The Massacre

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 253

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanA
    Sep 23, 2007
    5
    The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through The Massacre is produced better than 50's debut album. However the problem is that 50 is at his worst more consistently than he was on GRODT and even Beg For Mercy. There are two songs that need to be downloaded from this album, and the rest can go to the landfill. A Baltimore Love Thing is a great track where 50 raps a solid lyrical performance combined with great production through the perspective of not a drug abuser, but the drug itself. Build You Up features Jamie Foxx and has the pizazz that 50 tries to capture on most of his love songs, but this one is actually the real deal. Expand
  2. MarkTwain
    Apr 2, 2007
    3
    No, this album really does suck. The only part that is redeemable are the beats.
  3. SalwanS
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    puki :D
  4. stephaniem
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    over all a brillent cd loved evey bit of it i recently was bought it for ma 16 th bday an i put the whole album on ma ipod .............. love 50 cent he is brillent i also loved his flim an all his music****
  5. benm
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    this was an awesome album
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    5
    50 cent has never been a lyricist, but this album is pretty bad lyrically. It seems that 50 keeps repeating himself on this album. Production (like on EVERY 50 cent album) is great. However, lyrically, this album is up there with Curtis as the worst 50 album ever. Btw, this album comes NOWHERE close to Get Rich or Die Tryin!
  7. CharlieR
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    this cd is a complete flop, im very dissapointed. 50 was my favorite rapper but now he thinks hes bullet proof and he cant die. hes a lil too cocky now too
  8. BigJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    4
    this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't have the desire to write some decent lyrics. get the Game instead, it's much better lyrically with same above ave production. Expand
  9. thekid
    Mar 20, 2005
    5
    The same beats and lyrics I've heard from every member of g unit since they came out. Not worth your money.
  10. MarkW.
    Mar 3, 2005
    10
    It's Fiddy...I don't see why everyone is hating it lol..
  11. JohnnyDaHorse
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    This guy's a joke; he's so pathetic that I don't know how could he be taken seriously. As one of the readers stated before, albums like this are bastardization of hiphop
  12. KC
    Mar 6, 2005
    7
    Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But Man... I've been a huge fan of 50 for the past two years. So much so, that I even bought Get Rich or Die Tryin'. That is sayin alot considering that I have over 10 gig of mp3s. After all his recent beef, all I have to say is "why?". 50 had everything going for him, and he was the biggest artist in hip-hop by far. With that aside, I was still looking forward to The Massacre. But after seeing what readers on metacritic and alot of other sites have said, this is definitily looking like another CD to download. Jimmy B... keep it real. P.S. Ja Rule is still absolutely garbo Expand
  13. LawrenceP
    Mar 6, 2005
    1
    I know a 8 year old jewish boy that has better skills on the mic. I give this LP a one because it made me laugh. 50...my local Mcdonalds is hiring.
  14. machiavelli
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    seriously 50 has completely lost it.. he is claiming to be something he certainly isnt, and how can this man consider dissing ja rule when he seems to be spending more quality time singing than anything else. the album has nothing on get rich... the few decent songs in the album dont suffice in making the album amajor hit.. its average!
  15. chrisn
    Mar 7, 2005
    4
    50 cent should have had eminem produce the whole album because 50 has no lyrics and this cd does not come anywhere close to get rich or die trying
  16. AlexB
    Mar 7, 2005
    0
    All i can say is this is terrible. Like someone said before, this is nothing more than pop music...like most rap music now. I was really dissapointed in this CD.
  17. RuperB
    Mar 8, 2005
    10
    this is the greatest album of all time. 50 cent is the future. The game doesnt know what he has done. G Unit
  18. AnthonyM
    Apr 15, 2005
    7
    It A FALL from Get Rich or Die Tring
  19. jeru
    Apr 30, 2005
    1
    His ist album was good because he got away with singing not many people realized that at the time.Also his production was top notch,so he got away with being repetive.With this album i feel like he cheated his fans.And even lost some fans(me). I feel like he dissed jarule & he's singing .
  20. P.I.M.P
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    D.C...you dont know shit!!!...you say this things about 50...cuz...you are jeluse maybe? i can see that you have no clue what is a good rap...so next time keep you fucking opinion to your self...by the way...NAS is sucks so is JayZ...
  21. Sid
    May 18, 2005
    0
    This guy seriously cant rap to save his life!! He uses tired melodies and absolutely pathetic lyrics and tries to sell his stuff with da fact that he got shot 9 times like he needs the money to go to da doctor! CRAP!!
  22. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    The beats interest me more than Get rich at this point. G-unit is full of female oriented beats now, which needs to stop, but for all the candy shop like songs he releases he's still hot fire.
  23. Shawanda
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    i love this cd. people think because i luv em but if u listen to it its too exclusive. im not gonna lie it has its bad parts cuz hes always puttin girls down & imma female myself. but other than that its hot.
  24. DominicG
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers 50 cents new album is perfect because of his spectacular 1st cd everyone thinks hes falling of but hes not. He kinda wanted the Massacre not to be so good even though it is threw my eyes perfect most fans are going to be disapointted. So when he drops his next album this year it will be looked at as a classic and if you listen to 50's lyrics he even says "This is Chess not Checkers these the wrong shots/after oyur next move i'll give you what i got." thats proves my theory. After the Massacre 50 will drop a Boab cd that will earn the fans respect back and it will be a lot easier after dropping a stank cd. Expand
  25. JamalK
    Mar 13, 2005
    5
    This song be alright. It ain't all da't bad. But be truthful his previous work be lot better than this.
  26. BobB
    Mar 14, 2005
    1
    Crap.
  27. st
    Mar 15, 2005
    10
    ALBUM IS THHHE SHITTT!! RATE 10
  28. RJ
    Mar 17, 2005
    8
    People need to stop Hatin. This ain't a bad album at all. If u like commercial rap such as G-unit, u'll love this album. but if u expect cannibus type lyrics ur looking in the wrong place. All 21 songs are better than average. And a lot of standout tracks. Lots of great hooks and beats.
  29. SanttuR.
    Mar 17, 2005
    6
    Certainly not "the shit", this album is so mediocre that it actually hurts.
  30. BEEBEE
    Mar 18, 2005
    0
    worth a quarter
  31. MatthewA
    Mar 20, 2005
    1
    Stupid and pretentious. The guy can't even insult people properly.
  32. D.C.
    Mar 29, 2005
    0
    This album is ASS, 50 needs to get shot again or something, because this dude doesn't have a clue on what good music is. First of all he's the pot calling the kettle black, Dissing Ja-Rule for sing on his records when this cat sings on more then have of this new garbage called the Massacre. Yeah it was a Massacre alright, dude Massacred himself. Who the F does anyway dissing This album is ASS, 50 needs to get shot again or something, because this dude doesn't have a clue on what good music is. First of all he's the pot calling the kettle black, Dissing Ja-Rule for sing on his records when this cat sings on more then have of this new garbage called the Massacre. Yeah it was a Massacre alright, dude Massacred himself. Who the F does anyway dissing anyone, this guy disses people who paved the way for him. Nas, why would he think about dissing Nas when Nas was one of the HOTTEST rappers at a time when rap was competitive, at a time when Country Rappers didn't have a chance at anything, let alone running the air waves now. Jay-z tried dissing him and failed, so why the hell would 50 cent think he could even hold a candle up to Nas. Oh yeah I forgot he's HOT, his lyrics are on FIRE, real lyrical champ, yeah right. Craig Mack said it best (you won't be around next year) 50 pennies get your ish together, apologize to everyone you dissed, and rap would for giving us this trash. Cause it's all about the come back, do this ish again and please believe that it won't be no for you. NO SOUP FOR YOU, you will not eat doing it like this one. Damn Jada said (bunch of R&B song nothing but straight garbage) and I do use it for a weed plate. Get your shit together 4 dimes and 2 nickles, because this wasn't it. Maybe you should try a Chedder Bob and pop yourself, then maybe you can write some hot ish again. Expand
  33. BrentS
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    A lot of people seem to be hating on this album, and I am no big 50 fan, but I must say, this album is pretty damn good, I actually like it better than his debut album, he comes with balls on this one and a lot of the songs will stay in your head for a while, he most def supassed my expectations.
  34. AG
    Mar 3, 2005
    7
    Pretty Good Album. Does not live up to the hype, as it isnt as good as his debut, but all the tracks will keep you hooked untill he releases another album.
  35. TImothyW
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    If possible, I would give this album below a zero. This is perhaps the must unoriginal and uninspiring "album" that has ever been produced (if you can even call it an album). One album from this artist (if you want to call him that) was already one too many. This album neither raises awareness about any new issues or passes for entertainment. 50 cent has exposed his lack of talent, If possible, I would give this album below a zero. This is perhaps the must unoriginal and uninspiring "album" that has ever been produced (if you can even call it an album). One album from this artist (if you want to call him that) was already one too many. This album neither raises awareness about any new issues or passes for entertainment. 50 cent has exposed his lack of talent, unoriginality, and further contributed to the continual bastardization of hip-hop, by people who think that producing albums about money, women, and violence aware are providing insight into their culture. Expand
  36. JimmyB
    Mar 4, 2005
    6
    This CD was just your everyday average rap CD. 50's lyrical content is nothing special, in fact it is sub par. The only reason 50 is around is Dre and Em. Period. The CD has some decent tracks, but nothing special. The two tracks Dre produced are weak (Dre goes 0 for 2), Scott Storch goes 1 for 3 and does his usual India inspired beats (Storch, just cause Lean Back was a big club hit, doesn
  37. alexm
    Mar 4, 2005
    9
    this album is pretty tight but i like get rich or die tryin better but its still a great album
  38. tyler
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i bought this and didnt expect much, and was disappointed by the first couple songs but once i got to gatman and robin, the cd got 10 times better and had amazing songs from that point on
  39. Amanda
    Mar 4, 2005
    8
    Overall I would say its a break from its original without dropping everything that 50 in known for. You have some of your classic 50 and then he dabbles with something different which you want from an artist. I would say its worth the time to take a listen.
  40. Scott
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. 50 raps about nothing but the most standard elements, violence, drugs, hos and money. This can be done very well and very creatively, in the right hands. Pick up either Big L album for violence done well. Pick up a Necro album if you want extreme violence done well. Do not pick up this album. Spend five minutes on the internet searching for another album. Think for yourself, please. Tthere is so much music available today that you should NOT have to resort to this. You're already on this site, scan the left side of the screen and click on a link that's got a star next to it. I'm preaching, I know. People should be able to listen to what they like, and I understand this. I can guarentee you however, if you spend five minutes with the internet looking for a better album, you will enjoy it much more than this trash. Listen to Piggy Bank. He's laughing at you. He's taking your money all the way to the bank and spending it on things you will never be able to afford if you saved for your entire life. Do not help 50 cent get another chain, he doesn't need it. Expand
  41. LaurenceH
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    50 Cent is soooooooo over!
  42. SKEEBO
    Mar 5, 2005
    9
    get rich or die tryin was a 10. this is almost as good. it could use more DRE tracks. otherwise it is a solid album.
  43. AlanR
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    If you like this, you don't like hip-hop.
  44. AnthonyB
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Great CD, dont judge a cd by its cover, got some good songs, got some bad ones, i like it all... good shit!!!!!!!
  45. DeigoP
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    50cent is hot,tha whole g-unit and aftermath,fuck all these critic's saying that 50 ain't hot.i know he is.People angry at 50 ,cuz he came in tha game strong and made it easy as shit to do.Wordup
  46. Noname
    Mar 5, 2005
    8
    Not as good as the games album and not as good as get rich or die trying but it´s not bad! Piggy bank, gunz comes out, i´m supposed to die tonight and candy shop is the best tracks!
  47. Jon
    Mar 6, 2005
    8
    The album is good, but definatly not up to his standards. 50 is a talented lyricist, but it kinda feels like this CD was rushed just a tad bit and not put together like it should have been. But it's still a really fun listen, and it showcases what all 50 can do, as heard by the various types of styles that he shows us what he can do. The lifesaver for the albumn though, was it's The album is good, but definatly not up to his standards. 50 is a talented lyricist, but it kinda feels like this CD was rushed just a tad bit and not put together like it should have been. But it's still a really fun listen, and it showcases what all 50 can do, as heard by the various types of styles that he shows us what he can do. The lifesaver for the albumn though, was it's beats. They're still as clean as ever. Expand
  48. BlaineR
    Mar 7, 2005
    2
    Ridiculous. I cannot believe the positive reviews that this album is recieving. The same, tired, egotistical, boring, and all around stupid lyrics and beats are in place. This man can never stand to the lyrical prowess of artists like Nas, and it's laughable that he's "dissin'" him.
  49. JosephS
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip hop. 50 Cent is not trying to (snicker) raise awareness or provide cultural insight. And people who just go around giving anything that isn't Destiny's Child a bad review on the basis that it's "disrespectful to women" need to get a life Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip hop. 50 Cent is not trying to (snicker) raise awareness or provide cultural insight. And people who just go around giving anything that isn't Destiny's Child a bad review on the basis that it's "disrespectful to women" need to get a life and start basing their opinions on the same criteria as normal people. This album may be more of the same, but that's the POINT now, isn't it. Expand
  50. PhillipI
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    This CD is Tight.... I dont know why all you are tripping and saying it sucks and 50 cent is over.. Man if he is over how come is album is selling so good right know. You all are just haters. The flow of the album is incredible, and the beats are just what hip-hop likes. A definite must buy.
  51. AlexH
    Mar 7, 2005
    7
    Beats, catchy choruses (a rapper with vocals, finally), And fifty being himself, what more could ctritics ask for.
  52. budb
    Mar 7, 2005
    1
    way below the first record barely no goos song... huge disappointment !
  53. JL
    Mar 9, 2005
    0
    This is just garbage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  54. Jamalk
    Apr 18, 2005
    2
    This album was terrible. Out of it's 22 tracks I think only 3 were really good. The rest was pure garbage. The topics he raps about are pathetic and redundant as well. Let's go over the only 3 things he raps about 1) how people should fear him 2) how much of a Pimp he is and 3) how people should fear him. What happened to quality rap ? About over coming the Odds ? about Struggle This album was terrible. Out of it's 22 tracks I think only 3 were really good. The rest was pure garbage. The topics he raps about are pathetic and redundant as well. Let's go over the only 3 things he raps about 1) how people should fear him 2) how much of a Pimp he is and 3) how people should fear him. What happened to quality rap ? About over coming the Odds ? about Struggle ? Lyrics and music that refresh the spirit to overcome personal adversity ? Rap i fear has gone Hollywood. And this album is a testament to it. Expand
  55. ShaneM
    Apr 19, 2005
    0
    Why is it en vogue to reward the dregs of American society? Why are you spending your money to make talentless criminals, drug dealers and violent thugs rich? What is wrong with you?
  56. LostFound
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Don't waste your money. For those who liked it... Wow!
  57. KoolG
    Apr 26, 2005
    0
    Is this the best that rap has to offer? if so rap doesn't have long until it's demise. How can a person who has no lyrical content be at the top of the game? I can't blame 50 for putting out suck garbage, because there isn't anyone to make him look bad. 50 couldn't do it when rap was good, he couldn't make it when BIG and Pac was around, well shit alot of Is this the best that rap has to offer? if so rap doesn't have long until it's demise. How can a person who has no lyrical content be at the top of the game? I can't blame 50 for putting out suck garbage, because there isn't anyone to make him look bad. 50 couldn't do it when rap was good, he couldn't make it when BIG and Pac was around, well shit alot of people couldn't make it then ( Jay-Z ) he was a struggling artist trying to find his talent. Can someone please bring rap back because if this is all that hip hop has to offer, then hip hop will get Massacred. Expand
  58. LV
    Apr 4, 2005
    0
    Don't listen to that chick Curtis, Tine E is probably just in love with you or something. Because you are and never will be the best, this is your 3rd album and it seems that you're regressing. Your first time out the gates you came out firing at everyone in the game, and that didn't get you nowhere but on the bench. So you put out millions of underground CD's (Smart Don't listen to that chick Curtis, Tine E is probably just in love with you or something. Because you are and never will be the best, this is your 3rd album and it seems that you're regressing. Your first time out the gates you came out firing at everyone in the game, and that didn't get you nowhere but on the bench. So you put out millions of underground CD's (Smart Move) you won the streets back. Then you hooked up with Em and Dre, (Very Smart Move) Get Rich or Die Trying was one of the best albums ever. So this third time around you had the world hyped, everyone and their moms thought they were apart of G-Unit. You even leaked Piggy Bank ( Damn, I thought this dude was the smartest man on earth) really adding fuel to the fire. But when it finally drop, The Massacre, it all made since. I understood Piggy Bank know after hearing the rest of the trash on the CD. You need to get at people because you found yourself looking in the mirror with no new ideas. The Massacre is weak, your sing on half of the cd like Jada said. But I give you this you did a great job picking and choosing who you got at this time around, because if you would have made the mistake of getting at people like you did in Robbing The Game then you would have just rob yourself. Because people like Jay-Z who took you as a joke the first time would have Murder you on wax to the point where the Doc couldn't you this time. Re-think your game plan and approach the next album, pull out some old RAP records study some of the best, like Rakim, Big Daddy, KRS, LL, B.I.G.,2 Pac, NAS, etc.......... Learn from the best and then maybe you'll be able to make a good album outside of a time of crisis. Expand
  59. Romeo
    Apr 4, 2005
    0
    one review said it all....50 cent is the cancer of the hip hop world
  60. jeremyb
    Apr 4, 2005
    2
    Pretty gay, too repetitive, non original, commercialised bullsh*t - he's just out to make money off u fools who love him no matter how crap of an album he puts out..Where is the decent hip hop these days..
  61. MajaS
    Apr 7, 2005
    8
    A very good album. If there weren't so many songs it would be better than Get Rich.
  62. F50
    Apr 9, 2005
    0
    This is the biggest bunch of bullshit ever put out by a platinum rapper ( self proclaimed KING ), hang it up Five O you're done, it's over homie.
  63. rapfan
    May 20, 2005
    0
    This dude is ass, straight up and down. There is nothing else to say about this trash ASS.
  64. jasel
    May 29, 2005
    0
    Absurd Comic Figure of Ridiculous Posturing. Whoever shot this idiotic ba**ard should get their vision checked. BETWEEN THE EYES... BETWEEN.
  65. AndaranP
    Jun 28, 2005
    7
    In fact all the productions on this album is masterfull, but Fiddy ain`t. On "Get Rich or die tryin" u could sense the energy here he just spits mindless rhymes about how to fuck his enemies and how to fuck the girls. I only felt some energy on "im supposed to die tonight". Its a plain album that delivers good production, good hooks(as always with 50), but crap rap.
  66. MarcD
    Jun 5, 2005
    2
    His delivery is terrible. The lyrics devoid of creativity. The riffs monotonous. On top of all this, having Eminem produce an album is no longer a selling point. Slim Shady hasn't been up to snuff since the Marshall Mathers LP. Horrible waste of money.
  67. Cosmo
    Jun 7, 2005
    0
    Craperific
  68. Lil'P
    Jul 1, 2005
    0
    This album was a big waste of money and a waste of my time, thats all i have to say, I feel bad for whoever buys it next
  69. BudalayahhH
    Jul 8, 2005
    1
    This album is a disgrace for hip-hop culture. Luckily i got it from a friend, i didnt waste my money on this shit.
  70. dean
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    this is utter crap fiddy fell of, he got rich and stopped tryin
  71. Spriggangirl
    Sep 27, 2005
    0
    No more violence in music, and no more dealing with 50 cent.
  72. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    1
    all the same, rap is soooo monotonotous, its like one green day song over and over again; blood, sex and booze
  73. DennisV
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    This album is incredible. Any one who gives it a 4 or below is an idiot or just hates 50. This album is way more original than the first.
  74. AliJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    3
    Get rich or die tryin was in my eyes a master piece. A almost hybrid of Biggies layed back smooth style and Tupac's hard edge sophisticated. So the massacre had so much potential and it did live up to its name. ITS A FUCKING MASSACRE!!! A massacre of beats, a massacre of time and a massacre of money. Something has happened to the artist such as Eminem and 50 it seems they have Get rich or die tryin was in my eyes a master piece. A almost hybrid of Biggies layed back smooth style and Tupac's hard edge sophisticated. So the massacre had so much potential and it did live up to its name. ITS A FUCKING MASSACRE!!! A massacre of beats, a massacre of time and a massacre of money. Something has happened to the artist such as Eminem and 50 it seems they have traveled to far out of the nest and now are in an owasis of shitty and unoriginal ideas. Song after song is packed with crappy rapping from Fiddy. It's all about how rich he is and how many niggers hez shot. These topics can be played on creativly but no such arguement can be made here. It's awful shit you would expect from Young Buck or somthing (I H8 YOUNG BUCK HOW HE GETS LIFE) Dre needs 2 regain control or aftermath will eventually fall. With Shyne being relased from prision I have the feeling things are going to change. FREE SHYNE Expand
  75. TheO.G.Hustler
    Mar 18, 2005
    5
    this album shows how 50 changed. He's not the same gangsta with uzi tryin to get something to eat but now he's a verry rich dude who wants to fuck with everybody. That's the only message you keep in your mind after linstnin' the massacre album. 50 cent did not gice his best on this album.
  76. DRED
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    This CD is great!! I dont know why all you losers are giving it such a bad rating....i bet you dont even listen to it you idiots...this CD has amazing beats and lyrics its awesome BUY IT!!!
  77. TerryM
    Mar 19, 2005
    10
    great follow up from get rich
  78. Lunchmeat
    Mar 21, 2005
    0
    Embaressing, awful, pathetic, cringe worthy. These are just a few words to describe 50 Cent and this album. Avoid If Vomit were a movie, this would be the soundtrack
  79. Darrin
    Mar 21, 2005
    2
    Same ol' worn out Gangsta crap...arent people getting well and truly sick of this worthless B.S by now? He is an average Rapper at best anyway.
  80. ANGELAA
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    The CD rocks, it isn't the best, but it comes close. I love 50 Cent he is so hott.
  81. JarodC
    Mar 28, 2005
    8
    Great album but we expect more from someone like 50 cent too bad it wasn't better than Get Rich or Die Tryin
  82. shaneces
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    i love you 50.
  83. sasham
    Mar 29, 2005
    10
    this cd is h.o.t u peolple be hating cuz 50 is nice pssss!any whoo to all u haters whatever then don't buy his cd.this cd was fire
  84. TinaE
    Mar 29, 2005
    8
    I love the album, it's raw and gritty and very nostalgic for me. Maybe I'm biased....I love Fiddy. There's not a man alive that can touch him. Curtis, you are the absolute greatest. All my love
  85. CvPillay
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Love the album....Good Shit Man!!!!!
  86. WalkerR
    Mar 3, 2005
    1
    Another boring generic rap album. Do any of these guys have talent. Can they even play instuments? All I see is rappers stealing other musicians beats, sounds, and taking credit as if they are original.
  87. JasonW
    Mar 3, 2005
    9
    It is a very good CD. Some of the beats are okay, some I wasn't feelin though.
  88. JohnnyV
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Aight, look. This CD is OK. Same crap, different day. 50 gots no skill, just a marketable look and Dre and Em in his corner. 50
  89. qayyumy
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    i agree... the album starst 2 b good after i m supposied 2 die tonight gatman and robbin..e.tc r good songs
  90. MalekP
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    Why the hate on this album? This shit is classic IMO.
  91. Eric
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    This album is off the fucking chanz nigga, I was listening to it, It just blows "Get Rich Or Die Trying" out of the water. I think there is some litlle bitches that dislike 50 cuz he rips on Nas and Ja Rule for being the pussies they are. Besides, Nas fucking blows at being a rap artist. He hasn't had an album yet that can compare to 50's 8 Million!!! This album is worth the This album is off the fucking chanz nigga, I was listening to it, It just blows "Get Rich Or Die Trying" out of the water. I think there is some litlle bitches that dislike 50 cuz he rips on Nas and Ja Rule for being the pussies they are. Besides, Nas fucking blows at being a rap artist. He hasn't had an album yet that can compare to 50's 8 Million!!! This album is worth the money spent on it. _End_ Expand
  92. BrentK
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    I great following up to get rich or die trying, Good beats along with good lyrics, 50 is real, hes about to put alot of rappers out of business
  93. ChrisC
    Mar 5, 2005
    3
    Im not impressed, with the ammount of time it took him to put out a new album the effort is not noticable. A majority of the songs are slow and really let me down. I like only a few of the songs on the album, which consisted mostly of all the singles he released before the CD even came out. My overall suggestion is borrow it from a friend and see if you like it, because i was extremly Im not impressed, with the ammount of time it took him to put out a new album the effort is not noticable. A majority of the songs are slow and really let me down. I like only a few of the songs on the album, which consisted mostly of all the singles he released before the CD even came out. My overall suggestion is borrow it from a friend and see if you like it, because i was extremly dissapointed. Expand
  94. MattL
    Mar 5, 2005
    0
    This album is exactly its name, its a masscre. It is a uninspired piece of studio produced crap. 50 cent needs to spend more time on his work, or put out cds faster, because atleast if he put cd's out often i would understand why they are not very good. Perhaps next time he wont spend 1 year on making a piece of shit record! dont buy this
  95. ShaunT
    Mar 5, 2005
    5
    For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, For being one of the most hyped rap CD's in years, 50 flat-out fails to live up to the hype. Is it fair to judge an album based on the hype it's riding on? Normally no, but 50 thrives on it. The album is chock-full of boasting and gangsta cliches. This would all be fine had it been inventively done, but this album feels so cobbled together that it has no real cohesive structure, thus seems scattershot and a bit overboard in running time (something I would normally never speak negatively about unless I thought it was a serious issue). This album is also full of filler. Plain and simple, that's the truth. The stand-out tracks are the ones that, for the most part, move past this tough-guy taunting garbage and head straight for the dance floor or the bedroom. Far darker and much more ominous than Get Rich, Massacre is almost gruelling to listen to in one sitting. Low bass, dark beats, violent lyrics... 50 has become a full-blown cliche. I would not suggest purchasing this album if you have high expectations... there's an EP's worth of good material ("Candy Shop", "Disco Inferno", "Outta Control", "Get In My Car", "Just a Lil Bit", and "So Amazing"), but the rest is barely up-to-par, if that. Save your money and hit iTunes (or any other downloading service) for this one. Expand
  96. ahmadj
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    i love him so much
  97. nick
    Mar 6, 2005
    0
    An embarassment to rap. Each track is the same, which is something you start to realise as soon as you've listened to one of his albums more than once. Every track talks about how rich he is, bling bling, how he got shot (we heard you the first 100 times!), how much of a pimp he is, how many guns he's got, how if you mess with him he'll kill you, and G G G G G Unit. An embarassment to rap. Each track is the same, which is something you start to realise as soon as you've listened to one of his albums more than once. Every track talks about how rich he is, bling bling, how he got shot (we heard you the first 100 times!), how much of a pimp he is, how many guns he's got, how if you mess with him he'll kill you, and G G G G G Unit. Different beats is all that separates one track from another. I pity what mainstream "rap" has become today. Expand
  98. baller
    Mar 6, 2005
    6
    All i got to say is, If you buy this, you're a fucking idiot. ain't close to first album and 50 just use his marketing skills to get this crap album to white teens.
  99. Smokedog
    Mar 6, 2005
    1
    What a weak album. Candy Shop is the strongest song on there barring "Hate it or Love it" but thats also on The Games album.
  100. CynthiaC.
    Mar 6, 2005
    9
    i think this album is better than get rich. and to whoever said 50 doesn't have talent, lets see if you can do better. 50 is one of the best right now and his last song "like it or love it" is my favorite on the entire album cuz it says the truth that he's gonna be around forever.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Not all of Massacre is as immediately catchy as Get Rich, but it's close.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    75
    A joyride of an album that's as fun as it is familiar. [2 Mar 2005, p.E2]
  3. It's pretty much all the same synth leads, bang-bang beats, and tired rhymes as every other Aftermath related project since The Eminem Show, which wasn't that great either.