The Marshall Mathers LP 2

The Marshall Mathers LP 2 Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 873 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced by Dr. Dre & Rick Rubin, the eight studio release for the rapper features guest appearances from Skylar Grey, Kendrick Lamar, Rihanna, and Nate Ruess of fun.
Buy On

Top Track

Rap God
Look, I was gonna go easy on you and not to hurt your feelings But I'm only going to get this one chance Something's wrong, I can feel it (Six... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    100
    The jokes, in places offensive, are relentless and ribald. There is no apology, though, no concession; just a considered, virtuoso application of talent.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    80
    Em's new songs give a facelift to old themes — but thanks to his still-astounding wordplay and creative beat choices (Rick Rubin's work on "So Far..." and "Love Game" is a hoot), you can still get lost in the wrinkles.
  3. 80
    His flow only truly ignites through anger and reproach, and there are moments when his verbal dexterity amazes.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    75
    After years of stagnancy and tedious anger, he shows real growth on The Marshall Mathers LP 2.
  5. 65
    There are at least a half-dozen verses in this album alone that stand amongst his best ever. ... Problem is, saying a whole lotta nothing for 70-plus minutes doesn’t exactly make for a compelling rap record.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    The album's production offers little that's new. Dr. Dre and Rick Rubin have crafted, or at least enabled, a few too many of the power-ballad slow jams that Eminem has grown increasingly fond of, alongside several guitar-driven anthems that come on as subtle as Jock Jams. Eminem is no one's hack, though, and the album has tantalizing moments of vintage performance.
  7. MMLP2 makes it more plain than ever that Eminem is among a growing number of rap superstars who are little more than vestigial pieces shoehorned onto radio by inertia alone. The main takeaway of MMLP2 is that Eminem fails to realize that the formulas that worked so well for him in 1999 are at best tired and tame today, and can't be saved by his lyrical dexterity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 178
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out,Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as the bonus tracks are amazing! Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    Oh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verseOh yeah! Guess who's back? Eminem: true Slim Shady for the first time since 2002. This album undoubtedly lives up to its name. The last verse of Bad Guy hooks you. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Eminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in theEminem's new album the MMLP2 is much better than I had anticipated. His flow and lyrics are just as humorous and fast paced as they are in the first MMLP. Overall this is a great album which surpasses the entertainment value of the last 3 albums that Eminem has put out. His songs legacy and brain damage in particular as well as others really bring you back to how Eminem's music was in the early 2000's. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    MMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me changeMMLP2 exceeded my expectations. It's a masterpiece that everyone should take the time to listen to. It's amazing how one album made me change emotions so quickly. Songs like "so much better" and "love game" made me laugh so hard, songs like "bad guy", "rap god" and survival" got me pumped up, and songs like "legacy" and "headlights" make me very emotional. No album (especially a rap album) has been able to do that to me. Perfect 10/10 for me. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people wereEminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    While not his best album, Em Proves that Technically and Lyrically he just might be the Best MC to ever touch a Mic, I was disappointed when iWhile not his best album, Em Proves that Technically and Lyrically he just might be the Best MC to ever touch a Mic, I was disappointed when i Heard "Berzerk", Survival And "Monster" and the God Awful "Better than i was" but for an album of 15 track to have 11 good to great songs, is not bad at all, Especially for an artist who had seemed to struggle with who he wanted to be as an Artist Since Encore in 2004, Eminem has (Probably for the moment) Taken Mainstream Hip Hop back to what its focus was when he dropped his Legendary Mmlp 13 yrs Ago: Lyrics and Delivery, While he still stumbles at some points Eminem hasn't sounded this complete on an Album since 2002. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals???? Rapgod on traplike electro bass music, man it's like one of the most oldschool rappers just singed the death certificate for real rap. If there's one eminem verse that's applicable here: "And when your run is over just admit when it's at its end"

    For me this album made eminem a **** modern day I try to hard rapper instead of like the biggest legend in white rap.

    how does Dillon cooper - state of elevation, or prof - gampo or kool g rap and necro'l last album get under 500.000 views on youtube and such a mediocre score??? Rap god has like 60 million views, this makes me think I'm the only one who dislikes this album. He has certainly gone mainstream radio music, but I don't like it and I know the rap community doesn't either... So yeah it maybe deserves a 82 but not in the rap category

    Just my opinion though...
    Expand

See all 178 User Reviews