Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    50
    With just a few exceptions, The Midsummer Station's would-be mainstream anthems of youth, love, and longing come off generic, hollow, and barely enjoyable.
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    70
    Almost half of the album is bolstered by huge beats and pulsating bass. Even so, the disc's bet tracks are the ones that don't employ this formula. [Sep 2012, p.92]
  3. 20
    Young's idea of fun is based on an uneasy mix of cheap valedictory philosophizing and infantile daydreaming.
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    70
    [The Midsummer Station is] a brave and bold addition to what is increasingly looking like a catalogue to relish.
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    50
    The Midsummer Station isn't a terrible album; it just sounds as if big studio influence overshadows much of the reliable metaphors and creativity that made songs like "Fireflies" a hit.
  6. 58
    The Midsummer Station is loaded with so many platitudes and puns that it quickly descends into sugar shock.
  7. Aug 23, 2012
    40
    It's an LP full of computerized, Auto-Tuned dance-pop anthems, perfect to drive the kids at junior prom into a frenzy. [No.90 p.59]
  8. Sep 7, 2012
    40
    Where once he dreamed of Fireflies, now Young just sounds burned out. [Oct 2012, p.108]
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    40
    His fluency with pop forms only makes things worse; Young spoils everything he touches. The Carly Rae Jepsen duet "Good Time" is grating enough to make you hate Jepsen, "Call Me Maybe" and also good times in general.
  10. Sep 11, 2012
    40
    They [Adam Young's fans] deserve better. We deserve better. Come to think of it, Adam Young deserves better.
  11. Aug 21, 2012
    75
    Anyone who disliked Owl City before probably won't change their mind after listening to this album-but [it] provides a refreshing respite from jaded, generic electronica.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 22, 2012
    1
    Adam has managed to go from a creative, unique, individual artist to a generic, mainstream nobody. No ones gonna remember this album. All it has to offer is hollow and cheesy pop club anthems. Even the lyrics are a HUGE step down from his earlier, witty, amusing and clever lyrics. Now all we get is: "We don't even have to try, its always a good time!" Was that lyric the motto for the creating of this album? Doesn't sound like anyone tried at all. This is a piece of garbage. Only good song is "Dreams & Disasters". HEY ADAM, GUESS WHAT! YOU'VE LOST YOUR ORIGINALITY, CREATIVITY, AND UNIQUENESS. GOODBYE. Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    1
    I have no problem with artists evolving. In fact, I'm glad he changed things up for this album. Also, I'm not even close to being an "Owl Citizen". However, this is just bad generic pop music. I understand that Owl City has always been slighty generic and very cheesy, but this is a new low for him. I like a nice, dumb song when it's done well, like Good Time. But songs like Bombshell Blonde are not... Y'know, let me rephrase this. Bombshell Blonde is unmemorable, generic, stupid, not catchy, boring production until the bridge, and I can barely tell what he's saying. That also goes for a lot of the other songs. This album needs to disappear fast and Owl City needs to try (yet) another direction. Sorry. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    Like the rest of Owl City's albums this one is yet again amazing in everyway. All of the music is catchy and holds a lot of meaning and many people will be able to relate to them. To me this album is the best one I have bought in a long time. Money well spend and I really recommend it! Full Review »