The Marshall Mathers LP 2

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 860 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 860
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is just for real Eminem fans. If you compare to Marshall Mathers LP you wii say this is wack but is a very good album.
    Better album than Relapse and Recovery.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of my best albums so far and you better RESPECT THAT! I'm back and here to stay, and hell on I'm not retiring after this. I'ma slapping anyone asking me that again.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive Eminem fan since 2002 when The Eminem Show came out. It's my favorite album of him by far with Encore close second. MMLP and SSLP are classic albums but they never really hit my heart. Relapse was average and Recovery was great at first but it got old too soon.
    I was waiting for MMLP2 to drop out and didn't know what to expect. The result is better than i would ever
    I'm a massive Eminem fan since 2002 when The Eminem Show came out. It's my favorite album of him by far with Encore close second. MMLP and SSLP are classic albums but they never really hit my heart. Relapse was average and Recovery was great at first but it got old too soon.
    I was waiting for MMLP2 to drop out and didn't know what to expect. The result is better than i would ever imagined. Before I start, I want to say, that I have the Deluxe version of MMLP2.

    The album starts with BAD GUY which is the sequel of "Stan" and the first 4 minutes are decent. But when the beat changes, Eminem drops probably his most powerful verse of all time which makes this song an instant classic. (10/10)
    PARKING LOT is the only skit on the album, which is great because, well, we got more songs!
    Then we got RHYME OR REASON which samples "Time of the Season" by The Zombies. The song has references to his father he never met. (8/10)
    SO MUCH BETTER is some kind of revisit to "Kill You" from MMLP1 with a heavy beat. It seems to be one of the worse songs of the album. (6/10)
    We got SURVIVAL next. Powerful guitars and angry Eminem. The chorus is weaker and got overplayed soon. (7/10)
    LEGACY is one of the second gem of the album. Eminem escalates throughout the album and tells a story which will serve as a motivation for people. (10/10)
    **** can't keep up the pace of Legacy and is one of the few skippable songs. (6/10)
    We all know BERZERK pretty well. It's crazy and unique but serves as the "first funny single" and MMLP2 has better songs. (7/10)
    RAP GOD is a work by a Rap God. 100 words in 16 seconds? I don't have to say more. The beat is a little bit repetitive but the song is awesome! (9/10)
    BRAINLESS is not that great for the first listen but I found it really interesting. The lyrics are great and Eminem spits them in his typical rapid speed. (9/10)
    When I first heard the STRONGER THAN I WAS it left me completely speechless. Eminem isn't a great singer but the emotion make it up. Awesome!!! (10/10)
    THE MONSTER is similar to "Love the Way You Lie" but it's not that repetitive and it will have a huge success in radio. (8/10)
    SO FAR... is a unique song with a rock beat and Eminem makes fun of technology he doesn't understand. I've never heard anything like that from him before and I like it. (9/10)
    Everybody was waiting for LOVE GAME because it features the prince of hip-hop Kendrick Lamar. The song is a surpise because Eminem and K.Dot didn't battle for a #1 MC in the world but enjoyed a work together and the result is good. (8/10)
    HEADLIGHTS is probably the because surprise because Eminem tries to settle the relationship with his mother. The most emotional song on the album. Nate Ruess doesn't ruin it as much as I expected but I would have done it without him. (8/10)
    EVIL TWIN is a pure hip-hop. The style of this song reminds me "Underground" or "Soldier". Great lyrics but not a big fan of the beat. (8/10)

    Bonus tracks:

    BABY (6/10)
    DESPERATION (8/10)
    GROUNDHOG DAY (6/10)
    Then there is BEAUTIFUL PAIN which is one of the three best song on MMLP2. Love the chorus by Sia and Eminem's verses are even better. Should have been on the normal version. (10/10)
    WICKED WAYS is a great closing to a great album. Eminem drops one of the best verses here and then there is the return of Ken Kaniff at the end. (9/10)

    Overall the album is awesome! I expected a good work but it exceeded my expectations. The final chapter of a saga is a return to a top form and for me it's better than the original because he matured.
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everythingI have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everything that made Eminem big in the first place. Being such a huge fan of his so I'm delighted to say the least, This may be his strongest album so far and that's saying something. Christmas is here early! Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Perhaps his best album since The Eminem Show. The humor is back, though not as unpredictable as it was in his first outings. His rapping is super awesome, the lyrics are great, and the production is top-notch (in some tracks, not all of them). The album is very long and can get quite tiresome, especially if your listening to the deluxe edition.

    If you're a devoted Eminem fan, you will
    Perhaps his best album since The Eminem Show. The humor is back, though not as unpredictable as it was in his first outings. His rapping is super awesome, the lyrics are great, and the production is top-notch (in some tracks, not all of them). The album is very long and can get quite tiresome, especially if your listening to the deluxe edition.

    If you're a devoted Eminem fan, you will immensely enjoy this album. If not, there is also something here for you.

    My favorite tracks are: "Bad Guy", "Rap God", "Berzerk", and "Evil Twin".
    Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best Eminem album since TES. Bad Guy: 10/10 Rhyme or Reason: 9/10 So Much Better: 9/10 Survival: 7.5/10 Legacy: 9/10 7.5/10 Berzerk: 8.5/10 Rap God: 9/10 Brainless 8.5/10 Stronger than i was: 8/10 The Monster: 7:10 So Far: 8.5/10 Love Game: 8.5/10 Headlights 9.5/10 Evil Twin: 9/10. Bonus Tracks: Baby: 7.5/10 Desperation: 8/10 Groundhog Day: 9/10 Beautiful Pain: 9.5/10 WickedBest Eminem album since TES. Bad Guy: 10/10 Rhyme or Reason: 9/10 So Much Better: 9/10 Survival: 7.5/10 Legacy: 9/10 7.5/10 Berzerk: 8.5/10 Rap God: 9/10 Brainless 8.5/10 Stronger than i was: 8/10 The Monster: 7:10 So Far: 8.5/10 Love Game: 8.5/10 Headlights 9.5/10 Evil Twin: 9/10. Bonus Tracks: Baby: 7.5/10 Desperation: 8/10 Groundhog Day: 9/10 Beautiful Pain: 9.5/10 Wicked Ways: 8.5/10 Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is another level of awesome achieved by Eminem. He proves again why he is considered one of the best. Complex rhyme schemes, a bit more mature a bit more wiser. Listen to both concurrently and you'll see the difference but also the similar tones. He's still atop of his game here.
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This is the return of Eminem. If you didn't like him before or doubted his prowess, give this album a listen. After the singles we were given left me rather unimpressed, I had low expectations. My doubts were gone in just a few minutes of the first track. I think Bad Guy is the best song he's ever written apart from Stan. The second half of the song gave me chills.

    While the
    This is the return of Eminem. If you didn't like him before or doubted his prowess, give this album a listen. After the singles we were given left me rather unimpressed, I had low expectations. My doubts were gone in just a few minutes of the first track. I think Bad Guy is the best song he's ever written apart from Stan. The second half of the song gave me chills.

    While the production and the beats sometimes fall a bit flat, his skill is unmistakable. The genres blended into some of the tracks play on a bit of familiarity. I'm not particularly keen on some of them (Kid Rock...), but experimenting is most usually a plus. There's a lot more to be said and I could break down the album per song, but I won't.
    Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Long time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. ILong time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. I know a lot of people won't like this album simply because of how different it is, but personally I love this album and feel like Eminem really did take it to the next level. Expand
  10. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    great come back from Eminem,he's still on top of this rap game and this album is pure talent,happy to see him going back to the good old days..the album is a must buy..
  11. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  12. Dec 18, 2013
    7
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far...
    Although new listeners of Eminem would feel isolated listening to this album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2 will sure enjoy long-time Eminem fans with its outstanding highlights.

    Highlights: Parking Lot (Skit), Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Berzerk, Rap God, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster, So Far... and Love Game
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Stronger Than I Was, So Far... and Love Game.
    Personal Favorites: Parking Lot (Skit), Survival, Berzerk, Stronger Than I Was, The Monster and Headlights.
    Expand
  13. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great album! I love how he can slow it down on some songs, and be intensely violent and ferocious on other. It is completely fair to give this one a 10/10. The real Slim Shady is back!
  14. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Considering he's a 41 year old living legend it's very refreshing to hear him focus so much on his pen game. Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Rap God, Brainless, So Far, Love Game, Headlights, Evil Twin, Baby, Beautiful Pain, Groundhog Day, Wicked Ways are all standouts! Should of had the COD bonus "Don't Front" on there as it was a boom bap beat. One complaint is he needed some moreConsidering he's a 41 year old living legend it's very refreshing to hear him focus so much on his pen game. Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Rap God, Brainless, So Far, Love Game, Headlights, Evil Twin, Baby, Beautiful Pain, Groundhog Day, Wicked Ways are all standouts! Should of had the COD bonus "Don't Front" on there as it was a boom bap beat. One complaint is he needed some more raw production from someone like Alchemist who IS HIS TOUR DJ or DJ Premier (Primo). Eminem (go back and listen to his underground ish and Rawkus 99 track "Anyman") slays boom bap 90s grimey east coast hip hop beats. Would love some features from other lyrical titans like Elzhi (from Detroit and criminally slept on), Pharoahe Monch (who he shouts out and had a lot of dope name drops not forced like Game), Masta Ace, Kool G Rap, Black Thought (Roots), Nas, Slaughterhouse, etc. Easily his best album since 2002 Eminem Show/8 mile timeline (granted his last 3 have been definition of hit and miss). BUY DELUXE Expand
  15. Feb 6, 2016
    4
    just retire already. I mean seriously what is this album? How did "The Monster", "Survival" and "Stronger than I was" make it here?? granted, there are some decent songs like "Bad Guy" and "Rap God" but for the most part it's pretty mediocre.
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    MMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against theMMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against the struggle" theme was done to death on his previous albums. Even Kendrick Lamar's appearence on a track couldn't save that pile of steaming poop. So whats left? Eminem's lyrical skills mostly save this album. 4 tracks are nice. Overall a bit disappointed. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2014
    8
    I have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot ofI have to agree with what people are saying, that this is easily the most creative, energetic & inspired Eminem's been in a while. It has a lot of the same attitude & sense of humor as his first few albums, but you can tell that a lot of genuine effort was put into these tracks, rather than just being some desperate attempt to reclaim his “former glory” or whatever. He touches on a lot of the same themes, but develops them & updates them to fit this point in his career. “Bad Guy” is a perfect example of this, a sequel to “Stan” that features fantastic storytelling & some of the most insightful meta-commentary Eminem has ever done. That's another thing that makes this album work: his self-awareness is as effective as ever. He spends so much time not only addressing his controversial reputation, but embracing & poking fun at it too as a vehicle for clever wordplay & a confidence-packed delivery. Speaking of, Eminem's delivery is another significantly improved area on this album. He's fully reclaimed what made him so appealing in the first place: personality. He knows exactly how goofy, intense, emotional, tongue-in-cheek or conversational to sound in any given moment, and the unique flows from track to track really help keep the admittedly very long album engaging all the way through. He also does a great job at revisiting themes from an album that, again, for the most part feel more like interesting updates than boring retreads, and there are comparisons in subject matter to be made between the albums. Probably the most notable example of this is “Headlights”, where he basically apologizes to his mom about all the songs he made against her, and it makes for easily one of the most mature songs he's ever written. But my favorite has got to be “So Far...”, which is just plain hilarious all the way through, complaining about fame & the current generation in a wonderfully tongue-in-cheek way.

    I really wanna say these huge positives are all I have to say about this album. But unfortunately it has its low points too, in a few different areas. The first thing I wanna talk about are the features. To briefly go over the ones I like, Kendrick Lamar's verse on “Love Game” matches up to Eminem's level of storytelling perfectly. Also I love Nate Ruess' emotive chorus on “Headlights” & Skylar Grey's on The one in “Bad Guy” fits well with the theme in the same way Dido's did on “Stan”. But sometimes, the lineup of cookie-cutter female vocalists singing the hooks just feels unnecessary & desperate for a radio-friendly chorus. “The Monster” is possible the worst victim of this, surrounding its strong personal themes of self-doubt in the face of fame with severe overproduction & an annoyingly radio-baiting chorus from Rihanna. To me the best choruses Eminem's done have usually been the ones he does himself. Another song definitely worth bringing up is “Rap God”, which I actually really like for the most part. It captures a lot of what I already complimented this album for & the rapid-fire flow about halfway in is undeniably phenomenal. But before that part there are a couple parts that just have me scratching my head, like when he spends a few bars detailing a beef between Fabolous & Ray J that I doubt most people even knew existed or care about, or the “lookin boy” bit that's just awkward to listen to. I'm also not really a fan of the whiny bad relationship song “So Much Better” that can get embarrassingly melodramatic. But the worst moment has to be “Stronger Than I Was”, a horribly corny all-sung R&B ballad that has no reason to be on this album whatsoever. He's always been just a passable enough singer to do a chorus, but that's it. I didn't see much of a point in the “Parking Lot” skit either.

    Bringing it back to positives though, the production & instrumentals are fantastic almost all the way through. I love the bombastic rap-rock on “Berserk” & “Survival” that call back to early Beastie Boys. “Bad Guy” perfectly captures the same subtly eerie tone that “Stan” did while not feeling like a direct copy. And the heavy sampling on some tracks like “So Far...” & “Rhyme Or Reason” is executed really well, finding very clever ways of integrating the original songs into them in multiple parts of the song. Overall, as you can see I had mixed feelings about The Marshall Mathers LP 2, but I still love it as a whole. Eminem really is back in top form. Let's just hope he keeps his momentum this time around. (insert your own bad “guess who's back” joke here).

    Top 5 tracks: So Far..., Bad Guy, Headlights, Rhyme or Reason
    Score: 81/100
    (Check out a longer review on my Facebook page That Non-Elitist Music Fan.)
    Expand
  18. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    A good album overall, but it's missing the catchy, original beats from Dre in most the songs. It's good as ambiance, but I couldn't listen to the whole album non-stop.

    Some songs, namely "Baby" and "So Much Better", and my favourite "Brainless", have memorable choruses, and the latter has a great melody and rhythm. But, I somehow miss the D12 features and the evilish Slim Shady beats
    A good album overall, but it's missing the catchy, original beats from Dre in most the songs. It's good as ambiance, but I couldn't listen to the whole album non-stop.

    Some songs, namely "Baby" and "So Much Better", and my favourite "Brainless", have memorable choruses, and the latter has a great melody and rhythm. But, I somehow miss the D12 features and the evilish Slim Shady beats that the previous albums had.

    It doesn't beat LP1, nor is it better than any previous Em's album by far. Too soft/slow for my taste anyway. It's not bad, but I'd pick some songs one by one if I was you.
    Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Easily Eminem's best album in years. Overall, tracks like "Bad Guy", "Legacy", "Rap God", "Headlights", and "Evil Twin", are some of the best Eminem tracks in years. Very impressed by those in particular. "Survival" is nothing special, while tracks like "Rhyme or Reason" and "So Much Better" were destined to be deleted. A lot of tracks here are good, but not fantastic, which pretty muchEasily Eminem's best album in years. Overall, tracks like "Bad Guy", "Legacy", "Rap God", "Headlights", and "Evil Twin", are some of the best Eminem tracks in years. Very impressed by those in particular. "Survival" is nothing special, while tracks like "Rhyme or Reason" and "So Much Better" were destined to be deleted. A lot of tracks here are good, but not fantastic, which pretty much sums up the album as a whole; good but not fantastic. It is still his best album in a decade. Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    After Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we gotAfter Eminem released his 2010 project, "Recovery", fans and casual listeners alike were left wondering where his career was going. There were a few roads it could've been headed down; Retirement, another hiatus, or a continuation of the sober, somewhat apologetic Eminem we got from Recovery. His 2011 collaboration EP with Royce Da 5'9'' left many fans breathing a sigh of relief as we got a healthy helping of Slim Shady and Eminem in full blown attack mode on verbal fronts. That being said though, when the announcement of The Marshall Mathers LP 2 came to surface, nobody knew what to expect. Was the album title just a publicity stunt to increase album sales, and would Eminem leave us with a mess of an album and actually give us a Recovery 2? Being a massive Eminem fan, I can comfortably express my discomfort with Recovery, his last solo outing, but this album is no Recovery 2. This IS a sequel (or a continuation, as he likes to put it) to The Mathers LP in the grandest form. It's a culmination of the Eminem/Slim Shady we've grown to know, love and hate over the past 14 years. The album sets the tone right off the bat with the sequel to the classic "Stan", with "Bad Guy". Never could I imagine Eminem making a sequel to any song, let alone his most remarkable story telling piece, but he absolutely delivers with yet another chilling story. Eminem hasn't burned with so much purpose since his 2002 effort, "The Eminem Show". He sets out to prove his verbal skills and to engrave his place in rap history as a "Rap God". The album doesn't come without it's missteps of course. You have the sing-songy, strictly for the radio collaboration with Rihanna (which was really an inevitable piece of work based on the success of "Love the Way You Lie"). You also get one of the worst songs Eminem has ever composed with "Stronger Than I Was". Props to the MC for stepping outside of the box and trying something different, but it really doesn't fit in with the album nor does it sound very good anyway. Kid Cudi may not be a good singer, but he somehow makes his voice work for the songs he sings in. This is not the case for Eminem though, as his singing is absolutely cringe-worthy. I'm very sure Eminem is aware of this fact, and I wish he would've swallowed his pride and left this proud composition on the shelf maybe for Rihanna to sing on her next project. Back to the positives though; Eminem has shown maturation as an artist on his sequel here. It's exhibited through his heartfelt apology to his mother on "Headlights", a song that if you've followed Eminem from step one, is an absolute tear-jerker. Eminem has also proven himself to be very capable of stepping outside of the box and rhyming over some very unorthodox production. Take for example "So Far" and the hilarious collaboration with Kendrick Lamar, "Love Game". What other rapper would feature Kendrick Lamar in a role like this and make it work? Nobody. The song is a delight and a definite highlight from the album. "Evil Twin", the closing track from the album is perhaps one of the best from the album as a whole, and maybe his best concluding track yet. The song encompasses everything we love about Eminem and Slim Shady and ends the album on the highest point possible. Eminem may not have delivered a flawless record, nor should we have expected him to. BUT, it's a top 5 rap record of the year and some of his best work to date. It doesn't quite stand up as tall as the original Mathers LP, but it stands on it's own as a remarkable piece of work from an MC so deep into his career, who can still go bar for bar with any rapper to comes to mind. Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times.
  22. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Eminem is a household name in the world of Rap, he is the one responsible for breaking the stereotype that White men can't rap. Starting off in the late '90s and still progressing with his career today, he creates a sequel to his 2000 hit, "The Marshall Mathers LP" and he does this by going back to his old style of dirty humor mixed with psychopath behavior. And he delivers with thisEminem is a household name in the world of Rap, he is the one responsible for breaking the stereotype that White men can't rap. Starting off in the late '90s and still progressing with his career today, he creates a sequel to his 2000 hit, "The Marshall Mathers LP" and he does this by going back to his old style of dirty humor mixed with psychopath behavior. And he delivers with this sequel. "The Marshall Mathers LP 2" isn't the best release from Eminem, but it certainly shows that his days of retiring from the mic are far from close. The opening track suffers a little from originality, but then continues with the funny skit "Parking Lot" and successfully progresses quickly with the unique "Rhyme or Reason". Other standouts include "Survival", "Berzerk", "A*****e", "Legacy", and "The Monster". The Deluxe Edition also includes "Baby" and "Beautiful Pain". The guests are also great, which include Kendrick Lamar, Sia, Skylar Grey, and teaming up again with Rihanna for the follow up to "Love the Way you Lie", to the song "The Monster". The humor is tuned in right, the song variety is great, and the production, beats, and vocals are all top notch. The biggest problem with Marshall Mathers LP 2 is that it's way too long, some songs feel too long especially in the beginning, and the end feels a little anti-climatic, since the whole album stands at a little over a 100 minutes on the Deluxe Edition. Also in the Deluxe Edition, some of the humor for the last few songs goes a little too far. But in the end, I enjoyed quite a bit from "The Marshall Mathers LP 2", it continues the success of Eminem's formula, while also introducing newcomers to his brand of humor. Fans won't be disappointed and new listeners will find a lot to like here. Expand
  23. Jul 2, 2015
    7
    Good album. Eminem's rap game is back strong and showcases how Eminem is, and always has been, the king of old-school rap. The appearances of artists such as Rihanna and Sia add a really nice touch.
  24. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    awesome album i've been listening to this track all day for last 2 days Eminem Rap God, i don't really follow the mainstream news so i was really surprised when i heard about his album, i don't think it will ever be as good as the 2000-2004 songs but for what we're getting this days in terms of music, this album is 20/10
  25. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album)MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album) has been able to do that to me. Perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  26. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought theThis album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought the structure was so smart and the interaction between the production and the lyrics is amazing and I definitely recommend listening to that one. My only problem is that I did not enjoy the more "commercial" songs such as "The Monster" featuring Rihanna and "Beautiful Pain" featuring Sia. They just felt predictable and obvious future singles. Expand
  27. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Soo much nostalgia...this is a treat for those who grew up listening to eminem in the early 2000s when we were introduced to this white boys angry rhymes. There are a lot of references to his old hits heck some songs sound like the beats from his LP album...which were IMHO, eminems best. Great album!
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes aEminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes a sequel to the famous song ''Stan'', called Bad Guy in this album, where he raps as Mathew Mitchells who was Stan's little brother in the song Stan, the final verse is one of the greatest verses in modern day rapping. Eminem shows he's genius in this album and when the curtain truly calls the music industry will miss this legend. Expand
  29. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Best Eminem Album Great lyrics and he's more mature than he was before recovery he isn't still obssed with his mother or wife and less obbsession with murdering women.
  30. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    absolutly highclass, awesome lyrics, very deep, top3 Eminem Records

    im a fan since Marshall Mathers LP 1 and this record is on par with MMlp1 and The Eminem Show
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Mojo
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.