The Meadowlands

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 95
  2. Negative: 6 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 14, 2017
    10
    Nothing short of essential. Packed with emotion, none of it facile, and laden with surprising hooks throughout. Every time I listen, I am amazed anew.
  2. PimW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow. It feels like receiving a precious gift to discover an album like this. Never heard of the Wrens before but gave it a try after reading all the user comments at metacritic. three months later and I am still overwhelmed by the pure quality and originallity of the music. Every song has great in- and outro's and unbelievably sticky melodies. Still, the diversity is great. All songs Wow. It feels like receiving a precious gift to discover an album like this. Never heard of the Wrens before but gave it a try after reading all the user comments at metacritic. three months later and I am still overwhelmed by the pure quality and originallity of the music. Every song has great in- and outro's and unbelievably sticky melodies. Still, the diversity is great. All songs add something to the whole instead of repeating another. Not being able to get the tunes out of my head is probably the only negativity I can think of with this masterpiece. Can''t wait for the Wrens to bring out the next. Give it a try, at least 5 times and you'll be sold completely. Enjoy! Expand
  3. JamesS.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Someone must have paid a pretty penny to have Q-magazine to lie and bring their metascore down. This is truely a one band in a million's masterpiece. If you spread the songs out over ten different albums with a bunch of filler (ala major label spin), ever one of these songs would be a hit single. The Wrens deserves so much more respect and praise.
  4. BenH
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Just fantastic. Right off the melodies and chords of this album is pleasing, but you can listen more and more and realize how genious the lyrics and every other aspect of the album are. This is my favorite ever.
  5. Joachim
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    It's just an incredible album. I know I am only repeating what masses of people have said before me, but having discovered the Meadowlands album only just prior to X-mas 2006, I just can't stop playing it. There are so many totally overwhelming tunes on it, and whereas I one day can be totally in love with "She sends kisses" (which, although there's too many brilliant songs It's just an incredible album. I know I am only repeating what masses of people have said before me, but having discovered the Meadowlands album only just prior to X-mas 2006, I just can't stop playing it. There are so many totally overwhelming tunes on it, and whereas I one day can be totally in love with "She sends kisses" (which, although there's too many brilliant songs to single out one in particular, I after all must say is probably THE greatest song on this fantastic record), I can find myself in awe over "13 months in 6 minutes" the next day. Or be passionate to "Hopeless". Or indeed just chill to the tunes of "Boys, you wont". Thank you for sharing this with the world, Wrens lads. Expand
  6. TtableWhy
    Feb 19, 2007
    8
    I had never heard of Wrens before and this is not the type of music I usually would expect to like, given that it is (for want of a better description) straightforward bar-band type rock'n'roll with just guitar, bass, drums, vocals and no real sparkly guitar riffs/melodies/solos. It is quite dark and chordy. I usually prefer psychedelic, "creative", bright melodic stuff like I had never heard of Wrens before and this is not the type of music I usually would expect to like, given that it is (for want of a better description) straightforward bar-band type rock'n'roll with just guitar, bass, drums, vocals and no real sparkly guitar riffs/melodies/solos. It is quite dark and chordy. I usually prefer psychedelic, "creative", bright melodic stuff like Super Furry Animals, Of Montreal. "This boy is exhausted" was the only song to really attract me on first listen. After about 4 listens, though I began to love all of the songs. The song structures really seep through and the depth and melodies are really beautiful and the singing is great and passionate. Its my favourite album of 2006 along with Destroyer and Midlake and Final Fantasy. Expand
  7. JohnR
    Feb 15, 2007
    10
    It takes a lot of listens to fully get it but this is the greatest album I've ever played and ai've played a few thousand!
  8. JustinC
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    Buy a CD, put it down after a year or so of straight listening, pick it back up, and realize, "Hey, this really is one of the greatest CDs of all time"
  9. JoshB
    May 27, 2006
    10
    Amazingly complex from great all around songs like "happy" all the way to pumped up rocking tracks like "per second second". Best CD I've owned....ever.
  10. ArmandoA
    Feb 19, 2006
    9
    "Happy" alone makes the album worth buying. A lot of other excelent good tunes in there, though.
  11. PekkaP
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Love it. There's still people around who make good music. Did I say good, I meant, of course, excellent.
  12. SterlingT
    Dec 2, 2005
    10
    I love this album. It's the best music I've heard in the past year.
  13. haly
    Nov 14, 2005
    9
    This is an excellent album. Understated yet complex, its whispery brand of indie rock breathes maturity into a youth-driven realm with bleary-eyed hopeful melodies and tales of life's disapointments. Its lesson is that the strugges are ubiquitous, but the small intermittent comforts we get out of life are what make it all worth it.
  14. jamess
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  15. henkvanb
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    Brilliant
  16. AaronS
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    An amazing, tasteful collection of indie rock. Not only was this best album of 2003, it's also the best album that I have heard so far in this decade.
  17. NickL
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    Listening to this knowing nothing of their previous work, each song was pleasantly surprising to say the least and by the end of it the only thing I wanted to do was play it over again. And again. This album hits a spot on the musical spectrum I always knew existed but never really thought I'd hear. Beautiful.
  18. SethH
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    This is an incredible album. It takes everything that was good about the Wrens' previous albums and matures it into something far better than anyone could have wished for. Absolutely essential.
  19. DanC
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    A great, great, great album. An amazing collection of songs that are much greater collectively than individually, the utter antithesis of most single-driven alt rock. An album you will listen to again and again, miss when it's not playing, try to convince your friends to buy, and dream of at night. My absolute favorite album since Wilco's yankee hotel foxtrot. Listen to it now. A great, great, great album. An amazing collection of songs that are much greater collectively than individually, the utter antithesis of most single-driven alt rock. An album you will listen to again and again, miss when it's not playing, try to convince your friends to buy, and dream of at night. My absolute favorite album since Wilco's yankee hotel foxtrot. Listen to it now. Right now!!! Expand
  20. matta
    May 27, 2005
    8
    This is a good album but there are lots of better indie rock albums that have much lower scores. I'd be interested to see what their score would be like if there were more reviews. Faster Gun kicks ass.
  21. Brendan
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Best record of the last 5 years, anyone who hasn't heard it listen, and if you can see them live, by god do it...
  22. [Anonymous]
    May 3, 2005
    10
    record that broke my heart into 1000000 pieces ;)
  23. NaytivG
    May 2, 2005
    8
    This one CD has been a wonderful insight into the vision and spirit of the Wrens. It shows a real creative progression. The tempo is unpredictable and ultimately very satisfying. I can't wait for the next one.
  24. Steve
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    Two years after buying this album, it's still occupying my CD player. Absolutely remarkable.
  25. DouglasV
    Mar 1, 2005
    10
    Awesome.
  26. TerrenceO
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    Best album of 2003, with out question. Flawless, beautiful. I could go on but im lazy.
  27. HollisH
    Jan 5, 2005
    10
    Perfect. Thanks guys.
  28. altry
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Yes!
  29. davidw
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    This is one of my favorite cd's of all time. It is one of the cd's that I listen to atleast once a week. Each song on this disc has a special place in my heart. They are also an incredible live act (if you get a chance to see them).
  30. nomorbushit
    Dec 9, 2004
    9
    These guys ought to break with this cd, but probably won't and that sucks. I say re-Release it until people wake up. In the meantime, (note to the wrens) Please keep evolving. I love where you are going. oh, and i love this cd.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The Meadowlands is absolutely essential.
  2. With about twenty killer lines or couplets per song, unexpected hooks coming from everywhere and one of the most ingenious track sequences of the year, it’s not really so hard to imagine what The Wrens have been doing all this time.
  3. With all four members taking the mic, cohesion should hardly be expected. Yet, for all the different styles the band employs on this album, all but the closing number seem indelibly stamped as this band's work, uniquely The Wrens.