The Money Store

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2012
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. May 1, 2012
    83
    Even its bleakest sentiments and harshest sounds invigorate.
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    87
    Death Grips appeals to the knuckle-dragging troglodyte and the smirking smart kid in us: thick-headed goonery and bookish, viscera-free nerdiness, making beautifully misanthropic music together.
  3. Apr 23, 2012
    100
    The Money Store thrills like no other set heard this year.
  4. May 1, 2012
    80
    This is gritty, grimy, hardcore hip-hop, as nasty as it wants to be.
  5. May 16, 2012
    90
    The Money Store might be the very definition of acquired taste, and will most likely alienate the vast majority who attempt to give it a spin, but it's undeniably an extraordinary record.
  6. May 8, 2012
    80
    The Money Store fits into modern hip-hop like a square peg on fire, a 40-minute straitjacket tantrum of vein-popping, slow-flow barks closer to Helmet's Page Hamilton than Harlem's Charles Hamilton.
  7. Excoriating as Burnett and Hill are, the real abrasive is Flatlander.
  8. May 7, 2012
    81
    It provides the kind of visceral excitement absent in so many of those other albums.
  9. Apr 27, 2012
    80
    The Money Store is an important record that's also compelling, loaded with kinetic blows against the empire and fully stuffed with that attractive maverick spirit.
  10. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Cynics might call it selling out or betrayal, but the convenience of bringing Death Grips' innovative and destructive sound to a potentially wider audience is, at the very least, a positive thing.
  11. Apr 26, 2012
    80
    A soup of electronic interference, exhausting percussion and smothering bass-cloud. It's stultifying like a bad case of screen fatigue; tangled and sparking - the sound of frazzled, short-fusing nerve ends.
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    An album that's incredibly incendiary and challenging (while still entertaining).
  13. It's all dizzying and overwhelming, but the sheer brute strength of The Money Store stays tempered by a pervasive, unbridled sense of creativity.
  14. 70
    While it's more "mainstream" musically, its subtlety will still melt faces.
  15. Apr 24, 2012
    75
    This is punk rock with a hip-hop face-lift, and the merger here is equally trippy ("Get Got") and noisily belligerent ("System Blower").
  16. Apr 24, 2012
    75
    Death Grips might not match Exmilitary for style points, but the indelible image of them playing this for label bigwigs is one for the ages.
  17. Apr 23, 2012
    70
    The simple fact about Death Grips is they will divide audiences. Some will take to their hardcore pandering. Others will scuttle back to their FM radio stations.
  18. Apr 23, 2012
    80
    The Money Store is Death Grips's next move, and they sound surprisingly ready to engage a wider audience.
  19. Apr 23, 2012
    90
    It's hyper real hip-hop made just in time for the end of the world.
  20. Apr 23, 2012
    80
    Death Grips achieve the density and intensity of several Bomb Squads, Public Enemy's famous production wing.
  21. The Wire
    Jul 24, 2012
    70
    Their debut album is even more extreme. [May 2012, p.57]
  22. Mojo
    Jul 18, 2012
    80
    From the second opener Get Got's frantic arpeggiations synths kick-in there's little let-up on a mind-mugging set so fresh even Delia Smith can't test its flavour. [Jun 2012, p.85]
  23. Q Magazine
    Jun 20, 2012
    80
    The relentless macho intensity would be oppressive were Hill and Morin not having so much fun pillaging everything from punk to crunk. [Jun 2012, p.100]
  24. Uncut
    May 2, 2012
    80
    This, to paraphrase Burnett, just tore 2012 a new one. [Jun 2012, p.71]
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Nice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for aNice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from other hip-hop fusion acts. at times, it's hard to remmber that its live drumming, but the crazy time signatures will suddenly remind you. Production is super-clean despite the array of gritty, distorted samples. lyrics are dark, but not pretentious. this album is not for everyone, thats for sure, but even if u like it a little bit, there'll come an intoxicated night in your future where you'll be glad u have it on deck. Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOWI'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Hold on to your ass: this album is a piece of work.

    If you are looking for something unique but brutal, bordering on incoherent, then
    Hold on to your ass: this album is a piece of work.

    If you are looking for something unique but brutal, bordering on incoherent, then behold The Money Store. Unrelentingly intense and profane, industrial and alienating. Strong beats, stronger hooks, strongest overall experience I've seen in a while.
    Full Review »