User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. StanescuC.
    Feb 20, 2002
    10
    Album's just great...delightful stuff
  2. anjalig
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    it is a fabulous album....highly elating...especially the song 'indra'.
  3. Mooka
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    Mostly awesome seamless music. Afew bland patches, specific songs, and within songs. However, first time I put in my latop I kept it going for about 5 hours on repeat
  4. PastokL.
    Nov 14, 2001
    10
    Excellent !!!!!!
  5. JanP.
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    electronical but smooth and changing, with ambiental elements and samba like as well. Some pieces feature tavla drums and sitar like sounds...
  6. ScareCrow
    May 31, 2002
    10
    great! especially with sangria!
  7. JohnF
    Jul 11, 2003
    10
    A refreshing mixture of international sounds that delights the ears and forces one to redefine their preconceptions regarding the boundries of international music types. The Nobu of CD's
  8. ShashiT
    Feb 10, 2005
    9
    Some bland tracks, but quite a few jems especially if you're a hip-hop-instrumenatl-basshead who really loves women and breathy vocals...like me...peace
  9. SammyK.
    Feb 17, 2002
    5
    Dull and repetitive. Most of the tracks have a few bleeps and synth washes, but that's it. Rockhard arrangements that hardly change, resulting in general feelings of boredom and staleness. Once the brothers get into a groove, they copy and paste the entire section over again for the next 5 minutes, and then add a few changes. Inane instrumentation that never goes anywhere. Chill-out Dull and repetitive. Most of the tracks have a few bleeps and synth washes, but that's it. Rockhard arrangements that hardly change, resulting in general feelings of boredom and staleness. Once the brothers get into a groove, they copy and paste the entire section over again for the next 5 minutes, and then add a few changes. Inane instrumentation that never goes anywhere. Chill-out doesn't have to be this dull! Expand
  10. DwightB.
    Mar 21, 2002
    10
    This album is excellent. I have their previous albums and they inteligent musicians who are very open minded in their genre of music. Sammy K who gave the album a 5 does not know what he is talking about.
  11. ChrisJ.
    Apr 6, 2002
    5
    Get the Thievery Corp. dj kicks mix cd... its a 10! This however, is quite repetitive and monotone.
  12. JuanCS
    Jun 15, 2003
    10
    simply the best, this is the first time i listen to it and i love it. this is what i call music.
  13. FabienJ
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    One of the best, if not the best, lo-fi albums made. Period.
  14. ChiragP.
    Jan 21, 2002
    10
    the most amazing album to chill-out to!
  15. ArtyFarty
    Mar 19, 2002
    9
    the more I listen to it, the more I like it...
  16. NomadSoul
    Feb 18, 2003
    10
    this is my favorite GROUP, and this cd is great work of thievery Copr.I like ir very much, thank's people for doing this great work!!!
  17. Frank
    Apr 23, 2005
    9
    The first album of theirs I heard, and bought ASAP! Conistent quality of work, their albums prior to "The Outernational Sound" all would get a 9 from me. "Outernational Sound" gets a 9.5 from me. Babylon Rewound gets a low grade from me though, I really didn't care for it, so I give it a 5. Have not yet heard Cosmic Game, but it is on my list to buy soon.
  18. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    Awesome album... just press play and enjoy! If you like this type of music then Thievery Corporation is most likely the perfect sound for you! Sweet!!!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. But even with all the billowing moods and lush female vocals, what is paramount to The Mirror Conspiracy's muse is rhythm.
  2. But while The Mirror Conspiracy is lush relaxation music, it can be too relaxed at times. Some of the tracks, such as "So Com Voce," feel bland and lack the rhythmic ideas driving standout cuts like "Lebanese Blonde" and "Le Monde."
  3. 80
    Unlike many of dance culture's dedicated dilettantes, theirs is a smooth and millifluous whole, underpinned by the gentle pulsing of liquid bass lines.... Delightful. [Sep 2000, p.94]