The Meanest Of Times

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    I really approve their style, but the album is too unvaried. Some songs like 'The State Of Massachusetts", "Johnny, I Hardly Knew Ya", "God Willing" or "Vices And Virtues" really kick ass, but most of the rest is not that special. But still, the genre they built up is very cool and I would definitely check their hit songs out, also if you don't miss much if you don't listen to the whole album.
  2. ZaneB.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    Great album
  3. JamesM.
    Nov 2, 2007
    3
    GOD! I hate idiot uses who abuse user vote and only vote either 10 or zero. I don't have a problem if people like this album. I don't mind it, I find many of the songs exciting an innovative... but this album is not a 10. Illiniose, In rainbows, figure 8... these are 10's. Don't fool youselves by voting so highly on such a mediocore album. It's insulting to real music.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    These people don't know what they are talking about. This is one of their best albums. Everything on it is perfect. Nice one DKM!!
  5. TimothyS.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    Brilliant. An improvement over their last two albums. God Willing and Flanagan's Ball are as good as any tracks they've done before. A must!
  6. Remdawg
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    This album is awesome (F)lannigans ball is awesome. I'd totally recommend it. another great DKM CD is "The Warriors Code"
  7. RemyC.
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    This is a very good CD and the Dropkick Murphys are a great band that give great cd's all the time
  8. MattD.
    Sep 27, 2007
    10
    A truly great album. It captures the hard working ethic and fun of Boston workers and Irish everywhere. The songs show their familiarity with the downsides of the average person. The song "Loyal to No One" reminds me of pain-in- the-ass neighborhood types you knew but didn't really like.
  9. DaraghL.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    The Murphys are back, and as mean as ever!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    The Dropkick Murphys don't fuck with a good thing on The Meanest Of Times. [Oct 2007, p.156]
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    These Boston Punk-folksters owe a large musical debt to Irish punk-folksters the pogues. But if that's not a problem for Pogues singer Spider Stacy, then it's fine by us, given the gloriously raucous, hook-heavy nature of '(F)lannigan's Ball.' [21 Sep 2007, p.81]
  3. The band sounds re-energized here, and while the quality of the songs is very up and down, they at least all have their muscle back.