The Money Store

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Money Store Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 200 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release on Epic for Death Grips is the first of two albums released this year by the Sacramento alternative rap trio.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    100
    The Money Store thrills like no other set heard this year.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Cynics might call it selling out or betrayal, but the convenience of bringing Death Grips' innovative and destructive sound to a potentially wider audience is, at the very least, a positive thing.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    87
    Death Grips appeals to the knuckle-dragging troglodyte and the smirking smart kid in us: thick-headed goonery and bookish, viscera-free nerdiness, making beautifully misanthropic music together.
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    An album that's incredibly incendiary and challenging (while still entertaining).
  5. May 1, 2012
    80
    This is gritty, grimy, hardcore hip-hop, as nasty as it wants to be.
  6. Apr 24, 2012
    75
    This is punk rock with a hip-hop face-lift, and the merger here is equally trippy ("Get Got") and noisily belligerent ("System Blower").
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Burnett's one-note anger may be fine for those who fetishise the punk-rock mode of expression, but the near-total lack of range in his vocal approach is a poor match for the careening thrill of the music, and wearyingly basic.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Nice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for aNice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from other hip-hop fusion acts. at times, it's hard to remmber that its live drumming, but the crazy time signatures will suddenly remind you. Production is super-clean despite the array of gritty, distorted samples. lyrics are dark, but not pretentious. this album is not for everyone, thats for sure, but even if u like it a little bit, there'll come an intoxicated night in your future where you'll be glad u have it on deck. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    "The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one"The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one (relatively to "Exmilitary") but don't let that fool you; MC RIDE still scream and shout into the mike, Zach Hill drumming is powerful and haunting and the BEATS [oh, the beats] are phenomenal. The production on "The money store" is flawless; well-arranged chaos. I enjoy every minute. Bottom line - Death Grips took experimental Hip-Hop to the next level. Can't wait for the next album they will drop later this year. Expand
  3. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    This was the first Death Grips album I listened to, now I have the entire discography on my phone. I pretty much exclusively listen to thisThis was the first Death Grips album I listened to, now I have the entire discography on my phone. I pretty much exclusively listen to this band now. There isn't anything I can say which hasn't been said already. The instrumentals hit hard, Ride's vocals are brutal and fantastic and Zach's drumming is great. In my opinion, the best Death Grips album. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Is this experimental hip-hop? 30 minutes in it felt more like Rage Against the Machine then a Nas album. Either way it was entertaining and aIs this experimental hip-hop? 30 minutes in it felt more like Rage Against the Machine then a Nas album. Either way it was entertaining and a great way to spend 40 minutes. Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums so far this year.
    It brings the raw , unconstrained emotion and power of their first album to a
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums so far this year.
    It brings the raw , unconstrained emotion and power of their first album to a purpose for this and have produced an amazing album with it.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2015
    9
    I only recently started listening to Death Grips because I watch The Needle Drop's reviews and he gave this album a 10/10 and their otherI only recently started listening to Death Grips because I watch The Needle Drop's reviews and he gave this album a 10/10 and their other albums acclaim too - but I never thought I would have liked it as much as I do. The Money Store was, without a doubt, one of the best albums of the year 2012. Death Grips isn't for everyone - if you don't want to hear songs with loud noises and unhearable raps, you probably won't like this album, or Death Grips in general. Death Grips is pretty much what I would describe Rage Against the Machine meets Skrillex with some Bjork thrown in for good measure (especially NOTM). They're probably one of the most original bands I've heard in a while - and I think they're more influential than I thought at first. Kanye West combined their style with his typical hip hop to make Yeezus in 2013 - and now this band is one of the most popular experimental hip hop bands. The production here is great, I like the electronic stuff that Andy Morin has done - and it may be a little noisy at times but I think it's original, experimental and enjoyable. Zach Hill drums on the majority of the songs - and he keeps the beat well, he's really good. I can barely hear MC Ride rapping on the majority of the songs here - but he's probably one of the most aggressive rappers that I've ever heard in my life. This album probably would have been a higher 9 or a 10 if I could hear Ride rapping and be able to pick out the lyrics. But, overall, this is a very impressive debut and I really hope Death Grips doesn't break up soon like they said they would. Grade: A-. Highlights: "Get Got", "Lost Boys", "Punk Weight". Worst song: "I've Seen Footage" Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    6
    This is obviously polarizing stuff.
    Incredibly noisy. Incredibly brash. But with at times beautiful synths.
    The Problem this project has,
    This is obviously polarizing stuff.
    Incredibly noisy. Incredibly brash. But with at times beautiful synths.

    The Problem this project has, is that while the first half of the Album mashes ugly and beautiful perfectly, the second half doesn't. After the first 6 tracks the album falls of and only returns in the ending track.

    Had the whole Album been only those 7 tracks or were the other tracks of equal quality, this would've been a really good album. But I have to deduct some points for the incredibly forgettable second half.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews