The Money Store

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Money Store Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release on Epic for Death Grips is the first of two albums released this year by the Sacramento alternative rap trio.
Buy On

Top Track

Get Got
Get get get get Got got got got Blood rush to my Head lit hot lock Poppin' off the Fuckin' block knot Clockin' wrist slit Watch bent thought... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    100
    The Money Store thrills like no other set heard this year.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Cynics might call it selling out or betrayal, but the convenience of bringing Death Grips' innovative and destructive sound to a potentially wider audience is, at the very least, a positive thing.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    87
    Death Grips appeals to the knuckle-dragging troglodyte and the smirking smart kid in us: thick-headed goonery and bookish, viscera-free nerdiness, making beautifully misanthropic music together.
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    An album that's incredibly incendiary and challenging (while still entertaining).
  5. May 1, 2012
    80
    This is gritty, grimy, hardcore hip-hop, as nasty as it wants to be.
  6. Apr 24, 2012
    75
    This is punk rock with a hip-hop face-lift, and the merger here is equally trippy ("Get Got") and noisily belligerent ("System Blower").
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Burnett's one-note anger may be fine for those who fetishise the punk-rock mode of expression, but the near-total lack of range in his vocal approach is a poor match for the careening thrill of the music, and wearyingly basic.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Nice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for aNice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from other hip-hop fusion acts. at times, it's hard to remmber that its live drumming, but the crazy time signatures will suddenly remind you. Production is super-clean despite the array of gritty, distorted samples. lyrics are dark, but not pretentious. this album is not for everyone, thats for sure, but even if u like it a little bit, there'll come an intoxicated night in your future where you'll be glad u have it on deck. Collapse
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Best album of the Year, Favorite Rap Album Ever now. Sonic Hellscapes, Grime, Rap-Punk Vocals and Screeches Make this sound like nothing elseBest album of the Year, Favorite Rap Album Ever now. Sonic Hellscapes, Grime, Rap-Punk Vocals and Screeches Make this sound like nothing else ive heard in years Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    "The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one"The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one (relatively to "Exmilitary") but don't let that fool you; MC RIDE still scream and shout into the mike, Zach Hill drumming is powerful and haunting and the BEATS [oh, the beats] are phenomenal. The production on "The money store" is flawless; well-arranged chaos. I enjoy every minute. Bottom line - Death Grips took experimental Hip-Hop to the next level. Can't wait for the next album they will drop later this year. Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Suck it, this album is great. Love the song Get Got and Punk Weight. Experimental Hip Hop never felt so good..........................................
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    This is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. DeathThis is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. Death Grips are extremely in your face, discussing death and political issues to the most abrasive degree possible. The opener "Get Got" is by far one of the best tracks I've heard in a really long time, probably ever. The Production, the drumming, MC Ride's fantastic brutal lyrics, all top-notch fantastic. All In All, Death Grips not only craft a great hip-hop record, but an important one also. I recommend this highly. A- Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Fantastic record, interesting from start to finish. Love MC Ride's lyrics on this, Get Got and The Fever are obvious belters however I've SeenFantastic record, interesting from start to finish. Love MC Ride's lyrics on this, Get Got and The Fever are obvious belters however I've Seen Footage, The Cage and Hacker are also amazing tunes. Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2017
    0
    death grips - the money store
    mini review
    get got: 1/10 loud trash the fever: 3/10 loud trash lost boys: 0/10 loud trash black jack:
    death grips - the money store
    mini review

    get got: 1/10 loud trash
    the fever: 3/10 loud trash
    lost boys: 0/10 loud trash
    black jack: 0/10 loud trash
    hustle bones: 5/10 loud
    i've seen footage: 3/10 trash
    double helix: 3/10 random trash
    system blower: 2/10 random trash
    the cage: 0/10 loud trash
    punk weight: 0/10 loud trash
    f*** that: 0/10 random trash
    b!tch please: 5/10
    hacker: 1/10 trash

    trash trash trash loud trash annoying trash random trash bad trash loud trash trash trash bad trash trashy trashy trashy trashy loud trash we got all the coconuts trash serving sandwiches named after me trash bad trash loud trash

    0/10

    fav trash: hustle bones, b!tch
    worst trash: rest

    trash
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews