The Massacre

The Massacre Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The rapper's second album was "executive" produced by Dr. Dre, Eminem and 50 himself and includes the singles "Piggybank" and "Disco Inferno."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. All the ugly gangsta lies are here, especially as regards the brutalization of women and the business of death. But they're incidental to the mood of the piece, which is friendly, relaxed, good-humored, and in the groove.
  2. New Musical Express (NME)
    80
    There's a new depth to the murderous lyricism here that discounts any possibility he's renounced violence. [12 Mar 2005, p.58]
  3. The beats are captivating, the choruses memorable, the skits kept to a minimum, and, most importantly, the rapping deft, inventive, and full of surprises.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The new songs (and subject) aren't as absorbing as the old. [11 Mar 2005, p.101]
  5. But while its flaws are formidable, so are its strengths, beginning with Cent's dark charisma, belligerent sneer of a voice, fluid delivery, and mastery of hip-hop style
  6. [50's] rhymes are as stupid as ever.
  7. With nothing musically fresh, attention is focused on [50] himself. Bad idea.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 164
  2. Negative: 79 out of 164
  1. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Fantastic album.It is just as good as Get rich or die tryin' without a doubt.Just a lil bit,Candy shop,In my hood,Gunz come out,Gatman andFantastic album.It is just as good as Get rich or die tryin' without a doubt.Just a lil bit,Candy shop,In my hood,Gunz come out,Gatman and Robin,God gave me style,Outta control,Baltimore love thing,Disco inferno etc. etc. So many classic songs I could go on.Phenomenal work! Expand
  2. DennisV
    Mar 11, 2005
    10
    This album is incredible. Any one who gives it a 4 or below is an idiot or just hates 50. This album is way more original than the first.
  3. JosephS
    Mar 7, 2005
    9
    Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip Rap music, assuming the beats aren't lame, is about DELIVERY. 50 Cent's DELIVERY is just as tight as ever. This album is not hip hop. 50 Cent is not trying to (snicker) raise awareness or provide cultural insight. And people who just go around giving anything that isn't Destiny's Child a bad review on the basis that it's "disrespectful to women" need to get a life and start basing their opinions on the same criteria as normal people. This album may be more of the same, but that's the POINT now, isn't it. Expand
  4. BigJ
    Mar 10, 2005
    4
    this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll this album isn't worth downloading for free or bootlegging for $5...yeah sure there's some nice beats from Dr. Dre, but I'll hear those in the club and on the radio and soon be tired of them...Lyrically, 50 cent is saying nothing new and claims to be a thug with guns...Please he lives in a $50 million mansion in the Connecticut suburbs. he's paid and he doesn't have the desire to write some decent lyrics. get the Game instead, it's much better lyrically with same above ave production. Expand
  5. jeru
    Apr 30, 2005
    1
    His ist album was good because he got away with singing not many people realized that at the time.Also his production was top notch,so he got His ist album was good because he got away with singing not many people realized that at the time.Also his production was top notch,so he got away with being repetive.With this album i feel like he cheated his fans.And even lost some fans(me). I feel like he dissed jarule & he's singing . Expand
  6. Scott
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical There are no redeeming qualities whatsoever on this album. This is the perfect example of what's wrong with today's musical landscape. If this album sells more than 1 copy (which it already has), then someone has lost a fight somewhere. I'm not offended by violence, language or pretty much anything else. I am offended by this album however, based purely on how awful it is. 50 raps about nothing but the most standard elements, violence, drugs, hos and money. This can be done very well and very creatively, in the right hands. Pick up either Big L album for violence done well. Pick up a Necro album if you want extreme violence done well. Do not pick up this album. Spend five minutes on the internet searching for another album. Think for yourself, please. Tthere is so much music available today that you should NOT have to resort to this. You're already on this site, scan the left side of the screen and click on a link that's got a star next to it. I'm preaching, I know. People should be able to listen to what they like, and I understand this. I can guarentee you however, if you spend five minutes with the internet looking for a better album, you will enjoy it much more than this trash. Listen to Piggy Bank. He's laughing at you. He's taking your money all the way to the bank and spending it on things you will never be able to afford if you saved for your entire life. Do not help 50 cent get another chain, he doesn't need it. Expand
  7. StormieH.
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    I was hoping he would die trying.

See all 164 User Reviews