• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
The Money Store Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut release on Epic for Death Grips is the first of two albums released this year by the Sacramento alternative rap trio.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    100
    The Money Store thrills like no other set heard this year.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    90
    Cynics might call it selling out or betrayal, but the convenience of bringing Death Grips' innovative and destructive sound to a potentially wider audience is, at the very least, a positive thing.
  3. Apr 24, 2012
    87
    Death Grips appeals to the knuckle-dragging troglodyte and the smirking smart kid in us: thick-headed goonery and bookish, viscera-free nerdiness, making beautifully misanthropic music together.
  4. Apr 25, 2012
    80
    An album that's incredibly incendiary and challenging (while still entertaining).
  5. May 1, 2012
    80
    This is gritty, grimy, hardcore hip-hop, as nasty as it wants to be.
  6. Apr 24, 2012
    75
    This is punk rock with a hip-hop face-lift, and the merger here is equally trippy ("Get Got") and noisily belligerent ("System Blower").
  7. Apr 26, 2012
    40
    Burnett's one-note anger may be fine for those who fetishise the punk-rock mode of expression, but the near-total lack of range in his vocal approach is a poor match for the careening thrill of the music, and wearyingly basic.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Nice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for aNice album. The Money Store is a breath of fresh air. If you've listene to their first album, Exmilitary, then i would say your in for a treat. Death Grips comes in hard on the new album, setting a crazy tempo that will fluctuate throughout the album, keeping the listener is a satisfiying, shocking state. Zach Hill (drummer) continues to be the peice that sets this show apart from other hip-hop fusion acts. at times, it's hard to remmber that its live drumming, but the crazy time signatures will suddenly remind you. Production is super-clean despite the array of gritty, distorted samples. lyrics are dark, but not pretentious. this album is not for everyone, thats for sure, but even if u like it a little bit, there'll come an intoxicated night in your future where you'll be glad u have it on deck. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    It's still new, but in the two years since it was put out, it's become clear to me that this is my favorite hip hop album of all time. BetterIt's still new, but in the two years since it was put out, it's become clear to me that this is my favorite hip hop album of all time. Better than It Takes a Nation of Millions? Yes. Better than 3 Feet High? Yes. Better than 36 Chambers? Yes.
    Every track has so much going on in it that the replay value is through the roof. And despite Death Grips being a band that sounds esoteric and inaccessible on paper, the hooks on nearly every track are among the catchiest you'll hear. The album is fast paced, having as much in common with hardcore punk as it does hip hop, and it isn't light listen by any means.
    MC Ride shows off his quieter, but still fast paced flow in Get Got, and maintains his lungbursting screaming on most other tracks, while Zach Hill's breakneck drumming drives the beats, supported by Flatlander's incredible performance as a producer on the record, making this one of the most unique listens you'll ever have the pleasure to come across.
    Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    "The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one"The Money Store" is A fresh, mind bottling, catch-your-breath kind of record. Death Grips explosiveness seems more "catchy" on this one (relatively to "Exmilitary") but don't let that fool you; MC RIDE still scream and shout into the mike, Zach Hill drumming is powerful and haunting and the BEATS [oh, the beats] are phenomenal. The production on "The money store" is flawless; well-arranged chaos. I enjoy every minute. Bottom line - Death Grips took experimental Hip-Hop to the next level. Can't wait for the next album they will drop later this year. Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2013
    9
    This is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. DeathThis is truly unlike any hip-hop/punk record I've ever heard. They fuse those two genres better than any other band I've listened too. Death Grips are extremely in your face, discussing death and political issues to the most abrasive degree possible. The opener "Get Got" is by far one of the best tracks I've heard in a really long time, probably ever. The Production, the drumming, MC Ride's fantastic brutal lyrics, all top-notch fantastic. All In All, Death Grips not only craft a great hip-hop record, but an important one also. I recommend this highly. A- Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    9
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums so far this year.
    It brings the raw , unconstrained emotion and power of their first album to a
    Definitely one of the more interesting albums so far this year.
    It brings the raw , unconstrained emotion and power of their first album to a purpose for this and have produced an amazing album with it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Fantastic record, interesting from start to finish. Love MC Ride's lyrics on this, Get Got and The Fever are obvious belters however I've SeenFantastic record, interesting from start to finish. Love MC Ride's lyrics on this, Get Got and The Fever are obvious belters however I've Seen Footage, The Cage and Hacker are also amazing tunes. Expand
  7. May 5, 2014
    6
    This is obviously polarizing stuff.
    Incredibly noisy. Incredibly brash. But with at times beautiful synths.
    The Problem this project has,
    This is obviously polarizing stuff.
    Incredibly noisy. Incredibly brash. But with at times beautiful synths.

    The Problem this project has, is that while the first half of the Album mashes ugly and beautiful perfectly, the second half doesn't. After the first 6 tracks the album falls of and only returns in the ending track.

    Had the whole Album been only those 7 tracks or were the other tracks of equal quality, this would've been a really good album. But I have to deduct some points for the incredibly forgettable second half.
    Expand

See all 25 User Reviews