The Meadowlands - The Wrens
The Meadowlands Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The indie rockers took four years to record this third album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. The Meadowlands is absolutely essential.
  2. In trading the adolescent kick of Secaucus for ripened resignation, meticulous refinement for crippling maturation, they have realized their magnum opus.
  3. A fascinating, brokenhearted mess of a record.
  4. With about twenty killer lines or couplets per song, unexpected hooks coming from everywhere and one of the most ingenious track sequences of the year, it’s not really so hard to imagine what The Wrens have been doing all this time.
  5. A stunning return filled with irresistible pop of all varieties.... Note to major labels: you missed a gem. [#5, p.116]
  6. 80
    They've perfected their emo pop. [Jan 2006, p.132]
  7. The Meadowlands represents an impressive triumph of persistence over talent. [Oct 2005, p.121]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 63
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 63
  3. Negative: 1 out of 63
  1. RonG
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Serves as both the perfect gift for the girl you can't get out of your mind and the perfect kiss-off to the girl you can't seem to Serves as both the perfect gift for the girl you can't get out of your mind and the perfect kiss-off to the girl you can't seem to get out of your life. Expand
  2. ScareCr0w
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    First off, Steve Gozdecki at neumu.net is an idiot. 'She Sends Kisses' is one of the most beautifully crafted songs this year. First off, Steve Gozdecki at neumu.net is an idiot. 'She Sends Kisses' is one of the most beautifully crafted songs this year. Schlocky? No, Steve, not 'schlocky'. Expand
  3. PimW.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow. It feels like receiving a precious gift to discover an album like this. Never heard of the Wrens before but gave it a try after reading Wow. It feels like receiving a precious gift to discover an album like this. Never heard of the Wrens before but gave it a try after reading all the user comments at metacritic. three months later and I am still overwhelmed by the pure quality and originallity of the music. Every song has great in- and outro's and unbelievably sticky melodies. Still, the diversity is great. All songs add something to the whole instead of repeating another. Not being able to get the tunes out of my head is probably the only negativity I can think of with this masterpiece. Can''t wait for the Wrens to bring out the next. Give it a try, at least 5 times and you'll be sold completely. Enjoy! Expand
  4. RobL
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    I think the Wrens are the only band where I can't decide which of their albums is my favorite one. They're all brilliant in their I think the Wrens are the only band where I can't decide which of their albums is my favorite one. They're all brilliant in their own way. The Meadowlands had a lot to live up to for me, as Secaucus and Silver are two of my favorite albums ever. It definitely succeeded. That it's done from sort of a different approach than their previous full-lengths makes it all the more impressive. Like their previous records, I can't stop listening to it. The fact that these guys still aren't one of the more renowned indie rock bands around is a fucking crime. Expand
  5. Brendan
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Best record of the last 5 years, anyone who hasn't heard it listen, and if you can see them live, by god do it...
  6. PekkaP
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Love it. There's still people around who make good music. Did I say good, I meant, of course, excellent.
  7. Eurospeaking
    Mar 9, 2005
    1
    I thought indie was dead and buried. Sadly... it's not! This CD mainly contains a sickening mix of immature ballads and nerdy I thought indie was dead and buried. Sadly... it's not! This CD mainly contains a sickening mix of immature ballads and nerdy skaterboi-up-tempo tracks; obviously made to please pubertile 14 yos with an issue... Expand

See all 63 User Reviews