User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 691 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 691

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as theEminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as the bonus tracks are amazing! Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Best album Eminem has done since TES. This album has it all, references to the first MMLP, serious songs, funny/sarcastic songs, more commercial and radio-friendly songs that the 5 deluxe edition songs MORE than make up for. 10/10
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I'm a massive Eminem fan since 2002 when The Eminem Show came out. It's my favorite album of him by far with Encore close second. MMLP and SSLP are classic albums but they never really hit my heart. Relapse was average and Recovery was great at first but it got old too soon.
    I was waiting for MMLP2 to drop out and didn't know what to expect. The result is better than i would ever
    I'm a massive Eminem fan since 2002 when The Eminem Show came out. It's my favorite album of him by far with Encore close second. MMLP and SSLP are classic albums but they never really hit my heart. Relapse was average and Recovery was great at first but it got old too soon.
    I was waiting for MMLP2 to drop out and didn't know what to expect. The result is better than i would ever imagined. Before I start, I want to say, that I have the Deluxe version of MMLP2.

    The album starts with BAD GUY which is the sequel of "Stan" and the first 4 minutes are decent. But when the beat changes, Eminem drops probably his most powerful verse of all time which makes this song an instant classic. (10/10)
    PARKING LOT is the only skit on the album, which is great because, well, we got more songs!
    Then we got RHYME OR REASON which samples "Time of the Season" by The Zombies. The song has references to his father he never met. (8/10)
    SO MUCH BETTER is some kind of revisit to "Kill You" from MMLP1 with a heavy beat. It seems to be one of the worse songs of the album. (6/10)
    We got SURVIVAL next. Powerful guitars and angry Eminem. The chorus is weaker and got overplayed soon. (7/10)
    LEGACY is one of the second gem of the album. Eminem escalates throughout the album and tells a story which will serve as a motivation for people. (10/10)
    **** can't keep up the pace of Legacy and is one of the few skippable songs. (6/10)
    We all know BERZERK pretty well. It's crazy and unique but serves as the "first funny single" and MMLP2 has better songs. (7/10)
    RAP GOD is a work by a Rap God. 100 words in 16 seconds? I don't have to say more. The beat is a little bit repetitive but the song is awesome! (9/10)
    BRAINLESS is not that great for the first listen but I found it really interesting. The lyrics are great and Eminem spits them in his typical rapid speed. (9/10)
    When I first heard the STRONGER THAN I WAS it left me completely speechless. Eminem isn't a great singer but the emotion make it up. Awesome!!! (10/10)
    THE MONSTER is similar to "Love the Way You Lie" but it's not that repetitive and it will have a huge success in radio. (8/10)
    SO FAR... is a unique song with a rock beat and Eminem makes fun of technology he doesn't understand. I've never heard anything like that from him before and I like it. (9/10)
    Everybody was waiting for LOVE GAME because it features the prince of hip-hop Kendrick Lamar. The song is a surpise because Eminem and K.Dot didn't battle for a #1 MC in the world but enjoyed a work together and the result is good. (8/10)
    HEADLIGHTS is probably the because surprise because Eminem tries to settle the relationship with his mother. The most emotional song on the album. Nate Ruess doesn't ruin it as much as I expected but I would have done it without him. (8/10)
    EVIL TWIN is a pure hip-hop. The style of this song reminds me "Underground" or "Soldier". Great lyrics but not a big fan of the beat. (8/10)

    Bonus tracks:

    BABY (6/10)
    DESPERATION (8/10)
    GROUNDHOG DAY (6/10)
    Then there is BEAUTIFUL PAIN which is one of the three best song on MMLP2. Love the chorus by Sia and Eminem's verses are even better. Should have been on the normal version. (10/10)
    WICKED WAYS is a great closing to a great album. Eminem drops one of the best verses here and then there is the return of Ken Kaniff at the end. (9/10)

    Overall the album is awesome! I expected a good work but it exceeded my expectations. The final chapter of a saga is a return to a top form and for me it's better than the original because he matured.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is just for real Eminem fans. If you compare to Marshall Mathers LP you wii say this is wack but is a very good album.
    Better album than Relapse and Recovery.
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Long time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. ILong time Eminem fan here. I was in the 10th grade when his 1st studio album dropped and I've been following him ever since. I have to admit that on my 1st playthrough of the album I was mildly disappointed because I wasn't expecting the album to sound so unique. Eminem is a "rappers rapper" on this album... he goes absolutely ballistic with his rhyme structures and use of syllables. I know a lot of people won't like this album simply because of how different it is, but personally I love this album and feel like Eminem really did take it to the next level. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album really shows how far his lyrical ability has come to. my favorite song on this album that will truly be remembered in my opinion is Bad Guy (In my opinion) Eminem does what no one expected from a title of a song called "Bad Guy" this is actually the sequel to Stan I won't spoil anymore) but the ending is where I was just amazed on how amazing this song truly is. I literallyThis album really shows how far his lyrical ability has come to. my favorite song on this album that will truly be remembered in my opinion is Bad Guy (In my opinion) Eminem does what no one expected from a title of a song called "Bad Guy" this is actually the sequel to Stan I won't spoil anymore) but the ending is where I was just amazed on how amazing this song truly is. I literally cried at the ending (you'll find out why) I have also hear the entire album and it's such an amazing work of art. PLEASE PLEASE don't go thinking is going to be exactly like TMMLP because it's not. It's more of a throw back to the album showing respect to what is arguably his greatest album in his library. This album gets a 10/10 from me just because of how well he just puts lyrics together and the unique production that went into this and also because of all the throwbacks on this album that brought me back to 2000's. Thank you Eminem Expand
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    I listened to Em's entire discography in the last few days while listening to this album through 4 times. After slogging through Encore, Relapse, and Recovery (which granted was solid but still had a lot of filler) it becomes glaringly obvious that MMLP2 is a great album. I already knew it but reviewing the lull in his career just felt like night and day. MMLP is a classic and it'sI listened to Em's entire discography in the last few days while listening to this album through 4 times. After slogging through Encore, Relapse, and Recovery (which granted was solid but still had a lot of filler) it becomes glaringly obvious that MMLP2 is a great album. I already knew it but reviewing the lull in his career just felt like night and day. MMLP is a classic and it's different. They aren't really comparable, but like Em said the nostalgia is there. If you had never heard Eminem and MMLP2 was your first experience with Slim Shady your mind would be blown. Generally it seems that this album is being well received, but there are a select few haters out there (hiphopdx's review is GARBAGE they gave it a 4/5 but the review reads negatively and they say it tarnishes the legacy of the first LP) and these said haters I'm not sure what they expected. There are several songs that could fit right in with some of Em's old material, lyrically and sound wise, there are elements that made his new feel on Recovery fresh and intense, and then there are some completely new concepts and surprises. It's a great album, anyone who tries to say this isn't a unique and rewarding listening experience I think has some kind of ax to grind or is willingly just closing their mind and ears. PEACE Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is my favorite rapper. After hearing the album the real slim shady I was hooked on him. Then the first part of the Marshall mathers was so successful and everybody loved it so he of course made a second part! Now this is the best album since the Eminem show. It was a step up from recovery. Recovery was a little ok just because it was his emotional album were here shared his personalEminem is my favorite rapper. After hearing the album the real slim shady I was hooked on him. Then the first part of the Marshall mathers was so successful and everybody loved it so he of course made a second part! Now this is the best album since the Eminem show. It was a step up from recovery. Recovery was a little ok just because it was his emotional album were here shared his personal feelings more seriously. But yeah this album has a lot of good songs and a lot of funny but serious songs at the same time. Beserk is a song that I really liked its not the best but its a pretty good song. Survival was a little mainstream. And he is almost yelling. Rap god was amazing some clever lyrics, and around the 4 minute mark it shows his real potential. I loved bad guy and I loved headlights. Overall great album Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best Eminem album since TES. Bad Guy: 10/10 Rhyme or Reason: 9/10 So Much Better: 9/10 Survival: 7.5/10 Legacy: 9/10 7.5/10 Berzerk: 8.5/10 Rap God: 9/10 Brainless 8.5/10 Stronger than i was: 8/10 The Monster: 7:10 So Far: 8.5/10 Love Game: 8.5/10 Headlights 9.5/10 Evil Twin: 9/10. Bonus Tracks: Baby: 7.5/10 Desperation: 8/10 Groundhog Day: 9/10 Beautiful Pain: 9.5/10 WickedBest Eminem album since TES. Bad Guy: 10/10 Rhyme or Reason: 9/10 So Much Better: 9/10 Survival: 7.5/10 Legacy: 9/10 7.5/10 Berzerk: 8.5/10 Rap God: 9/10 Brainless 8.5/10 Stronger than i was: 8/10 The Monster: 7:10 So Far: 8.5/10 Love Game: 8.5/10 Headlights 9.5/10 Evil Twin: 9/10. Bonus Tracks: Baby: 7.5/10 Desperation: 8/10 Groundhog Day: 9/10 Beautiful Pain: 9.5/10 Wicked Ways: 8.5/10 Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Great album! I love how he can slow it down on some songs, and be intensely violent and ferocious on other. It is completely fair to give this one a 10/10. The real Slim Shady is back!
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times.
  13. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    absolutly highclass, awesome lyrics, very deep, top3 Eminem Records

    im a fan since Marshall Mathers LP 1 and this record is on par with MMlp1 and The Eminem Show
  14. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Being an Eminem fan since I first heard "My Name Is" way back in late '98/early '99, I've seen Em have great albums (MMLP & TES), good albums (TSSLP & Recovery), an average album (Encore), & a bad album (Relapse). Upon listening to MMLP2 a few times, I think he has crafted another great album. The way Em uses classic songs such as The Zombies "Time of the Season", Joe Walsh's "Life's BeenBeing an Eminem fan since I first heard "My Name Is" way back in late '98/early '99, I've seen Em have great albums (MMLP & TES), good albums (TSSLP & Recovery), an average album (Encore), & a bad album (Relapse). Upon listening to MMLP2 a few times, I think he has crafted another great album. The way Em uses classic songs such as The Zombies "Time of the Season", Joe Walsh's "Life's Been Good", Billy Squier's "The Stroke", Beastie Boys "You Gotta Fight For Your Right", & Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders' "The Game of Love", are nothing short of genius. The flow on "Rap God" shows why he is one of the greatest rappers ever (especially the 6 words a second part). "The Monster" with Rihanna has pop radio smash written all over it. "Love Game's" back and forth with Kendrick Lamar is a hit in the making. Two songs near the end are the highlights for me. "Headlights" has Em spitting with such fire and ferocity that he hasn't had really shown but a few times since "The Way I Am" all the while hitting the point with heartfelt and honest lyrics. "Beautiful Pain" is another highly introspective song that has radio crossover appeal. For me as of right now, MMLP2 is the album of the year. It feels like Em has the fire back that he lost after TES and hopefully is only a glimpse of great things to come. Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    My favorite Eminem album of all time...hes better then before.. seriously..
    his flow has grown tenfold it seriously blows my mind. If recovery got album of the year this deserves rap album of the decade. i would say favorite song so at the moment is Groundhogs Day but it changes every week :D please buy this album.. don't pirate it he really deserves it you can tell he put his soul into this one.
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shreds on this album! Every time I listen through, I'm finding more genius analogies and metaphors. Some of the smartest, most creative lyrical work I've heard. Love the beats and style of the album.
  17. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Amazing! The best since 'The Eminem Show". The lyrics, the production, the white boy did a great job. I think that who likes recovery wil not gonna like this one. It's another level. The album it's a history that begins with marshall mathers and ends with slim shady. He brings every character of his career. Maaaan, this is a masterpiece!
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is one of the most intense and one of the best Eminem albums.It have everything I mean the intensity of old em,great flow,awesome tunes,pure rap material (rap god),catchy hooks.The album is reall great.Headlights is the best song on the album.MMLP2 in my opinion is better than any other rap album released in 2012 or 2013 it is better than yezzus,Magna cart....,The heist etc.For meMMLP2 is one of the most intense and one of the best Eminem albums.It have everything I mean the intensity of old em,great flow,awesome tunes,pure rap material (rap god),catchy hooks.The album is reall great.Headlights is the best song on the album.MMLP2 in my opinion is better than any other rap album released in 2012 or 2013 it is better than yezzus,Magna cart....,The heist etc.For me MMLP2 is the best album of the year it is a must buy believe me MMLP2 will blow you away.I give MMLP2 a perfect 10. Expand
  19. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this album! I've got every Eminem Album and for me personally this is the second best so far! His only album that can match this is The MM LP 1. All these songs have great lyrics! Especially my personal favorite 'Rap God'. It's just a masterpiece... Definitely buy this album!
  20. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The album is a nice return to form, it's not so much a sequel as a return to the mindset used on MMLP1. With obvious nods to past albums, better beats than Recovery and Relapse, amazing rhyme structure, and a flow very reminiscent of The Eminem Show this is one of Eminem's best work. That's said, don't go in expecting it to be the first Marshall Mathers LP because it won't be.
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I don't know why people are hating this album. I really do think this album a gem. There so much garbage hip hop out right now. This album was so much better than anything that been put out in the last couple years.
  22. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Ironically the singles off this album are the worst ones (excluding Rap God of course...) However songs like Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, So Much Better, Legacy, A**hole, Rap God, Brainless, So Far..., Headlights, and Evil Twin are all incredible! Every bit as good as the original (sometimes better)... He's still got it!
  23. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    LOVE this album! Em did not disappoint me in the least. I laughed, I cried, I reminisced. He has something for everyone on this album and that just shows you how much he appreciates ALL of his fans. Whether you liked SSLP, MMLP, The Eminem Show, Encore, Relapse, or Recovery or didn't you will find something to love about this album. Very impressed. Had to buy a clean version for when theLOVE this album! Em did not disappoint me in the least. I laughed, I cried, I reminisced. He has something for everyone on this album and that just shows you how much he appreciates ALL of his fans. Whether you liked SSLP, MMLP, The Eminem Show, Encore, Relapse, or Recovery or didn't you will find something to love about this album. Very impressed. Had to buy a clean version for when the kids are in the car and dirty for when it's just me and Shady. Well worth the money. I am so excited he is still making good music! Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This is another level of awesome achieved by Eminem. He proves again why he is considered one of the best. Complex rhyme schemes, a bit more mature a bit more wiser. Listen to both concurrently and you'll see the difference but also the similar tones. He's still atop of his game here.
  25. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This is the return of Eminem. If you didn't like him before or doubted his prowess, give this album a listen. After the singles we were given left me rather unimpressed, I had low expectations. My doubts were gone in just a few minutes of the first track. I think Bad Guy is the best song he's ever written apart from Stan. The second half of the song gave me chills.

    While the
    This is the return of Eminem. If you didn't like him before or doubted his prowess, give this album a listen. After the singles we were given left me rather unimpressed, I had low expectations. My doubts were gone in just a few minutes of the first track. I think Bad Guy is the best song he's ever written apart from Stan. The second half of the song gave me chills.

    While the production and the beats sometimes fall a bit flat, his skill is unmistakable. The genres blended into some of the tracks play on a bit of familiarity. I'm not particularly keen on some of them (Kid Rock...), but experimenting is most usually a plus. There's a lot more to be said and I could break down the album per song, but I won't.
    Expand
  26. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    Considering he's a 41 year old living legend it's very refreshing to hear him focus so much on his pen game. Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Rap God, Brainless, So Far, Love Game, Headlights, Evil Twin, Baby, Beautiful Pain, Groundhog Day, Wicked Ways are all standouts! Should of had the COD bonus "Don't Front" on there as it was a boom bap beat. One complaint is he needed some moreConsidering he's a 41 year old living legend it's very refreshing to hear him focus so much on his pen game. Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Legacy, Rap God, Brainless, So Far, Love Game, Headlights, Evil Twin, Baby, Beautiful Pain, Groundhog Day, Wicked Ways are all standouts! Should of had the COD bonus "Don't Front" on there as it was a boom bap beat. One complaint is he needed some more raw production from someone like Alchemist who IS HIS TOUR DJ or DJ Premier (Primo). Eminem (go back and listen to his underground ish and Rawkus 99 track "Anyman") slays boom bap 90s grimey east coast hip hop beats. Would love some features from other lyrical titans like Elzhi (from Detroit and criminally slept on), Pharoahe Monch (who he shouts out and had a lot of dope name drops not forced like Game), Masta Ace, Kool G Rap, Black Thought (Roots), Nas, Slaughterhouse, etc. Easily his best album since 2002 Eminem Show/8 mile timeline (granted his last 3 have been definition of hit and miss). BUY DELUXE Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Easily Eminem's best album in years. Overall, tracks like "Bad Guy", "Legacy", "Rap God", "Headlights", and "Evil Twin", are some of the best Eminem tracks in years. Very impressed by those in particular. "Survival" is nothing special, while tracks like "Rhyme or Reason" and "So Much Better" were destined to be deleted. A lot of tracks here are good, but not fantastic, which pretty muchEasily Eminem's best album in years. Overall, tracks like "Bad Guy", "Legacy", "Rap God", "Headlights", and "Evil Twin", are some of the best Eminem tracks in years. Very impressed by those in particular. "Survival" is nothing special, while tracks like "Rhyme or Reason" and "So Much Better" were destined to be deleted. A lot of tracks here are good, but not fantastic, which pretty much sums up the album as a whole; good but not fantastic. It is still his best album in a decade. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album)MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album) has been able to do that to me. Perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  29. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    MMLP2 is a great album. Eminem rediscovered his lyrical ability after Encore, Relapse, and Recovery were all really beneath him. The only thing is that it's advertised as the sequel to The Marshall Mathers LP, one of the most controversial music albums in history, and I just do not see the same type of edgy lyrics that made the original so memorable on this one. I would've really liked toMMLP2 is a great album. Eminem rediscovered his lyrical ability after Encore, Relapse, and Recovery were all really beneath him. The only thing is that it's advertised as the sequel to The Marshall Mathers LP, one of the most controversial music albums in history, and I just do not see the same type of edgy lyrics that made the original so memorable on this one. I would've really liked to hear another Public Service Announcement and another continuation of the "'97 Bonnie and Clyde"/"Kim" story. Other than that, Kendrick Lamar's verse is great, Rick Rubin does an excellent job with the production, and it is still a great album. Expand
  30. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    great come back from Eminem,he's still on top of this rap game and this album is pure talent,happy to see him going back to the good old days..the album is a must buy..
  31. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes aEminem shows why he is regarded as one of the greatest rappers of all time in this absolutely jaw dropping album. It has a mix of classic hip hop and modern hip hop and rap. In this album the infamous slim shady makes a reappearance and tears down songs with Eminem in songs such as ''Evil Twin''. Eminem, also makes a lot of references to the prequel of this album MMLP1 in which he makes a sequel to the famous song ''Stan'', called Bad Guy in this album, where he raps as Mathew Mitchells who was Stan's little brother in the song Stan, the final verse is one of the greatest verses in modern day rapping. Eminem shows he's genius in this album and when the curtain truly calls the music industry will miss this legend. Expand
  32. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece! Eminem at his best I just can't stop listening to it. Every song is awesome in its own way my favorite being headlights and berserk. Way better than recovery and encore imo. Fans of eminem would do well to pick up this album because Eminem is back and better than ever!
  33. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    The production was on point throughout the whole of the album. Eminem's lyrical ability is absolutely amazing and his storytelling in Bad Guy is legendary. He was experimental with his use of rock but it does somehow work. The whole of the album is also cohesive! I recommend anyone to buy this album as this beats all the other contenders to album of the year.
  34. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    The only reason this album is not a 10/10 is because the singles are not at all a re-visitation, and lazy lyrics. The rest of the album is completely amazing, I felt a lot of nostalgia listening to this album "Bad Guy", the "Stan" sequel is beautiful. The beats, all of them together give the album a unique feel. And what I like is his ability to rap over old songs, showing his ability toThe only reason this album is not a 10/10 is because the singles are not at all a re-visitation, and lazy lyrics. The rest of the album is completely amazing, I felt a lot of nostalgia listening to this album "Bad Guy", the "Stan" sequel is beautiful. The beats, all of them together give the album a unique feel. And what I like is his ability to rap over old songs, showing his ability to rap over anything. Best album since The Eminem Show. Expand
  35. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    Songs like "Bad Guy" "Rhyme Or Reason" "So Much Better" "So Far" "Love Game" "Evil Twin" "Dont Front" Sound like the OLD Em! But better..which alone is a good enough reason to buy this album if your a true Eminem Fan if your just the casual listener there's something there for you and even Hardcore Hip Hop heads might have fun..Productions Okay..Some of his best and worse...Lyrically hisSongs like "Bad Guy" "Rhyme Or Reason" "So Much Better" "So Far" "Love Game" "Evil Twin" "Dont Front" Sound like the OLD Em! But better..which alone is a good enough reason to buy this album if your a true Eminem Fan if your just the casual listener there's something there for you and even Hardcore Hip Hop heads might have fun..Productions Okay..Some of his best and worse...Lyrically his best since the first one. Expand
  36. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    'The Marshall Mathers LP 2' is absolutely wonderful to me, the best rap album this year so far. Does it stand up to the likes of 'good kid, m.A.A.d city'? Probably not, but it's a finely produced album none-the-less.

    The standout tracks were clearly 'Bad Guy', a callback to Stan, and a harrowing introduction to the album; 'Rhyme or Reason', which exhibited Mathers' top form in
    'The Marshall Mathers LP 2' is absolutely wonderful to me, the best rap album this year so far. Does it stand up to the likes of 'good kid, m.A.A.d city'? Probably not, but it's a finely produced album none-the-less.

    The standout tracks were clearly 'Bad Guy', a callback to Stan, and a harrowing introduction to the album; 'Rhyme or Reason', which exhibited Mathers' top form in lyricism; 'Love Game', featuring hints of reggae and RnB, a fantastic collaboration between Mathers and Kendrick Lamar the latter of which provided the best hook on the album. Finally we have 'Headlights', a souly colab between Nate Reuss of Fun. and Mathers, a soul-searching tune in which Em apologises to his mom for his disses towards her throughout his career ("But I'm sorry mama for Cleaning Out My Closet, at the time I was angry Rightfully maybe so, never meant that far to take it though").

    I was quite disappointed with the final track, Evil Twin based on the title and intro of the song, I was expecting a final confrontation between Mathers and Slim Shady, but instead we get a tune full of 'No Holds Barred' call outs and disses, much on the same line as Big Sean's Control. It's still a good track, just not as good as it could have been.

    A, 9/10
    Expand
  37. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    this album is very misleading. Berzerk does not fit in this album whatsoever. This album is painful to listen through. Was hoping for a lot better. All i got was disappointment. Dont waste your money
  38. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This is great album and shows how Eminem has grown as person. He is not bashing his wife/mother doesn't mean it is not good hip-hop album. Lyrically this is one of the finest album. He also understands and addresses hate towards him in the songs like He shows his rap skills in "Rap god".
    Best storytelling in "Bad guy". other songs are also very great. Overall this is great album
  39. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 is best album of eminem since TES. It lives up to the standard of the original,even as intense,as dramatic as the original one.The storytelling and intensity in "Bad Guy",speed in "Rap God", emotions in "Headlights", the way to express himself in "Legacy" and "Evil Twin" and the fun in "Berzerk" and "Love Game" are just crazy as hell and mind-blowing.Even the rest of songs i didn'tMMLP2 is best album of eminem since TES. It lives up to the standard of the original,even as intense,as dramatic as the original one.The storytelling and intensity in "Bad Guy",speed in "Rap God", emotions in "Headlights", the way to express himself in "Legacy" and "Evil Twin" and the fun in "Berzerk" and "Love Game" are just crazy as hell and mind-blowing.Even the rest of songs i didn't mention,plus bonus tracks of Deluxe edition are also about average.Only tracks I didn't feel yet are "Survival" and "The Monster". Expand
  40. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it showsMMLP 2 is a classic. MMLP 1 was the first album I ever bought, so the second one in my opinion had to live up to those expectations I had from listening to "kill you" "remember me" "criminal" which are all classics. MMLP 2 is amazing from both a lyrical and a production point of view. while some of the songs ex "love game" "the monster" has a Pop beat to it. I still love it as it shows Eminem's progression as an artist. this album has everything from dark beats "Brainless" sick lyrics "Rap God" throwbacks to the first album. I love it all. Thank you Eminem Expand
  41. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Every song adds to the general appeal. The highlights are bad guy,rhyme or reason, headlights, legacy,brainless,rap god,berzerk, love game, evil twin, stronger than i was, so much better and survival and monster are decent. We hear his usual genius rhymes combined with the feel of his classic albums.
    AWESOME!
  42. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    This album is simply amazing! Just WOW! After listening to "Bad Guy", where he is talking about Stan's younger brother Mathew, it is just easy to say that this album reaches new heights that I haven't seen other albums do. No one can compare to this lyricism that Em shows on this album. Definitely not Lil Wayne. Not Drake, not J Cole, not Kanye, not Jay Z, not Kendrick (yet). Maybe onlyThis album is simply amazing! Just WOW! After listening to "Bad Guy", where he is talking about Stan's younger brother Mathew, it is just easy to say that this album reaches new heights that I haven't seen other albums do. No one can compare to this lyricism that Em shows on this album. Definitely not Lil Wayne. Not Drake, not J Cole, not Kanye, not Jay Z, not Kendrick (yet). Maybe only really Nas or Pac. Eminem's story telling ability is still at the top and for people to deny it simply means that they didn't truly understand the lyrics. People who don't like this album either don't get what Eminem is trying to say. I don't understand all the negative reviews here because this is an album, which is at such a high standpoint from a lyrical perspective that it's hard to argue whether any other rap album has this much genius summed up in one album. In my opinion, this is Eminem's greatest album that he's made. Just my opinion though. And he is definitely the greatest rapper of all time as he shows in "Rap God". Expand
  43. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I Loved Every Second of this sequel to MMLP, I grew up with Eminem from his drug junky days to till his sober life, he indefinelty change greatly but in a great way, plus this album still has that same rage he expressed in his older issues...it basically blew me away and if Eminem doesn't get Artist of the year then I don't who will.....
  44. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Wow, great album! every song is amazing and unique in its own way, I definitely would recommend the deluxe edition because there are some great tracks on that as well!
  45. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Beautiful... a worthy send-off, to arguably the greatest rapper of the generation, one of the greatest of all time. There were a handful of songs on this album I did not enjoy (Berzerk, Monster, Stronger than I was... which was dogsh*t) but for the most part, he has finally 'opened that can of "whoop-ass" with the shady aftermath lid' which he promised us for a while. The best Em album inBeautiful... a worthy send-off, to arguably the greatest rapper of the generation, one of the greatest of all time. There were a handful of songs on this album I did not enjoy (Berzerk, Monster, Stronger than I was... which was dogsh*t) but for the most part, he has finally 'opened that can of "whoop-ass" with the shady aftermath lid' which he promised us for a while. The best Em album in the last decade (only surpassed by MMLP 1 and TES). He delves into the character of Eminem and truly shows us he still has his incredible "lyrical acrobatic abilities" as he puts it. He melds pure rap with some fantastic old soft rock melodies, a feat only the Rap God is capable of. This album is very indicative of his first three major studio releases (SSLP, MMLP, TES). Honorary Mention: I was nearly in tears by the last verse of Bad Guy (The sequel to Stan). Goodbye Eminem, you will forever be remembered as the Sinister Minister... Expand
  46. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    From the songs from the album that were released before the album's release, it made me lower my expectations a lot for the album. But boy oh boy, when I listened to the full album, it was incredible. He is back to his roots, with a good mix of old school 'Slim Shady' and some really meaningful songs. Don't get me wrong, it is no doubt the best album of the year, but it just doesn't giveFrom the songs from the album that were released before the album's release, it made me lower my expectations a lot for the album. But boy oh boy, when I listened to the full album, it was incredible. He is back to his roots, with a good mix of old school 'Slim Shady' and some really meaningful songs. Don't get me wrong, it is no doubt the best album of the year, but it just doesn't give me the same feeling as the old Eminem. A must buy! Expand
  47. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Wow. Incredible album.

    Knew it would be good but not this good. Em is really going back to his old ways but finds the balance between the old Slim Shady and the older Marshall Mathers. Still a cheeky a**hole though of course and that's what we want.

    Best tracks: Bad Guy, Rhyme or Reason, Rap God, So Far, Love Game and Headlights
  48. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    The MMLP2 is absolutely brilliant. It definitely lives up to the hype and the legacy of LP. Berzerk, Survival and Rap god are the new masterpieces and the rest of the songs do not disappoint and are perfectly showing the original Slim Shady's style. Cannot wait for the next album, it seems Eminem has still got it.
  49. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine. He
    Im going to go ahead and EXPOSE METACRITIC AS GARBAGE real quick, if anyone wants to stick around...

    Eminem goes unforgiving hard-as-nails in-your-face and mad-as-hell on MMLP1, and Metacritic slams him for being over the top. They claim the classic was a 78, and Yeezus, the ten song experimental embarrassment that Kanye can't get over 3.2 stars on Itunes, is an 85. Ok, fine.

    He lightens up on The Eminem Show, and Metacritic says it's too soft and they've heard it all before. 75.

    He mixes in other artists and dumbs down the "Slim Shady" persona on The Reup, and they absolutely trash it and say he's lost his voice. 50. A 50, supposedly a worse album than IANAHB 2.
    Do You Sense the Bullsh.it Yet.....

    He brings back Slim Shady as violent yet comedic as ever on Relapse, and they say he's forcing the issue. 59.

    He changes his content for the more mature, stays witty, address' his past demons and shows immense growth as an artist on Recovery, and they say he's boring. 63.

    THEN, on MMLP2, he combines Recovery, MMLP, and the Eminem Show in an experimental, mature, hard-as-nails, yet emotional reflection on his career, and they give it a 73. Thats 7 points worse than Teflon Don, by Rick Ross.

    METACRITIC: WHAT THE ACTUAL ARE YOU DOING.
    Expand
  50. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    MMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against theMMLP2 was supposed to be a re-vistitation to the classic MMLP, and in some regards I can see that. Especially considering/comparing the content (or lack there of) would be one similarity. But that would be about it. The Rick Rubin tracks stick out like eye-sores (sounding almost like Kid Rock songs), songs with the singing hooks all sound the same and the reliance on the "me against the struggle" theme was done to death on his previous albums. Even Kendrick Lamar's appearence on a track couldn't save that pile of steaming poop. So whats left? Eminem's lyrical skills mostly save this album. 4 tracks are nice. Overall a bit disappointed. Expand
  51. Nov 19, 2013
    8
    Best Eminem Album Great lyrics and he's more mature than he was before recovery he isn't still obssed with his mother or wife and less obbsession with murdering women.
  52. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    Eminem is back. Although a few songs fall flat, its safe to say the embarrassing years of 2004 are behind him. So glad to have him back. You rock man.
  53. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    If Recovery was Slim Shady's record to the general masses of pop culture then MM LP 2 is a rediscovery of his groove. Em crept in American living rooms at the near perfect time in the mid 90s by releasing The Slim Shady LP which played out like a young man from Detroit so annoyed and yet in a sophistical way pissed off with the world that he made us listen to his words, and words theyIf Recovery was Slim Shady's record to the general masses of pop culture then MM LP 2 is a rediscovery of his groove. Em crept in American living rooms at the near perfect time in the mid 90s by releasing The Slim Shady LP which played out like a young man from Detroit so annoyed and yet in a sophistical way pissed off with the world that he made us listen to his words, and words they were. What Eminem continued to do over the next decade was prove to be a bonafide headliner and popular culture icon, but to sway to the general masses got away from what made Slim well Slim. Encore, Relapse, and Recovery were no means bad albums but were not what we had come to know and expect from the one and only Slim Shady. MM LP 2 reclaims what is right with Slim and even echoes the anger that drips from his many verses. This album will have chart topping hits and that is perfectly fine and acceptable, Eminem fans would rather have it that way. Instead this album is about letting Eminem, 41, find what was he was missing and comfortably crave out his spot moving forward. Berzerk is a throwback to the days of the Beastie Boys and Headlights is a well crafted soliloquy as if to say sorry I fell short but have no fear it will not happen again. In a year which we were given Yeezus and Magna Carta Holy Grail in which two mega artists struggled to find their place in the current flavor of music culture Eminem throws his hat in the ring and finds that his spot has waiting for him to reclaim it the entire time he had stepped away, and the longtime Eminem fans who have been clamoring for the, dare I say it, vintage Eminem to come back is in fact back with what exactly made him brilliant and successful in the very first place. The only hope is that it does not take another twelve years for Eminem to leave and find himself again. Expand
  54. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    "Modern classic" was all that popped into my head as I listened to the dying seconds of 'Evil Twin.' Let's be honest, at the age of 41, no one is on Eminem's level. That being said, we tend to expect so much more from Eminem and those expectations grow following every release. Now Relapse and Recovery respectively were exceptional albums, however, the expectations exceeded the albums"Modern classic" was all that popped into my head as I listened to the dying seconds of 'Evil Twin.' Let's be honest, at the age of 41, no one is on Eminem's level. That being said, we tend to expect so much more from Eminem and those expectations grow following every release. Now Relapse and Recovery respectively were exceptional albums, however, the expectations exceeded the albums themselves. Releasing an album named after his most acclaimed/successful work to date raises the expectations for the MMLP 2 through the roof. I was a bit too nervous going into the album, but Eminem really proved a point this time. 13 years after the release of his masterpiece Marshall Mathers LP, he revisits unclosed topics with MMLP 2. He solidifies his positions in the rap game and provides a meaningful insight into his life as a grown man. The beats were absolutely outstanding and fresh. Without any doubt, the beats ranged from creative, old-school, new, hardcore and at times, odd. But this time, thanks to Rick Rubin, we were rewarded with a catalogue of beats so different and lavish, every time I put my headphones on I got a feeling that I just couldn't quite put a finger on. Marshall again surprised us with the lyrical wordplay that he's mastered, but somehow managed to top his unsurpassed lyricism. Overall, ask and ye shall receive, the real Slim Shady was lost, but now is found and he has relieved the fans with a musical gem. Expand
  55. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Best Slim Shady feel and comeback from Recovery. The productions from Rick Rubin and Dr Dre, with all those puns and punchlines, this is another classic by Eminem. Love it.
  56. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Is it embarrassing when you're the one out of 100 who doesn't like this album? Does it make you wrong? Idk. Among Eminem's three perfect albums. Probably comes in second place after the first Marshall Mathers LP. Anyone who says otherwise is fully entitled to their own opinion, even when it's incorrect!
  57. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    All I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what theseAll I can say is WOW, not just because this album is so great, but because there are so many blind people that have no clue what Eminem really are rapping about and can't see the good in this album. Get some knowlegde and don't review Eminem's albums if you no nothing about rap, please. Enough said, this man will always be the God of rap. I'm glad I don't really give a about what these nonsense people say about the album, I just wanted to say this short; get some knowlegde. Expand
  58. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This is one of my best albums so far and you better RESPECT THAT! I'm back and here to stay, and hell on I'm not retiring after this. I'ma slapping anyone asking me that again.
  59. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everythingI have to admit I'd pretty much given up on Em after his last few albums, but this album really represents a return to form. Makes me realise how much I've missed 'good' music. When Eminem does it well he does it better than anybody in my opinion, and this is an incredibly strong record, with expert rhyming, brilliant production and lots of raw honesty and emotion, basically everything that made Eminem big in the first place. Being such a huge fan of his so I'm delighted to say the least, This may be his strongest album so far and that's saying something. Christmas is here early! Expand
  60. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Perhaps his best album since The Eminem Show. The humor is back, though not as unpredictable as it was in his first outings. His rapping is super awesome, the lyrics are great, and the production is top-notch (in some tracks, not all of them). The album is very long and can get quite tiresome, especially if your listening to the deluxe edition.

    If you're a devoted Eminem fan, you will
    Perhaps his best album since The Eminem Show. The humor is back, though not as unpredictable as it was in his first outings. His rapping is super awesome, the lyrics are great, and the production is top-notch (in some tracks, not all of them). The album is very long and can get quite tiresome, especially if your listening to the deluxe edition.

    If you're a devoted Eminem fan, you will immensely enjoy this album. If not, there is also something here for you.

    My favorite tracks are: "Bad Guy", "Rap God", "Berzerk", and "Evil Twin".
    Expand
  61. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    Loved this album! Just superb! Bad Guy is amazing , Headlights is one of the best songs i've ever heard by Em. However , my favorite song from this album is Beautiful Pain. :D
  62. Nov 6, 2013
    6
    Should have been better, but it's still pretty good. There are some high points, like the opener "Bad Guy" and "Rap God" and there are some low points like "Stronger Than I Was" and "So Much Better". But it's all good.
  63. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    A good album overall, but it's missing the catchy, original beats from Dre in most the songs. It's good as ambiance, but I couldn't listen to the whole album non-stop.

    Some songs, namely "Baby" and "So Much Better", and my favourite "Brainless", have memorable choruses, and the latter has a great melody and rhythm. But, I somehow miss the D12 features and the evilish Slim Shady beats
    A good album overall, but it's missing the catchy, original beats from Dre in most the songs. It's good as ambiance, but I couldn't listen to the whole album non-stop.

    Some songs, namely "Baby" and "So Much Better", and my favourite "Brainless", have memorable choruses, and the latter has a great melody and rhythm. But, I somehow miss the D12 features and the evilish Slim Shady beats that the previous albums had.

    It doesn't beat LP1, nor is it better than any previous Em's album by far. Too soft/slow for my taste anyway. It's not bad, but I'd pick some songs one by one if I was you.
    Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    Eminem is a household name in the world of Rap, he is the one responsible for breaking the stereotype that White men can't rap. Starting off in the late '90s and still progressing with his career today, he creates a sequel to his 2000 hit, "The Marshall Mathers LP" and he does this by going back to his old style of dirty humor mixed with psychopath behavior. And he delivers with thisEminem is a household name in the world of Rap, he is the one responsible for breaking the stereotype that White men can't rap. Starting off in the late '90s and still progressing with his career today, he creates a sequel to his 2000 hit, "The Marshall Mathers LP" and he does this by going back to his old style of dirty humor mixed with psychopath behavior. And he delivers with this sequel. "The Marshall Mathers LP 2" isn't the best release from Eminem, but it certainly shows that his days of retiring from the mic are far from close. The opening track suffers a little from originality, but then continues with the funny skit "Parking Lot" and successfully progresses quickly with the unique "Rhyme or Reason". Other standouts include "Survival", "Berzerk", "A*****e", "Legacy", and "The Monster". The Deluxe Edition also includes "Baby" and "Beautiful Pain". The guests are also great, which include Kendrick Lamar, Sia, Skylar Grey, and teaming up again with Rihanna for the follow up to "Love the Way you Lie", to the song "The Monster". The humor is tuned in right, the song variety is great, and the production, beats, and vocals are all top notch. The biggest problem with Marshall Mathers LP 2 is that it's way too long, some songs feel too long especially in the beginning, and the end feels a little anti-climatic, since the whole album stands at a little over a 100 minutes on the Deluxe Edition. Also in the Deluxe Edition, some of the humor for the last few songs goes a little too far. But in the end, I enjoyed quite a bit from "The Marshall Mathers LP 2", it continues the success of Eminem's formula, while also introducing newcomers to his brand of humor. Fans won't be disappointed and new listeners will find a lot to like here. Expand
  65. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    awesome album i've been listening to this track all day for last 2 days Eminem Rap God, i don't really follow the mainstream news so i was really surprised when i heard about his album, i don't think it will ever be as good as the 2000-2004 songs but for what we're getting this days in terms of music, this album is 20/10
  66. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    This album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought theThis album really does showcase Eminem's ability to evoke all kinds of emotions to the listener I often found myself smiling or laughing at certain phrases or rhymes that I thought was just awesome. Clearly this guy is a rhyming genius and a wordsmith. I am really in awe of the things he comes out with. The track "Evil Twin" stuck with me after listening to the album, I thought the structure was so smart and the interaction between the production and the lyrics is amazing and I definitely recommend listening to that one. My only problem is that I did not enjoy the more "commercial" songs such as "The Monster" featuring Rihanna and "Beautiful Pain" featuring Sia. They just felt predictable and obvious future singles. Expand
  67. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Soo much nostalgia...this is a treat for those who grew up listening to eminem in the early 2000s when we were introduced to this white boys angry rhymes. There are a lot of references to his old hits heck some songs sound like the beats from his LP album...which were IMHO, eminems best. Great album!
  68. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Oh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verse of Bad Guy hooks you.
  69. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure at first, but it's grown on me with every listen! Production is slightly disappointing but much better than Relapse and Recovery, lyrics are as always brilliant. This really is the perfect last album if it is to be his last.
  70. Apr 30, 2014
    9
    Eminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, aEminem is back with a great comeback, bringing back the lyricism, creativeness and wordplay we loved about him during his prime years 1999-2003. You will already notice the album starts off with a pure classic track "Bad Guy", it is a sequel to the critically acclaimed track "Stan" from the first MMLP. MMLP2 continues where the first MMLP left off, with Bad Guy then a "Parking Lot" skit, a that is continues where Criminal, the last track on MMLP left off. Rhyme or Reason has great lyricism, it along with "Bad Guy" is one of the best tracks. "Legacy" is also a great track talking about his childhood. Rap God is an amazing track filled with insane lyricism, wordplay, speed and he also pays homage to other rappers. On "Love Game", Eminem collaborates with Kendrick Lamar. Another Highlight of the album is "Headlights", where Eminem apologizes to his mom. Overall this is Eminem's best project since The Eminem Show that he released back in 2002. Expand
  71. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    A great success for Eminem. While I was never the greatest Eminem fan, I feel that MMLP2 really brings Eminem back up to par with today's rappers. His tracks sound more aggressive than ever, and that's all we could have ever asked for. Plus it is way better than Recovery.
  72. Nov 7, 2013
    9
    have now listened to the whole thing and my score went from an 8 to a 9. Definetely in my top 5 favorite albums of the year! Listen through the album, not once, not twice, but when you actually understand the lyrics.
  73. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Quite Simply Stunning, His best work to date. Been following his story since the very beginning, Rap-God? Yes, Rap-God on the verge of creating a whole new Genre.
  74. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I was really anxious to listen to the album when it came out, and I thought it was good, but not great. It wasn't a disappointment but it wasn't a triumph either. The first half of the album was the best, and it was after "Rap God" that I was starting to lose some interest, "Stronger Than I Was", "So Far..." and "Love Game" helped in that aspect. They felt really out of place and that isI was really anxious to listen to the album when it came out, and I thought it was good, but not great. It wasn't a disappointment but it wasn't a triumph either. The first half of the album was the best, and it was after "Rap God" that I was starting to lose some interest, "Stronger Than I Was", "So Far..." and "Love Game" helped in that aspect. They felt really out of place and that is something that I thought I was never going to say about an Eminem-album. The inclusion of Nate Ruess wasn't doing it for me really.
    But now for some positive things. With the absence of featuring rappers, and with 16 songs (not including the bonus disc), you get a lot of rhymes from Eminem, and boy, are they great. The hooks aren't as good as they used to be, but Eminem pulls his songs up with his fantastic verses. I loved "Rhyme or Reason", "Berzerk", "Rap God" and surprisingly "The Monster". I must have been the few who didn't go crazy for "Love the Way You Lie", but I don't know what it is, but Rihanna really brings an already good song to all new higher levels.
    What's a pity is that the album gets obvious comparisons with the brilliant first Marshall Mathers LP because of the sharing of names, which pulls it down. But as an album on its own it is a solid one and a welcome comeback from Recovery.
    Expand
  75. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Finally, Eminem is back. This is the album that tells the rap industry to step the hell up. Em found his clarity somewhere along the line and is setting the bar as high as he set it in 2000 with the original MMLP. There hasn't been a rap album like this in years.
  76. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    There is at least a million complex rhyme schemes in mmlp2...not to mention, the subject matter..rap mostly seems to be about proving u a re the sickest..and with songs like brainless, rap god and eminem tells us why he is the illest.mmlp2 rekindles my love for hip hop....
  77. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    While not his best album, Em Proves that Technically and Lyrically he just might be the Best MC to ever touch a Mic, I was disappointed when i Heard "Berzerk", Survival And "Monster" and the God Awful "Better than i was" but for an album of 15 track to have 11 good to great songs, is not bad at all, Especially for an artist who had seemed to struggle with who he wanted to be as an ArtistWhile not his best album, Em Proves that Technically and Lyrically he just might be the Best MC to ever touch a Mic, I was disappointed when i Heard "Berzerk", Survival And "Monster" and the God Awful "Better than i was" but for an album of 15 track to have 11 good to great songs, is not bad at all, Especially for an artist who had seemed to struggle with who he wanted to be as an Artist Since Encore in 2004, Eminem has (Probably for the moment) Taken Mainstream Hip Hop back to what its focus was when he dropped his Legendary Mmlp 13 yrs Ago: Lyrics and Delivery, While he still stumbles at some points Eminem hasn't sounded this complete on an Album since 2002. Expand
  78. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem returns to his roots for MMLP2, a sequel to his best rated album, MMLP. He delivers with great rhymes and a great flow. Songs that are great: Bad guy, Rap God, Headlights, So much better, The Monster, So Far...,Legacy. Songs that are good: Berzerk, Survival, Rhyme or Reason, Love Game, Brainless, Stronger than I was. Songs That are mediocre or bad: Evil twin,
  79. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    One of the most complete albums Eminem has released. Definitely buy the deluxe version! Great mix of humour, emotion, sarcasm and subversion. Bad Guy is one of his best songs ever.
  80. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    In my words. mmlp2 is as good as the original mmlp. Still inferior to "the eminem show". coz eminem show was a real dope masterpiece. i know many of you will disagree, mmlp2 is so calssy. if we left the "monster" track and COD one,,, then mmlp 2 is easily one of eminem's all time greatest work. so energetic nd filled with pride.
    Faourite tracks Rap god, headlights, Bad guy.
  81. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    This Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without aThis Album is perfect, Slim Shady Is back and better than ever.. His Lyricism is superb, his comedy is on point, His story telling is jaw droppingly amazing: Case and Point: "Bad Guy".. This Record I believe may be better than its predecessor.. Reason I say this is because of the Raw lyrics he brings forth in each song, as well as the versatility.. Each song is pure genius without a doubt.. I urge any fan of Hip Hop or just music in general to purchase this album (Preferably the Deluxe Edition) Expand
  82. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Brilliant album. Eminem is back after Relapse and Recovery or should I say, Slim Shady is back The old Eminem fans will be able to feel the nostalgia while listening to the mix between brilliance and perfection of his incredible "lyrical miracles".
  83. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    it's from eminem so its a 10 of course he eminem dude eminemmmm the god the king my life this album contain such excellent lyrics listen all the tracks are beautiful
  84. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    A real shame. Now I don't blame Eminem for the majority of this record. Let's face it. He can rap and is definitely one of the best lyricists out there. But the outdated references and poor samples and production from Rick Rubin really sinks this LP in my opinion. He did wonders with artists in the 80s but he is really losing touch with the current rap scene and wasn't able to do much goodA real shame. Now I don't blame Eminem for the majority of this record. Let's face it. He can rap and is definitely one of the best lyricists out there. But the outdated references and poor samples and production from Rick Rubin really sinks this LP in my opinion. He did wonders with artists in the 80s but he is really losing touch with the current rap scene and wasn't able to do much good for this record. Both Eminem and Rubin should maybe read up on some current trends in society to improve whatever they're going to do in the future. Expand
  85. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Eminem i was extremely nervous for this release. His first three wide released Lps (SSLP, MMLP, TES) are not just amongst my favorite and most listened to Rap Albums, but Albums......period. incredible. but although i really liked recovery (a return to form in my opinion, although slightly inconsistent) ive felt his most 'recent' projects (encore, the re-up, relapse,Being a huge fan of Eminem i was extremely nervous for this release. His first three wide released Lps (SSLP, MMLP, TES) are not just amongst my favorite and most listened to Rap Albums, but Albums......period. incredible. but although i really liked recovery (a return to form in my opinion, although slightly inconsistent) ive felt his most 'recent' projects (encore, the re-up, relapse, Hell the Sequel) while having some good stuff on them missed the mark. So with this album being named the marshall mathers LP 2 I was really praying em hadnt bitten off more than he could chew and wasnt going to let himself down. I knew it would be good because nothing eminem has done in his back catalogue is trash. but how good? i was anxious to find out... and after 3 run throughs of the Deluxe CD thank its fantastic.
    Dont Hesitate, and dont listen to the minority of moaners, if ur an eminem fan or a fan of rap go and buy this album. He once again demonstrates that he is easily the the best lyrical wordsmith in the game, incredible power, flow, speed and the thing that separates him from the majority.... versatile. they are yet to find a rhythm or beat em cant smash! and not only versatile in his flow but the album has a perfect balance of tones. heavy flow and beat orientated tracks, to catchy and quite commercial (in a good way) tracks all the way down to deeply emotionally rooted songs in which even more of eminems soul is poured in with beautiful melodies. along with plenty of the wacky, funny, quirky, brash, rude, dirty, repulsive, insane, vulgure and violent, fire Marshall/slim shady we've grown to love in there too. and to top it all off plenty of re visitations, new perspectives and developments on old works and story lines. full of brilliant throwbacks :)
    I cant recommend this album enough. I wont say 'eminems back' because he never left (just sometimes wasn't all there), but in my opinion i would say this is his best release since The Eminem Show and back up there with the incredibly high quality material we all know his can produce 10/10
    Expand
  86. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    First of all people need to stop with the bogus 0 scores, that skews the actual rating, and thats clearly just personal hatred or pure ignorance. I'm not going to make a crazy detailed review. I grew up listening to Eminem my whole life, and this is certainly the most satisfying album he has put out since TES. You can't recreate the shock value or the buzz he had when he first came out itsFirst of all people need to stop with the bogus 0 scores, that skews the actual rating, and thats clearly just personal hatred or pure ignorance. I'm not going to make a crazy detailed review. I grew up listening to Eminem my whole life, and this is certainly the most satisfying album he has put out since TES. You can't recreate the shock value or the buzz he had when he first came out its impossible that's something that can only be done once in a career, he could put out the best album the world has ever heard and people would say MMLP was better. I'm not saying that this album is better than that one. I just feel like this is the Eminem that I grew up listening to that puts all of his competition in the gutter. Excellent album if I had to find some cons I would say that some of the beats could have been better, and I would have liked less samples and more original dre beats. His lyricism was top notch I think a lot of rap fans today don't even know how to listen to eminem. They are used to sub par lyrics that take a 2nd grade education to understand. also I understand people think eminem needs to find new things to rap about other than his mom and kim and the same old but what did you expect its MMLP2 its going to have lots of similar topics however I feel like he does a great job talking about some of his regrets and retouching on his prior fame and the bad karma it created. Expand
  87. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    Eminem is the Rap God. He goes absolutely Bezerk. All of the beats are intense remix/mashups of classic rock songs, they're all extremely memorable. Highly recommended to all.
  88. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    The album is classic, it's way better then Recovery. This is Eminem in his entirety, the flow is sick and the lyrics are just great, sensitivity and psychopaths at the same time with the touch of the street language. The beats are great, the rap rock and the piano especially, but he was should features more rappers than pop singers. One of the best rap albums ever. My rank is 9.5/10.
  89. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    As an Eminem fan since the beginning I can without doubt say this is one of the best album Eminem has done. I've listened through this album over 20 times now and i'm not nearly bored. I'm liking it more and more, and its a delight.
    For those kids who says this album is bad, go back to listening to Lil-wayne and Drake.

    Eminem is indeed a Rap God.
  90. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Solid album here by Eminem. Rhyming is great as always. His ability to use his multiple rhyme schemes while telling a story is unmatched in the industry. Favorite tracks have to be "Bad Guy" "Legacy" Love Game"
  91. Hel
    Nov 7, 2013
    8
    This is mainly based off of the single "The Monster" but from this single I can tell that Eminem is back and he is back for blood. There is a reason why he is hailed as an amazing artist and a constant threat to all those opposing.
  92. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Eminem CD!!
    Everything about it is Amazing!!
    I recommend you buy this you will not be disappointed!!
    He has the best rhymes in the game better than Kendrick Lamar!!
    Expand
  93. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    He choose the worst songs to put out as singles. This is not as good as his first three, but it blows recovery, relapse and encore out of the freaking water.
  94. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I was a bit suspicious until the last track on the LP was over.I enjoyed album a lot.
    So,there's little summary.
    I give album 10 out of 10 cause it's the album I've been waiting for a long time.
    Such tracks as Bad Guy,Rap God,Stronger Than I Was and A**hole make me sure that the King is back
  95. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    As an huge Eminem fan, I absolutely loved this album. There was a mixture of Eminem's newer style, and older style in this album. This album featured a lot of continuations from the first MMLP, and longtime fans will appreciate that. Almost every song is good, but quite a few of the songs are amazing. My personal favorites are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, and Headlights. Each song has aAs an huge Eminem fan, I absolutely loved this album. There was a mixture of Eminem's newer style, and older style in this album. This album featured a lot of continuations from the first MMLP, and longtime fans will appreciate that. Almost every song is good, but quite a few of the songs are amazing. My personal favorites are Bad Guy, Legacy, Rap God, and Headlights. Each song has a great beat followed Eminem's unmatchable lyrics. Eminem is the undisputed king of rap, and he shows it once again with an amazing comeback album. Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    eminem crafted a brilliant witty funny emotional album...songs like bad guy, brainless, rhyme or reason, love game, legacy, headlights are incredible. AMAIZING album
  97. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    This album is the greatest Eminem project since 2002's The Eminem Show. Most of the songs here see an incredible performance in both lyrics and production. The themes here are great as well. We see Slim Shady again, and not the cheesy serial killer wannabe of Relapse infamy. Here, he balances out the personas of Marshall Mathers, Eminem, and Slim Shady, while still keeping us on theThis album is the greatest Eminem project since 2002's The Eminem Show. Most of the songs here see an incredible performance in both lyrics and production. The themes here are great as well. We see Slim Shady again, and not the cheesy serial killer wannabe of Relapse infamy. Here, he balances out the personas of Marshall Mathers, Eminem, and Slim Shady, while still keeping us on the edges of our seats with gripping stories (Bad Guy), rapid-fire wordplay (Rap God), sadistic humor (So Much Better), and nostalgic fits of nonsensical wit (Berzerk). The very few weak points in this album would be The Monster, for its over-reliance on Rihanna, and Stronger Than I Was, for its heartfelt, but overly poppy, feel. Other than those two Achilles' heels, this album is definitely a classic in the making. Not quite as good as the original Mathers LP, but definitely his best work in 11 years. Expand
  98. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I have been a die hard Eminem fan since 2002 and I can say that I am not disappointed by this album. MMLP2 is full of brilliance and nobody can deny that. The words-on-play, the flow and the production is great! I love the fact that we got a sequel to Stan as well, I do like the song Stan but Bad Guy brings it to a new level. Also making it the highest rated album on Metacritic since TheI have been a die hard Eminem fan since 2002 and I can say that I am not disappointed by this album. MMLP2 is full of brilliance and nobody can deny that. The words-on-play, the flow and the production is great! I love the fact that we got a sequel to Stan as well, I do like the song Stan but Bad Guy brings it to a new level. Also making it the highest rated album on Metacritic since The Eminem Show! Expand
  99. Nov 9, 2013
    7
    Eminem volvió. Grandes canciones, buenos ritmos pero siento que falta eso original, eso que haga un rap distinto del otro, ese ritmo que te haga escuchar "Rap God" y luego escuches Berzerk" y te deje pegado y escuches esas canciones todo el día, pero no pasa. Son canciones buenas pero sólo para escucharlas un rato y sería.
    Eminem logra nuevamente resaltar gracias a sus colaboraciones,
    Eminem volvió. Grandes canciones, buenos ritmos pero siento que falta eso original, eso que haga un rap distinto del otro, ese ritmo que te haga escuchar "Rap God" y luego escuches Berzerk" y te deje pegado y escuches esas canciones todo el día, pero no pasa. Son canciones buenas pero sólo para escucharlas un rato y sería.
    Eminem logra nuevamente resaltar gracias a sus colaboraciones, pero discrepo a que "The Monster" con Rihanna sea la mejor, fórmula repetida sale peor. "Beautiful Pain" con Sia y "Headlights" con Nate Ruess creo que son las mejores sobretodo la primera, una verdadera pieza sonora.
    Eminem demuestra las grandes influencias de su primer disco en este, el MMLP2 su continuación. Buenas letras, ritmos nuevos sin mucha originalidad, grandes colaboraciones, pero sigo pensando que me falta ese Real Slim Shady, ese Not Afraid que sea un rap original y que pueda escuchar todo el día sin la ayuda de esa típica colaboración popera en el coro de la canción.
    The MMLP2 es bueno, pero no logra quedar en la cabeza.
    Expand
  100. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Eminem has certainly nailed with a mighty comeback with this album. Each of the songs is a masterpiece on its own especially Bad Guy, So much Better, Rap God and Headlights, of course for which Nate Ruess has lent his voice. Putting it more precisely, this album is just Awesomeness Personified. Period.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Jan 7, 2014
    60
    Even though his wit and word patterns still dazzle, they need a livelier canvas if the Eminem nostalgia experience is to be the thrilling one it should be. [Jan 2014, p.122]
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The music is almost secondary, his production' often leaden beats a mere sideshow to mind-bending internal rhyme pyrotechnics that jab hard at the surreal dial. [Jan 2014, p.92]
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    80
    Eminem might not be making “shock rap with Doc” like he used to be, but The Marshall Mathers LP 2 takes turns as equally bold and unpredictable as anything in his discography.