User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 240

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkTwain
    Apr 2, 2007
    3
    No, this album really does suck. The only part that is redeemable are the beats.
  2. CharlieR
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    this cd is a complete flop, im very dissapointed. 50 was my favorite rapper but now he thinks hes bullet proof and he cant die. hes a lil too cocky now too
  3. BigJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    4
    this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't have the desire to write some decent lyrics. get the Game instead, it's much better lyrically with same above ave production. Expand
  4. JohnnyDaHorse
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    This guy's a joke; he's so pathetic that I don't know how could he be taken seriously. As one of the readers stated before, albums like this are bastardization of hiphop
  5. LawrenceP
    Mar 6, 2005
    1
    I know a 8 year old jewish boy that has better skills on the mic. I give this LP a one because it made me laugh. 50...my local Mcdonalds is hiring.
  6. machiavelli
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    seriously 50 has completely lost it.. he is claiming to be something he certainly isnt, and how can this man consider dissing ja rule when he seems to be spending more quality time singing than anything else. the album has nothing on get rich... the few decent songs in the album dont suffice in making the album amajor hit.. its average!
  7. chrisn
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    50 cent should have had eminem produce the whole album because 50 has no lyrics and this cd does not come anywhere close to get rich or die trying
  8. AlexB
    Mar 7, 2005
    0
    All i can say is this is terrible. Like someone said before, this is nothing more than pop music...like most rap music now. I was really dissapointed in this CD.
  9. jeru
    Apr 30, 2005
    1
    His ist album was good because he got away with singing not many people realized that at the time.Also his production was top notch,so he got away with being repetive.With this album i feel like he cheated his fans.And even lost some fans(me). I feel like he dissed jarule & he's singing .
  10. Sid
    May 18, 2005
    0
    This guy seriously cant rap to save his life!! He uses tired melodies and absolutely pathetic lyrics and tries to sell his stuff with da fact that he got shot 9 times like he needs the money to go to da doctor! CRAP!!
  11. BobB
    Mar 14, 2005
    1
    Crap.
  12. BEEBEE
    Mar 18, 2005
    0
    worth a quarter
  13. MatthewA
    Mar 20, 2005
    1
    Stupid and pretentious. The guy can't even insult people properly.
  14. D.C.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    This album is ASS, 50 needs to get shot again or something, because this dude doesn't have a clue on what good music is. First of all he's the pot calling the kettle black, Dissing Ja-Rule for sing on his records when this cat sings on more then have of this new garbage called the Massacre. Yeah it was a Massacre alright, dude Massacred himself. Who the F does anyway dissing This album is ASS, 50 needs to get shot again or something, because this dude doesn't have a clue on what good music is. First of all he's the pot calling the kettle black, Dissing Ja-Rule for sing on his records when this cat sings on more then have of this new garbage called the Massacre. Yeah it was a Massacre alright, dude Massacred himself. Who the F does anyway dissing anyone, this guy disses people who paved the way for him. Nas, why would he think about dissing Nas when Nas was one of the HOTTEST rappers at a time when rap was competitive, at a time when Country Rappers didn't have a chance at anything, let alone running the air waves now. Jay-z tried dissing him and failed, so why the hell would 50 cent think he could even hold a candle up to Nas. Oh yeah I forgot he's HOT, his lyrics are on FIRE, real lyrical champ, yeah right. Craig Mack said it best (you won't be around next year) 50 pennies get your ish together, apologize to everyone you dissed, and rap would for giving us this trash. Cause it's all about the come back, do this ish again and please believe that it won't be no for you. NO SOUP FOR YOU, you will not eat doing it like this one. Damn Jada said (bunch of R&B song nothing but straight garbage) and I do use it for a weed plate. Get your shit together 4 dimes and 2 nickles, because this wasn't it. Maybe you should try a Chedder Bob and pop yourself, then maybe you can write some hot ish again. Expand
  15. TImothyW
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    If possible, I would give this album below a zero. This is perhaps the must unoriginal and uninspiring "album" that has ever been produced (if you can even call it an album). One album from this artist (if you want to call him that) was already one too many. This album neither raises awareness about any new issues or passes for entertainment. 50 cent has exposed his lack of talent, If possible, I would give this album below a zero. This is perhaps the must unoriginal and uninspiring "album" that has ever been produced (if you can even call it an album). One album from this artist (if you want to call him that) was already one too many. This album neither raises awareness about any new issues or passes for entertainment. 50 cent has exposed his lack of talent, unoriginality, and further contributed to the continual bastardization of hip-hop, by people who think that producing albums about money, women, and violence aware are providing insight into their culture. Expand
  16. Scott
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. 50 raps about nothing but the most standard elements, violence, drugs, hos and money. This can be done very well and very creatively, in the right hands. Pick up either Big L album for violence done well. Pick up a Necro album if you want extreme violence done well. Do not pick up this album. Spend five minutes on the internet searching for another album. Think for yourself, please. Tthere is so much music available today that you should NOT have to resort to this. You're already on this site, scan the left side of the screen and click on a link that's got a star next to it. I'm preaching, I know. People should be able to listen to what they like, and I understand this. I can guarentee you however, if you spend five minutes with the internet looking for a better album, you will enjoy it much more than this trash. Listen to Piggy Bank. He's laughing at you. He's taking your money all the way to the bank and spending it on things you will never be able to afford if you saved for your entire life. Do not help 50 cent get another chain, he doesn't need it. Expand
  17. LaurenceH
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    50 Cent is soooooooo over!
  18. AlanR
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    If you like this, you don't like hip-hop.
  19. BlaineR
    Mar 7, 2005
    2
    Ridiculous. I cannot believe the positive reviews that this album is recieving. The same, tired, egotistical, boring, and all around stupid lyrics and beats are in place. This man can never stand to the lyrical prowess of artists like Nas, and it's laughable that he's "dissin'" him.
  20. budb
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    way below the first record barely no goos song... huge disappointment !
  21. JL
    Mar 9, 2005
    0
    This is just garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  22. Jamalk
    Apr 18, 2005
    2
    This album was terrible. Out of it's 22 tracks I think only 3 were really good. The rest was pure garbage. The topics he raps about are pathetic and redundant as well. Let's go over the only 3 things he raps about 1) how people should fear him 2) how much of a Pimp he is and 3) how people should fear him. What happened to quality rap ? About over coming the Odds ? about Struggle This album was terrible. Out of it's 22 tracks I think only 3 were really good. The rest was pure garbage. The topics he raps about are pathetic and redundant as well. Let's go over the only 3 things he raps about 1) how people should fear him 2) how much of a Pimp he is and 3) how people should fear him. What happened to quality rap ? About over coming the Odds ? about Struggle ? Lyrics and music that refresh the spirit to overcome personal adversity ? Rap i fear has gone Hollywood. And this album is a testament to it. Expand
  23. ShaneM
    Apr 19, 2005
    0
    Why is it en vogue to reward the dregs of American society? Why are you spending your money to make talentless criminals, drug dealers and violent thugs rich? What is wrong with you?
  24. LostFound
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Don't waste your money. For those who liked it... Wow!
  25. KoolG
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Is this the best that rap has to offer? if so rap doesn't have long until it's demise. How can a person who has no lyrical content be at the top of the game? I can't blame 50 for putting out suck garbage, because there isn't anyone to make him look bad. 50 couldn't do it when rap was good, he couldn't make it when BIG and Pac was around, well shit alot of Is this the best that rap has to offer? if so rap doesn't have long until it's demise. How can a person who has no lyrical content be at the top of the game? I can't blame 50 for putting out suck garbage, because there isn't anyone to make him look bad. 50 couldn't do it when rap was good, he couldn't make it when BIG and Pac was around, well shit alot of people couldn't make it then ( Jay-Z ) he was a struggling artist trying to find his talent. Can someone please bring rap back because if this is all that hip hop has to offer, then hip hop will get Massacred. Expand
  26. LV
    Apr 4, 2005
    0
    Don't listen to that chick Curtis, Tine E is probably just in love with you or something. Because you are and never will be the best, this is your 3rd album and it seems that you're regressing. Your first time out the gates you came out firing at everyone in the game, and that didn't get you nowhere but on the bench. So you put out millions of underground CD's (Smart Don't listen to that chick Curtis, Tine E is probably just in love with you or something. Because you are and never will be the best, this is your 3rd album and it seems that you're regressing. Your first time out the gates you came out firing at everyone in the game, and that didn't get you nowhere but on the bench. So you put out millions of underground CD's (Smart Move) you won the streets back. Then you hooked up with Em and Dre, (Very Smart Move) Get Rich or Die Trying was one of the best albums ever. So this third time around you had the world hyped, everyone and their moms thought they were apart of G-Unit. You even leaked Piggy Bank ( Damn, I thought this dude was the smartest man on earth) really adding fuel to the fire. But when it finally drop, The Massacre, it all made since. I understood Piggy Bank know after hearing the rest of the trash on the CD. You need to get at people because you found yourself looking in the mirror with no new ideas. The Massacre is weak, your sing on half of the cd like Jada said. But I give you this you did a great job picking and choosing who you got at this time around, because if you would have made the mistake of getting at people like you did in Robbing The Game then you would have just rob yourself. Because people like Jay-Z who took you as a joke the first time would have Murder you on wax to the point where the Doc couldn't you this time. Re-think your game plan and approach the next album, pull out some old RAP records study some of the best, like Rakim, Big Daddy, KRS, LL, B.I.G.,2 Pac, NAS, etc.......... Learn from the best and then maybe you'll be able to make a good album outside of a time of crisis. Expand
  27. Romeo
    Apr 4, 2005
    0
    one review said it all....50 cent is the cancer of the hip hop world
  28. jeremyb
    Apr 4, 2005
    2
    Pretty gay, too repetitive, non original, commercialised bullsh*t - he's just out to make money off u fools who love him no matter how crap of an album he puts out..Where is the decent hip hop these days..
  29. F50
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    This is the biggest bunch of bullshit ever put out by a platinum rapper ( self proclaimed KING ), hang it up Five O you're done, it's over homie.
  30. rapfan
    May 20, 2005
    0
    This dude is ass, straight up and down. There is nothing else to say about this trash ASS.
  31. jasel
    May 29, 2005
    0
    Absurd Comic Figure of Ridiculous Posturing. Whoever shot this idiotic ba**ard should get their vision checked. BETWEEN THE EYES... BETWEEN.
  32. MarcD
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    His delivery is terrible. The lyrics devoid of creativity. The riffs monotonous. On top of all this, having Eminem produce an album is no longer a selling point. Slim Shady hasn't been up to snuff since the Marshall Mathers LP. Horrible waste of money.
  33. Cosmo
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Craperific
  34. Lil'P
    Jul 1, 2005
    0
    This album was a big waste of money and a waste of my time, thats all i have to say, I feel bad for whoever buys it next
  35. BudalayahhH
    Jul 8, 2005
    1
    This album is a disgrace for hip-hop culture. Luckily i got it from a friend, i didnt waste my money on this shit.
  36. dean
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    this is utter crap fiddy fell of, he got rich and stopped tryin
  37. Spriggangirl
    Sep 27, 2005
    0
    No more violence in music, and no more dealing with 50 cent.
  38. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    1
    all the same, rap is soooo monotonotous, its like one green day song over and over again; blood, sex and booze
  39. AliJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    3
    Get rich or die tryin was in my eyes a master piece. A almost hybrid of Biggies layed back smooth style and Tupac's hard edge sophisticated. So the massacre had so much potential and it did live up to its name. ITS A FUCKING MASSACRE!!! A massacre of beats, a massacre of time and a massacre of money. Something has happened to the artist such as Eminem and 50 it seems they have Get rich or die tryin was in my eyes a master piece. A almost hybrid of Biggies layed back smooth style and Tupac's hard edge sophisticated. So the massacre had so much potential and it did live up to its name. ITS A FUCKING MASSACRE!!! A massacre of beats, a massacre of time and a massacre of money. Something has happened to the artist such as Eminem and 50 it seems they have traveled to far out of the nest and now are in an owasis of shitty and unoriginal ideas. Song after song is packed with crappy rapping from Fiddy. It's all about how rich he is and how many niggers hez shot. These topics can be played on creativly but no such arguement can be made here. It's awful shit you would expect from Young Buck or somthing (I H8 YOUNG BUCK HOW HE GETS LIFE) Dre needs 2 regain control or aftermath will eventually fall. With Shyne being relased from prision I have the feeling things are going to change. FREE SHYNE Expand
  40. Lunchmeat
    Mar 21, 2005
    0
    Embaressing, awful, pathetic, cringe worthy. These are just a few words to describe 50 Cent and this album. Avoid If Vomit were a movie, this would be the soundtrack
  41. Darrin
    Mar 21, 2005
    2
    Same ol' worn out Gangsta crap...arent people getting well and truly sick of this worthless B.S by now? He is an average Rapper at best anyway.
  42. WalkerR
    Mar 3, 2005
    1
    Another boring generic rap album. Do any of these guys have talent. Can they even play instuments? All I see is rappers stealing other musicians beats, sounds, and taking credit as if they are original.
  43. ChrisC
    Mar 5, 2005
    3
    Im not impressed, with the ammount of time it took him to put out a new album the effort is not noticable. A majority of the songs are slow and really let me down. I like only a few of the songs on the album, which consisted mostly of all the singles he released before the CD even came out. My overall suggestion is borrow it from a friend and see if you like it, because i was extremly Im not impressed, with the ammount of time it took him to put out a new album the effort is not noticable. A majority of the songs are slow and really let me down. I like only a few of the songs on the album, which consisted mostly of all the singles he released before the CD even came out. My overall suggestion is borrow it from a friend and see if you like it, because i was extremly dissapointed. Expand
  44. MattL
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    This album is exactly its name, its a masscre. It is a uninspired piece of studio produced crap. 50 cent needs to spend more time on his work, or put out cds faster, because atleast if he put cd's out often i would understand why they are not very good. Perhaps next time he wont spend 1 year on making a piece of shit record! dont buy this
  45. nick
    Mar 6, 2005
    0
    An embarassment to rap. Each track is the same, which is something you start to realise as soon as you've listened to one of his albums more than once. Every track talks about how rich he is, bling bling, how he got shot (we heard you the first 100 times!), how much of a pimp he is, how many guns he's got, how if you mess with him he'll kill you, and G G G G G Unit. An embarassment to rap. Each track is the same, which is something you start to realise as soon as you've listened to one of his albums more than once. Every track talks about how rich he is, bling bling, how he got shot (we heard you the first 100 times!), how much of a pimp he is, how many guns he's got, how if you mess with him he'll kill you, and G G G G G Unit. Different beats is all that separates one track from another. I pity what mainstream "rap" has become today. Expand
  46. Smokedog
    Mar 6, 2005
    1
    What a weak album. Candy Shop is the strongest song on there barring "Hate it or Love it" but thats also on The Games album.
  47. PG
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    OOOOUCH This is a massacre but not in the way fiddy implies...damn the hits on here are almost none existant.
  48. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    3
    the album kind of sucks i dont know why dre let this album get released and plus i think 50 cents days are numbered with beef know with everybody from jarule, jadakiss, fat joe, nas who is nothing to play with look at beef with jay z even he couldnt take him out and beef with the game his own boy i dont know how much longer he got.
  49. ronk
    Mar 9, 2005
    1
    garbage..this cd junk the best song on it is candy shop, the beat sounds alot like lean back dont you think...50s a coward hides behind dres beat..only reason people bought his cd was because he created all this hype..after listening to it you'll realize its junk....jada's gonna eat him and his piggy...
  50. Punklover28
    Apr 25, 2005
    0
    Hey, go listen to something good for a change, Like the used or umm my chemical romance. Atleast they have something to sing about besides sex and crap.
  51. SatanClawz
    Apr 26, 2005
    1
    Good thing for file sharing, you can easily delete the entire album in an instant without wasting fifty cents on the album. Poof! Not Rap. There is no art within it, too many loose ends. 50's needs to learn how to to count sylibols. This album sounded like he didn't even try to fix the flaws. yawn He should also incorporate his shady records freestyle into a song, i think those Good thing for file sharing, you can easily delete the entire album in an instant without wasting fifty cents on the album. Poof! Not Rap. There is no art within it, too many loose ends. 50's needs to learn how to to count sylibols. This album sounded like he didn't even try to fix the flaws. yawn He should also incorporate his shady records freestyle into a song, i think those were his best lyrics yet. Expand
  52. NoWay
    Apr 28, 2005
    1
    Boring, manufactured junk. Not as good as "Get Rich or Die Tryin", but that's not saying much. 50 has just tried reheat the same old cold garbage, but failed miserably. He even thought he could sell more records by calling out Nas! I mean, Nas could manhandle 50 anyday when it comes to the mic. I don't care about Ja Rule, 50 can go ahead and talk about him. But Nas? C'mon, Boring, manufactured junk. Not as good as "Get Rich or Die Tryin", but that's not saying much. 50 has just tried reheat the same old cold garbage, but failed miserably. He even thought he could sell more records by calling out Nas! I mean, Nas could manhandle 50 anyday when it comes to the mic. I don't care about Ja Rule, 50 can go ahead and talk about him. But Nas? C'mon, 50! I don't care how many times you been shot, you can't rap to save your life. Plenty of people have been shot up, so why does 50 Cent get millions of bucks to "rap" about his experience? Can't America find a good rapper whose been shot to give money to? Expand
  53. RogerB
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    I'm not biased toward any rappers and I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs," but I still think this albumn really sucks. I'd rather listen to a toilet flushing than the load of worthless garbage on this albumn. 50 talks so much shit; his stupid ass is gonna get shot......again. He sure knows how to cause problems over absolutely nothing. He thinks he's I'm not biased toward any rappers and I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs," but I still think this albumn really sucks. I'd rather listen to a toilet flushing than the load of worthless garbage on this albumn. 50 talks so much shit; his stupid ass is gonna get shot......again. He sure knows how to cause problems over absolutely nothing. He thinks he's so good, when he's really just a stupid-ass. King of New York? How can you be king if you don't live in your kingdom? His punk-ass lives in Connecticut. Oh, and yeah I'm sure he's slept with half of hollywood, he charms them with his busted face and big ass bugs bunny buck teeth, this kid looks like a chartoon charater. Let's see the list of celebs he's slept with, he doesn't have one or else he'd brag about it like he does everything else in his life. I'm not trying to hate, but give me a break, just shut your mouth and make some damn music, if you can, if you have enough talent to, b/c right now all he is is a bunch of hype b/c of his shit-talking. Get it right, he sounds like a jackass, Jada raps twice as tight as him. Expand
  54. Figz
    Apr 9, 2005
    3
    this C.D. does suck n "P.I.M.P" u dun know shit bout rap jealous? naw why wud i b jealous of a person who has tha vocab of a fuckin 3 year old. I gotta admit tha c.d. has some good themes. but no match 4 the games c.d. but 50 cent is thru
  55. BenS
    May 2, 2005
    0
    Hey, if your a rap fan, go listen to something good for a change. Madvillain, Ghostface, Common. God they all dwarf this album. Pop rap crap right here.
  56. J.M.Sarabia
    May 20, 2005
    0
    This album plain sucks. Someone let him keep his paper Burger King crown...
  57. guillaumep
    May 23, 2005
    2
    As bad as ever. HipHop is pretty much always the same these days and 50 cents makes it even worse
  58. StevenD
    May 25, 2005
    0
    he should be shot again for making this crap. This album sucks!!!!!!
  59. anti50cent
    May 29, 2005
    0
    absolute crap....i want my money back you CRACK MONKEY....He should be shot for making this garbage. Do some more steroids and smoke some more crack. And you wonder why black America is so messed up, look you they have to look up to.
  60. macd
    Jun 3, 2005
    1
    its bullshit!he cant talk about anything else but about how hard he is and how much of a pimp he is.his lyrics are pure shit.its bubble gum rap!he's a better singer.dis album is proof dat he's ALREADY run out of ideas.
  61. GaryA
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Ah well artists like Sarah Mclachlan,Rolling Stones,NIne Inch Nails,ACDC and Metallica Just to name the few are fortunate young people will still be discovering there older records but not fiddy here his 15 minutes are almost up only to make way for the next fad for our youth to eat up.
  62. mj
    Aug 11, 2005
    0
    waste of air space
  63. 50Cent
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Hi yo hommies this is 50 cent yeah im the shit yoooo! lets go get shot cuz thats leik da sheet maaannnn yoo!
  64. jont
    Sep 6, 2005
    0
    this album would have been good if get rich or dye trying never exhisted. and if there werent any other good albums out there. fifty may have the look and the brovado but he lacks creativity. it ironic how he got on ja rule for singing and yet he does it on this album. and its funny that for the most part like ja rule girls are defending him. females blinded by his muscles and the other this album would have been good if get rich or dye trying never exhisted. and if there werent any other good albums out there. fifty may have the look and the brovado but he lacks creativity. it ironic how he got on ja rule for singing and yet he does it on this album. and its funny that for the most part like ja rule girls are defending him. females blinded by his muscles and the other hip hop dribble out there. this album would have been good if kanye west wouldnt have released late registration. hate on kanye all you want but at least he is creative and is refreshing to hip hop. he needs to come at people to get buzz. and you know what jada kiss killed him wit one track. and nas didnt even have to try. nas beat jay z fifty stands no chance. his skills just arent there. the only reason why he makes money is cuz white people and young dumb kids cant tell good music from crap. they just want to buy wat the other kids buy. pac big nas jayz pun fuck fifty. and i hate these dam punk people saying hip hop is wack. keep that shit to your self. your genre is just as commercial as hip hop. so fuck you and my chemical romance. Expand
  65. Joselin
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    What the hell is this sounds more like a album produced by Britneys Spears producers that a rap album. I understand the fact that it sold so much it has nothing to do with hiphop this is a pop album, and really bad pop to, not even Dre or Em can't save this shit.
  66. IllmaticNaS
    Aug 17, 2006
    0
    I'm not going to completely say, "AW, THIS BLOWS! AW, I HATE 50!!" I've gotta say, "Get Rich or Die Trying" wasn't that bad. But compared to NaS, Ice Cube, Souls of Mischief, Jay-Z, Wu-Tang.... 50 Cent has no talent. Come on. Compare this album to Ghostface Killah's "Fishscale." Or NaS's "Ill-Matic." Or Cube's "Death Certificate." YOU CAN'T!! You I'm not going to completely say, "AW, THIS BLOWS! AW, I HATE 50!!" I've gotta say, "Get Rich or Die Trying" wasn't that bad. But compared to NaS, Ice Cube, Souls of Mischief, Jay-Z, Wu-Tang.... 50 Cent has no talent. Come on. Compare this album to Ghostface Killah's "Fishscale." Or NaS's "Ill-Matic." Or Cube's "Death Certificate." YOU CAN'T!! You can't even compare "Get Rich" to any of these albums. Face it, Fifty has very little mic skills or beats. I'm sorry, fifty fans. Okay, he's better than half the shit out today (Mike Jones, Paul Wall, Boyz N da Hood), but c'mon, that's not saying much. Just listen at "Magic Stick" and "Candy Shop!" It's the same song! Fifty, just because you were shot don't mean jack. It's time to get rich by TRYING HARDER. But even that won't be enough. Expand
  67. DeQuanO.
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. 50 raps about nothing but the most standard elements, violence, drugs, hos and money. This can be done very well and very creatively, in the right hands. Pick up either Big L album for violence done well. Pick up a Necro album if you want extreme violence done well. Do not pick up this album. Spend five minutes on the internet searching for another album. Think for yourself, please. Tthere is so much music available today that you should NOT have to resort to this. You're already on this site, scan the left side of the screen and click on a link that's got a star next to it. I'm preaching, I know. People should be able to listen to what they like, and I understand this. I can guarentee you however, if you spend five minutes with the internet looking for a better album, you will enjoy it much more than this trash. Listen to Piggy Bank. He's laughing at you. He's taking your money all the way to the bank and spending it on things you will never be able to afford if you saved for your entire life. Do not help 50 cent get another chain, he doesn't need it. The real star is the production by Dre, too bad the lyrical content is severely lacking. If he has any semblance of talent, it is not shown on this album, especially on songs like Candy Shop or the Magic Stick. Expand
  68. JorgeV.
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    It's a shame that lyrical prowess is a lost art. It's like people don't even know their history about hip-hop, nor do they care. I was at a Run-DMC concert, and they asked a crowd what their first single was. All people said was just 'Walk this Way.' People disbelieved that it wasn't, and when Run DMC themselves said it was a different song, called It's It's a shame that lyrical prowess is a lost art. It's like people don't even know their history about hip-hop, nor do they care. I was at a Run-DMC concert, and they asked a crowd what their first single was. All people said was just 'Walk this Way.' People disbelieved that it wasn't, and when Run DMC themselves said it was a different song, called It's Like That...And that's the way it is, people were shocked and astonished at their lack of Run DMC expertise, which all too much appeared to be controlled by MTV. Pick up a Geto Boys album, or an Outkast album, Doggystyle, or a Rakim album, and they all had more lyrical content this album ever had. Well, say you like this song for the beats and style. But for lyrics? No way. This isn't clever nor is it poetic. In a sense, it isn't really bashing, but just plain, flat out honesty of one man's opinion. Does this album have good beats? Yes. The producer is Dr. Dre, and he always has good beats. But would 50 survive on beats of a mediocre producer, if given more mellower and less bouncy beats through lyricism? Probably not, but all he's done is rap from Dre's production. From a lyrical standpoint, he's lowered our IQ of the mainstream completely. Kanye West, the Roots, Common, they speak from the soul. For 50 cent, he doesn't rap about real stuff on the albums, so it doesn't count for anything, and so it's just all a money grab for him, but that's the mainstream, taking advantage that we don't know any better. Expand
  69. QuiintonD
    Mar 5, 2007
    4
    Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, black nationalism and pride, the problem of greed and corruption, crime in the city, and about telling people to stop the violence in the cities, but hey, let's just pimp it up, because gangsters drink wine and martinis in clubs, and living in the ghetto has no crime, right? Wrong! Pick up any other CD, N.W.A., Snoop Dogg's Doggystyle, Ice Cube's AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted, they all talk about the realities of living in poverty and the decisions people make in their daily lives regarding it. This CD seems to sidestep and devoid themselves of just about all issues, and for party listeners, they'll like it because they can tune out the lyrics and hear the nice Dre beats, with the style in the background. It's not for real hip hop heads because we like to listen to our lyrics, but that concept is foreign to the mainstream public. They'd react with on college and high school campuses: Hip-hop with message, what? This is exactly what's wrong with hip-hop today, that today's generation now believes that hip-hop cannot be insightful, although it can be, and has been early on and at various moments through time, and still can be. In a lyrical sense, it kind of is dead because no one cares about the poetic aspect of it anywhere, and they just want to get their crunk on and their dollars. But that's just fine with the public, they all brush the good stuff to the side for party music anyways. Expand
  70. fafadfa
    Apr 14, 2007
    0
    Brutal. Just Brutal. V. Ice could rap circles around fiddy.
  71. RileyF
    Dec 25, 2005
    3
    Overall, a pretty bad CD. There were a few good songs, like the Hate It Or Love It Remix or Disco Inferno, but for the most part 50 raps were bad. The production was excellent but 50 just didn't the effort into this CD like he did Get Rich Or Die Tryin'. I would say this is more of a pop CD rather than a rap CD because of songs like So Amazing and Candy Shop.
  72. theman
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    50 cent is a no talent. rap in general is horrible. i hate it when music reviewers say a rap cd is good. rap is a no talent genre unless your lyrics ACTUALLY MEAN SOMETHING! the lyrics of canadian Buck 65 are an example of good rap. kanye has good lyrics, too, even though i don't like kanye west. if your going to listen to rap, reaserch a little bit and find something that is 50 cent is a no talent. rap in general is horrible. i hate it when music reviewers say a rap cd is good. rap is a no talent genre unless your lyrics ACTUALLY MEAN SOMETHING! the lyrics of canadian Buck 65 are an example of good rap. kanye has good lyrics, too, even though i don't like kanye west. if your going to listen to rap, reaserch a little bit and find something that is musically good, not stupid idiot rap. Expand
  73. figz
    Mar 11, 2005
    3
    this cd is garbadge 50 needs to stick wit sellin clothes cuz his 15 minutes of fame are up. The reason i gave it a 3 is cause some of the themes in the songs are good but his rhymes are terribly weak. Quit actin like god b4 u get poped
  74. LauC
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    2005 may still be young but this is really bad music.
  75. [Anonymous]
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    This album sucks! Don't waste your money!!!
  76. DonD
    Mar 12, 2005
    0
    This is the worst rap album ever.
  77. GEEM
    Mar 16, 2005
    4
    Not worth buying at all. He has gotten way to familiar. There is sm=omething mentally wrong with man. Was a big fan, now i just spectating on the side line, dont wanna get involved.
  78. Vixi
    Apr 13, 2005
    1
    This is so bad, he has got to be the crappiest rapper out there - his entire career is based on his stupid reputation. I'll give a one because i respect some1 who can make so much money with so little substance (hey just like britney can!)
  79. RolandoW
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Hip Hop in general is monoton and ridiculous.
  80. CaptainBacon
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    50 puts the 'C' in front of rap.
  81. TheCritic
    May 11, 2005
    3
    - Even shit will start to taste good, if your hungry enough. A metaphor for the overplayed mainstream songs. - Out of 20 songs I found 3 to be good. The choruses were the worst part of the album. - Ski Mask is a really good song, especially the bridge. Gatman and Robin is good but only Ems verse, Hate it or Love it is a great song. - Overall, I think 50 needs to carefully select his beats - Even shit will start to taste good, if your hungry enough. A metaphor for the overplayed mainstream songs. - Out of 20 songs I found 3 to be good. The choruses were the worst part of the album. - Ski Mask is a really good song, especially the bridge. Gatman and Robin is good but only Ems verse, Hate it or Love it is a great song. - Overall, I think 50 needs to carefully select his beats for his next album. He should focus on darker hardcore rap. - The art of surviving in the concrete jungle. Collapse
  82. tonyf.
    May 13, 2005
    0
    i like indie rock! rap sucks. 50 cent sucks!
  83. StormieH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    I was hoping he would die trying.
  84. thekidthekid
    Mar 31, 2006
    0
    it suck bad really bad
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.