The Marshall Mathers LP 2

The Marshall Mathers LP 2 Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 824 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced by Dr. Dre & Rick Rubin, the eight studio release for the rapper features guest appearances from Skylar Grey, Kendrick Lamar, Rihanna, and Nate Ruess of fun.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    100
    The jokes, in places offensive, are relentless and ribald. There is no apology, though, no concession; just a considered, virtuoso application of talent.
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    80
    Em's new songs give a facelift to old themes — but thanks to his still-astounding wordplay and creative beat choices (Rick Rubin's work on "So Far..." and "Love Game" is a hoot), you can still get lost in the wrinkles.
  3. 80
    His flow only truly ignites through anger and reproach, and there are moments when his verbal dexterity amazes.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    75
    After years of stagnancy and tedious anger, he shows real growth on The Marshall Mathers LP 2.
  5. 65
    There are at least a half-dozen verses in this album alone that stand amongst his best ever. ... Problem is, saying a whole lotta nothing for 70-plus minutes doesn’t exactly make for a compelling rap record.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    60
    The album's production offers little that's new. Dr. Dre and Rick Rubin have crafted, or at least enabled, a few too many of the power-ballad slow jams that Eminem has grown increasingly fond of, alongside several guitar-driven anthems that come on as subtle as Jock Jams. Eminem is no one's hack, though, and the album has tantalizing moments of vintage performance.
  7. MMLP2 makes it more plain than ever that Eminem is among a growing number of rap superstars who are little more than vestigial pieces shoehorned onto radio by inertia alone. The main takeaway of MMLP2 is that Eminem fails to realize that the formulas that worked so well for him in 1999 are at best tired and tame today, and can't be saved by his lyrical dexterity.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 178
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out,Eminem is back! I was a massive fan of MMLP, SSLP and TES. I was disappointed with Encore, Relapse and Recovery but when this album came out, I was so relieved! There was so much nostalgia listening to this album! I would have liked to hear production by Dr Dre but the album is still amazing tracks like "so far" and "bad guy" are my favourites. I would recommend the deluxe edition as the bonus tracks are amazing! Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    I have been listening to Eminem since the Slim Shady LP and I must say it must be hard work to keep up the high standard and quality set byI have been listening to Eminem since the Slim Shady LP and I must say it must be hard work to keep up the high standard and quality set by his previous works, however this album has succeeded in keeping up that standard. This album is an all round fantastic album with different songs to suit different types of Eminem fans. This truly is one of his best albums. Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superbBest album since The Eminem Show, almost 15 years in industry and still he can come up with something good rap about. Lyrically its a superb album. Bad Guy in my opinion is the best opening song i have ever heard on any album. His flow is DOPE, no one in the industry can come close to it. 6000+ words in 6 minutes and he wrote in 6 minutes too. You can see his skills there. Production wise the album is good too. MMLP2 justifies its title as well as its predecessor's creativity which is regarded as all time classic. Though its too early to judge whether MMLP2 is as good as MMLP but still it is one of the best Rap Albums past 2010. Rhymes Rhymes and a lot of Rhymes. He manages more rhymes in a single then most rappers in their whole album. Do check this album out Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    I can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you onI can't believe he actually made an album as good as the original MMLP, but he sure did. From beginning to end Eminem once again takes you on an emotional journey from awe, laughter, sadness, excitement and elation. The true musical genius of our times. Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Eminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people wereEminem has made the comeback that everybody expected and more. With his re-entry into the world with old school hip-hop on Bezerk, people were unsure as to what to expect on his new record. But as soon as they got to the 4th verse on Bad Guy, they knew that he was back, bigger and better than ever before. He takes us through the album with minimal filler. Bouncing back from slower, more personal songs with upbeat tracks such as So Far... He concludes the album with Evil Twin, where he even explains his journey so far - I've Got no backstreet boys to make fun of. All in all, he has given us the record we wanted with his incredible mechanical rapping skill and unbeatable storytelling ability. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Solid album here by Eminem. Rhyming is great as always. His ability to use his multiple rhyme schemes while telling a story is unmatched inSolid album here by Eminem. Rhyming is great as always. His ability to use his multiple rhyme schemes while telling a story is unmatched in the industry. Favorite tracks have to be "Bad Guy" "Legacy" Love Game" Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap
    I understand as a critic you have to look at different elements/aspects brouht into the song, BUT...

    As a long time eminem and bigtime rap fan for about as long as I can remember, this is the most digusting album ever made. Em has changed, and not for the better (well, for the better for the financial aspect, I guess). Even tho I like the lyrics what the hell are these intrumentals???? Rapgod on traplike electro bass music, man it's like one of the most oldschool rappers just singed the death certificate for real rap. If there's one eminem verse that's applicable here: "And when your run is over just admit when it's at its end"

    For me this album made eminem a **** modern day I try to hard rapper instead of like the biggest legend in white rap.

    how does Dillon cooper - state of elevation, or prof - gampo or kool g rap and necro'l last album get under 500.000 views on youtube and such a mediocre score??? Rap god has like 60 million views, this makes me think I'm the only one who dislikes this album. He has certainly gone mainstream radio music, but I don't like it and I know the rap community doesn't either... So yeah it maybe deserves a 82 but not in the rap category

    Just my opinion though...
    Expand

See all 178 User Reviews