User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 253

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. daveyj
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    5 hot songs, which is more than you can say with most albums. a few crappy ones. the rest are solid. way better than i expected and a solid, conistent effort. not too different from get rich or die tryin, but if you liked that one you'll probably like this. the 5 hot songs: Gunz Come Out, Ski Mask Way, Ryder Music, Position of Power, I Don't Need Em
  2. PG
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    OOOOUCH This is a massacre but not in the way fiddy implies...damn the hits on here are almost none existant.
  3. ShaunT.
    Mar 7, 2005
    5
    For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, thus seems scattershot and a bit overboard in running time (something I would normally never speak negatively about unless I thought it was a serious issue). This album is also full of filler. Plain and simple, that's the truth. The stand-out tracks are the ones that, for the most part, move past this tough-guy taunting garbage and head straight for the dance floor or the bedroom. Far darker and much more ominous than Get Rich, Massacre is almost gruelling to listen to in one sitting. Low bass, dark beats, violent lyrics... 50 has become a full-blown cliche. I would not suggest purchasing this album if you have high expectations... there's an EP's worth of good material ("In My Hood", "Candy Shop", "Disco Inferno", "Outta Control", "Get In My Car", "Just a Lil Bit", and "So Amazing"), but the rest is barely up-to-par, if that. Save your money and download the songs listed above, seeing as they really are worthwhile. Expand
  4. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    3
    the album kind of sucks i dont know why dre let this album get released and plus i think 50 cents days are numbered with beef know with everybody from jarule, jadakiss, fat joe, nas who is nothing to play with look at beef with jay z even he couldnt take him out and beef with the game his own boy i dont know how much longer he got.
  5. RameezA
    Mar 9, 2005
    6
    I haven't heard this album and don't intend to either, but I gave it a 6 so as not to upset his user rating so much. What I wanted to say is that it is really funny they way some people are reviewing and analyzing this cd (i.e. Shaun T.). I'm sure Fifty was very concerned with the cohesiveness of the album. Very Street. I hope I'm not the only one seeing the irony in I haven't heard this album and don't intend to either, but I gave it a 6 so as not to upset his user rating so much. What I wanted to say is that it is really funny they way some people are reviewing and analyzing this cd (i.e. Shaun T.). I'm sure Fifty was very concerned with the cohesiveness of the album. Very Street. I hope I'm not the only one seeing the irony in some of this stuff. Alright, I'm done. Expand
  6. ronk
    Mar 9, 2005
    1
    garbage..this cd junk the best song on it is candy shop, the beat sounds alot like lean back dont you think...50s a coward hides behind dres beat..only reason people bought his cd was because he created all this hype..after listening to it you'll realize its junk....jada's gonna eat him and his piggy...
  7. Jegolasl
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This cd is just very good... the variety is pretty big, and sometimes 50 even sings instead of rapping. The beats and rap are simply fantastic, and with G-Unit and Olivia on several tracks, the cd will be the best of this year.
  8. fiddy
    Apr 21, 2005
    7
    A good cd but a downfall from get rich or die tryin'. The best tracks are outta control, just a little bit and im supposed to die tonight.
  9. Punklover28
    Apr 25, 2005
    0
    Hey, go listen to something good for a change, Like the used or umm my chemical romance. Atleast they have something to sing about besides sex and crap.
  10. SatanClawz
    Apr 26, 2005
    1
    Good thing for file sharing, you can easily delete the entire album in an instant without wasting fifty cents on the album. Poof! Not Rap. There is no art within it, too many loose ends. 50's needs to learn how to to count sylibols. This album sounded like he didn't even try to fix the flaws. yawn He should also incorporate his shady records freestyle into a song, i think those Good thing for file sharing, you can easily delete the entire album in an instant without wasting fifty cents on the album. Poof! Not Rap. There is no art within it, too many loose ends. 50's needs to learn how to to count sylibols. This album sounded like he didn't even try to fix the flaws. yawn He should also incorporate his shady records freestyle into a song, i think those were his best lyrics yet. Expand
  11. mohdhafeezmhd
    Apr 28, 2005
    7
    get dying and try buying this c.d.
  12. NoWay
    Apr 28, 2005
    1
    Boring, manufactured junk. Not as good as "Get Rich or Die Tryin", but that's not saying much. 50 has just tried reheat the same old cold garbage, but failed miserably. He even thought he could sell more records by calling out Nas! I mean, Nas could manhandle 50 anyday when it comes to the mic. I don't care about Ja Rule, 50 can go ahead and talk about him. But Nas? C'mon, Boring, manufactured junk. Not as good as "Get Rich or Die Tryin", but that's not saying much. 50 has just tried reheat the same old cold garbage, but failed miserably. He even thought he could sell more records by calling out Nas! I mean, Nas could manhandle 50 anyday when it comes to the mic. I don't care about Ja Rule, 50 can go ahead and talk about him. But Nas? C'mon, 50! I don't care how many times you been shot, you can't rap to save your life. Plenty of people have been shot up, so why does 50 Cent get millions of bucks to "rap" about his experience? Can't America find a good rapper whose been shot to give money to? Expand
  13. RogerB
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    I'm not biased toward any rappers and I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs," but I still think this albumn really sucks. I'd rather listen to a toilet flushing than the load of worthless garbage on this albumn. 50 talks so much shit; his stupid ass is gonna get shot......again. He sure knows how to cause problems over absolutely nothing. He thinks he's I'm not biased toward any rappers and I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs," but I still think this albumn really sucks. I'd rather listen to a toilet flushing than the load of worthless garbage on this albumn. 50 talks so much shit; his stupid ass is gonna get shot......again. He sure knows how to cause problems over absolutely nothing. He thinks he's so good, when he's really just a stupid-ass. King of New York? How can you be king if you don't live in your kingdom? His punk-ass lives in Connecticut. Oh, and yeah I'm sure he's slept with half of hollywood, he charms them with his busted face and big ass bugs bunny buck teeth, this kid looks like a chartoon charater. Let's see the list of celebs he's slept with, he doesn't have one or else he'd brag about it like he does everything else in his life. I'm not trying to hate, but give me a break, just shut your mouth and make some damn music, if you can, if you have enough talent to, b/c right now all he is is a bunch of hype b/c of his shit-talking. Get it right, he sounds like a jackass, Jada raps twice as tight as him. Expand
  14. ConceptJ
    Apr 8, 2005
    7
    What have you been smoking Roger B? ("I don't really give a damn about the b/s rap "beefs") then you go and quote a Jadakiss diss! And the album, well it's better than I thought it would be. Some tracks are good but there's too many rnb type songs on the album but that's what Snoop and LL are doing at the moment.
  15. Figz
    Apr 9, 2005
    3
    this C.D. does suck n "P.I.M.P" u dun know shit bout rap jealous? naw why wud i b jealous of a person who has tha vocab of a fuckin 3 year old. I gotta admit tha c.d. has some good themes. but no match 4 the games c.d. but 50 cent is thru
  16. BenS
    May 2, 2005
    0
    Hey, if your a rap fan, go listen to something good for a change. Madvillain, Ghostface, Common. God they all dwarf this album. Pop rap crap right here.
  17. J.M.Sarabia
    May 20, 2005
    0
    This album plain sucks. Someone let him keep his paper Burger King crown...
  18. guillaumep
    May 23, 2005
    2
    As bad as ever. HipHop is pretty much always the same these days and 50 cents makes it even worse
  19. ArjanD
    May 24, 2005
    9
    It's a good album with some pretty nice songs the only thing that i don't like is that there are a few songs that just are there to fill up the cd.
  20. StevenD
    May 25, 2005
    0
    he should be shot again for making this crap. This album sucks!!!!!!
  21. anti50cent
    May 29, 2005
    0
    absolute crap....i want my money back you CRACK MONKEY....He should be shot for making this garbage. Do some more steroids and smoke some more crack. And you wonder why black America is so messed up, look you they have to look up to.
  22. laquan
    May 6, 2005
    10
    it was better than get rich or die trying
  23. macd
    Jun 3, 2005
    1
    its bullshit!he cant talk about anything else but about how hard he is and how much of a pimp he is.his lyrics are pure shit.its bubble gum rap!he's a better singer.dis album is proof dat he's ALREADY run out of ideas.
  24. GaryA
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Ah well artists like Sarah Mclachlan,Rolling Stones,NIne Inch Nails,ACDC and Metallica Just to name the few are fortunate young people will still be discovering there older records but not fiddy here his 15 minutes are almost up only to make way for the next fad for our youth to eat up.
  25. FabriceS
    Jul 20, 2005
    9
    This album is great .
  26. TahirM
    Jul 9, 2005
    10
    best ever
  27. mj
    Aug 11, 2005
    0
    waste of air space
  28. 50Cent
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Hi yo hommies this is 50 cent yeah im the shit yoooo! lets go get shot cuz thats leik da sheet maaannnn yoo!
  29. rubenf
    Sep 26, 2005
    6
    Dude has gone hollywood.
  30. jont
    Sep 6, 2005
    0
    this album would have been good if get rich or dye trying never exhisted. and if there werent any other good albums out there. fifty may have the look and the brovado but he lacks creativity. it ironic how he got on ja rule for singing and yet he does it on this album. and its funny that for the most part like ja rule girls are defending him. females blinded by his muscles and the other this album would have been good if get rich or dye trying never exhisted. and if there werent any other good albums out there. fifty may have the look and the brovado but he lacks creativity. it ironic how he got on ja rule for singing and yet he does it on this album. and its funny that for the most part like ja rule girls are defending him. females blinded by his muscles and the other hip hop dribble out there. this album would have been good if kanye west wouldnt have released late registration. hate on kanye all you want but at least he is creative and is refreshing to hip hop. he needs to come at people to get buzz. and you know what jada kiss killed him wit one track. and nas didnt even have to try. nas beat jay z fifty stands no chance. his skills just arent there. the only reason why he makes money is cuz white people and young dumb kids cant tell good music from crap. they just want to buy wat the other kids buy. pac big nas jayz pun fuck fifty. and i hate these dam punk people saying hip hop is wack. keep that shit to your self. your genre is just as commercial as hip hop. so fuck you and my chemical romance. Expand
  31. Joselin
    Apr 25, 2006
    0
    What the hell is this sounds more like a album produced by Britneys Spears producers that a rap album. I understand the fact that it sold so much it has nothing to do with hiphop this is a pop album, and really bad pop to, not even Dre or Em can't save this shit.
  32. IllmaticNaS
    Aug 17, 2006
    0
    I'm not going to completely say, "AW, THIS BLOWS! AW, I HATE 50!!" I've gotta say, "Get Rich or Die Trying" wasn't that bad. But compared to NaS, Ice Cube, Souls of Mischief, Jay-Z, Wu-Tang.... 50 Cent has no talent. Come on. Compare this album to Ghostface Killah's "Fishscale." Or NaS's "Ill-Matic." Or Cube's "Death Certificate." YOU CAN'T!! You I'm not going to completely say, "AW, THIS BLOWS! AW, I HATE 50!!" I've gotta say, "Get Rich or Die Trying" wasn't that bad. But compared to NaS, Ice Cube, Souls of Mischief, Jay-Z, Wu-Tang.... 50 Cent has no talent. Come on. Compare this album to Ghostface Killah's "Fishscale." Or NaS's "Ill-Matic." Or Cube's "Death Certificate." YOU CAN'T!! You can't even compare "Get Rich" to any of these albums. Face it, Fifty has very little mic skills or beats. I'm sorry, fifty fans. Okay, he's better than half the shit out today (Mike Jones, Paul Wall, Boyz N da Hood), but c'mon, that's not saying much. Just listen at "Magic Stick" and "Candy Shop!" It's the same song! Fifty, just because you were shot don't mean jack. It's time to get rich by TRYING HARDER. But even that won't be enough. Expand
  33. DeQuanO.
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. 50 raps about nothing but the most standard elements, violence, drugs, hos and money. This can be done very well and very creatively, in the right hands. Pick up either Big L album for violence done well. Pick up a Necro album if you want extreme violence done well. Do not pick up this album. Spend five minutes on the internet searching for another album. Think for yourself, please. Tthere is so much music available today that you should NOT have to resort to this. You're already on this site, scan the left side of the screen and click on a link that's got a star next to it. I'm preaching, I know. People should be able to listen to what they like, and I understand this. I can guarentee you however, if you spend five minutes with the internet looking for a better album, you will enjoy it much more than this trash. Listen to Piggy Bank. He's laughing at you. He's taking your money all the way to the bank and spending it on things you will never be able to afford if you saved for your entire life. Do not help 50 cent get another chain, he doesn't need it. The real star is the production by Dre, too bad the lyrical content is severely lacking. If he has any semblance of talent, it is not shown on this album, especially on songs like Candy Shop or the Magic Stick. Expand
  34. JorgeV.
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    It's a shame that lyrical prowess is a lost art. It's like people don't even know their history about hip-hop, nor do they care. I was at a Run-DMC concert, and they asked a crowd what their first single was. All people said was just 'Walk this Way.' People disbelieved that it wasn't, and when Run DMC themselves said it was a different song, called It's It's a shame that lyrical prowess is a lost art. It's like people don't even know their history about hip-hop, nor do they care. I was at a Run-DMC concert, and they asked a crowd what their first single was. All people said was just 'Walk this Way.' People disbelieved that it wasn't, and when Run DMC themselves said it was a different song, called It's Like That...And that's the way it is, people were shocked and astonished at their lack of Run DMC expertise, which all too much appeared to be controlled by MTV. Pick up a Geto Boys album, or an Outkast album, Doggystyle, or a Rakim album, and they all had more lyrical content this album ever had. Well, say you like this song for the beats and style. But for lyrics? No way. This isn't clever nor is it poetic. In a sense, it isn't really bashing, but just plain, flat out honesty of one man's opinion. Does this album have good beats? Yes. The producer is Dr. Dre, and he always has good beats. But would 50 survive on beats of a mediocre producer, if given more mellower and less bouncy beats through lyricism? Probably not, but all he's done is rap from Dre's production. From a lyrical standpoint, he's lowered our IQ of the mainstream completely. Kanye West, the Roots, Common, they speak from the soul. For 50 cent, he doesn't rap about real stuff on the albums, so it doesn't count for anything, and so it's just all a money grab for him, but that's the mainstream, taking advantage that we don't know any better. Expand
  35. QuiintonD
    Mar 5, 2007
    4
    Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, Love the beats, and thug style!!!!!!!!!!!!! "I'll break it down for you now, baby it's simple If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho." -50 Cent ("Candy Shop") Well, what do you expect from an artist whose stage moniker in itself constitutes a grammatical mishap? Well....some people make music about getting out the vote, what it must have been like to have born out of fetus, black nationalism and pride, the problem of greed and corruption, crime in the city, and about telling people to stop the violence in the cities, but hey, let's just pimp it up, because gangsters drink wine and martinis in clubs, and living in the ghetto has no crime, right? Wrong! Pick up any other CD, N.W.A., Snoop Dogg's Doggystyle, Ice Cube's AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted, they all talk about the realities of living in poverty and the decisions people make in their daily lives regarding it. This CD seems to sidestep and devoid themselves of just about all issues, and for party listeners, they'll like it because they can tune out the lyrics and hear the nice Dre beats, with the style in the background. It's not for real hip hop heads because we like to listen to our lyrics, but that concept is foreign to the mainstream public. They'd react with on college and high school campuses: Hip-hop with message, what? This is exactly what's wrong with hip-hop today, that today's generation now believes that hip-hop cannot be insightful, although it can be, and has been early on and at various moments through time, and still can be. In a lyrical sense, it kind of is dead because no one cares about the poetic aspect of it anywhere, and they just want to get their crunk on and their dollars. But that's just fine with the public, they all brush the good stuff to the side for party music anyways. Expand
  36. fafadfa
    Apr 14, 2007
    0
    Brutal. Just Brutal. V. Ice could rap circles around fiddy.
  37. job
    Nov 4, 2005
    10
    best cd ever
  38. RileyF
    Dec 25, 2005
    3
    Overall, a pretty bad CD. There were a few good songs, like the Hate It Or Love It Remix or Disco Inferno, but for the most part 50 raps were bad. The production was excellent but 50 just didn't the effort into this CD like he did Get Rich Or Die Tryin'. I would say this is more of a pop CD rather than a rap CD because of songs like So Amazing and Candy Shop.
  39. theman
    Dec 8, 2005
    0
    50 cent is a no talent. rap in general is horrible. i hate it when music reviewers say a rap cd is good. rap is a no talent genre unless your lyrics ACTUALLY MEAN SOMETHING! the lyrics of canadian Buck 65 are an example of good rap. kanye has good lyrics, too, even though i don't like kanye west. if your going to listen to rap, reaserch a little bit and find something that is 50 cent is a no talent. rap in general is horrible. i hate it when music reviewers say a rap cd is good. rap is a no talent genre unless your lyrics ACTUALLY MEAN SOMETHING! the lyrics of canadian Buck 65 are an example of good rap. kanye has good lyrics, too, even though i don't like kanye west. if your going to listen to rap, reaserch a little bit and find something that is musically good, not stupid idiot rap. Expand
  40. figz
    Mar 11, 2005
    3
    this cd is garbadge 50 needs to stick wit sellin clothes cuz his 15 minutes of fame are up. The reason i gave it a 3 is cause some of the themes in the songs are good but his rhymes are terribly weak. Quit actin like god b4 u get poped
  41. LauC
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    2005 may still be young but this is really bad music.
  42. [Anonymous]
    Mar 11, 2005
    0
    This album sucks! Don't waste your money!!!
  43. DonD
    Mar 12, 2005
    0
    This is the worst rap album ever.
  44. JamesM
    Mar 12, 2005
    10
    This cd is the shit. Amazing beats and amazing lyrics. Buy this cd right now Best Tracks- They are all great
  45. GEEM
    Mar 16, 2005
    4
    Not worth buying at all. He has gotten way to familiar. There is sm=omething mentally wrong with man. Was a big fan, now i just spectating on the side line, dont wanna get involved.
  46. goatman
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    great album
  47. Mikey
    Mar 19, 2005
    9
    The beats on this CD are amazing and the lyrics are decent. There are a few great songs and a bunch of solids ones as well. Despite what 50 says, this CD won't top his first, but it's still a great rap CD. I'm not sure why so many people are giving it such low ratings.
  48. ZeroCool
    Mar 21, 2005
    8
    Ya this is a good album.Not as good as "Beg for Mercy" But still a masterpiece for this time. Love it or hate it ur choice.
  49. johnr
    Mar 23, 2005
    10
    best alblum in a while
  50. EmilyL
    Mar 23, 2005
    7
    It's ok. 50 cent is a pretty good rapper.
  51. ryanb
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    whats up with you! this is a brilliant album, ok, its not as good as get rich or die tryin but it deserves more than 5.8/10. it should at least be an 8/10.
  52. Vixi
    Apr 13, 2005
    1
    This is so bad, he has got to be the crappiest rapper out there - his entire career is based on his stupid reputation. I'll give a one because i respect some1 who can make so much money with so little substance (hey just like britney can!)
  53. RolandoW
    Apr 14, 2005
    0
    Hip Hop in general is monoton and ridiculous.
  54. CaptainBacon
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    50 puts the 'C' in front of rap.
  55. TheCritic
    May 11, 2005
    3
    - Even shit will start to taste good, if your hungry enough. A metaphor for the overplayed mainstream songs. - Out of 20 songs I found 3 to be good. The choruses were the worst part of the album. - Ski Mask is a really good song, especially the bridge. Gatman and Robin is good but only Ems verse, Hate it or Love it is a great song. - Overall, I think 50 needs to carefully select his beats - Even shit will start to taste good, if your hungry enough. A metaphor for the overplayed mainstream songs. - Out of 20 songs I found 3 to be good. The choruses were the worst part of the album. - Ski Mask is a really good song, especially the bridge. Gatman and Robin is good but only Ems verse, Hate it or Love it is a great song. - Overall, I think 50 needs to carefully select his beats for his next album. He should focus on darker hardcore rap. - The art of surviving in the concrete jungle. Expand
  56. tonyf.
    May 13, 2005
    0
    i like indie rock! rap sucks. 50 cent sucks!
  57. EddieC
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Another stellar effot by Fiddy.
  58. JaimeP
    Sep 11, 2005
    5
    I really wanted to like this album, but at best, it's mediocore. The best track is a baltomore love thing. There are some ok tracks like piggy bank, rydin music, but the whole album is basically two things. A cliche of Gangsta rap, or a rehash of get rich and die tryin, a fairly superior record. Hopefully you're third attempt might be better...
  59. StormieH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    I was hoping he would die trying.
  60. thekidthekid
    Mar 31, 2006
    0
    it suck bad really bad
  61. alleycd
    Feb 22, 2007
    6
    Dude, if you all think that bashing is cool when you haven't listen to the album at all, you're pathetic...Well i think this album is worth a 6 though because of the nice beats.
  62. Mar 26, 2015
    6
    6.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  63. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Fantastic album.It is just as good as Get rich or die tryin' without a doubt.Just a lil bit,Candy shop,In my hood,Gunz come out,Gatman and Robin,God gave me style,Outta control,Baltimore love thing,Disco inferno etc. etc. So many classic songs I could go on.Phenomenal work!
  64. Apr 22, 2015
    9
    A great sequel to GODT, the massacre is still packed with a near-perfect and explosive production by Dre and Em, 50 is still angry and dope on the mic. Maybe relying a little bit more on club bangers than the previous one, The massacre is still true to its gangsta ambitions. Piggy bank and Gunz come out are highlights on the album.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    75
    A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.