The Massacre

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 250

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanA
    Sep 23, 2007
    5
    The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through the perspective of not a drug abuser, but the drug itself. Build You Up features Jamie Foxx and has the pizazz that 50 tries to capture on most of his love songs, but this one is actually the real deal. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    50 cent has never been a lyricist, but this album is pretty bad lyrically. It seems that 50 keeps repeating himself on this album. Production (like on EVERY 50 cent album) is great. However, lyrically, this album is up there with Curtis as the worst 50 album ever. Btw, this album comes NOWHERE close to Get Rich or Die Tryin!
  3. BigJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    4
    this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't have the desire to write some decent lyrics. get the Game instead, it's much better lyrically with same above ave production. Collapse
  4. thekid
    Mar 20, 2005
    5
    The same beats and lyrics I've heard from every member of g unit since they came out. Not worth your money.
  5. machiavelli
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    seriously 50 has completely lost it.. he is claiming to be something he certainly isnt, and how can this man consider dissing ja rule when he seems to be spending more quality time singing than anything else. the album has nothing on get rich... the few decent songs in the album dont suffice in making the album amajor hit.. its average!
  6. chrisn
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    50 cent should have had eminem produce the whole album because 50 has no lyrics and this cd does not come anywhere close to get rich or die trying
  7. JamalK
    Mar 13, 2005
    5
    This song be alright. It ain't all da't bad. But be truthful his previous work be lot better than this.
  8. SanttuR.
    Mar 17, 2005
    6
    Certainly not "the shit", this album is so mediocre that it actually hurts.
  9. JimmyB
    Mar 4, 2005
    6
    This CD was just your everyday average rap CD. 50's lyrical content is nothing special, in fact it is sub par. The only reason 50 is around is Dre and Em. Period. The CD has some decent tracks, but nothing special. The two tracks Dre produced are weak (Dre goes 0 for 2), Scott Storch goes 1 for 3 and does his usual India inspired beats (Storch, just cause Lean Back was a big club hit, doesn
  10. TheO.G.Hustler
    Mar 18, 2005
    5
    this album shows how 50 changed. He's not the same gangsta with uzi tryin to get something to eat but now he's a verry rich dude who wants to fuck with everybody. That's the only message you keep in your mind after linstnin' the massacre album. 50 cent did not gice his best on this album.
  11. JohnnyV
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Aight, look. This CD is OK. Same crap, different day. 50 gots no skill, just a marketable look and Dre and Em in his corner. 50
  12. ShaunT
    Mar 5, 2005
    5
    For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, thus seems scattershot and a bit overboard in running time (something I would normally never speak negatively about unless I thought it was a serious issue). This album is also full of filler. Plain and simple, that's the truth. The stand-out tracks are the ones that, for the most part, move past this tough-guy taunting garbage and head straight for the dance floor or the bedroom. Far darker and much more ominous than Get Rich, Massacre is almost gruelling to listen to in one sitting. Low bass, dark beats, violent lyrics... 50 has become a full-blown cliche. I would not suggest purchasing this album if you have high expectations... there's an EP's worth of good material ("Candy Shop", "Disco Inferno", "Outta Control", "Get In My Car", "Just a Lil Bit", and "So Amazing"), but the rest is barely up-to-par, if that. Save your money and hit iTunes (or any other downloading service) for this one. Expand
  13. baller
    Mar 6, 2005
    6
    All i got to say is, If you buy this, you're a fucking idiot. ain't close to first album and 50 just use his marketing skills to get this crap album to white teens.
  14. ShaunT.
    Mar 7, 2005
    5
    For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, thus seems scattershot and a bit overboard in running time (something I would normally never speak negatively about unless I thought it was a serious issue). This album is also full of filler. Plain and simple, that's the truth. The stand-out tracks are the ones that, for the most part, move past this tough-guy taunting garbage and head straight for the dance floor or the bedroom. Far darker and much more ominous than Get Rich, Massacre is almost gruelling to listen to in one sitting. Low bass, dark beats, violent lyrics... 50 has become a full-blown cliche. I would not suggest purchasing this album if you have high expectations... there's an EP's worth of good material ("In My Hood", "Candy Shop", "Disco Inferno", "Outta Control", "Get In My Car", "Just a Lil Bit", and "So Amazing"), but the rest is barely up-to-par, if that. Save your money and download the songs listed above, seeing as they really are worthwhile. Expand
  15. RameezA
    Mar 9, 2005
    6
    I haven't heard this album and don't intend to either, but I gave it a 6 so as not to upset his user rating so much. What I wanted to say is that it is really funny they way some people are reviewing and analyzing this cd (i.e. Shaun T.). I'm sure Fifty was very concerned with the cohesiveness of the album. Very Street. I hope I'm not the only one seeing the irony in I haven't heard this album and don't intend to either, but I gave it a 6 so as not to upset his user rating so much. What I wanted to say is that it is really funny they way some people are reviewing and analyzing this cd (i.e. Shaun T.). I'm sure Fifty was very concerned with the cohesiveness of the album. Very Street. I hope I'm not the only one seeing the irony in some of this stuff. Alright, I'm done. Expand
  16. rubenf
    Sep 26, 2005
    6
    Dude has gone hollywood.
  17. QuiintonD
    Mar 5, 2007
    4
    Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, black nationalism and pride, the problem of greed and corruption, crime in the city, and about telling people to stop the violence in the cities, but hey, let's just pimp it up, because gangsters drink wine and martinis in clubs, and living in the ghetto has no crime, right? Wrong! Pick up any other CD, N.W.A., Snoop Dogg's Doggystyle, Ice Cube's AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted, they all talk about the realities of living in poverty and the decisions people make in their daily lives regarding it. This CD seems to sidestep and devoid themselves of just about all issues, and for party listeners, they'll like it because they can tune out the lyrics and hear the nice Dre beats, with the style in the background. It's not for real hip hop heads because we like to listen to our lyrics, but that concept is foreign to the mainstream public. They'd react with on college and high school campuses: Hip-hop with message, what? This is exactly what's wrong with hip-hop today, that today's generation now believes that hip-hop cannot be insightful, although it can be, and has been early on and at various moments through time, and still can be. In a lyrical sense, it kind of is dead because no one cares about the poetic aspect of it anywhere, and they just want to get their crunk on and their dollars. But that's just fine with the public, they all brush the good stuff to the side for party music anyways. Expand
  18. GEEM
    Mar 16, 2005
    4
    Not worth buying at all. He has gotten way to familiar. There is sm=omething mentally wrong with man. Was a big fan, now i just spectating on the side line, dont wanna get involved.
  19. JaimeP
    Sep 11, 2005
    5
    I really wanted to like this album, but at best, it's mediocore. The best track is a baltomore love thing. There are some ok tracks like piggy bank, rydin music, but the whole album is basically two things. A cliche of Gangsta rap, or a rehash of get rich and die tryin, a fairly superior record. Hopefully you're third attempt might be better...
  20. alleycd
    Feb 22, 2007
    6
    Dude, if you all think that bashing is cool when you haven't listen to the album at all, you're pathetic...Well i think this album is worth a 6 though because of the nice beats.
  21. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.5/10................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    75
    A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.