyrical in all the tracks, including the deluxe edition. It shows how Eminem hasn't lost touch at what he's good at regarding to his musicianship. But, there are flaws in this album and those flaws are the badly transitioned tracks which would of served better if there were skits like the "Parking Lot (Skit)" track to bridge between different tones, or themes. There is that occasional mismatch in the choruses in nearly every song on this album, and it must be taken as an experiment. Expand
  55. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    'The Marshall Mathers LP 2' is absolutely wonderful to me, the best rap album this year so far. Does it stand up to the likes of 'good kid, m.A.A.d city'? Probably not, but it's a finely produced album none-the-less.

    The standout tracks were clearly 'Bad Guy', a callback to Stan, and a harrowing introduction to the album; 'Rhyme or Reason', which exhibited Mathers' top form in
    lyricism; 'Love Game', featuring hints of reggae and RnB, a fantastic collaboration between Mathers and Kendrick Lamar the latter of which provided the best hook on the album. Finally we have 'Headlights', a souly colab between Nate Reuss of Fun. and Mathers, a soul-searching tune in which Em apologises to his mom for his disses towards her throughout his career ("But I'm sorry mama for Cleaning Out My Closet, at the time I was angry Rightfully maybe so, never meant that far to take it though").

    I was quite disappointed with the final track, Evil Twin based on the title and intro of the song, I was expecting a final confrontation between Mathers and Slim Shady, but instead we get a tune full of 'No Holds Barred' call outs and disses, much on the same line as Big Sean's Control. It's still a good track, just not as good as it could have been.

    A, 9/10
    Expand
  56. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Quite Simply Stunning, His best work to date. Been following his story since the very beginning, Rap-God? Yes, Rap-God on the verge of creating a whole new Genre.
  57. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    this album is very misleading. Berzerk does not fit in this album whatsoever. This album is painful to listen through. Was hoping for a lot better. All i got was disappointment. Dont waste your money
  58. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I was really anxious to listen to the album when it came out, and I thought it was good, but not great. It wasn't a disappointment but it wasn't a triumph either. The first half of the album was the best, and it was after "Rap God" that I was starting to lose some interest, "Stronger Than I Was", "So Far..." and "Love Game" helped in that aspect. They felt really out of place and that is something that I thought I was never going to say about an Eminem-album. The inclusion of Nate Ruess wasn't doing it for me really.
    But now for some positive things. With the absence of featuring rappers, and with 16 songs (not including the bonus disc), you get a lot of rhymes from Eminem, and boy, are they great. The hooks aren't as good as they used to be, but Eminem pulls his songs up with his fantastic verses. I loved "Rhyme or Reason", "Berzerk", "Rap God" and surprisingly "The Monster". I must have been the few who didn't go crazy for "Love the Way You Lie", but I don't know what it is, but Rihanna really brings an already good song to all new higher levels.
    What's a pity is that the album gets obvious comparisons with the brilliant first Marshall Mathers LP because of the sharing of names, which pulls it down. But as an album on its own it is a solid one and a welcome comeback from Recovery.
    Expand
  59. Dec 18, 2013
    5
    oh man this iffy ok. well the lyrics are somewhat powerful but some are so boring and lame! the good ones are berserk hole and headlights and the monster, berserk is rad and old school, is a great take on the album and with Skylar grey, headlights is my favorite its about that he loves his mom but that she did up and its powerful as hell. but lets be honest there are some STUPID SONGS!!!!!! such as everything I did not just list. there are some mean lyrics im not offended by his music but he is calling people and retards for no ****ing reason. he used to have deep meaning full insults, but we just got screwy crappy bully lines. ok for example Im 13 I get called names like and retard but I don't expect a 40 year old ****ing man too say it its stupid with no rhyme or reason get it? I guess its well produced though but most of this is garbage and its a terrible buy. WTF IS THIS Expand
  60. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    My favorite Eminem album of all time...hes better then before.. seriously..
    his flow has grown tenfold it seriously blows my mind. If recovery got album of the year this deserves rap album of the decade. i would say favorite song so at the moment is Groundhogs Day but it changes every week :D please buy this album.. don't pirate it he really deserves it you can tell he put his soul into this one.
  61. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Finally, Eminem is back. This is the album that tells the rap industry to step the hell up. Em found his clarity somewhere along the line and is setting the bar as high as he set it in 2000 with the original MMLP. There hasn't been a rap album like this in years.
  62. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    The Marshall Mathers LP 2, thankfully, is somewhat of an improvement over Recovery, and most definitely Relapse. It certainly does not have the original features of its 2000 predecessor (which is a classic). However, it is competent in its scope and some of the songs are catchy and valuable when the time is right. It seems like there is a lot of filler, and not everything was not completely necessary, as the deluxe version runs for nearly 100 minutes. I generally appreciate that Eminem has maintained a solid state in the 15 years of his career, and has not entirely "fallen off" like some of his contemporaries have. Expand
  63. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is my favorite rapper. After hearing the album the real slim shady I was hooked on him. Then the first part of the Marshall mathers was so successful and everybody loved it so he of course made a second part! Now this is the best album since the Eminem show. It was a step up from recovery. Recovery was a little ok just because it was his emotional album were here shared his personal feelings more seriously. But yeah this album has a lot of good songs and a lot of funny but serious songs at the same time. Beserk is a song that I really liked its not the best but its a pretty good song. Survival was a little mainstream. And he is almost yelling. Rap god was amazing some clever lyrics, and around the 4 minute mark it shows his real potential. I loved bad guy and I loved headlights. Overall great album Expand
  64. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  65. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    There is at least a million complex rhyme schemes in mmlp2...not to mention, the subject matter..rap mostly seems to be about proving u a re the sickest..and with songs like brainless, rap god and eminem tells us why he is the illest.mmlp2 rekindles my love for hip hop....
  66. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  67. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shreds on this album! Every time I listen through, I'm finding more genius analogies and metaphors. Some of the smartest, most creative lyrical work I've heard. Love the beats and style of the album.
  68. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing! The best since 'The Eminem Show". The lyrics, the production, the white boy did a great job. I think that who likes recovery wil not gonna like this one. It's another level. The album it's a history that begins with marshall mathers and ends with slim shady. He brings every character of his career. Maaaan, this is a masterpiece!
  69. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is one of the most intense and one of the best Eminem albums.It have everything I mean the intensity of old em,great flow,awesome tunes,pure rap material (rap god),catchy hooks.The album is reall great.Headlights is the best song on the album.MMLP2 in my opinion is better than any other rap album released in 2012 or 2013 it is better than yezzus,Magna cart....,The heist etc.For me MMLP2 is the best album of the year it is a must buy believe me MMLP2 will blow you away.I give MMLP2 a perfect 10. Expand
  70. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this album! I've got every Eminem Album and for me personally this is the second best so far! His only album that can match this is The MM LP 1. All these songs have great lyrics! Especially my personal favorite 'Rap God'. It's just a masterpiece... Definitely buy this album!
  71. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is best album of eminem since TES. It lives up to the standard of the original,even as intense,as dramatic as the original one.The storytelling and intensity in "Bad Guy",speed in "Rap God", emotions in "Headlights", the way to express himself in "Legacy" and "Evil Twin" and the fun in "Berzerk" and "Love Game" are just crazy as hell and mind-blowing.Even the rest of songs i didn't mention,plus bonus tracks of Deluxe edition are also about average.Only tracks I didn't feel yet are "Survival" and "The Monster". Expand
  72. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    If Recovery was Slim Shady's record to the general masses of pop culture then MM LP 2 is a rediscovery of his groove. Em crept in American living rooms at the near perfect time in the mid 90s by releasing The Slim Shady LP which played out like a young man from Detroit so annoyed and yet in a sophistical way pissed off with the world that he made us listen to his words, and words they were. What Eminem continued to do over the next decade was prove to be a bonafide headliner and popular culture icon, but to sway to the general masses got away from what made Slim well Slim. Encore, Relapse, and Recovery were no means bad albums but were not what we had come to know and expect from the one and only Slim Shady. MM LP 2 reclaims what is right with Slim and even echoes the anger that drips from his many verses. This album will have chart topping hits and that is perfectly fine and acceptable, Eminem fans would rather have it that way. Instead this album is about letting Eminem, 41, find what was he was missing and comfortably crave out his spot moving forward. Berzerk is a throwback to the days of the Beastie Boys and Headlights is a well crafted soliloquy as if to say sorry I fell short but have no fear it will not happen again. In a year which we were given Yeezus and Magna Carta Holy Grail in which two mega artists struggled to find their place in the current flavor of music culture Eminem throws his hat in the ring and finds that his spot has waiting for him to reclaim it the entire time he had stepped away, and the longtime Eminem fans who have been clamoring for the, dare I say it, vintage Eminem to come back is in fact back with what exactly made him brilliant and successful in the very first place. The only hope is that it does not take another twelve years for Eminem to leave and find himself again. Expand
  73. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it shows Eminem's progression as an artist. this album has everything from dark beats "Brainless" sick lyrics "Rap God" throwbacks to the first album. I love it all. Thank you Eminem Expand
  74. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Every song adds to the general appeal. The highlights are bad guy,rhyme or reason, headlights, legacy,brainless,rap god,berzerk, love game, evil twin, stronger than i was, so much better and survival and monster are decent. We hear his usual genius rhymes combined with the feel of his classic albums.
    AWESOME!
  75. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The album is a nice return to form, it's not so much a sequel as a return to the mindset used on MMLP1. With obvious nods to past albums, better beats than Recovery and Relapse, amazing rhyme structure, and a flow very reminiscent of The Eminem Show this is one of Eminem's best work. That's said, don't go in expecting it to be the first Marshall Mathers LP because it won't be.
  76. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is simply amazing! Just WOW! After listening to "Bad Guy", where he is talking about Stan's younger brother Mathew, it is just easy to say that this album reaches new heights that I haven't seen other albums do. No one can compare to this lyricism that Em shows on this album. Definitely not Lil Wayne. Not Drake, not J Cole, not Kanye, not Jay Z, not Kendrick (yet). Maybe only really Nas or Pac. Eminem's story telling ability is still at the top and for people to deny it simply means that they didn't truly understand the lyrics. People who don't like this album either don't get what Eminem is trying to say. I don't understand all the negative reviews here because this is an album, which is at such a high standpoint from a lyrical perspective that it's hard to argue whether any other rap album has this much genius summed up in one album. In my opinion, this is Eminem's greatest album that he's made. Just my opinion though. And he is definitely the greatest rapper of all time as he shows in "Rap God". Expand
  77. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    While not his best album, Em Proves that Technically and Lyrically he just might be the Best MC to ever touch a Mic, I was disappointed when i Heard "Berzerk", Survival And "Monster" and the God Awful "Better than i was" but for an album of 15 track to have 11 good to great songs, is not bad at all, Especially for an artist who had seemed to struggle with who he wanted to be as an Artist Since Encore in 2004, Eminem has (Probably for the moment) Taken Mainstream Hip Hop back to what its focus was when he dropped his Legendary Mmlp 13 yrs Ago: Lyrics and Delivery, While he still stumbles at some points Eminem hasn't sounded this complete on an Album since 2002. Expand
  78. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people are hating this album. I really do think this album a gem. There so much garbage hip hop out right now. This album was so much better than anything that been put out in the last couple years.
  79. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem returns to his roots for MMLP2, a sequel to his best rated album, MMLP. He delivers with great rhymes and a great flow. Songs that are great: Bad guy, Rap God, Headlights, So much better, The Monster, So Far...,Legacy. Songs that are good: Berzerk, Survival, Rhyme or Reason, Love Game, Brainless, Stronger than I was. Songs That are mediocre or bad: Evil twin,
  80. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Ironically the singles off this album are the worst ones (excluding Rap God of course...) However songs like Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, So Much Better, Legacy, A**hole, Rap God, Brainless, So Far..., Headlights, and Evil Twin are all incredible! Every bit as good as the original (sometimes better)... He's still got it!
  81. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I Loved Every Second of this sequel to MMLP, I grew up with Eminem from his drug junky days to till his sober life, he indefinelty change greatly but in a great way, plus this album still has that same rage he expressed in his older issues...it basically blew me away and if Eminem doesn't get Artist of the year then I don't who will.....
  82. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    LOVE this album! Em did not disappoint me in the least. I laughed, I cried, I reminisced. He has something for everyone on this album and that just shows you how much he appreciates ALL of his fans. Whether you liked SSLP, MMLP, The Eminem Show, Encore, Relapse, or Recovery or didn't you will find something to love about this album. Very impressed. Had to buy a clean version for when the kids are in the car and dirty for when it's just me and Shady. Well worth the money. I am so excited he is still making good music! Expand
  83. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    One of the most complete albums Eminem has released. Definitely buy the deluxe version! Great mix of humour, emotion, sarcasm and subversion. Bad Guy is one of his best songs ever.
  84. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my words. mmlp2 is as good as the original mmlp. Still inferior to "the eminem show". coz eminem show was a real dope masterpiece. i know many of you will disagree, mmlp2 is so calssy. if we left the "monster" track and COD one,,, then mmlp 2 is easily one of eminem's all time greatest work. so energetic nd filled with pride.
    Faourite tracks Rap god, headlights, Bad guy.
  85. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without a doubt.. I urge any fan of Hip Hop or just music in general to purchase this album (Preferably the Deluxe Edition) Expand
  86. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Wow, great album! every song is amazing and unique in its own way, I definitely would recommend the deluxe edition because there are some great tracks on that as well!
  87. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  88. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album. Eminem is back after Relapse and Recovery or should I say, Slim Shady is back The old Eminem fans will be able to feel the nostalgia while listening to the mix between brilliance and perfection of his incredible "lyrical miracles".
  89. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    it's from eminem so its a 10 of course he eminem dude eminemmmm the god the king my life this album contain such excellent lyrics listen all the tracks are beautiful
  90. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Beautiful... a worthy send-off, to arguably the greatest rapper of the generation, one of the greatest of all time. There were a handful of songs on this album I did not enjoy (Berzerk, Monster, Stronger than I was... which was dogsh*t) but for the most part, he has finally 'opened that can of "whoop-ass" with the shady aftermath lid' which he promised us for a while. The best Em album in the last decade (only surpassed by MMLP 1 and TES). He delves into the character of Eminem and truly shows us he still has his incredible "lyrical acrobatic abilities" as he puts it. He melds pure rap with some fantastic old soft rock melodies, a feat only the Rap God is capable of. This album is very indicative of his first three major studio releases (SSLP, MMLP, TES). Honorary Mention: I was nearly in tears by the last verse of Bad Guy (The sequel to Stan). Goodbye Eminem, you will forever be remembered as the Sinister Minister... Expand
  91. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    A real shame. Now I don't blame Eminem for the majority of this record. Let's face it. He can rap and is definitely one of the best lyricists out there. But the outdated references and poor samples and production from Rick Rubin really sinks this LP in my opinion. He did wonders with artists in the 80s but he is really losing touch with the current rap scene and wasn't able to do much good for this record. Both Eminem and Rubin should maybe read up on some current trends in society to improve whatever they're going to do in the future. Expand
  92. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Eminem i was extremely nervous for this release. His first three wide released Lps (SSLP, MMLP, TES) are not just amongst my favorite and most listened to Rap Albums, but Albums......period. incredible. but although i really liked recovery (a return to form in my opinion, although slightly inconsistent) ive felt his most 'recent' projects (encore, the re-up, relapse, Hell the Sequel) while having some good stuff on them missed the mark. So with this album being named the marshall mathers LP 2 I was really praying em hadnt bitten off more than he could chew and wasnt going to let himself down. I knew it would be good because nothing eminem has done in his back catalogue is trash. but how good? i was anxious to find out... and after 3 run throughs of the Deluxe CD thank its fantastic.
    Dont Hesitate, and dont listen to the minority of moaners, if ur an eminem fan or a fan of rap go and buy this album. He once again demonstrates that he is easily the the best lyrical wordsmith in the game, incredible power, flow, speed and the thing that separates him from the majority.... versatile. they are yet to find a rhythm or beat em cant smash! and not only versatile in his flow but the album has a perfect balance of tones. heavy flow and beat orientated tracks, to catchy and quite commercial (in a good way) tracks all the way down to deeply emotionally rooted songs in which even more of eminems soul is poured in with beautiful melodies. along with plenty of the wacky, funny, quirky, brash, rude, dirty, repulsive, insane, vulgure and violent, fire Marshall/slim shady we've grown to love in there too. and to top it all off plenty of re visitations, new perspectives and developments on old works and story lines. full of brilliant throwbacks :)
    I cant recommend this album enough. I wont say 'eminems back' because he never left (just sometimes wasn't all there), but in my opinion i would say this is his best release since The Eminem Show and back up there with the incredibly high quality material we all know his can produce 10/10
    Expand
  93. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    From the songs from the album that were released before the album's release, it made me lower my expectations a lot for the album. But boy oh boy, when I listened to the full album, it was incredible. He is back to his roots, with a good mix of old school 'Slim Shady' and some really meaningful songs. Don't get me wrong, it is no doubt the best album of the year, but it just doesn't give me the same feeling as the old Eminem. A must buy! Expand
  94. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    First of all people need to stop with the bogus 0 scores, that skews the actual rating, and thats clearly just personal hatred or pure ignorance. I'm not going to make a crazy detailed review. I grew up listening to Eminem my whole life, and this is certainly the most satisfying album he has put out since TES. You can't recreate the shock value or the buzz he had when he first came out its impossible that's something that can only be done once in a career, he could put out the best album the world has ever heard and people would say MMLP was better. I'm not saying that this album is better than that one. I just feel like this is the Eminem that I grew up listening to that puts all of his competition in the gutter. Excellent album if I had to find some cons I would say that some of the beats could have been better, and I would have liked less samples and more original dre beats. His lyricism was top notch I think a lot of rap fans today don't even know how to listen to eminem. They are used to sub par lyrics that take a 2nd grade education to understand. also I understand people think eminem needs to find new things to rap about other than his mom and kim and the same old but what did you expect its MMLP2 its going to have lots of similar topics however I feel like he does a great job talking about some of his regrets and retouching on his prior fame and the bad karma it created. Expand
  95. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Eminem is the Rap God. He goes absolutely Bezerk. All of the beats are intense remix/mashups of classic rock songs, they're all extremely memorable. Highly recommended to all.
  96. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    The album is classic, it's way better then Recovery. This is Eminem in his entirety, the flow is sick and the lyrics are just great, sensitivity and psychopaths at the same time with the touch of the street language. The beats are great, the rap rock and the piano especially, but he was should features more rappers than pop singers. One of the best rap albums ever. My rank is 9.5/10.
  97. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Wow. Incredible album.

    Knew it would be good but not this good. Em is really going back to his old ways but finds the balance between the old Slim Shady and the older Marshall Mathers. Still a cheeky a**hole though of course and that's what we want.

    Best tracks: Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Rap God, So Far, Love Game and Headlights
  98. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    As an Eminem fan since the beginning I can without doubt say this is one of the best album Eminem has done. I've listened through this album over 20 times now and i'm not nearly bored. I'm liking it more and more, and its a delight.
    For those kids who says this album is bad, go back to listening to Lil-wayne and Drake.

    Eminem is indeed a Rap God.
  99. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Solid album here by Eminem. Rhyming is great as always. His ability to use his multiple rhyme schemes while telling a story is unmatched in the industry. Favorite tracks have to be "Bad Guy" "Legacy" Love Game"
  100. Hel
    Nov 7, 2013
    8
    This is mainly based off of the single "The Monster" but from this single I can tell that Eminem is back and he is back for blood. There is a reason why he is hailed as an amazing artist and a constant threat to all those opposing.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.