The Massacre

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 240

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanA
    Sep 23, 2007
    5
    The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through the perspective of not a drug abuser, but the drug itself. Build You Up features Jamie Foxx and has the pizazz that 50 tries to capture on most of his love songs, but this one is actually the real deal. Expand
  2. MarkTwain
    Apr 2, 2007
    3
    No, this album really does suck. The only part that is redeemable are the beats.
  3. SalwanS
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    puki :D
  4. stephaniem
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    over all a brillent cd loved evey bit of it i recently was bought it for ma 16 th bday an i put the whole album on ma ipod .............. love 50 cent he is brillent i also loved his flim an all his music****
  5. benm
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    this was an awesome album
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    50 cent has never been a lyricist, but this album is pretty bad lyrically. It seems that 50 keeps repeating himself on this album. Production (like on EVERY 50 cent album) is great. However, lyrically, this album is up there with Curtis as the worst 50 album ever. Btw, this album comes NOWHERE close to Get Rich or Die Tryin!
  7. CharlieR
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    this cd is a complete flop, im very dissapointed. 50 was my favorite rapper but now he thinks hes bullet proof and he cant die. hes a lil too cocky now too
  8. BigJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    4
    this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't have the desire to write some decent lyrics. get the Game instead, it's much better lyrically with same above ave production. Expand
  9. thekid
    Mar 20, 2005
    5
    The same beats and lyrics I've heard from every member of g unit since they came out. Not worth your money.
  10. MarkW.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's Fiddy...I don't see why everyone is hating it lol..
  11. JohnnyDaHorse
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    This guy's a joke; he's so pathetic that I don't know how could he be taken seriously. As one of the readers stated before, albums like this are bastardization of hiphop
  12. KC
    Mar 6, 2005
    7
    Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But after seeing what readers on metacritic and alot of other sites have said, this is definitily looking like another CD to download. Jimmy B... keep it real. P.S. Ja Rule is still absolutely garbo Expand
  13. LawrenceP
    Mar 6, 2005
    1
    I know a 8 year old jewish boy that has better skills on the mic. I give this LP a one because it made me laugh. 50...my local Mcdonalds is hiring.
  14. machiavelli
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    seriously 50 has completely lost it.. he is claiming to be something he certainly isnt, and how can this man consider dissing ja rule when he seems to be spending more quality time singing than anything else. the album has nothing on get rich... the few decent songs in the album dont suffice in making the album amajor hit.. its average!
  15. chrisn
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    50 cent should have had eminem produce the whole album because 50 has no lyrics and this cd does not come anywhere close to get rich or die trying
  16. AlexB
    Mar 7, 2005
    0
    All i can say is this is terrible. Like someone said before, this is nothing more than pop music...like most rap music now. I was really dissapointed in this CD.
  17. RuperB
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    this is the greatest album of all time. 50 cent is the future. The game doesnt know what he has done. G Unit
  18. AnthonyM
    Apr 15, 2005
    7
    It A FALL from Get Rich or Die Tring
  19. jeru
    Apr 30, 2005
    1
    His ist album was good because he got away with singing not many people realized that at the time.Also his production was top notch,so he got away with being repetive.With this album i feel like he cheated his fans.And even lost some fans(me). I feel like he dissed jarule & he's singing .
  20. P.I.M.P
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    D.C...you dont know shit!!!...you say this things about 50...cuz...you are jeluse maybe? i can see that you have no clue what is a good rap...so next time keep you fucking opinion to your self...by the way...NAS is sucks so is JayZ...
  21. Sid
    May 18, 2005
    0
    This guy seriously cant rap to save his life!! He uses tired melodies and absolutely pathetic lyrics and tries to sell his stuff with da fact that he got shot 9 times like he needs the money to go to da doctor! CRAP!!
  22. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    The beats interest me more than Get rich at this point. G-unit is full of female oriented beats now, which needs to stop, but for all the candy shop like songs he releases he's still hot fire.
  23. Shawanda
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    i love this cd. people think because i luv em but if u listen to it its too exclusive. im not gonna lie it has its bad parts cuz hes always puttin girls down & imma female myself. but other than that its hot.
  24. DominicG
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers 50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers these the wrong shots/after oyur next move i'll give you what i got." thats proves my theory. After the Massacre 50 will drop a Boab cd that will earn the fans respect back and it will be a lot easier after dropping a stank cd. Expand
  25. JamalK
    Mar 13, 2005
    5
    This song be alright. It ain't all da't bad. But be truthful his previous work be lot better than this.
  26. BobB
    Mar 14, 2005
    1
    Crap.
  27. st
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    ALBUM IS THHHE SHITTT!! RATE 10
  28. RJ
    Mar 17, 2005
    8
    People need to stop Hatin. This ain't a bad album at all. If u like commercial rap such as G-unit, u'll love this album. but if u expect cannibus type lyrics ur looking in the wrong place. All 21 songs are better than average. And a lot of standout tracks. Lots of great hooks and beats.
  29. SanttuR.
    Mar 17, 2005
    6
    Certainly not "the shit", this album is so mediocre that it actually hurts.
  30. BEEBEE
    Mar 18, 2005
    0
    worth a quarter
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.