• Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Apr 24, 2012
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 136

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2015
    9
    I only recently started listening to Death Grips because I watch The Needle Drop's reviews and he gave this album a 10/10 and their other albums acclaim too - but I never thought I would have liked it as much as I do. The Money Store was, without a doubt, one of the best albums of the year 2012. Death Grips isn't for everyone - if you don't want to hear songs with loud noises andI only recently started listening to Death Grips because I watch The Needle Drop's reviews and he gave this album a 10/10 and their other albums acclaim too - but I never thought I would have liked it as much as I do. The Money Store was, without a doubt, one of the best albums of the year 2012. Death Grips isn't for everyone - if you don't want to hear songs with loud noises and unhearable raps, you probably won't like this album, or Death Grips in general. Death Grips is pretty much what I would describe Rage Against the Machine meets Skrillex with some Bjork thrown in for good measure (especially NOTM). They're probably one of the most original bands I've heard in a while - and I think they're more influential than I thought at first. Kanye West combined their style with his typical hip hop to make Yeezus in 2013 - and now this band is one of the most popular experimental hip hop bands. The production here is great, I like the electronic stuff that Andy Morin has done - and it may be a little noisy at times but I think it's original, experimental and enjoyable. Zach Hill drums on the majority of the songs - and he keeps the beat well, he's really good. I can barely hear MC Ride rapping on the majority of the songs here - but he's probably one of the most aggressive rappers that I've ever heard in my life. This album probably would have been a higher 9 or a 10 if I could hear Ride rapping and be able to pick out the lyrics. But, overall, this is a very impressive debut and I really hope Death Grips doesn't break up soon like they said they would. Grade: A-. Highlights: "Get Got", "Lost Boys", "Punk Weight". Worst song: "I've Seen Footage" Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    wordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordwordword
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    Hold on to your ass: this album is a piece of work.

    If you are looking for something unique but brutal, bordering on incoherent, then behold The Money Store. Unrelentingly intense and profane, industrial and alienating. Strong beats, stronger hooks, strongest overall experience I've seen in a while.
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    It's still new, but in the two years since it was put out, it's become clear to me that this is my favorite hip hop album of all time. Better than It Takes a Nation of Millions? Yes. Better than 3 Feet High? Yes. Better than 36 Chambers? Yes.
    Every track has so much going on in it that the replay value is through the roof. And despite Death Grips being a band that sounds esoteric
    It's still new, but in the two years since it was put out, it's become clear to me that this is my favorite hip hop album of all time. Better than It Takes a Nation of Millions? Yes. Better than 3 Feet High? Yes. Better than 36 Chambers? Yes.
    Every track has so much going on in it that the replay value is through the roof. And despite Death Grips being a band that sounds esoteric and inaccessible on paper, the hooks on nearly every track are among the catchiest you'll hear. The album is fast paced, having as much in common with hardcore punk as it does hip hop, and it isn't light listen by any means.
    MC Ride shows off his quieter, but still fast paced flow in Get Got, and maintains his lungbursting screaming on most other tracks, while Zach Hill's breakneck drumming drives the beats, supported by Flatlander's incredible performance as a producer on the record, making this one of the most unique listens you'll ever have the pleasure to come across.
    Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    10
    This is one of those albums you listen to, and because of your love for it, look for more like it, but come to a rude awakening when you see it's one of a kind.
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    Okay so essentially imagine a homeless black man imagines what pop will sound like in 20 years, but being brought up in downtown Sacremento (wat) he just can't shake his hip-hop roots. Yeah that's pretty much what I feel Death Grips were going for here.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Fantastic record, interesting from start to finish. Love MC Ride's lyrics on this, Get Got and The Fever are obvious belters however I've Seen Footage, The Cage and Hacker are also amazing tunes.
  8. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Great album and definitely one of the best 2012 album. Blends rap with element from metal, punk, drone, noise and electronic music combined with sublime production and MC Ride's mindblowing vocals, it's not like any music I've heard lately and I mean it in a good way. Content itself is incredibly dark, somehow reminded me of Nico & Velvet Underground. Highlight tracks: The Fever (Aye Aye),Great album and definitely one of the best 2012 album. Blends rap with element from metal, punk, drone, noise and electronic music combined with sublime production and MC Ride's mindblowing vocals, it's not like any music I've heard lately and I mean it in a good way. Content itself is incredibly dark, somehow reminded me of Nico & Velvet Underground. Highlight tracks: The Fever (Aye Aye), Please, Get Got, I've Seen Footage Expand
  9. May 31, 2013
    10
    You may not like this album the first time you listen to it, or the second, or even the third. However, that's how The Money Store gains its depth; upon repeated listens, instruments previously unheard pop out of a chaotic barrage of sound and the songs begin to form an order that you can follow along, even bob your head to. At the end of the year, TMS has remained a perfectYou may not like this album the first time you listen to it, or the second, or even the third. However, that's how The Money Store gains its depth; upon repeated listens, instruments previously unheard pop out of a chaotic barrage of sound and the songs begin to form an order that you can follow along, even bob your head to. At the end of the year, TMS has remained a perfect juxtaposition of gritty electronics, bone-chilling yet catchy vocals and damaged-beyond-the-point-of-recognition samples that will leave you feeling abused, raped, and begging for more. Expand
  10. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Is this experimental hip-hop? 30 minutes in it felt more like Rage Against the Machine then a Nas album. Either way it was entertaining and a great way to spend 40 minutes.
  11. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    This is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. Death Grips are extremely in your face, discussing death and political issues to the most abrasive degree possible. The opener "Get Got" is by far one of the best tracks I've heard in a really long time, probably ever. The Production, the drumming, MCThis is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. Death Grips are extremely in your face, discussing death and political issues to the most abrasive degree possible. The opener "Get Got" is by far one of the best tracks I've heard in a really long time, probably ever. The Production, the drumming, MC Ride's fantastic brutal lyrics, all top-notch fantastic. All In All, Death Grips not only craft a great hip-hop record, but an important one also. I recommend this highly. A- Expand
  12. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Best album of the Year, Favorite Rap Album Ever now. Sonic Hellscapes, Grime, Rap-Punk Vocals and Screeches Make this sound like nothing else ive heard in years
  13. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Suck it, this album is great. Love the song Get Got and Punk Weight. Experimental Hip Hop never felt so good..........................................
  14. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    .....Man what an album. The production in The Money Store is influenced by electronic music rather than industrial (as on exmilitary) and compliments MC Ride's harsh and powerful delivery suprisingly well, and the hooks will get stuck in your head for days. Overall the album is extremely solid but will no doubt turn off a lot of potential buyers because of it's abrasiveness. I think,.....Man what an album. The production in The Money Store is influenced by electronic music rather than industrial (as on exmilitary) and compliments MC Ride's harsh and powerful delivery suprisingly well, and the hooks will get stuck in your head for days. Overall the album is extremely solid but will no doubt turn off a lot of potential buyers because of it's abrasiveness. I think, however, it is one of the most unique albums I've listened to this year. Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    What Death Grips have managed to do on 'The Money Store' is move forward and become more accessible without sounding like they've been instructed to do so. They've taken the fundamental aspects of their sound which made Exmilitary sound so raw and visceral and turn them into ingredients for writing hard-hitting rap songs with more of a 'pop' edge, with most of the tracks focusing on hooksWhat Death Grips have managed to do on 'The Money Store' is move forward and become more accessible without sounding like they've been instructed to do so. They've taken the fundamental aspects of their sound which made Exmilitary sound so raw and visceral and turn them into ingredients for writing hard-hitting rap songs with more of a 'pop' edge, with most of the tracks focusing on hooks and loud choruses in the way Exmilitary never did. The Money Store is a perfect balance of brutality and accessiblity and could be one of the best albums of 2012, and maybe one of the best of the 2010s. Expand
  16. May 15, 2012
    9
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums so far this year.
    It brings the raw , unconstrained emotion and power of their first album to a purpose for this and have produced an amazing album with it.
  17. May 5, 2012
    10
    This album has inspired me to start making electronic music. I'm from Sacramento and until recently I had not heard of them but no I think that they are awesome. This record is my favorite record so far from 2012. I look forward to No Love.
  18. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    "The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one (relatively to "Exmilitary") but don't let that fool you; MC RIDE still scream and shout into the mike, Zach Hill drumming is powerful and haunting and the BEATS [oh, the beats] are phenomenal. The production on "The money store" is flawless;"The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one (relatively to "Exmilitary") but don't let that fool you; MC RIDE still scream and shout into the mike, Zach Hill drumming is powerful and haunting and the BEATS [oh, the beats] are phenomenal. The production on "The money store" is flawless; well-arranged chaos. I enjoy every minute. Bottom line - Death Grips took experimental Hip-Hop to the next level. Can't wait for the next album they will drop later this year. Expand
  19. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Wild ride from start to finish. Death Grips have found the formula, then proceeded to take a dump on it. MC Ride's lyrics and flow are perfect, production is incredible, the hooks are brilliant, and Zach Hill's drumming is outstanding. Utterly amazing.
  20. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Nice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from otherNice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from other hip-hop fusion acts. at times, it's hard to remmber that its live drumming, but the crazy time signatures will suddenly remind you. Production is super-clean despite the array of gritty, distorted samples. lyrics are dark, but not pretentious. this album is not for everyone, thats for sure, but even if u like it a little bit, there'll come an intoxicated night in your future where you'll be glad u have it on deck. Expand
  21. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERSI'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN.I'M IN YOUR AREA I KNOW THE FIRST THREE NUMBERS I'M IN. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    70
    Their debut album is even more extreme. [May 2012, p.57]
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    From the second opener Get Got's frantic arpeggiations synths kick-in there's little let-up on a mind-mugging set so fresh even Delia Smith can't test its flavour. [Jun 2012, p.85]
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    80
    The relentless macho intensity would be oppressive were Hill and Morin not having so much fun pillaging everything from punk to crunk. [Jun 2012, p.100]